Why do the British Media constantly refer to Irish people as british!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

and stop crying crocodile tears and offering sympathy for events like

- Madeline McCann kidnapping
    - Soham
    - London 7/7 bombings

make up your mind. Do you hate the English or not?

How did this thread get from Why do the British Media constantly refer to Irish people as british!
    to make up your mind. Do you hate the English or not?
    Do you have an agenda you want to pursue brian?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

tallus wrote:
    How did this thread get from Why do the British Media constantly refer to Irish people as british!

Don't be so obtuse.
    I'm merely attacking the hypocrisy of people who cannot decide whether or not they are pro / anti-English.

For the record I like England and English people. I'm not a tosser who supports a Premiership team and then cheers on England's opponents in an international game.

Either am I
    But .. the original post was about the british media referring to Irish as british, not as you seem to put it, wether we hate them or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Irish media is just as guilty. JFK, the first "Irish-American" President. Had he been a drug-baron, or whatever, there would have been no mention of his Irish roots.

RTE news makes a special point of stating that someone is English etc, when connected with a crime, just in case the viewer is confused by the Irishness of the person's name. Take the latest case in Cork, where an "Englishman" Gerard Hagan has been charged.

Had he won the Nobel prize for his services to chemistry, "Englishman" would have been in very small print, if mentioned at all, alongside a list of the location and history of his Irish relatives.

ejmaztec: The Media make a point of naming all foreign nationals that get into trouble in this country.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Stephen wrote:
    Reminds me of the few times when Eddie Irvine was successful in formula 1, he was British all of a sudden. When he was sh1te he was Irish again.

Yup.
    Just like that referee who gave three yellow cards at the last World Cup - when he was in with a chance of refereeing the final he was British, when he was sent home early he was Scottish.
    I think someone highlighted this on the BBC News website.

This happens a bit and it seems to be editorial policy in many places - call them British if they're successful (and can be connected to Britain in any way)

Anyway - yes, it does sometimes happen that Irish people get called British and it can be annoying, but it's usually out of ignorance rather than actual spite (although ignorance is not exactly a get-out clause).

Also didn't some Russian official refer to us as British when meeting with Charlie Haughey or Albert Reynolds before? Caused a minor international scene.

The OP, though, uses a bad example and looks a little paranoid as a result. I don't think Rowling was trying to refer to Irish cast as British, if she was then she was also calling Bulgarian and French people British too (and that's just out of the main cast!) After all, she has us winning the Quiddich World Cup, so she must like us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

A few months ago I remember seeing a tabloid "Irish" Sun or Mirror or something with a screaming headline about "drunk Irishman gets thrown off plane".
    The next day the same paper had a tiny apology printed, stating the man was in fact from the north of England with no Irish connections whatsoever.
    It's classic media manipulation dating right back from the days of Punch magazine to boost national pride "England can do no wrong, glory to the Queen, and death to the thick Treacherous Irish and Rebellious Scots"

to be honest, I wouldnt lose sleep over what appears in british tabloids - it's lowest common denominator crud thats written by idiots , and only read by even bigger idiots.

Only thing worth worrying about is the softness and absorbancy of the paper they use :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 deklet

I can imagine being called worse than British - I could be mistaken for American (since they seem to think we're one of their outlying Islands)...And then again, you could argue that being a Brit or a Septic is one and the same - in which case I'd have settled for speaking German....ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

flogen wrote:
    Yup.
    Just like that referee who gave three yellow cards at the last World Cup - when he was in with a chance of refereeing the final he was British, when he was sent home early he was Scottish.
    I think someone highlighted this on the BBC News website.

graham poll is english

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

References to Punch Magazine? Tarring of the entire media of one country?

Pity you can't remotely edit a thread to include your own poll of how many Irish people regularly read the Independent, the Times, the Guardian or any of the British tabloids printed in Britain as opposed to the Irish edits of same, or watch any of the regional television channels available in the UK (as opposed to BBC Northern Ireland) or, in fact, have ever visited, lived in or worked anywhere in England. (As opposed to the UK - because to be honest some Scots and Welsh people would have as much of a problem with you labelling them as English as some Irish people apparently have with being labelled British).

As for being pro or anti-English?

Well I lived in England for five years before moving to Australia. I'd love to tell you I discovered that you cannot pigeonhole an entire nation for the crimes of their predecessors, or that you can't make sweeping generalisations about a nation that doesn't realise the importance of its past colonisation to its own minority cultures. I'd love to tell you that I discovered English people aren't all as bad as some Irish people think they are.

But I can't tell you that. It's not true.

It's not true because I discovered no such thing because I wasn't fucking stupid enough to believe any of that ignorant, small minded, xenophobic shite before I moved there in the first place.

county wrote:
    graham poll is english

My mistake - on second thought it may have been that they referred to him as English before and British afterwards, which is a slightly different trick.

Will have to find links in relation to this - am also trying to find something mentioned on Slugger O'Toole months ago which highlighted the "British when winning" thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

robinph wrote:
    What about the proper Irish accents? ;)

There is only the one Irish character in the books as far as I remember anyway, at least only one where being Irish is mentioned as part of the character background.
    Anyway where would boards.ie be without the opportunity for people to give out about the British every other day?
    The actor who plays the Irish character, Seamus, in the Harry Potter films is from Kildare, although I reckon he exaggerates his accent for the films, it's very Oirish.

I don't dislike the British at all; in fact, most of my favourite actors are British or Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

But is Gerladine Somerville even Irish anymore than Phil Lynott (born in Birmingham) is British? What does she consider herself, anyway?

Honestly, the Irish media do this too on a regular basis, with everyone from Dido to Barack Obama to Che Guevarra to JFK. And don't forget the soccer team. We're always looking for Irish roots in successful people.

InFront wrote:
    Honestly, the Irish media do this too on a regular basis, with everyone from Dido to Barack Obama to Che Guevarra to JFK. And don't forget the soccer team. We're always looking for Irish roots in successful people.

There's a difference between saying someone has Irish roots and saying their Irish.

As for the soccer team, the tenuously-linked players themselves make the decision to be classed as Irish in order to play for the team (usually after being rejected by the English team) so they're not having the definition forced upon them.

flogen wrote:
    There's a difference between saying someone has Irish roots and saying their Irish.

As for the soccer team, the tenuously-linked players themselves make the decision to be classed as Irish in order to play for the team (usually after being rejected by the English team) so they're not having the definition forced upon them.

Remenber all the "England B team" comments in recent world cups, particually when Ireland got through to the finals and England didn't. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

So, apart from sport, does this happen anywhere else?

Some of the examples people are pushing here are really tenuous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Why do the British Media constantly refer to Irish people as british!

a bit of an exaggeration in fairness
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/2006745.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/4160837.stm

positive articles linked above and no reference to their lack of irishness!

maybe if you post some links backing up your claim. The odd error doesnt constitute "constantly"

faceman wrote:
    a bit of an exaggeration in fairness
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/2006745.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/4160837.stm

positive articles linked above and no reference to their lack of irishness!

maybe if you post some links backing up your claim. The odd error doesnt constitute "constantly"

The Beeb have always tried to be as factually correct as possible, some other media just dont bother to check the facts before publishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

And just for the record if your are from the six counties you aren't British either , it's the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, thats right you're Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Of course, for poor old "Plastic Paddys" like me, it's the reverse amongst the more ignorant peoples of both places. In England, I was an Irish Bas***d, the mere fact that my parents were Irish, whereas over here, I'm an English Bas***d. As I appear to be unadopted by both, I've decided to describe myself as a Stateless European.

When I become famous (for something positive), both countries will be fighting over the right to claim me as one of their own. If I become famous for doing something bad, then I'll just be a bas***d of questionable origin.

ejmaztec wrote:
    If I become famous for doing something bad, then I'll just be a bas***d of questionable origin.

Nah, the media will probably find some kind of Iranian* link and say you're a terrorist or something.

* Or whatever country is in the bad books on that particular day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

tallus wrote:

Good question. A pathetic attempt by 'Brian Capture' to make out that those who object to being lumped in with the British are somehow anti-British. :rolleyes:

Presumably he thinks Canadians who object to being mistaken as Americans are anti-American too. As I said above it's pathetic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

MooseJam wrote:
    And just for the record if your are from the six counties you aren't British either , it's the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, thats right you're Irish

well irish & british......just like some one from wales is welsh & british

anyway in the six counties its up to the indivisual to call himself/herself irish or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

This is just something that annoys me about the British media. I just read a link on the BBC website here, and it says "She also said it had been "a hell of an achievement" to keep the cast of all the Potter films British.".

Now the only reason this annoys me is because I have seen numerous article that the new cast member is Irish as seen here

Now I would like to think that J.K Rowling just forgot about this but I doubt it very much considering she supposedly helped cast her. This has been done many times in the past especially regarding music. Anyone else annoyed by it, or am I just imagining these things.

Talk about getting worked up about the smallest things, I'm sure she ment kept the cast as a mainly british cast, I'm sure if you trawl through the cast you would find even more non-british people...maybe even some who are not Irish as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

Talk about getting worked up about the smallest things

thats the irish for ya :D

Talk about getting worked up about the smallest things, I'm sure she ment kept the cast as a mainly british cast, I'm sure if you trawl through the cast you would find even more non-british people...maybe even some who are not Irish as well.

A quick scan through their wiki pages shows a French girl and a Bulgarian guy in the last film - both part of the wider central cast (as in more than passing extras).
    It seems to me that she meant to say she was delighted to see the cast's nationality largely followed that of their characters (and the vast majority of HP characters are British) - she may not have been too clear on that but anyone who takes offense obviously needs to have everything spelled out for them - like the way some buggies come with warnings telling you to remove the child before collapsing.
    philstar wrote:
    thats the irish for ya :D

That makes about as much sense as saying that all British people think Ireland is British too (or claim Irish people as British because they're glory hunters)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Flex

Good question. A pathetic attempt by 'Brian Capture' to make out that those who object to being lumped in with the British are somehow anti-British. :rolleyes:

Presumably he thinks Canadians who object to being mistaken as Americans are anti-American too. As I said above it's pathetic.

Ah dont be too hard on him Mr.Nice Guy, he probably lost that shiny object he likes to stare at before he posted, so got all cranky :(

philstar wrote:
    well irish & british......just like some one from wales is welsh & british

anyway in the six counties its up to the indivisual to call himself/herself irish or not.

Uh no, let me explain for you "Britain" is Wales Scotland and England so yes if you are Welsh then you are Welsh and British but the six counties are not part of Britain, so if you are from them you are just Irish

oh yea and it's not up to the individual either, they are Irish end of story, sure otherwise why don't we all just pick a country at random and say thats where we are from.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

MooseJam wrote:
    oh yea and it's not up to the individual either, they are Irish end of story, sure otherwise why don't we all just pick a country at random and say thats where we are from.

Completely incorrect. The Good Friday agreement has the following provision:

Recognition of the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose.

faceman wrote:
    Completely incorrect. The Good Friday agreement has the following provision:

Recognition of the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose.

the goodfriday what, believe me that'll pass, also proud to say I voted against that disgrace