Taxi Drivers With A Few Screws Loose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

9th wrote:
    You got in a taxi with a drunk driver, were you born under a stupid tree, or just dropped as a baby?

Normally i wouldnt, but it was a short trip and we were rubbered ourselves.

Theres an oul one who drives around Blanch who is notorious for trying to trick customers by taking long winded routes to places, Ive heard it from a fw people. Her name is Elizabeth according to one driver who says it was probably her. Quite well spoken, dyed blonde, about 50, ive been in her car twice now. The first time, she turned an 8 euro odd trip to the village from Tyrellstown into a 12 E one by waffling so much I didnt realise she was circling the ****ing centre until it was too late. She apologised and said she would knock off a euro, which is bollix seeing as she shouldve cut through Corduff or the side of the centre. It was at this point id realised id had her before, when a mate moved out to what at the time was a brand new development in Ongar, an area I had never had reason to go to previously, instead of flying up the big road by Power City she went out the bypass and through Clonee :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

shane86 wrote:
    Normally i wouldnt, but it was a short trip and we were rubbered ourselves.

Theres an oul one who drives around Blanch who is notorious for trying to trick customers by taking long winded routes to places, Ive heard it from a fw people. Quite well spoken, dyed blonde, about 50, ive been in her car twice now. The first time, she turned an 8 euro odd trip to the village from Tyrellstown into a 12 E one by waffling so much I didnt realise she was circling the ****ing centre until it was too late. She apologised and said she would knock off a euro, which is bollix seeing as she shouldve cut through Corduff or the side of the centre. It was at this point id realised id had her before, when a mate moved out to what at the time was a brand new development in Ongar, an area I had never had reason to go to previously, instead of flying up the big road by Power City she went out the bypass and through Clonee :mad:

Totally unrelated..

But last year I was in New York City and took a cab, told the driver "Ground Zero, WTC please"... Great journey, showed us the UN building, the different bridges and some other land marks. We got the ground zero and paid the $25- fare plus $5 tip.

Viewed ground zero and went into Centry 21, its a big shop beside WTC. We walked out the side door, like you would at Cleary's (Dublin) and my son say's "Dad, isn't this where we got the cab?"... Yup, I was AT the WTC and the guy took me for a tour of Manhattan.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

Mairt wrote:
    Totally unrelated..

But last year I was in New York City and took a cab, told the driver "Ground Zero, WTC please"... Great journey, showed us the UN building, the different bridges and some other land marks. We got the ground zero and paid the $25- fare plus $5 tip.

Viewed ground zero and went into Centry 21, its a big shop beside WTC. We walked out the side door, like you would at Cleary's (Dublin) and my son say's "Dad, isn't this where we got the cab?"... Yup, I was AT the WTC and the guy took me for a tour of Manhattan.

your own fault

Yea, I just arrived in NYC. Never been there before. Totally my own fault :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

your own fault

yep.that wasnt the brighest thing to do was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Homer

If a "Naked Lepper" got in my cab i'd probably have done the same!!! ;)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

irishbird wrote:
    I have been this guys taxi. he was dropping me to a pub and i wont talk the money off me because he was talking that much about the young girls and how 14 of them go away every 6 months to this place and some guy brings a selection of girls and they choose who they want - at least i knew i was safe in his taxi, was far too old for him

Gary Glitter eat your heart out...

Anyone been driven by the Indian man who has the inside of his car decorated like a shrine? He's got a little Buddha statue on his dashboard and the interior is all covered in white lace.. His back windows are curtained up aswell.. Got in with the bf coming home from town late one night.. Twas a surreal experience..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

xzanti wrote:
    Gary Glitter eat your heart out...

Anyone been driven by the Indian man who has the inside of his car decorated like a shrine? He's got a little Buddha statue on his dashboard and the interior is all covered in white lace.. His back windows are curtained up aswell.. Got in with the bf coming home from town late one night.. Twas a surreal experience..

Was in a cab one night driven by a black bloke that had leopardskin everywhere,seat covers,dashboard and he was wearing a leopardskin hat.Bizarre,i felt like he'd just come from Rorke's drift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

Mairt wrote:
    Just tell him to "hang in there buddy".

lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

Mairt wrote:
    Totally unrelated..

did you no notice is big hole in the ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

A Breed onto themselves, Have a peek into their world

http://z11.invisionfree.com/TAXIDOTIE/index.php?showforum=3

They abuse each other too :D:D

My brother recently regaled me with the tale of a taxi driver here in Cork who loved driving his taxi so much because it was like flying a plane. He was swerving all over the road making plane noises. Needless to say it was late at night. Are all the guys who do the night shift completely bonkers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Doing the night shift drives everyone bonkers, because it goes against a persons natural rhythms.

But first, let me regale you of my memory of 9-11. Everyone remembers where they were when 9-11 took place.

In my case, I was in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

I was working the afternoon shift, starting at 3pm, ending at 11pm. It was, as you may remember, a Tuesday. At about 9:00, strange things started happening at the office. We closed down the website, and after that, my boss came in, "Dermo, you may as well go home, theres nothing happening for the next two days"

In my thoughts, I said......"Screw this, if WW3 is going to happen, I may as well get drunk and get laid.

First stop, the 7-11. Some condoms and manglide.

Next stop, ATM. Out of action.

Back home, scooped up 40 Sterling and 40 Irish Pounds, and headed to the money changer. Changed into 388 Ringgit between the two currencies.

Hit the town. Eventually landed up in KL's main gay bar....Blue Boy.

As luck would have it......well at the time I was better looking. So I landed a nice Malaysian, Azlan. We went to his place. Thats where the fun started.

We got in the taxi, and there was this familiar herbal smell.

Before you know it, we are ducking and diving. The driver is out of his biscuits and singing. He is holding the BIGGEST spliff I have seen in my life. Even worse, he is smoking it.

"Can you slow down a bit" (Hes doing 90mph or 145kph in a Proton Saga, which is an achievement in itself. Any faster, time travel will be possible).

"Dun worry lah, I Osama Bin Laden, I professional driver, I ex soldier"
    (Cue another toke on his spliff)

Cue me......saying the Hail Mary, while Azlan is reaching for my tonsils.

If I die this night....may I die happy.

The 20 minutes from Starhill to Cheras feel like an eternity.

Then the **** really hits the fan. Theres a police checkpoint ahead.

There are 20 cars being checked. 3 pulled over. The police are off looking for their coffee money. I go into automatic "Do you want a drink or a transfer mode". Frankly speaking, I had enough power to have them for breakfast. I've got a stoned taxi driver, we are stoned on the fumes, and technically, for whats going on, its a 1,000 Pound fine, and 2 years prison for everyone in the car.

I insist that the driver turns on the aircon AND open the windows.

He does......"Relax Lah, small matter lah, I Osama Bin Laden, I ex soldier, I professional driver". The spliff at this stage is only 20% finished, and Azlan and I are practically stoned on the fumes"

We eventually reach the checkpoint. Our pal, Osama the taxi driver was correct. "Don't worry, small matter lah, they wun stop us"

Torches at me, then taxi driver, then Azlan, then me again.

The officer gestures for me to get out. I produce a colour photocopy of my work permit, my identity card, my work permit, and give him the evil eye. One false move sunshine, and your prawn food. He pretends there is something wrong with my photocopy, and that the work permit is forged. I say, "keep your life simple please". I could bribe him, but I will not give him the satisfaction. I reach for my phone, and at that point, he stops. "You can go". He does not fancy a transfer to some God forsaken village in the forest, or worse, and he knows who I am, who I know, and what I am capable of.

Back in to the taxi.

"Give me that damn spliff....now!"

Drag,

Drag,

Drag.....

Pass to Azlan

Repeat

Drag

Drag

Drag

Back to taxi driver.

"You like girls?"

No

"You like men?"

Sometimes, why?

"You like me?"

And he flashes a dazzling pearly white smile, we stop off at the off licence, and the day, or night that we all remember as 9/11 continued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Oh god.... how do I follow up from the previous post!

When I was on my J1 in San Diego me and a friend got a taxi home from work. The driver was from Pakistan and was asking us where we were from and living etc. We explained that we were from Ireland and living with some friends. He was asking was there boys living with us (we're both girls), when he said yes he started calling us heathens and telling us we're were going to hell living with a man we weren't related too. Then he offered to marry us both if we converted to Islam.... at this stage we were pretty freaked out. We got him to drop us off a few blocks early and legged it!

Also, a bit unrelated but on my J1 and transport related. I got a bus back from mission beach to our apartment by myself (big mistake, only very poor or old people get buses in California!) and this big black guy came and sat right next to me on the bus, even though it was empty. He kept trying to talk to me and I was ignoring him but he wouldn't stop. He asked me where i was from and told me he was from Compton in LA. At this stage I was a bit freaked out. Then he asked did I drop..... at the time I didin't no what that meant (because I'm so innocent of course!), then he asked me did I go with black guys. I told him I had a bf but he said he didn't care. I was EXTREMELY uncomfortable then and got off the bus early. Luckily I ran in to one of the lads I was living with so I was ok. I had terrible luck in the states though, I got followed loads!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

dermo88 wrote:
    Doing the night shift drives everyone bonkers, because it goes against a persons natural rhythms.

But first, let me regale you of my memory of 9-11. Everyone remembers where they were when 9-11 took place.

In my case, I was in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

I was working the afternoon shift, starting at 3pm, ending at 11pm. It was, as you may remember, a Tuesday. At about 9:00, strange things started happening at the office. We closed down the website, and after that, my boss came in, "Dermo, you may as well go home, theres nothing happening for the next two days"

In my thoughts, I said......"Screw this, if WW3 is going to happen, I may as well get drunk and get laid.

First stop, the 7-11. Some condoms and manglide.

Next stop, ATM. Out of action.

Back home, scooped up 40 Sterling and 40 Irish Pounds, and headed to the money changer. Changed into 388 Ringgit between the two currencies.

Hit the town. Eventually landed up in KL's main gay bar....Blue Boy.

As luck would have it......well at the time I was better looking. So I landed a nice Malaysian, Azlan. We went to his place. Thats where the fun started.

We got in the taxi, and there was this familiar herbal smell.

Before you know it, we are ducking and diving. The driver is out of his biscuits and singing. He is holding the BIGGEST spliff I have seen in my life. Even worse, he is smoking it.

"Can you slow down a bit" (Hes doing 90mph or 145kph in a Proton Saga, which is an achievement in itself. Any faster, time travel will be possible).

"Dun worry lah, I Osama Bin Laden, I professional driver, I ex soldier"
    (Cue another toke on his spliff)

Cue me......saying the Hail Mary, while Azlan is reaching for my tonsils.

If I die this night....may I die happy.

The 20 minutes from Starhill to Cheras feel like an eternity.

Then the **** really hits the fan. Theres a police checkpoint ahead.

There are 20 cars being checked. 3 pulled over. The police are off looking for their coffee money. I go into automatic "Do you want a drink or a transfer mode". Frankly speaking, I had enough power to have them for breakfast. I've got a stoned taxi driver, we are stoned on the fumes, and technically, for whats going on, its a 1,000 Pound fine, and 2 years prison for everyone in the car.

I insist that the driver turns on the aircon AND open the windows.

He does......"Relax Lah, small matter lah, I Osama Bin Laden, I ex soldier, I professional driver". The spliff at this stage is only 20% finished, and Azlan and I are practically stoned on the fumes"

We eventually reach the checkpoint. Our pal, Osama the taxi driver was correct. "Don't worry, small matter lah, they wun stop us"

Torches at me, then taxi driver, then Azlan, then me again.

The officer gestures for me to get out. I produce a colour photocopy of my work permit, my identity card, my work permit, and give him the evil eye. One false move sunshine, and your prawn food. He pretends there is something wrong with my photocopy, and that the work permit is forged. I say, "keep your life simple please". I could bribe him, but I will not give him the satisfaction. I reach for my phone, and at that point, he stops. "You can go". He does not fancy a transfer to some God forsaken village in the forest, or worse, and he knows who I am, who I know, and what I am capable of.

Back in to the taxi.

"Give me that damn spliff....now!"

Drag,

Drag,

Drag.....

Pass to Azlan

Repeat

Drag

Drag

Drag

Back to taxi driver.

"You like girls?"

No

"You like men?"

Sometimes, why?

"You like me?"

And he flashes a dazzling pearly white smile, we stop off at the off licence, and the day, or night that we all remember as 9/11 continued.

I'd say that has to be straight out of a Howard Marks book.. But afaik Howard Marks isn't gay...

Wouldn't mind a read of the rest of it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Degsy wrote:
    He's a halfwit.Not content with being ignored by the media,he comes out with this:http://www.taxiblog.co.uk/1328/tommy%e2%80%99s-bogus-taxi-campaign/

I was in his taxi. He asked me what I was doing in college and when i said computer science he handed me a piece of paper with "Taxiblog" or something like that on it. Told me to have a look at it when i got home and he'd wait outside for me so i could give him my opinion. Told him i didn't have internet access at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

orla wrote:
    I was in his taxi. He asked me what I was doing in college and when i said computer science he handed me a piece of paper with "Taxiblog" or something like that on it. Told me to have a look at it when i got home and he'd wait outside for me so i could give him my opinion. Told him i didn't have internet access at home.

Most of the things on this thread i've heard before and just seem like normal conversation to me, maybe it's because i'm a bit of a knack ;)

but this is priceless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,494 ✭✭✭highlydebased

I once got into a taxi at a Shopping Centre just outside Marbella, a few years ago with my parents.

Apparently he was not on duty, but we were standing waiting for a taxi for ages so basically we just...flagged him down!

He had just purchased a new mobile phone (it was just in a vodafone bag etc) . He had it up on the dash, near the windscreen. We drove around a few roundabouts and it started sliding. It got on his nerves and he threw it into the pocket at the side of the door. It fell out of there, and he went mad, beeping at the traffic and shouting in spanish etc. He put it into glove compartment. compartment opens and it falls out (lol). The man goes even further ballistic. I can't remember what he did with it after that (I recall him nearly throwing it out the window at one point) What I do remember though is he overcharged us and he had the heat on full blast in the taxi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

ntlbell wrote:
    Most of the things on this thread i've heard before and just seem like normal conversation to me, maybe it's because i'm a bit of a knack ;)

but this is priceless!

Yeah it was a bit freaky alright, i got him to stop about 100metres from my house. Didn't want him knowing where I lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Chinese taxi drivers are even more crazy than regular drivers over there (which is no mean feat). Ive been a taxi that decided to save time by driving up onto a foothpath (they had very wide paths at that point in the city), he then took the corner whiile still on the path before flying off it back into traffic. Another one managed to drive up into the bicycle lanes, which is not an easy thing to de because they are always seperated from the main road by a metal barrier or trees, he managed to get through one of the gaps that appear in the barrier every so often. There were also several rides where I was sure we were going to hit something, but then that a common feeling on their roads :)

The scariest was in St Petersburg when an "unofficial" taxi picked me & my friend up, we were told to take the unofficial ones because they are cheaper and pretty safe. When getting in we told him our hotel name and asked for the price. The guy didnt speak english and said something like hundred and 3 and 6(he also made/drew the sign of 100 with his finger on the dashboard). We thought great, it sounded like the price our friends taxi cost them the previous day and we got in. Was a nice ride, the guy seemed chatty, pointed out a bunch of cars on the way saying "italia" or something. When we arrived at the hotel we gave him the 100, he was not happy and kept saying 100.... 3, so I gave him 30, thinking he meant 136, nope he was still not happy he wanted 360. Realisation dawned on us and we said no way. The guy was getting angry, my friend kept saying he will get someone from the hotel to come and translate for us but the guy didnt want anyone to come out (being illegal and all). We eventually just gave him 300 and insisted on not giving him any more, we got out and we motioned that we were getting the hotel security, he then drove off. We were pissed off at the guy for not being more clear and we were convinced we had been ripped off, but after a beer we figured it wasnt such a bad price because it had been a really long cab journey across the city centre. That and a few other bad experiences resulted in me swearing I would not go to Russia again unless I had no choice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

orla wrote:
    Yeah it was a bit freaky alright, i got him to stop about 100metres from my house. Didn't want him knowing where I lived.

That bloke is a nutcase.he turned on me when i asked him about some place he said he'd gigged in,i asked him did he know a certain person who workde there and he started going mad saying "i dont care who you know son,i'm not interested in your friends..i'm doing this by myself." AND he started inflicting his scabby frank sinatra singing on us the minute we got in the cab eventhough we didnt ask him to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

went to england a few months ago and had pre bookeda taxi from the airport to essex. Taxi driver picked us up asked where we were from. he went on to say 'ah right heading to ireland tomorrow myself, gonna be back by Monday' so we said ah right great have you been before so the guy says 'oh im heading over to beat the sh*t outta my brother in law for breaking my sisters jaw'. we were gobsmackled and just said 'oh, right'. He then said 'im gonna put his arm on the kerb and stamp on it to break it'....and then followed this by the most disturbing sentence yet 'just like I did to me brother before'.
    swear to god this lad was not joking. Sat stunned til we got there, payed and ran!

Got a taxi from Finglas to Cross Guns Bridge a few weeks back.

It was a dark coloured Primera, driven by an African SHE-MALE!...

Seriously, a bleed'n tranny. There was four of us in the car and all noticed at the same time, I was sitting in the front and well freaked by this!.

He/she/it was listening to some crazy gangsta' music and singing like a biatch at the top of its voice :eek:

We'd a great laugh in the Porterhouse afterwards.

Btw, I'm heading off to Amsterdam tomorrow for the weekend. Any crazy taxi stories from there?. Or even how much will I pay from the airport to Dam Square?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

KNS wrote:
    Getting a taxi home one night, the driver proceeded to complain about Irish women for the whole trip so I joined in being in a bit of a p!ssed off mood. Apparently he was divorced after a 20 year marriage and now had a girlfriend in Singapore. I was basically wasting my time with Irish women.

His advice to me was to save up a bit of cash and go there for a month where I'd "fall in love a thousand times".

Next thing he asked me did I want to see her. Before I could answer he'd shoved a load of photos in my face. Naturally she was a stunner (just to add to my p!ssed off mood), in her mid 20's I'd say!! Baring in mind he was in his late late 40's to early 50's and extremely over weight/smelly.

But what cracked me up was this line "what Irish women would dry you off after a shower and make love to you again and again". Not the kind of vision you want in your head taking into consideration his description above.

So you wouldn't mind if he was nice looking? ;)

Heres my second post about Malaysian taxis, and the crazy ways of handling them.

There are many ways of dealing with the taxi drivers in this country. First, never convert to your own currency. If you come here, you will think in Sterling and Euro terms. The taxis are amongst the cheapest in the world.

However, you pay for what you get. You get some of the kindest people going. But by contrast, you get some of the most scheming snakes that ever crawled out of the jungle. To keep them out of the jungle, the Kuala Lumpur City Council, (DBKL) devised a unique strategy. Give them taxi plates.

There are some places you just don't go, and things you don't do.

Tourist traps. They will look at you, eye you up, and as soon as you ask, they know that its Sterling or Euro. They know that 2 quid is the price of a pint, and the moment you step in a cab at home, its 3 quid. Your screwed before you start. He knows its cheap to you, but its more, a lot more for him. On principal, don't let them screw you.

However.......a few words of Cantonese or Malay, (look at the driver first before shooting your mouth off), gets the prices down.

Considerably.

Down to normal local prices.

Where you can be nice to each other, and give a tip. But even then, theres no room for complacency. There are doctored meters, and they can hit a button. If you are drunk, and they hit this, they will accuse you of hallucinating on amphetamines if you complain. But thats besides the point. You know, and you've been warned.

But there are times it does'nt. At such times, walk away. Or if it gets bitter, remember who it was. It was with this in mind, I got lucky one night, and managed to serve revenge in fine style.

Our target is taxi plate, HWB3691. Hes Indian, Tamil Malaysian, 45 years old, fat, bald, and he could not score in a darkroom. He attempted overcharging a horrendous amount. 5 Euro I regard as standard bidding attempt to overcharge. But even after speaking Malay, he shoved the price up to the equivalent of 10 Euro. So he must have thought I was more than wealthy. He thought I was thick as well.

Crazy Taxis, part 2. "Whos in da house....crazy Gweilo in da House"

Every year it is my companys annual dinner. At this stage, it is traditional for me to dress up in drag. Its an ordeal I would rather not subject myself to, but since I look like a particularly ferocious old bag, it is somewhat amusing. Plus, it happened once, and ever since, it has to happen again. It ONLY happens once a year, and thats the way I would rather keep it.

Needless to say, dinner was pleasant. After hosting Karaoke, and giving out prizes, I am pretty worn out. The wig is making me sweat, and the high heels are killing me. Not to mention two layers of plaster on my face, warpaint and fake eyelashes. I'm chainsmoking, knocking back copious amounts of Jack Daniels, and I've finished the 10th course in a chinese banquet. Its 30 degrees, and the gambling and drinking games are in full swing. Its getting loud, and I am on edge. Theres no way I am getting involved with the card games either. Or the arm wrestling. I just find a corner, and watch.

I'm Lily Savage with a beerbelly, and I am a crossbreed mongrel lookalike of Rose, Lily Savage, Onslow and Daisy from Keeping up Appearances, and I hate it. Every minute. I curse the day I decided to do this as a joke, and they made me the hostess. Miss Sharia Lawless, Queen of KL by the Grace of God, Ireland and all her territories.

My work colleagues and I end up clubbing after the conference room. We arrange the VIP area. I have jeans underneath the long skirt. The skirt goes in the bag, the wig comes off, the t-shirt goes on. Make-up and false eyelashes remain, as I am at a competition later on, and I'm the only non national drag act.

I walk out, and my luck is in. Guess what......7th in the queue....its our pal.

HWB3691.

I'll have you for breakfast, you fat pig........

I hatch a cunning plan.

I am going to send this guys reputation to hell. His fellow taxi drivers will be talking behind his back at every coffee shop as the taxi driver who got blown by the ugly white transvestite. I get behind a pillar, get the skirt, hastily wrap it around. T-shirt off, Blouse on, and GO.

Taxi One (English Language), in my most falsetto, lisping, effiminate voice).

"Tholly Dahlink, I haf no money....I dwank it all downthairth, but if I give you thum Kalaoke, (gesturing oral sex sign), can you bwing me to thenthral mawhket" (fluttering eyelids, limp wrists)

Of course he refused.

The same conversation in Cantonese......taxi two....refused.

Three....Malay.....refused.

And four....and five.

And finally....fat slob HWB3691, who has moved from 7th to 6th position in the grid.

Normal voice. Normal me.

"Hello again, good evening, how much is it to Central Market"

7 Euro"

(Its 5 times the price, but I just agree.....)

I pass by all his buddies giving the thumbs up. Their jaws drop in horror.

I make small talk. If it were not for this guys overcharging methods, hes actually a decent chap. But my heart is made of stone. Hes complaining about how expensive KL is, and how hard it is to survive with the meter. I explain that "I always give 20% extra as a tip, not everyone do that lah"

I take my wig off 100 meters later, put the skirt in the bag, and get to the club at Central Market. In I go.

I win the consolation prize for being the worst dressed, the cheapest and nastiest looking, and it takes the judges all of fifteen minutes to decide. I'm too masculine to ever make a good drag queen, and thats what makes it fun. Its also why I hardly ever do it. I'm off to the bathroom. When I return, my consolation prize of a bottle of Chateau Vino Collapso 2006 is on the counter, on ice, with a glass.

I go to my mates.....at the bar. Plonk myself down, and begin renewing my membership of the human race.

Revenge is a dish best served with the help of Jack Daniels and Coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Tony255

Mairt wrote:
    Btw, I'm heading off to Amsterdam tomorrow for the weekend. Any crazy taxi stories from there?. Or even how much will I pay from the airport to Dam Square?.

dont get a taxi get the train to central station i think it is about €6 and much faster, dam square is about a 5 minute walk from the station.

Dutch taxis are by far the most expensive in the European Union and are controlled by the Dutch Mafia. There is a perfectly good public transport system in the Netherlands. You don't need taxis there most of the time.

Thanks for the advice on taxi's in Amsterdam, and for the one lad with loads of useful advice via a PM.

See yiz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

dermo88 wrote:
    Dutch taxis are by far the most expensive in the European Union and are controlled by the Dutch Mafia. There is a perfectly good public transport system in the Netherlands. You don't need taxis there most of the time.
    I second that, they are really expensive, haven't been there in four or five years and back then they were way way more expensive than Dub. The train station is close to schipol airport and goes right into the city centre.

Re. Taxi's and Amsterdam.

Thanks again for the advice guys.

I arrived in Amsterdam awhile ago and went along with the advice given.

Took the train from the airport and walked to the hotel on Dam Sq.

The weather is sh*t, far worse than Ireland. Pissing rain.

Anyway thats getting way off topic, just wanted to thank you guys for the advice.

regrds