Evil cult in Dublin city centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

Lazare wrote:
    She wouldn't tell me the name of it. All I know is it's behind Moore st.

I think I know where this is.
    Went up a lane there recently in the car to turnaround and happened upon a warehousey looking place with a lot of well-dressed people outside, and gospel music to beat the band.

The answer to this woman's plight is the revenue commissioners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

there's something a little bit dodge about this story. just not sure what it is.

/anyway

the idea of a tithe is very common in the US, where you are actually expected to set up a direct debit even for mainstream churches (according to what US friends have told me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

micmclo wrote:
    Or least, can you advise us of any mass services we might attend;)
    PWEASE tell me! Me wants to pop in with shaved head, full length trenchcoat, and tell them to f*ck off when they ask me.
    /obligatory:

Father Ted: It's not as if everyone's going to go off and join some mad religious cult just because we go off for a picnic for a couple of hours.

Father Dougal: God, Ted, I heard about those cults. Everyone dressing in black and saying our Lord's gonna come back and judge us all!

Father Ted: No... No, Dougal, that's us. That's Catholicism.
    Cheers man. This has made me smile :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

remember people, that 10% of your gross earning not net,
    send the basket around again.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Are donations to religious organisations not tax deductable?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Are donations to religious organisations not tax deductable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

can they clear out my body-thetans? otherwise, this ones _definately_ a scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

crosstownk wrote:
    I'd agree with this.

People tend to turn to religion when they are going through troubled times. To prey on people, when they feel they are at a disadvantage is wrong, evil.

I know this isn't the case 100% of the time, but it does happen. If people are stupid enough to give away money then that's one thing, but if people are looking for spiritual assistance, and are subsequently exploited because they were distracted by other 'life' events, then that's kinda evil in my book.

i agree. theres a controversial church here in nz (http://www.destinychurch.org.nz/) that does attract a lot of people that are struggling with life and they are expected to tithe..to "further the ministry" and all that. im sorry, but if you KNOW someone is having a hard time of it (even if their life has improved a bit ) and expect them to tithe thats just NASTY. the contributions tab on their website says "Your seed-faith donation makes it possible for Bishop Tamaki to bring the saving and healing power of Jesus Christ to the world."...uh yeah how? making sure he wears the best suits?
    i have way more issues with this 'church' than the tithing thing but yeah..id be here all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

Lazare wrote:
    This is the best bit, the minister himself called to her house demanding to know why she hadn't come back. I cynically asked her what car was he driving. He was driving a brand new Mercedes, had an Armani suit on with designer shoes a Dolce & Gabbana tie, and a €5000 Tag heuer watch!

that money was just resting in his account!!!

philstar wrote:
    an evil cult......

the wealthiest organisation in the world.....is the catholic church

so when you're finished investigating that african crowd why don't you look into them:rolleyes:

can't remember the last time a priest driving a merc and wearing a dolce and gabana suit threatening my family if i didnt hand over 10% of my earnings .... that must be just your parish so????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

bug wrote:
    I think I know where this is.
    Went up a lane there recently in the car to turnaround and happened upon a warehousey looking place with a lot of well-dressed people outside, and gospel music to beat the band.

The answer to this woman's plight is the revenue commissioners.

Actually there's a lot of African churches in that area. I know quite a few of the pastors and none of them are wealthy, in fact most of them live on low incomes. This sounds like an urban legend to me. I can understand it's popularity since it's directed against both a racial minority and a religious minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Papergirl 1

/obligatory:

Father Ted: It's not as if everyone's going to go off and join some mad religious cult just because we go off for a picnic for a couple of hours.

Father Dougal: God, Ted, I heard about those cults. Everyone dressing in black and saying our Lord's gonna come back and judge us all!

Father Ted: No... No, Dougal, that's us. That's Catholicism.

Ha ha.....No Dougal, as I said before, that money was just resting in my account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

*Lights pitchfork on fire* Let's chase them ther dang gollywogs outta her', the power of our Lord and Saviour Christ compells you. Worship the Lord or die you heatens.

Hmm, like someone stated before it does seem a bit too constructed (The price and make of his watch.) but that been said it is known to happen, though I don't think any case has been ever reported in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭berengar

Ladies house ?

what is this ¿?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

There's another one of those churches on westland row,the masses take place at the back of a bookshop aand it seems exclusively for africans.I wonder what would happen if i showed up one sunday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I've heard of this before. They even have one of those meeting places in the industrial estate in Glasnevin, so they must have plenty of cash as those buildings are extremely expensive to rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

There are some extraordinarily nasty cults that have migrated recently from sub-saharan Africa, and they shouldn't be underestimated in terms of the trouble they can cause. They are of the same ilk as the nuts in the bible belt in the USA, (those same monkeys responsible for the recent intelligent design buffonery), and are known to use a variety of well documented techniques to ensure loyalty and income from their parishioners.

I'm not usually one to support the actions of monarchy, but I find myself in full support of those rulers who lashed those cults out of Europe back in the day, and forced them to flee to the US. Unfortunately, those who escaped are now coming back to haunt us.

As for a tithe, it is a very common method for religious organisations to maintain their existence, in fact in several European countries the tithe is taken out of your wages at the same time as your taxes, and paid to the religion you are registered under. If you don't want to pay, you sign a form stating you are not part of any religious organisation, and they then can refuse to offer you sacraments and religious services.

In my opinion, these groups prey on the weak and those going through a troubled time, and leverage methods that should be illegal to ensure they stay with the cult when times get better. They should be scourged wholesale from our society and used as a lesson for schoolchildren to learn for posterity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

can't remember the last time a priest driving a merc and wearing a dolce and gabana suit threatening my family if i didnt hand over 10% of my earnings .... that must be just your parish so????

maybe so....but have you seen the big palace the pope is living in i.e. the vatican

the guy is sitting on a mountain of money, but will he pay off the third world depth which he could easily do??.....not at all.... that would be too "Christan"

he's probably just holding on to it for when all the sex-abuse law suits come around

philstar wrote:
    maybe so....but have you seen the big palace the pope is living in i.e. the vatican

the guy is sitting on a mountain of money, but will he pay off the third world depth which he could easily do??.....not at all.... that would be too "Christan"

he's probably just holding on to it for when all the sex-abuse law suits come around

the point i was trying to make if you could get off the anti-christian band wagon for two minutes is that your post about the christian church being one of the/the wealthiest organisations in the world is not comparable to to some man who is clearly a con artist harrassing you for a large some of money and making you fear for the safety of your family....

philstar wrote:

So could Bono...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

the point i was trying to make if you could get off the anti-christian band wagon for two minutes is that your post about the christian church being one of the/the wealthiest organisations in the world is not comparable to to some man who is clearly a con artist harrassing you for a large some of money and making you fear for the safety of your family....
    And how do you think the RC Church amassed its huge fortune? Did they simply ask everyone nicely?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

the point i was trying to make if you could get off the anti-christian band wagon for two minutes

no no im not being anti-christan as such.....its just that in this country, when ever a new religion comes around people tend to have a very narrow-minded view on it saying.... ah its a cult, they'll brain wash ya, they'll take all your money and the like..

But yet the biggest "cult" religion of all time has been right under they're noses.... i.e. the catholic church

philstar wrote:
    no no im not being anti-christan as such.....its just that in this country, when ever a new religion comes around people tend to have a very narrow-minded view on it saying.... ah its a cult, they'll brain wash ya, they'll take all your money and the like..

But yet the biggest "cult" religion of all time has been right under they're noses.... i.e. the catholic church

They only say "ah its a cult" if it appears to be acting in a strange way..ie extorting money from members or trying to prevent people from leaving.

philstar wrote:
    its just that in this country, when ever a new religion comes around people tend to have a very narrow-minded view on it saying.... ah its a cult, they'll brain wash ya, they'll take all your money and the like..

well now you see i agree with you there (she says as she gingerly steps down off the anti-philstar band wagon:D )

however this man is clearly a shamster and a potentially violent one by the sounds of things

and yes sangre i know the RC church aren't exactly blameless when it comes to violence and extortion but that is not exactly what this thread in about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

PDN wrote:
    This sounds like an urban legend to me. I can understand it's popularity since it's directed against both a racial minority and a religious minority.

Wondering when the race card would come out :rolleyes: Just because this guy is black doesn't mean he is not a scam artist ! Or am I picking you up wrong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

ehm, can I just say that in Germany, for example, there's actually a government "Church-tax" (which obviously goes to the government, not the church, but the principle is the same)...and that's totally legal...

(I think it's 9 % on the amount of your income tax, or something)

That aside, it sounds dodgy - just send the revenue people in, they'll sort it out...;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Everyone is going on about the catholic church and their wealth, most of it is tied up in property, it's not as if you can sell somebodys parish church for no reason but money, etc.
    The anglican church is also wealthy. as are several others, but it's not liquid.

Not all religious are money hungry either, i'm not religious, but i know for a fact that despite living in a palace, my diocesan bishop drives a 15 year old peugeot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Lazare wrote:
    I was working in a ladies house today. She is originally from Africa and living here almost a decade. At midday, the angelus came on the radio and we got talking about religion.

I had heard her on the phone earlier and she seemed to be having an uncomfortable conversation with somebody. Anyway, we were chatting away and she told me that recently she was going through a tough time and her friend brought her along to a christian church in Dublin city centre run by Africans, to get her through her troubles.

She said at first she really enjoyed it, they were singing and playing African music, and in general it was a nice place. After some visits she noticed the minister was talking a lot about how the bible says that everybody should pay 10% of everything they earn to god, and this seemed to be the central theme.

When the collection basket came around she took out some change to put in, and her friend stopped her and said 'No,no you must give more', while herself putting €200 into the basket! Her friend insisted she must give this to 'god'.

Well, needless to say she got the fcuk out of dodge, but they have been calling relentlessly ever since (the minister and two of his staff). Each time they call they keep telling her the bible states she must give 10% of her earnings to them. She is in the process of changing her phone numbers.

This is the best bit, the minister himself called to her house demanding to know why she hadn't come back. I cynically asked her what car was he driving. He was driving a brand new Mercedes, had an Armani suit on with designer shoes a Dolce & Gabbana tie, and a €5000 Tag heuer watch!

I just could not believe how he could be so blatant, and how people were falling for it. She told me the parishioners, mostly Africans, some Irish and eastern Europeans all seemed brain washed.

I asked her why she doesn't just tell them to fcuk off, and she said she's terrified because she has small children, she said..'you don't know what these people are capable of'

I found the whole thing quite shocking and hard to believe. She didn't want to tell me the name of the church, but I'm going to look a bit further into it and contact a newspaper and the Guards.

Has anyone else ever heard of this?

Sounds to me like you're making **** up ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Degsy wrote:
    There's another one of those churches on westland row,the masses take place at the back of a bookshop aand it seems exclusively for africans.I wonder what would happen if i showed up one sunday..

I know that place. The pastor is an Irish guy called Brendan & I think they would be very glad to see you if you showed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Church: Cult, Cult: Church.