Neighbours who push their luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Is there mischief a foot? I would be interested...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

At the moment its all a joke but who knows!Maybe all boardsies who take exception to these sort of neighbours can form a task force that travel around the country exacting revenge on the neighbours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ok, someone has said installing those permanent bollards is illegal.
    But maybe you could do it for the space outside your house or possibly your driveway.
    I'm talking about the ones sunk in concrete, not a cone.

It reserves your space and if they complain, just say you're thinking of getting a motorbike and you need something secure to attach it to.

Google parking bollard and you'll see loads of examples

micmclo wrote:
    Ok, someone has said installing those permanent bollards is illegal.
    But maybe you could do it for the space outside your house or possibly your driveway.
    I'm talking about the ones sunk in concrete, not a cone.

It reserves your space and if they complain, just say you're thinking of getting a motorbike and you need something secure to attach it to.

Google parking bollard and you'll see loads of examples
    Post number 300 for me...
    Anyway yeah!I like that idea-sure who knows what'll happen!As I look out our window though I see that our space IS being occupied by a car which we are happy to have there,and hopefully will be there on a regular basis-so maybe that'll be our new bollard!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yeah having problems myself, lot of rented houses on my street, one house up the road on the otherside, is full of eastern europeans who work for some motorway firm have this big ugly red van and have started parking it outside my house, so I've had to park my car outside my house to stop them. when they park the van their its so big that I can't turn into my house as its going over part of my driveway, am I within my rights to tell them not to park there? Threaten to complain to their landlord? Checked the van tax and insurance seem to be inplace but no NCT cert and its an 89 reg van.

Snake
    Commercial vans don't have NCT certs on the windscreens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

Sneakily paint some double yellow lines in their spot when nobody's looking!

Our neighbours are nouveaux riche scum...basically knackers with a lot of money and they grind my gears big time. It's the pits living next to crummy neighbours and I'd be here all day telling ye about these eejits but like everyone's said, don't give in!! No matter how ignorant they seem, they get the message, or at least some of it, eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭gubby

I honestly dont know what the matter with ye people at all at all. Sure this poor man is going to have to live there next to this guy. and by all accounts this has been going on for a very long time. play it smart! you have to outsmart him not make him more angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I'd do as one of the earlier posters said, and park out there myself. When he knocks in to complain dont even acknowledge him, just close the door and go back to what you were doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

To the guy with the van parking partially blocking his driveway - this is illegal. Afaik the rules of the road state that you cannot park across (and possibly within a few feet of) a DRIVEWAY, crossroads or a pedestrain crossing.

to the OP, if you have the guts, then wind him up as much as you can :D . I cant say I'd do it, I live alone, but if I had two or three burly fellas in the house I'd have no problem winding em up!! These people only get to you if you let them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

OP that is actually the funniest thing I've heard all weekend........:rolleyes:..........that is hilarious, the cheek of the guy like!!!! I would've broken into tears laughing at the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 stickytape

Ur bloody well righT. Some neighbours. we also have the same problem....one crowd think they can park everywhere even blocking us from getting out of our own drive and when u ask them to move u get ate.......wtf???? so DON'T GIVE IN AND FIGHT THESE @:£&£( ALL THE WAY......i hate these RA do gooders people......

As for the getting the work done and asking the construction workers/.......well i can also releate....a different family are the family from hell......litreally....eveil people......who copy whtaver work we get done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,915 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

To the OP, why don't you have your driveway widened if you can and therefore if he blocks you, then he's breaking the law?

Snake ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

It is amazing how petty people are.
    Yeah having problems myself, lot of rented houses on my street, one house up the road on the otherside, is full of eastern europeans who work for some motorway firm have this big ugly red van and have started parking it outside my house, so I've had to park my car outside my house to stop them.
    If they obstruct your entrance you can make a complaint to:

Their boss.
    The Garda.
    The council.

To all posters yes I'd agree.Its best to win a series of small battles rather than piss them off once big time.The skip that I was talking about came today for some reason,and the funny thing is the truck was parked outside ours for a minute-the daughter next door immediately decided that she wanted to go out and even though the truck wasn't blocking her she wax straight over to us asking the driver to move it the cheeky bitch.She said'get that out of here i want to leave now do you hear me?' The driver just stopped talking while she was mouthing off,then went back talking to my dad afterwards.He didn't acknowledge her at all as per an earlier suggestion on the thread:D :D The look on her face was terrific.We also started throwing out some stuff from the kitchen into it and they were already looking in the skip to see what we were doing!

To the OP, why don't you have your driveway widened if you can and therefore if he blocks you, then he's breaking the law?

Snake ;)

If only!We like our little grass patch too much though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

Hire goons to nick nack their houses repeatedly and tie fruit to their trees (me and my mates will do this **** for free)!

why tie fruit to their trees is there something i'm not getting there???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

we have a similar problem where my parents are living .... there is a business owner across the road and he has 3 trucks (Small ones but trucks none the less) he parks all 3 of em in the turning area, the thing is the residents of the cul-de-sac aren't really stuck for a turning space but he road has often been blocked because they are stuck for somewhere for their guests cars to park...... i dont suffer from this as i drive a motorbike but my dad drives a van which he is forced to at times park across the neighbour's driveway (they do not own a car and he cleared it with them) as the van is too large to fit in the driveway.
    the really annoying part is that the business owner doesnt even live in the house anymore ...
    people tried complaining about it but they were told that because he was a resident for x amount of years he is entitled to park his trucks there i mean WTF is that all about!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Correct as per an earlier post- Vans dont go for the NCT- they go for the DoE (A similar money racket!) There is no disc for it so there is no way of finding out if they actually have it or not..

Neighbours of ours run a creche, in their house. Their driveway, is huge! But then they refuse to park inside themselves- they leave the gates shut! Then they park their own two cars outside their wall. When the children in the creche have to be picked up in the evening, the parents all park down along the wall outside our house! It doesnt bother me terribly- but there was a lovely patch of grass outside our wall. It has been reduced to a sludge as of late!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Re the work being done on the house - get the lads doing the work to feed them a few porkie pies if asked what's being done. Stuff like raising the height of the garden wall a couple of feet, installing a hot tub/sauna in the back garden, building something like an extension that would require planning permission (they will obviously be fully aware you haven't got it and will be up in arms hehe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Why not make a dig at him about his kids still living at home at this age in their lives and thats the problem, not you parking outside your house. Some friends of mine live in a rented house in Marino and they have three cars which they park in a double driveway. The house nest door has two cars with a single driveway and they park them both on the street, one in front of their house and the other blocking the drive of of my friends. One recent occasion when they complained to the daughter (in her 30's) about blocking the drive she replied "but you are only renting". She wasn't happy when the reply she got was "but you're only living with your parents".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 LiamDuff

The lesson to be learned here is don't buy half a house. Detached living with 2 acres surroundings is the only way to go. All these horribly little petty neighbour disputes over noise,parking etc. just vanish.

^^noted FX Meister:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭tampopo

Hilarious thread.

the DCC towing number is 602-2500.

Had a young coulple attempt to park outside the house and next door. One in a minivan and a compact car. Was on the pc at the time, so opened the window and caught their attention and told them 'don't park there, I'm expecting a visitor' (I wasn't of course). They moved the small car, then a few mins later moved the minivan. ffs if I went to their house and parked outside it all day, what do they think they'd think of it. Bad enough to have a cycle lane outside the house but complete strangers parking there too.!!!

I hate to see churned up grassy verges. Any chance of a few painted white cavity blocks?

good luck with it anyway...it can be a curse to fall out with neighbours.

Go with the windup as regards raising the garden wall or the outdoor spa!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 LiamDuff

If you are living in a housing estate you can park wherever you like on the road. If somebody has 20 cars they can have them up and down the road as once they are legally parked on the road its first come first served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

LiamDuff wrote:
    If you are living in a housing estate you can park wherever you like on the road. If somebody has 20 cars they can have them up and down the road as once they are legally parked on the road its first come first served.

Actually, isn't there a law stating it illegal to park a certain number of cars outside your house. Not sure what it is, but I'm pretty sure it's less than 20 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Hoops1888

tampopo wrote:
    I'm expecting a visitor' (I wasn't of course). They moved the small car, then a few mins later moved the minivan. ffs if I went to their house and parked outside it all day, what do they think they'd think of it. Bad enough to have a cycle lane outside the house but complete strangers parking there too.!!!

Jesus fair enough the OP has a good case. But come on, I bet your popular?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

humanji wrote:
    Actually, isn't there a law stating it illegal to park a certain number of cars outside your house. Not sure what it is, but I'm pretty sure it's less than 20 :D

some managed housing estates allot a certain number of spaces per unit. where i live a 2 bed apartment/duplex or house gets 1.5 spaces (try figure that out) a 3 bed house gets 2 and a 4 bed gets 3 i think. Also if the estate is in the care of the local council and there are no drive ways they have guidelines for parking similar to the above.

in relation to the OPs problem, if the tosser is parked outside your home you can not get him to move. however my understanding is that it is illegal to park opposite another car thus reducing the road to one lane, illegal to park opposite a gate so if he's blocking someones Else's gate across the street then he is illegally parked. best thing to do is leave your gates closed and park outside your house, if he's there when you come home knock and ask him to move the car as you wish to park outside your home. and keep parking outside your house not in your drive til late at night they'll soon get the message.

My in-laws face this crap every day. the Klampets as they are affectionately known have a drive that you'd easily fit 2 possible 2.5 cars in as they have it paved. but the insist on only 1 car, then one outside their gate then one up the road then another outside a neighbors and 2 across the street. and each and everyone of them are just as ignorant as your neighbour bar one. he's a decent bloke and will knock in if he blocks your gate and asks if its ok. course he's one of their boyfriends so not really one of then so that might explain his bazaar behavior LOL. it got to the point where my FIL would park outside his house every day and wait for me to turn up then park outside their house so i could park. they soon got the message and on the rare occasion only block him in.

where i live i get it all the time too had some silly cow park against my door in communal parking telling me i had no right to park there that the residents association told her sop. so when i asked when was this she said at the last meeting. so i politely informed her she was sadly mistaken as i chaired the last residents meeting as i was acting chair person. the look on her face, she hopped into her car and moved it damn quick and hasn't looked at me since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Makes me glad for my neighbours, keep fighting them, they'll give in sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

My Mum constantly has this problem. Our neighbours on either side are from the one family and their relations are always calling over. Every night there's an average of 4 or 5 cars parked outside. The neighbours never park in the driveways. Ok fine, there's a car park area just past their house which they can use. Nope. They park outside our house. So basically, they block our driveway and the area outside our house, but leave their driveways empty and unblocked. Sometimes they even park side by side, blocking the whole road, so as to keep their driveway empty and unblocked at the same time.

I recently got insured on the car so now whenever someone pulls up outside the house I jump in the car straight away and get them to move. It's an excuse to practice driving after all! What's annoying me now though is the neighbour on the right no longer parks his car outside his house, or in his drive, but outside our house. Not blocking our drive but still outside our house. I know it's a public space but I can't see the logic behind it. They drive me mad but Mum won't say anything cause they're a bit rough and won't let me say anything either. They're just pure ignorant.