Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sopranos: Season 6 Part 2: RTÉ2 Pace (NO SPOILERS BEYOND LAST AIRED EPISODE)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

D.T. Jesus wrote:
    I don't think we're meant to know (not yet anyway). Hesh was fairly paranoid about Tony hurting him and his family, remember when Tony came to visit, Hesh told her to lock herself in her room, and when they leave we see the scene where Tony thinks Hesh is being a dick. Also if I remember correctly didn't Tony give a sly smirk when he lift Hesh's house after his gf died? I dunno, we'll probably never find out to tell the truth.

It wasn't a sly smirk... It was more of a reflection of his thoughts...I figure he may have been thinking something to do with karma on Hesh's part, his girlfriend's death being a result of his selfishness or something? I dunno, I reckon you're right that we'll never know though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

shane86 wrote:
    Despite the fact that Meadows boyfriend was terrified of what might happen after he was forced to tell the lads what he saw Vito doing with the security guard in the last season, neither Carmela nor Meadow seemed to make the connection between Finn telling his story and Vito being found beaten to death a few weeks later :confused:

It was more than a few weeks. Also I think Carmela and Meadow don't talk about missing 'friends' of Tony's. The only reason thats she's interested in Adrianna is because she was close to her and she was in the mob, unlike Pussy and Vito etc.

On the whole I was more disappointed about the main plot not moving along than the bringing in the gambling in one episode and presumably then dropping it.
    The whole theme of this series appear to be paranoia. Tony now totally paranoid about everyone but Sil (and him prob only because he couldn't handle being boss in T's absence last year). Hesch was also paranoid in this episode as was Paulie in the last one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

so AJ is depressed...he's been depressed since day one for ch*sts sake!!

and it has to be said the guy who plays AJ is one crap actor.

otherwise not bad this week, pity about the scriptwriter gettin snuffed though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Of course Tony's gambling addiction last one week as was expected. Otherwise a good episode. More priceless Paulie scenes are always welcome in my book.

Chris: "When will I get my money?"
    Paulie: "When you can suck it outta my ass" :D

I'm surprised at the lack of Phil Leotardo, I thought they were building up something with him, but they're leaving it a bit late, how many eps left now? 3 or 4?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

D.T. Jesus wrote:
    Chris: "When will I get my money?"
    Paulie: "When you can suck it outta my ass" :D

ROFL :D Thats just classic Paulie lines (along with his crack about his daughter working at the bing and the school one), yid wonder if its ever ad libbed. The look on his face wrecking Chris garden, hes a lunatic :)

Have to agree with the previous guy, AJ just doesnt have the accent or mannerisms as any of the other mob lads sons on the show.

re the murder, I think there was only one episode where Tony was forced to half admit to Carmela that someone had "left the family" or some similiar language, possibly when Richie Aprile was killed.

Can see Chris either dying or going to prison. He drunkenly shoots a guy in his own apartment, brely concealing his prints bar when leaving, and the guys girlfriend knows he hangs around with a violent gangster. Judging by his AA rant, a final rat storyline for him maybe? Offered a light sentence on the murder for ratting Tony?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

Agree on Chris getting Whacked or Going down on a light sentence, His mention of Adrianna had me upset, Im a tough guy! I did read an article before the series start that was spoiler free but suggested Chris might snap big time over Adrianna and die or do a 'Henry Hill' I think he might rat after him talking about the guy living it up "sucking in the FBI's Tit money"

Paulie's jokes in the bing were gas as well, suprised Chis didnt smack him, its not over with them by any means I suspect.

In fairness to Chris his paranoia is actually based in fact. He is getting squeezed out and it is because of the non-drinking. Tony should have come down way harder on Paulie, who was a total dick in this episode.

Thought this was a really good episode overall. And as regards AJ he hasn't really been depressed to that extent or in that way before.

Also liked how Tony saw Chris's comments about his father passing on alcoholism to him as Tony passing on depression to AJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

how many more episodes left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

how many more episodes left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Tony's gambling,seemed too rushed to me in one episode to have so much gambling with so much fall out.
    This didn't work for me either. It just seemed so out of line with Tony's track record as a strong role model keeping the others under his thumb.
    shane86 wrote:
    re the murder, I think there was only one episode where Tony was forced to half admit to Carmela that someone had "left the family" or some similiar language, possibly when Richie Aprile was killed.
    The standard euphemism was 'gone into the programme' (i.e. witness protection programme). This was used to explain the dissappearances of Pussy, Adrienne and Richie.

My favourite line from this season so far has got to be Jeannie Sacks whinging about her dying husband's failure to stay of the fags when they had agreed that he'd stay off the fags if she kept up her Weight Watchers. As she wobbled through the hospital corridor, she complaints that 'I lost 18 lbs, but could he stay off the cigarettes? No'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

what a strange episode....this final series is moving to quickly for my liking:(

BTW what did tony shout out at the end???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭TedKelly

philstar wrote:
    what a strange episode....this final series is moving to quickly for my liking:(

sounded like " I did it" ?? Not too sure what it was all about meself.

philstar wrote:

I did it!

Interesting episode, I was in total shock at what Tony did to Chris. Just shows what a cold bastard he is.

TedKelly wrote:
    sounded like " I did it" ?? Not too sure what it was all about meself.

I presume it was about him getting rid of Chris?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭TedKelly

Yeah I suppose ya could be right. He seemed to put his bad luck with the gambling changing down to the fact that Chris was dead.

Wow - I didn't see that one coming. I loved the subtle lines, like Tony telling his cronies that he'd have strangled Chrissie himself if he had known he was high. Little do they know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

philstar wrote:
    I had the subtitles on (just to make sure I don't miss anything when they're mumbling and stuff) and he said "I GET IT!".

I heard "I Get It" as well, understanding the universe etc

What drug did Tony ingest with the girl in Vegas. She mentioned 'buttons' - seemed like some kind of acid or estacsy substance. And who was the girl - I have a vague memory of Chris meeting up with her in his scriptwriting days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Oobie

RainyDay wrote:
    What drug did Tony ingest with the girl in Vegas. She mentioned 'buttons' - seemed like some kind of acid or estacsy substance. And who was the girl - I have a vague memory of Chris meeting up with her in his scriptwriting days.

Peyote (I think that's how it's spelt).

Really good, really strange episode.

A kind of anti-climactic way for Chrissie to go. No whacking, no ratting out to Feds, just badly injured in a car crash and Tony on hand to finish him off.

Just before T fell down laughing at the casino did he say 'He's dead' ?

As for Paulies mother dying, maybe it's because Paulie always felt usurped or repalced in Tony's affections by Chris and this was kinda like the final fcuk you to Paulie.

Also strange that Tonys dream about talking to Melfi was almost exactly replicated in real life. Some truth from Tony is rare even with Melfi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭bullpost

I'm finding it a bit all over the place. Its like the scriptwriters just wanted to finish it off and threw in a whole load of plotlines but never fully developed them . I thought the opening episode when Tony had the fight with a much leaner, assertive Bobby was really good and would lead somewhere . But its just fizzled out. I would have liked to see something with a bit more depth done with Meadows character, because she's the only one in the family who seems to have gotten through all the disfunctionality and made something of herself which owes nothing directly to Tonys activities. I also find it a bit difficult to believe that Dr. Melfi hasn't cut Tony loose at this stage - for her own sanity and safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

bullpost wrote:
    I thought the opening episode when Tony had the fight with a much leaner, assertive Bobby was really good and would lead somewhere .

Thought it was a bit weak and time wasting considering it had little to do with the finale plot, but anyway.

Decent last night, well, the first 40 minutes anyway. Is it just me or when they take them out of Jersey do they have a bad episode about half the time? Like that rubbish dream episode Tony had after he was shot. The Vegas thing was largely time wasting if you ask me, which isnt really what you want when there are so few episodes left. I think Chris could have went out in a more dramatic, plot driven fashion. And how come he seemed fine during the meeting with Phil (and, presumably, because he wouldnt want Tony knowing, he hadnt used drugs for a few hours previously) and yet hours later, after the effects would be all but gone, he starts acting weird and crashes the car?

Apart from that, I dont think Tony would have got away with this one. Two normal people in an accident, one dies, yeah, it happens. But ive a feeling that if Tonys drug addicted unstable cousin/nephew/whatever died beside him the feds would post mortem him to bits to find anything. And apart from that, Chris would have been taken in nearly immediately for his reckless hit on the film writer in his flat (seeing as the guys girlfriend knows Chris and what he does, as well as forensics)

btw it was hard to hear but when Chris was injured he either told Tony to leave without him or call a taxi, saying he wouldnt pass a drug test. Which did he say, and why was he worried re a test bar losing his licence? Hes not on probation/parole afaik (i think he got the incident where he shot the guy who tried to kill him brought down to a minor gun charge years back, related to this?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

He didnt seem fine during the meeting with Phil. He was shifty and nervous just as he was the time Tony told him about his promotion and he was high as a kite then.

I'd say the bit about not wanting to lose his license was just to make sure the audience knew he was on the drugs again.

Tony telling everyone about the child seat to shift blame from himself was so funny and how hot was the peyote girl in vegas????!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

How did Christopher die? the usual way?
    As someone not realising The Sopranos were on phoned me before the start, Aaaaaaarrrrggh!!

BTW: how many eps are left?

I knew he was gonna die when the camera lingered on Chris putting the copied CD of the departed soundtrack in the car stereo, it lingered on DEPARTED for what to me seemed an eternitey, anyone notice that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

{Quote}Just before T fell down laughing at the casino did he say 'He's dead' ?

Think this is all about Tony thinking he's been cursed because of his decision to put all his faith in chris. You can here him saying as much when he's talking to Melfi and the fact that it's after a big gambling win that he comes to the realisation.

For all those of you who moaned about Tony's gambling problems in an earlier episode being random, shame on you. Chase is a genius and nothing in the Sopranos is ever random