Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sopranos: Season 6 Part 2: RTÉ2 Pace (NO SPOILERS BEYOND LAST AIRED EPISODE)

• 31-05-2007 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

I felt that it would be better if there was one dedicated thread for The Sopranos on RTE2 instead of one for each episode like what happened with the American airings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Excellent episode as per usual.

Anyone know the artist that made the closing track?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Not a regular watcher of it but it got the thumbs up from me. Interesting and suggestive ending. Just the way to have them:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

good episode, and i'm over the moon sil didn't get wasted. the guy is a class act. wud be interested in finding out who the track for the credits was done by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

The track is called Evidently Chickentown and you can listen to it here.

http://idolator.com/tunes/the-sopranos/the-sopranos-goes-to-chickentown-252523.php

Great tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Really good episode. Picking up the pace after a relatively slow start. Looks like Philly Leatardo is going to go old school on them next week. And wtf was Christopher doing putting Tony so obviously in the film.

Random bits I loved:
    The guy coming out and taking the mike away before the director could say anything.
    Tony saying no more walking out to get the paper (the traditional way to start a season; a nice nod to say it's all over soon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

*yawn*

Sorry but I really didnt rate this at all, found it very slow moving. The whole Tony/Adriana thing was dead and buried before....well....she herself ended up dead and buried. I dont even think it is that Chris hates him, its that Tony is getting paranoid that he does and, after the talk re the film character, Chris is terrified he hasnt convinced him there is no problem between them. Also, wtf, in the space of one episode Chris is already married and has the kid? At the end of the previous season he was falling back into drugs and didnt even like his wife, he just bounced back in 5 minutes? I dunno, its all moving very slowly and drawn out if you ask me.

And that hit was one of the worst Ive seen. He seemed to bounce around the table before getting on the floor to crawl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

Great episode, the last few minutes of Phil talking like he's ready for a big Braveheart style war, the church scene, life being celebrated into the world when soon a lot will be gone, Paulies reaction to Johnny Sack's death and his little proverb/saying. Chritophers rant on ideas 'Some asshole hit Issac Newton with an apple and he invented Gravity' Sopranos classic line.

shane86 wrote:
    Also, wtf, in the space of one episode Chris is already married and has the kid? At the end of the previous season he was falling back into drugs and didnt even like his wife, he just bounced back in 5 minutes? I dunno, its all moving very slowly and drawn out if you ask me.

There was a considerable gap in time between the end of the previous season and the start of this one. About 6-8 months I'd say going on the size of Chris' baby. We also saw him talking to his sponsor who said he was pretty fcuked up when he came back into rehab a few months ago.

Also I don't think Chris is plotting anything against Tony, who is just getting paranoid, but I expect him to get mixed up in New York power struggle, kinda like Tony B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

shane86 wrote:
    At the end of the previous season he was falling back into drugs and didnt even like his wife, he just bounced back in 5 minutes? I dunno, its all moving very slowly and drawn out if you ask me.

Um....yes. That makes sense.

kevmy wrote:
    There was a considerable gap in time between the end of the previous season and the start of this one. About 6-8 months I'd say going on the size of Chris' baby. We also saw him talking to his sponsor who said he was pretty fcuked up when he came back into rehab a few months ago.
    But dont you think that was a last opportunity? Tony might have seen him back on it and there you go, to whack or not to whack. Instead it all happened off camera. I dunno, it just isnt doing a whole pile to be optimistic over so far. Its as if the FBI arent even still building a case on Tony these days, whats up with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

the 2 fed's that came to tonys house aren't buildin a case on tony but other feds are. do u not remember tonys lawyer telling him bout the gun charge in last weeks epiosde. alos i think the 2 feds that came to the house, in some kind of way cud be tonys way out of any trouble with the law, but we'll just have to see how that pan's out.

looks like phil will be going to the martress' :D can't wait!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

now im a big fan of the sopranos ...but ..from time to time i do find it a wee bit hard to follow.

I mean they introduce new characters too quickly, and i haven't got a clue who they are and where they fit in, in the scheme of things.

Last night was a classic example....the guy who got shot in restaurant, gerry who the hell is?? is he a captain?? is he related to phil??

And i had to watch it twice to find out who shot him, its some old guy called Doc, a character that was only introduced last week.

I also find the dialog very vague and sometimes use the subtitles to understand what they're talking about.:cool:

i out of interest do any of you feel the same?? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

I think that's what makes it great philstar. It provokes conversation.

philstar - Well thats the beauty of the Sopranos it's not the usual type of programme it doesn't spoonfeed you information you gotta figure it out for yourself. It has all these little ambiguous bits and pieces and scenes that you have to make up your own mind on.

shane86 - It's just that they skipped time they always did that between seasons. And as for missing an oportunity I'm not sure I understand. I'm sure they will have plenty of opportunities to take Chris out but Tony would need a really good reason to do anything to Chris, back on the drugs wouldn't be enough. Something will pop up that happened years ago like it always does in Sopranos, like it always does in real life

They had to finish it - The Real Boss needs Silvio for lead guitar in the Autumn, and for 18 months after ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭TX123

just saw the second last episode. All i can say its one of the best ever. Your all in for a gripping series

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 jascas

<SNIP>

MOD EDIT: No asking for links to downloads! First and final warning!

Started at episode 13 "Sopranos home Movies" but watch yourself there bud or you'll end up gettin banned

yo!! reminding you schmuks that The Sopranos is on again tonite on RTE2 @10

Good episode.

Did anybody else see the MIT connection?

Orizio wrote:
    Good episode.

Did anybody else see the MIT connection?

MIT ??...what do u mean??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

philstar wrote:
    MIT ??...what do u mean??

I think (although I hope I'm wrong) he's referring to the fact that last night's episode had a "mentally unstable" asian guy in it. Like the guy who shot all the students recently in Virginia Tech.

Coincidence? Yes.

Significance? None.

Especially when you consider the episode would have been shot about 6 months before the shooting.

Great episode, best in some time and a real improvement on what were (imo, not in other peoples for some reason) two pretty mediocre opening episodes. Re the MIT didnt notice that part but I thought the actor really reminded me of the shooter in his video he sent out. Ep had all you wanted- a decent hit (though who were the two who got shot? tbh Im not fond of them bringing in actors just for a murder scene, it should really show them a bit first) and some great quotes.

Oh yeah, and the young blonde yoke. Jaysus :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Worth watching for the blonde Tony banged alone.

The momentum is beginning to build. Mr. PTSB is cementing his role at the top, it can't be long before he turns his attention to T's crew. Was the guy he had shot a rival or was Phil just pissed he ate off his plate?

I was on edge of my seat wondering if Tony was going to kill Paulie.

Agreed. The Sopranos can be hard to follow at times - especially when they introduce new main characters one minute and have them whacked the next.

The Junior storyline was very funny. Dominic Chianese is a great actor. Where did they get those jokes from?? The MIT connection was a little eerie but that episode was written and filmed way before the shootings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The scenes with Junior reminded me a lot of Jack Nicholson's character in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest, especially the Poker scene, where Junior gets them altogether for a game - anyone else see the similarity there, or was it just me?!

JoeA3 wrote:
    The scenes with Junior reminded me a lot of Jack Nicholson's character in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest, especially the Poker scene, where Junior gets them altogether for a game - anyone else see the similarity there, or was it just me?!

Now that you mention it...

It was funny to see Junior still hustling well into his 70s. You can take the gangster out of the mob..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jArgHA

yeah I also was reminded of One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest when I saw that scene, plus the respect from the other guys that Junior gets is a bit like the respect McMurphy gets in the film.

hey I was just thinking recently about one of my fav episodes ever and wondering could someone tell me exactly which ep this is so I can watch again:
    the episode followed Paulie & Christopher trying to kill some guy who just won't die, they end up in the woods with snow on the ground and Paulie loses a shoe at some point. It was a particularly funny ep? Can anyone help me out?

jAH

jArgHA wrote:

hey I was just thinking recently about one of my fav episodes ever and wondering could someone tell me exactly which ep this is so I can watch again:
    the episode followed Paulie & Christopher trying to kill some guy who just won't die, they end up in the woods with snow on the ground and Paulie loses a shoe at some point. It was a particularly funny ep? Can anyone help me out?

jAH

You're not the only one who likes it. That episode is a general favourite among Soprano fans and it won an award too. It's called Pine Barrens and is from the third season.

Wikipedia is you friend... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pine_Barrens_%28The_Sopranos_episode%29#Awards

ah nice one, thanks silvine. going to watch that ep again this weekend...

yes i really enjoyed last nights episode too.....mainly because there were no shrink scenes:o

do any of you people find the shrink scenes tedious??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

philstar wrote:
    do any of you people find the shrink scenes tedious??

No way! I love all those, I get disappointed when there aren't any in an episode. :D

Last nights episode was excellent, best of the season so far. Paulie is a freakin' legend and one of the best characters in the show. I loved the scene where he and tony were leaving the hotel and he goes back to get some pastries 'for the road', and he takes about 30 of them :p.

I was on the edge of my seat when the asian guy flipped and started attacking Junior, for a while I thought it might have been the end of him. Thankfully though it looks like he'll be around for a while longer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I don't think those scenes are tedious at all.

Personally I think Bracco is an awful actress. The psych office scenes are good for the flashbacks etc but she is a woeful actress all the same (didnt think she was bad in Goodfellas mind)

Mind you, are they building an angle that Tonys own mental health is declining? He contemplates killing Paulie over disloyalty relating to a joke from 4 years ago. He doesnt trust Chris. Neither has done anything major against him in recent times :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

It seems that they found it a bit hard to film during the series, but you'd expect that as it is the last-ever series :(

Ah, Bada-Boom Bada-Bing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

What an enjoyable episode, the whole Uncle Junior storyline is funny in a very tragic way.. The scene with him sitting down watching television with a cup of tea and a chocolate bar in his mouth was one of my favourites. There's remarkable depth in this programme, even when it seems to be moving very slowly along, the quality of writing can't be matched. God how I'll miss this programme when it's gone.

doubledown wrote:
    I think (although I hope I'm wrong) he's referring to the fact that last night's episode had a "mentally unstable" asian guy in it. Like the guy who shot all the students recently in Virginia Tech.

Coincidence? Yes.

Significance? None.

Especially when you consider the episode would have been shot about 6 months before the shooting.

When I heard 'MIT' I admittedly thought of the shooting yes.Sadly I wasn't smart enough to realise that the shooting was in Virginia and that the episode was created long before the massacre...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Awful first three episodes to be truthful about the whole thing. It's picked up where it left off at the end of the first half of Season 6. They really should have finished it up in Season 5, now they've just gone and ruined the whole thing.

Brilliant first three episodes to be truthful about the whole thing. ;)

Dr. Nick wrote:
    Brilliant first three episodes to be truthful about the whole thing. ;)

I agree with Aedh to some extent, the hype around the 'last ever series' gave an undeserved wow factor to the some of first few episodes (613, 615, 616 which were a bit meh). The past few episodes have been fantastic however and can't wait to see the finale tomorrow

silvine wrote:
    The momentum is beginning to build. Mr. PTSB is cementing his role at the top, it can't be long before he turns his attention to T's crew. Was the guy he had shot a rival or was Phil just pissed he ate off his plate?

The guy that was shot was Doc who, it was explained in last weeks episode, was one of the main four contenders for the NY Capo job. Last week he took out the younger guy beside Silvio, one of the other contenders and an associate of Phil's. Phil got pissed and decided he was going to be boss for sure and took out Doc his only other real contender (because Carmine Jr. seems to have ruled himself out)

Cheers, that fills in a few dots for me. The show can be a little hard to follow at times, especially considering the rate they introduce and kill off characters.

jArgHA wrote:
    I agree with Aedh to some extent, the hype around the 'last ever series' gave an undeserved wow factor to the some of first few episodes (613, 615, 616 which were a bit meh). The past few episodes have been fantastic however and can't wait to see the finale tomorrow

Indeed, although I thought the 3rd episode (616, presumably) was classic Sopranos. Well directed hits, great dialogue/comedy and loads of Paulie talking bollix :) The one with Tony and Bobby at the lakehouse had its moments, but it was still average at best, and the next one had nothing in particular. I think sometimes people over hype an average episode as brilliant. Even in terms of seasons, season one and two were good, but didnt truly become something else until season 3.

***WARNING WARNING ****:eek:

Do NOT read todays evening herald as there's an article on last nights airing of the final episode in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

philstar wrote:
    ***WARNING WARNING ****:eek:

Do NOT read todays evening herald as there's an article on last nights airing of the final episode in the US.

I came in just to say this.. It gives in great detail how last nights episode ended

Onkle wrote:
    I came in just to say this.. It gives in great detail how last nights episode ended

ya the f*%king assholes, don't they know there's people watching it on RTE2 that don't want it spoiled:mad:

Whats worse is that yesterday morning just as I woke up they were about to give out spoilers on Today FM news (my radio comes on loudly as my alarm). I had to leap outta bed to switch it off. I haven't got out of bed that quick in years.

I mean at least with the Evening Herald, while utterly moronic, you have to make a decision to read the thing, instead of it invading your head early in the morning.

PS. did the RTE guide not do something like this with Lost a while back, giving away half the season even though they hadn't showed it yet.

yo people!!..........sopranos tonite RTE2 @10.00.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Damn right phil. As if we'd forget about it! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

With all the shows that RTE repeat at w/end, why dont they repeat The Sopranos or Prison Break dare i say about rte 'go figure' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

Nancy Sinatra was a great touch, a real homage to the old Ney York Mob of her Dad's age. Seeing the two muslim friends of Chris's was interesting, could be linked to the feds asking Tony for info? Tony's gambling,seemed too rushed to me in one episode to have so much gambling with so much fall out.

Worst of the series for me so far but some nice touches, Tony breaking Sil's lamp after the scene with Sil being so focused with his tube of glue:)

What I got from the episode was the two Muslims will come into things somehow, the gambling might lead to a mini bus of the lads heading to Vegas!!!

Aj's heartbreak could lead to something, someone getting hurt?