what would you write about?

• 19-06-2007 12:58PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

Looking for a few ideas.

If you were to write a 1.5-2 foolscap page essay on:-
    "The type of life the youth of today have (in Ireland)"

What would you write about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

How they use the internet for help with their homework/study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

The weekend has landed! All that exists now is clubs, drugs, pubs and parties. I've got forty eight hours off from the world, man. I'm gonna blow steam out of my head like a screaming kettle. I'm gonna talk cod**** to strangers all night. I'm gonna lose the plot on the dancefloor, the free radicals inside me are freaking man! Tonight I'm Jip Travolta, I'm Peter Popper, I'm going to Never Never Land with my chosen family, man. We're going to get more spaced out than Neil Armstrong ever did. Anything could happen tonight, you know? This could be the best night of my life! I've got seventy three quid in my backburner. I'm gonna wax the lot, man. The milky bars are on me! Yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Jumanji

Ok then DarkJager!!!

Thanks for your input, I think!!! :o

Thanks xebec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

DarkJager wrote:
    The weekend has landed! All that exists now is clubs, drugs, pubs and parties. I've got forty eight hours off from the world, man. I'm gonna blow steam out of my head like a screaming kettle. I'm gonna talk cod**** to strangers all night. I'm gonna lose the plot on the dancefloor, the free radicals inside me are freaking man! Tonight I'm Jip Travolta, I'm Peter Popper, I'm going to Never Never Land with my chosen family, man. We're going to get more spaced out than Neil Armstrong ever did. Anything could happen tonight, you know? This could be the best night of my life! I've got seventy three quid in my backburner. I'm gonna wax the lot, man. The milky bars are on me! Yeah!

Heh heh legend of a film :)

Ive just realised that until now I havent heard the word "foolscap" since leaving school :confused:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

shane86 wrote:
    Heh heh legend of a film :)

Is that from Human Traffic????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Dublin1983

details of all the smell fingers u got as a teen- were u drunk? was she? etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Tis. Simm was good but Dyer really made the film, reminds me of a mate of mine with his general ......thing :confused:

Pretty please come back on topic!!

(Oh, & serious topics Dublin1983, that you actually WOULD write about)

I've an essay to do this eve & I'm looking for a few ideas, as I'm crap at this. :(

Jumanji wrote:
    Pretty please come back on topic!!

(Oh, & serious topics Dublin1983, that you actually WOULD write about)

I've an essay to do this eve & I'm looking for a few ideas, as I'm crap at this. :(

write about how bad u are at doing essays.

I would, but that doesn't answer the title of the stupid thing!!!!

The type of life the youth of today have (in Ireland)"

ok, i have brainstormed a few ideas.

Cap @ 90degrees

Skangers

Throwing the shapes.

work from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Read up on the youth in the times of the fall of the Roman Empire, and compare our youth to theirs.

Make the point that since the youth of today in Ireland have it all handed to them, they are lacking in character, idle, lazy and essentially incapable of making it in the world on their own. Argue that Ireland is heading down the same path as Rome, ooh you could even put in a bit about Bertie fiddling (accounts) while the Celtic Tiger burns.

Why would you have shoolwork in June?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭little lady

The influence of celebrates on young people
    How reliant the youth are on technology (fun – Xbox, social\communication – texting, instant messaging, and email)
    Today’s youth seem to be growing up a lot faster than previous generations
    Social Aspects – drinking and clubs, increasing numbers of young people having sex at a much young age, more self conscious about weight and the way they look

There are loads of things you can write about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I was actually thinking about this at lunch ... remember when we were kids we'd make our own toys ..like peg guns etc.. Firing rubber bands at each others heads lol . Now days you'd be looking at a lawsuit...

The youth of today are spoilt rotten and have never known anything but the silver spoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

knacker drinking down the fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I would write about why everybody today wants to be instantly famous and goes on to shows like Pop Star etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Aaaah jaysus ...there ya are ...howya pal,dya loike me new trakkie. Jaysus i'm the top dog with me frown locked into me brow and steppin along with me mates with that stiff legged gait,the hair shaved up to the top with the bit of moss up the crowen,whats the buzzz pal Roooooooooooooooah thump thump thump thump jaysus heres Keerawn in his pimped up white Honda with the rear spoiler and the fcukin stupin grin on his simian gob,right lads in we hop where to? Up and down the fcukin drag checkin out de motts and doin the auld E and a few cans,fcukin them out the winda ,deres jacinta the roooide with her mates get 'em in and show em what happens whooooah bleedin hell this is great.....give 'er the gun C go on Screeeeeeeeech smaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack tinkle tinkle

weh wah weh wah wah we wah..... jaysus great buzz greah buzzz... whatl'l we do next weekend.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Aaaah jaysus ...there ya are ...howya pal,dya loike me new trakkie. Jaysus i'm the top dog with me frown locked into me brow and steppin along with me mates with that stiff legged gait,the hair shaved up to the top with the bit of moss up the crowen,whats the buzzz pal Roooooooooooooooah thump thump thump thump jaysus heres Keerawn in his pimped up white Honda with the rear spoiler and the fcukin stupin grin on his simian gob,right lads in we hop where to? Up and down the fcukin drag checkin out de motts and doin the auld E and a few cans,fcukin them out the winda ,deres jacinta the roooide with her mates get 'em in and show em what happens whooooah bleedin hell this is great.....give 'er the gun C go on Screeeeeeeeech smaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack tinkle tinkle

weh wah weh wah wah we wah..... jaysus great buzz greah buzzz... whatl'l we do next weekend.

It's a bit on the short side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I think Little Lady pretty much summed it there for you. It couldn't be that hard, talk about the influences of technology today (Bebo, Myspace), the so-called under-age binge epidemic (Which is a result of lack of facilities in towns), how social life has changed so much from 5 years ago (social pressures from the Celtic Tiger, e.g. getting mobile phones, bits and pieces of gadgets, etc to fit in), pressures from media ("You look ugly without our product" or "You ain't skinny enough, bitch!")..............man, even I could write this bloody essay. How come your writing now in June?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Duggy747 wrote:
    I think Little Lady pretty much summed it there for you. It couldn't be that hard, talk about the influences of technology today (Bebo, Myspace), the so-called under-age binge epidemic (Which is a result of lack of facilities in towns), how social life has changed so much from 5 years ago (social pressures from the Celtic Tiger, e.g. getting mobile phones, bits and pieces of gadgets, etc to fit in), pressures from media ("You look ugly without our product" or "You ain't skinny enough, bitch!")..............man, even I could write this bloody essay. How come your writing now in June?

You would save the op alot of time and effort :D

Thanks guys.

Yea, pretty much along the lines of what I was thinking.

I'm just not much of an 'outside the box' thinker, so was just interested if anyone would take a different spin on it, that's all.

I'm a mature student in full time employment, so it doesn't to the whole June & summer hols thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Throw them a curve ball and write it like a narrative story as opposed to a discursive essay. Start off by jumping straight in:

My teacher thinks that it would be somehow beneficial to write an essay about how the youth of today live their lives. As one who's caught up in the so called youth lifestyle I see no need to consider it any more than I already do so I logged onto my favourite internet haunt boards.ie to get ideas from my "peers" ......

Then continue the story from there, mention the different type of responses you got and what you thought of them ... link it with my space and bebo ... say how you discussed the essay with your friends on msn. Really lay it on thick, no-one says it has to be truthful!

Then you can conclude by saying that what you've described is only an evening in the life of today's youth and that a reader could spend years trying to understand the type of life the youth of today have but without living it it's impossible to describe.

.... :confused: .... it's another idea for you anyway.

Thanks Drift, good idea.

Unfortunately, I'm 28, so haven't a clue about todays youth (being honest about it) :o

& when I've the essay composed, I've to translate it into a different language, so I really need to keep it VVVVV simple!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Youth of today ! Pffft !! Don't know they're born !

"When I were a lad, our father used to feed us a handfull of hot gravel, kill us and dance on our graves singing halleluja..........and we were lucky"

Jumanji wrote:
    Unfortunately, I'm 28, so haven't a clue about todays youth (being honest about it) :o

Maybe run with the idea that the youth of today are no longer young. Today's youth are in their late twenties or early thirties with lots of disposable income that they use for travelling, partying, learning new languages ;) . Youth is a state of mind - that could be the point of your essay.

"When I were a lad, our father used to feed us a handfull of hot gravel, kill us and dance on our graves singing halleluja..........and we were lucky"

Did your father not beat you about the head with a broken bottle .. pretty sure mine did :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Ye were ye bastids ye got gravel, we had to like the dirt of the ground, i've killed for gravel etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Jumanji wrote:
    so I really need to keep it VVVVV simple!!!

Ah, you want it simple then? Instead of spending a while talking about the complexities of today's youth just do what everyone else does, blame them for everything:

It's their fault they binge drink, lazy fùckers won't take up GAA.
    Inconsiderate little shìts that know nothing about nothing and need protection from themselves.
    They treat parents like bank-machines (Only half-true I find, it seems that it's the spoilt or the rich that treat Mumsie poo like an ATM)
    They're the reason the country's going downhill blah blah.

See? Simple!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bolliwoodi

Pjs as the new fashion statement

ditch drinking

Thats all ive got:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Feckin' Heelies.