Price of Condoms

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

The_B_Man wrote:
    they shud be the same price as smokes, if not cheaper! coz u can only use a box of smokes once before it gets too soggy!

f*cking LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Lidl condoms ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Spyral wrote:
    Meh Im a practising Catholic, Natural Family Planning FTW !

(its free healthy, more respectful and more reliable -- condoms only work 85% of the time in practise :P plus its a moral sin if Catholic )

Lordy, you keep telling yourself that mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

This auld geezer knew how to save a few quid on the jonnies.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2G9yyD4qrGg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Ohh come on, considering how popular the "Are you still a virgin?" threads are here on Boards this is a bit like having a conversation about the stock market down in Dunsink ;)

Still, yes, Johnny Foreigner (excuse the pun) is once more ahead of the Irish game on this. Not that that'd probably stop most 14 year old mammies and daddies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Personally, I think condoms should be given out free. I recently read about the incidences of STDs' among the 13-18 age brackets being on a steady rise. Let's face it, teenagers are going to have sex, no matter what the law states. They may as well be protected as much as possible.

An aside... I remember only too well having to travel to Belfast to stock up on johnnies... and being searched by Customs at Connolly Station and being threatened with prosecution for importing banned articles!! I am only 41!!! So it is not so long ago....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

Personally, I think condoms should be given out free. I recently read about the incidences of STDs' among the 13-18 age brackets being on a steady rise. Let's face it, teenagers are going to have sex, no matter what the law states. They may as well be protected as much as possible.

yeah well it doesnt work in africa even in the places where condoms are present so I dont think that they should be given out free. Its only condoning what 13-18 year olds are doing which is not the message that should be given out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

in africa there are catholic priests telling the uneducated masses that condoms are evil, and to just abstain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Turn it inside out and ya have a flavoured one aswell.

"So love, salt & vinegar or cheese & onion?"

Ripples FTW ;)
    Mordeth wrote:
    in africa there are catholic priests telling the uneducated masses that condoms are evil, and to just abstain.

The Catholic church in Africa has spread propaganda in the past informing the natives that the AIDS
    virus is so small that it passes through the condom thus not protecting the 'participants'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Cremo wrote:
    well i wouldn't want to be using the salt and vinegar one not inside out. :eek:

idd. and the other one just gives a new defination to "knob cheese" :D

..I'll get my coat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

The Catholic church in Africa has spread propaganda in the past informing the natives that the AIDS
    virus is so small that it passes through the condom thus not protecting the 'participants'.

That is such a crock, I'm not a catholic but this fallacy that the catholic church, which preaches against pre-marital sex entirely, is somehow responsible for the spread of AIDS in Africa is lazy and offensive. Just think about it for a minute for feck sake. If the Africans stick to the church's preachings about condoms so strictly why would they ignore their teachings about fidelity and pre-marital abstinance?

At the same time I think Spyral's assertion that giving out free condoms condones or legitimises underage sex is ridiculous. Does giving out clean needles to intravenous drug users to prevent the spread of aids also encourage heroin use?

Back to the OP, I totally agree, the price of condoms is a farce in this country, especially in vending machines. The worst I've ever paid was €6 for 2. Bloody rip-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

That is such a crock, I'm not a catholic but this fallacy that the catholic church, which preaches against pre-marital sex entirely, is somehow responsible for the spread of AIDS in Africa is lazy and offensive. Just think about it for a minute for feck sake. If the Africans stick to the church's preachings about condoms so strictly why would they ignore their teachings about fidelity and pre-marital abstinance?

At the same time I think Spyral's assertion that giving out free condoms condones or legitimises underage sex is ridiculous. Does giving out clean needles to intravenous drug users to prevent the spread of aids also encourage heroin use?

Back to the OP, I totally agree, the price of condoms is a farce in this country, especially in vending machines. The worst I've ever paid was €6 for 2. Bloody rip-off.
    Please enlighten us all. How does the act of getting married, grant immunity to AIDS? It stops sexual promiscuity to an extent, but it doesn't stop the transfer of AIDS sexually between one person to another. Condoms on the other hand, do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Spyral wrote:
    yeah well it doesnt work in africa even in the places where condoms are present so I dont think that they should be given out free. Its only condoning what 13-18 year olds are doing which is not the message that should be given out.
    When i was part of the 13-18 age bracket the availablity of condoms to me did not affect my wanting to get laid.:) Denying teenagers condoms is just bloody stupid.

Spyral wrote:

Ah, morality. It doesn't matter if it happens once the moral majority/minority don't condon it. what exactly is charging for them achieving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Spyral wrote:
    Meh Im a practising Catholic, Natural Family Planning FTW !

(its free healthy, more respectful and more reliable -- condoms only work 85% of the time in practise :P plus its a moral sin if Catholic )
    Where did u pull that "statistic" from?

Also how is natural family planning more respectful??

And finally I would just like to point out that Natural Family Planning is far from more reliable than condoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Binomate wrote:
    Please enlighten us all. How does the act of getting married, grant immunity to AIDS? It stops sexual promiscuity to an extent, but it doesn't stop the transfer of AIDS sexually between one person to another. Condoms on the other hand, do.

Of course getting married doesn't grant immunity to AIDS and I agree that condoms are the best way of reducing the spread of AIDS. I was just reacting to a ridiculous suggestion, which I have heard before, that it is the various Christian groups in Africa who are somehow at fault for the rapid spread of the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

The price these days..Its like the country want the population to go up..i wonder???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 DABADABA

You know you cant buy bleedin condoms without lube. I mean that puts up the price even more..last week I couldnt afford lube, and she burst on me...deadly...lucky enough shes not preggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Of course getting married doesn't grant immunity to AIDS and I agree that condoms are the best way of reducing the spread of AIDS. I was just reacting to a ridiculous suggestion, which I have heard before, that it is the various Christian groups in Africa who are somehow at fault for the rapid spread of the virus.
    They might not be entirely to blame, but they do carry a great burden of the blame.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Thaedydal wrote:
    Condoms have 21% Vat on them as they care classed as a luxary items in this country.
    Aren't tampons classified as internal clothing ?
    Tampons are zero rated so condoms should be too. They are both worn in the same area and both are used for health reasons, both are only used once.

Or would they be considered medical items ?

http://www.revenue.ie/leaflets/vatguide_app.htm#2

Appendix B Goods and Services Chargeable at the Zero Rate

xiii medicine of a kind used for human oral consumption; To qualify for the zero-rating the medicine must be of a type that is taken through the mouth and swallowed. .... The zero-rating does not cover medicines for injection, gases for use in the treatment of patients, and similar products - these are liable at 21%. This rate also applies to diabetic sweets and to manufactured beverages, including fruit juices and invalid wines. Chocolate, or chocolate substitute, covered biscuits as consumed by diabetics are also liable to VAT at 21%.

xviii sanitary towels and sanitary tampons;

xixa. medical equipment and appliances being -

1. invalid carriages, and other vehicles (excluding mechanically propelled road vehicles), of a kind designed for use by invalids or infirm persons,

2. orthopaedic appliances, surgical belts, trusses and the like, deaf aids, and artificial limbs and other artificial parts of the body excluding artificial teeth, corrective spectacles and contact lenses,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

The real 'offensive' part is the church not only banning condoms but
    creating false claims that condoms do not protect from AIDS.
    It's widely reported that the church has said it will not allow Catholics
    to use condoms on health grounds as they are not effective in controlling
    AIDS as they have 'tiny holes' that allow AIDS to pass through.
    It's the Vatican's way of excusing and justifying their crazy church laws.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/aids/story/0,7369,1059068,00.html
    "The church is making the claims across four continents despite a widespread scientific consensus that condoms are impermeable to HIV. A senior Vatican spokesman backs the claims about permeable condoms, despite assurances by the World Health Organisation that they are untrue."

"....cardinals, bishops, priests and nuns in four continents are saying HIV can pass through tiny holes in condoms.
    The World Health Organization has condemned the comments and warned the Vatican it is putting lives at risk."
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/3176982.stm

But hey Mr Spandex, maybe you know better than the World Health Organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

ambman wrote:
    EBAY. got 140 of our rubber friends for about 25 yo yos. that should do me and the missus for the next ten years :mad:

Feel sorry for you mate! At least that monthly shag will be cheap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Mordeth wrote:
    Like that's gonna happen! :rolleyes:

Mind you, not all priests / nuns who work in Africa and similar places actually agree with this, some have seen the horrors of AIDS, of famine, of over-population, etc. and have come to the conclusion that condoms are far the lesser evil, whatever Rome says ... but they can't afford to shout too loud in public or they won't be working there much longer!
    The Catholic church in Africa has spread propaganda in the past informing the natives that the AIDS virus is so small that it passes through the condom thus not protecting the 'participants'.
    In fairness, the Catholic church (or other Christian churches) have no monopoly on spreading misinformation in this respect in Africa ... take South Africa, for example, where the Health Minister recommends that AIDS victims eat beetroot and garlic and the President is reluctant to admit that HIV is linked with AIDS
    Spyral wrote:
    Its only condoning what 13-18 year olds are doing which is not the message that should be given out.
    Much the same logic as refusing to buy protective gear for your skateboard-obsessed teenager because he might skate in the shopping centre or somewhere he's not supposed to ... in reality, don't let him have the protective gear, he'll go ahead and skate there anyway, because (a) he's itching to do it, and (b) he's a 'big man' now, and he'll make his own choices, thanks very much!
    Alter-Ego wrote:
    When i was part of the 13-18 age bracket the availablity of condoms to me did not affect my wanting to get laid. :) Denying teenagers condoms is just bloody stupid.
    Abso-bloody-lutely!!

If it were up to me,
    (a) condoms would be Zero VAT Rated
    (b) made subject to a Retail Price order stipulating the maximum price for the standard variety ... don't really care if they're allowed to charge extra for ones which vibrate, glow in the dark, or whistle when you come to the boil! :D
    (c) and there would be no difficulty put in the way of teenagers purchasing them.

Mind you, not all priests / nuns who work in Africa and similar places actually agree with this, some have seen the horrors of AIDS, of famine, of over-population, etc. and have come to the conclusion that condoms are far the lesser evil, whatever Rome says ... but they can't afford to shout too loud in public or they won't be working there much longer!

There is no proof that HIV is linked with AIDS. They've not gotten it to mutate to AIDS in a lab or observed body but a lot of people that get HIV do get aids
    Much the same logic as refusing to buy protective gear for your skateboard-obsessed teenager because he might skate in the shopping centre or somewhere he's not supposed to ... in reality, don't let him have the protective gear, he'll go ahead and skate there anyway, because (a) he's itching to do it, and (b) he's a 'big man' now, and he'll make his own choices, thanks very much!

You wear protective clothing to avoid injury which is usually not life threatening. Aids is life threatening in these countries. Condoms lead to a false sense of security and are only 85% effective against diseases in practice

Natural Family Planning is highly successful as it is scientifically impossible to get pregnant if there is no egg for the sperm to meet with.

I must agree with mr spandex on this point, bitching about the church is fashionable at the moment, but realistically I've yet to meet someone who sleeps around but doesn't use a condom because the church says so. Its a self defeating argument.

Also on topic, I notice condom prices tend to be more expensive in pubs, is that becasue drunk horny people are more likely to shell out extra ?

Yes my from my arse statistic is actually from

here

A report by America's National Institute for Health in 2001 put the efficacy of the condom in preventing HIV infection at 85 per cent, and that only if it is used correctly and consistently all the time.

It had not been shown to be effective in preventing the transmission of sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) like herpes simplex, syphilis and human papilloma virus, the virus that causes genital warts and is a risk factor in the development of cervical cancer.

While condoms may reduce the risk of infection, they can never eliminate it. The fact remains: the greater the practice of casual sex, the higher the risk.

here
    This couple’s first mistake was giving up on using a condom; condoms are 98 per cent effective at preventing pregnancy and around 70-85 per cent effective at preventing sexually transmitted infections, when used correctly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Spyral wrote:
    There is no proof that HIV is linked with AIDS. They've not gotten it to mutate to AIDS in a lab or observed body but a lot of people that get HIV do get aids

HIV doesn't "mutate" to become AIDS. The HIV virus wears away at your immune system until you become so badly immunosuppressed that you are said to have Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS). People with HIV and AIDS have the same virus.
    That is the link between HIV and AIDS. It is irrefutable. I remember reading the stuff from the Vatican's scientists, claiming that the virus can pass through holes in the condom. Unbelievebale, and utterly without scientific evidence.
    On the other side of the courtroom, condoms have been shown to be the most effective form of protection against HIV, and the most effective form of birth control (if used properly).
    It should be noted though that the HIV epidemic in Africa is not just related to condom use. It has it's roots in

poverty

war

sexual violence and gender inequality

high immigration

high rates of other STIs

lack of education

poor healthcare provision/poor access to anti-HIV meds

What i would like to know is does Berlin have a higher rate of condom usage than Ireland? Because we know that cost isn't the only factor in determining condom usage within a population. I'd be interested to compare their stats to ours.

Spyral wrote:
    Condoms lead to a false sense of security and are only 85% effective against diseases in practice
    A report by America's National Institute for Health in 2001 put the efficacy of the condom in preventing HIV infection at 85 per cent, and that only if it is used correctly and consistently all the time.
    No, it didn't say that.

Firstly, the research referred to was a study of sero-discordant, sexually active heterosexual couples ... i.e. couples where one partner was already HIV positive. For most people, every time they have sex is not with a HIV positive person.

Secondly, the figures for usage of a condom "100% of the time" were, obviously enough, based on self-reporting ... unavoidable, but self-reporting is not the most accurate method, especially in studies of contraceptive usage.

Thirdly, even at that, the study did NOT say what the letter-writer you quote claims it said. What the study actually said is this:
    Condom usage was classified into the following three categories always (100% use), sometimes, and never. Among participants who reported always using condoms, the summary estimate of HIV/AIDS incidence from the twelve studies was 0.9 seroconversion per 100 person years. Among those who reported never using condoms, the summary estimate of HIV/AIDS incidence from the seven studies was 6.7 seroconversions per 100 person years. Overall, Davis and Weller estimated that condoms provided an 85% reduction in HIV/AIDS transmission risk when infection rates were compared in always versus never users.
    In other words, for every 100 couples having sex repeatedly through the course of a year, using condoms every time (according to themselves), and where one partner was already HIV-positive, only 0.9% of the HIV-negative partners became HIV-positive.

By comparison, for every 100 similar couples having sex repeatedly through the course of a year, but who never used condoms, 6.7 of the initially HIV-negative partners became HIV negative.

Those who used condoms were therefore considered 85% less likely to become HIV-positive, among couples (with one partner already HIV-positive) who were having sex only with each other.

"0.9 seroconversion per 100 person years" ... hmm, that would suggest to me that the evidence actually suggested that, if using a condom, there was less than 1% chance of contracting HIV despite having sex consistently with a HIV-positive partner for a 100 years.

Tbh, even I would be dubious that they are that effective ... but I certainly don't think it argues that ...
    Spyral wrote:
    Condoms lead to a false sense of security and are only 85% effective against diseases in practice
    Unfortunately, people often misquote and pick out random figures out of scientific studies to further their own agendas ... as with the letter-writer you quote.

I'm not going to argue with you that total abstinence isn't a better prevention against AIDS than condoms ... just as living on the Great Blasket for the rest of your life would be an excellent way to avoid getting killed in a car crash. And some people will follow that path (abstinence, I mean!) for moral, religious or other reasons, and fair play to them, that is their choice ... what I object to is when they try to influence other peoples choices by misrepresentation and scaremongering, as with the writer of the letter you quoted. I didn't have to go far to find the other side of the story ... I just followed the link you gave, and the links from that page!
    This couple’s first mistake was giving up on using a condom; condoms are 98 per cent effective at preventing pregnancy and around 70-85 per cent effective at preventing sexually transmitted infections, when used correctly
    Ok, following the link you gave, this is a quote from a student newspaper "Agony Aunt" type columnist ... but no matter. What I really want to point out is that she says "sexually transmitted infections", not AIDS ... condoms will do SFA to prevent crabs or genital lice, for example, no such claim has ever been made!!

Again, I am not knocking abstinence as a preventative for STIs ... it works, of course it works ... and I have the utmost respect for those who make that choice. But it is not everybody's choice, and those who don't make it have a right to respect for their choice.
    While condoms may reduce the risk of infection, they can never eliminate it. The fact remains: the greater the practice of casual sex, the higher the risk.
    Now that bit I can actually agree with! Condoms are not 100% effective ... everyone should know that ... but they are the best preventative against STIs available to those who are neither abstinent nor solely involved in a long-term monogamous relationship. As I said in my earlier post, I personally believe they should be as accessible as possible to everyone who is sexually active, or likely to be.

Spyral wrote:
    You wear protective clothing to avoid injury which is usually not life threatening. Aids is life threatening in these countries. Condoms lead to a false sense of security and are only 85% effective against diseases in practice
    Now I'm beginning to think you're deliberately misunderstanding me. I was talking about teenagers here, not Africa, and my point was simply:
    if they are going to have sex anyway (and generally they are) far better they do so WITH protection than without.

But for that matter, I would say the same in the African or any other context:
    if they are going to have sex anyway (and generally they are) far better they do so WITH protection than without.

If you can wave your magic wand (no pun intended!) and change the nature of the world into one where teenagers, indeed, humans, gladly embrace abstinence, or sex only within marriage / a life-long monogamous relationship, then far fewer people will die of AIDS. Boredom, perhaps! ... but not AIDS.

Until that time, however, I prefer to live in the real world.

Extremely good post randylonghorn. Wasted on the blind though.

One point, the reason why condoms are that affective, is probably down the the fact that with treatment for HIV it is difficult to transmit the virus to another person. Figure would no doubt be higher if the person wasn't receiving proper treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

boreds wrote:
    Can you get them for free in family planning clinics?

No.
    The ones in the UK do but not here but Belong too usually has a grab basket at thier recption of condoms.

BeLonG To Youth Project
    OUThouse Community Centre
    105 Capel St
    Dublin 1
    Ireland
    http://www.belongto.org/

They tried that crap here as well and it was swifty explained that a virus lives inside cells and that that pores in a condom were not big enough to allow an infected cell pass through them.

Seriously I can respect a devote catholic who decides not to used contraception and respects thier sexuality but I can not respect anyone who spreads false information and incorrect facts which are decremental to the life welfare and health of others.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Condom

Yes condoms are rated at only being 85% effective against the transmission of HIV, but that was back in 2000 in america but that study includes not just penetrative sex but also other ways of transmitting bodily fluids during sexual contact.

The other daft myth which is complete and utter bollix is the HIV does turn into AIDS and it is beyond why anyone with any sense or reasoning is bothered to look up the subject and educate themselves about the facts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HIV
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AIDS

The AIDS dissident movement has been debunked time after time after time by the scienctific community. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AIDS_reappraisal

And caused the Durban declaration which states:
    HIV causes AIDS. It is unfortunate that a few vocal people continue to deny the evidence. This position will cost countless lives
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Durban_declaration
    http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v406/n6791/suppinfo/406015a0.html

FFS we need to educate young people about this and the strangle hold that the catholic church has on the majority of secondary school in this country is hindering this and we are doing a major disservice to them.

If the catholic church and the faith of it's memebers so unsure and unsteady
    that people are not allowed know the facts and choose for themselves ?

Wikipedia is written by anyone.

My point still stands condoms are not as effective in practice as everyone thinks.

Having it there and making it available as well as there being no taboo on sex (rightly so) means that young people are only going to have sex. If no contraception was available they then wouldn't take the risk until they were old enough to buy them themselves.

I'd still like a solid link to the vatican claiming that aids passes through a condom...