The Sopranos: Season 6 Part 2: RTÉ2 Pace (NO SPOILERS BEYOND LAST AIRED EPISODE)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,032 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

philstar wrote:
    do any of you people find the shrink scenes tedious??

No way! I love all those, I get disappointed when there aren't any in an episode. :D

Last nights episode was excellent, best of the season so far. Paulie is a freakin' legend and one of the best characters in the show. I loved the scene where he and tony were leaving the hotel and he goes back to get some pastries 'for the road', and he takes about 30 of them :p.

I was on the edge of my seat when the asian guy flipped and started attacking Junior, for a while I thought it might have been the end of him. Thankfully though it looks like he'll be around for a while longer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,623 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I don't think those scenes are tedious at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Personally I think Bracco is an awful actress. The psych office scenes are good for the flashbacks etc but she is a woeful actress all the same (didnt think she was bad in Goodfellas mind)

Mind you, are they building an angle that Tonys own mental health is declining? He contemplates killing Paulie over disloyalty relating to a joke from 4 years ago. He doesnt trust Chris. Neither has done anything major against him in recent times :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

It seems that they found it a bit hard to film during the series, but you'd expect that as it is the last-ever series :(

Ah, Bada-Boom Bada-Bing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

What an enjoyable episode, the whole Uncle Junior storyline is funny in a very tragic way.. The scene with him sitting down watching television with a cup of tea and a chocolate bar in his mouth was one of my favourites. There's remarkable depth in this programme, even when it seems to be moving very slowly along, the quality of writing can't be matched. God how I'll miss this programme when it's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

doubledown wrote:
    I think (although I hope I'm wrong) he's referring to the fact that last night's episode had a "mentally unstable" asian guy in it. Like the guy who shot all the students recently in Virginia Tech.

Coincidence? Yes.

Significance? None.

Especially when you consider the episode would have been shot about 6 months before the shooting.

When I heard 'MIT' I admittedly thought of the shooting yes.Sadly I wasn't smart enough to realise that the shooting was in Virginia and that the episode was created long before the massacre...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Awful first three episodes to be truthful about the whole thing. It's picked up where it left off at the end of the first half of Season 6. They really should have finished it up in Season 5, now they've just gone and ruined the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Brilliant first three episodes to be truthful about the whole thing. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭jArgHA

Dr. Nick wrote:
    Brilliant first three episodes to be truthful about the whole thing. ;)

I agree with Aedh to some extent, the hype around the 'last ever series' gave an undeserved wow factor to the some of first few episodes (613, 615, 616 which were a bit meh). The past few episodes have been fantastic however and can't wait to see the finale tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

silvine wrote:
    The momentum is beginning to build. Mr. PTSB is cementing his role at the top, it can't be long before he turns his attention to T's crew. Was the guy he had shot a rival or was Phil just pissed he ate off his plate?

The guy that was shot was Doc who, it was explained in last weeks episode, was one of the main four contenders for the NY Capo job. Last week he took out the younger guy beside Silvio, one of the other contenders and an associate of Phil's. Phil got pissed and decided he was going to be boss for sure and took out Doc his only other real contender (because Carmine Jr. seems to have ruled himself out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Cheers, that fills in a few dots for me. The show can be a little hard to follow at times, especially considering the rate they introduce and kill off characters.

jArgHA wrote:
    I agree with Aedh to some extent, the hype around the 'last ever series' gave an undeserved wow factor to the some of first few episodes (613, 615, 616 which were a bit meh). The past few episodes have been fantastic however and can't wait to see the finale tomorrow

Indeed, although I thought the 3rd episode (616, presumably) was classic Sopranos. Well directed hits, great dialogue/comedy and loads of Paulie talking bollix :) The one with Tony and Bobby at the lakehouse had its moments, but it was still average at best, and the next one had nothing in particular. I think sometimes people over hype an average episode as brilliant. Even in terms of seasons, season one and two were good, but didnt truly become something else until season 3.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

***WARNING WARNING ****:eek:

Do NOT read todays evening herald as there's an article on last nights airing of the final episode in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

philstar wrote:
    ***WARNING WARNING ****:eek:

Do NOT read todays evening herald as there's an article on last nights airing of the final episode in the US.

I came in just to say this.. It gives in great detail how last nights episode ended

Onkle wrote:
    I came in just to say this.. It gives in great detail how last nights episode ended

ya the f*%king assholes, don't they know there's people watching it on RTE2 that don't want it spoiled:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Whats worse is that yesterday morning just as I woke up they were about to give out spoilers on Today FM news (my radio comes on loudly as my alarm). I had to leap outta bed to switch it off. I haven't got out of bed that quick in years.

I mean at least with the Evening Herald, while utterly moronic, you have to make a decision to read the thing, instead of it invading your head early in the morning.

PS. did the RTE guide not do something like this with Lost a while back, giving away half the season even though they hadn't showed it yet.

yo people!!..........sopranos tonite RTE2 @10.00.....

Damn right phil. As if we'd forget about it! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

With all the shows that RTE repeat at w/end, why dont they repeat The Sopranos or Prison Break dare i say about rte 'go figure' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

Nancy Sinatra was a great touch, a real homage to the old Ney York Mob of her Dad's age. Seeing the two muslim friends of Chris's was interesting, could be linked to the feds asking Tony for info? Tony's gambling,seemed too rushed to me in one episode to have so much gambling with so much fall out.

Worst of the series for me so far but some nice touches, Tony breaking Sil's lamp after the scene with Sil being so focused with his tube of glue:)

What I got from the episode was the two Muslims will come into things somehow, the gambling might lead to a mini bus of the lads heading to Vegas!!!

Aj's heartbreak could lead to something, someone getting hurt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

Nancy Sinatra was a great touch, a real homage to the old Ney York Mob of her Dad's age.

and, IIRC, didn't Frank Jr feature in a card game in season 1 or 2 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

TarfHead wrote:
    and, IIRC, didn't Frank Jr feature in a card game in season 1 or 2 ?
    2 IIRC, I was after forgetting about that, Sil loses his rag over the guy sweeping cheese from his feet:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dr. Seuss

<SNIP>

MOD EDIT: Sorry but that deserves a definitive ban for:

(i) Clearly outlined spoilers in the title.
    (ii) Making me come into this thread to edit this as i'm just beginning The Sopranos from episode 1 so i'm not too happy about having to come in here and view this!

Dr. Seuss wrote:
    <SNIP>

you ASSHOLE!!....no spoilers.....did u not read what it said!!! on the thread title:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

It wasn't a great episode and was probably the weakest of the recently shown ones. I was expecting more to happen, especially considering how few episodes are left.

It started off well T's gambling losses and the lamp. The Nancy Sinatra scene was a welcome surprise too - I didn't know it was her till the credits rolled! There was nothing here we haven't seen before in the Sopranos though, apart from AJ's scenes. And I could have taken or left the Hesch plot.

Meadow doesn't seem to have much of role this season - shame. Looking forward to more focus of Christopher and Phil - which is happening next week I hear.

I've tried to avoid any discussions and synopses of the last ever episode of the show but, if this episode is anything to go by, I have a funny feeling I will be disappointed or frustrated.

Ban Seuss from the entire site tbh. Knob (Im hoping what he said was an opinion rather than what actually happens, Ive sorta blurred it from my mind).

Anyway, again a bit below par after a great episode last week. This series just seems to be lacking both the violence and the comedy (bit more Paulie, Junior and Chris lines needed). They seem to be building up that Tony is becoming mentally unstable and paranoid- thinking of killing Paulie without good reason, having no real legitimate beef with Chris, his reaction when Carmela wouldnt give him the money to gamble etc etc. And I have a feeling that a mob boss would refuse to borrow money out of pride, so how could he owe it to Hesh. I hope its building up to something interesting but so far we have had three average episodes and one great one (last weeks). I too have a bad feeling its all fizzling out to a poor ending.

yes last nights episode was one of the weaker ones.....

and where did get that kid from??...useless actors Ltd??

and all of a sudden out of the blue Tony is addicted to gambling...and i bet you next week it will all be forgotten about.:rolleyes:

I wouldnt say he was a bad actor- goth kids are so devoid of human feeling that to portray them as anything more than machines in the form of human bodies would be over acting ;)

On the subject, although it probably wont develop into a story, anyone else get the feeling Vitos wife knew Phil had involvement in his murder? When Tony said to "speak to your cousin" she almost angrily said that Phil was no more than a 2nd or 3rd cousin, a distant relative.

Thats another thing that is odd. Carmela is crazy to discover the circumstances surrounding Adrianas disappearance. Despite the fact that Meadows boyfriend was terrified of what might happen after he was forced to tell the lads what he saw Vito doing with the security guard in the last season, neither Carmela nor Meadow seemed to make the connection between Finn telling his story and Vito being found beaten to death a few weeks later :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

I'm surprised nobody has posed the question... Why/How did Hesh's (Jerry Adler's) wife/girlfriend die? What was the cause???

I thought the gambling story was pretty good, and Vito's kids part was okay... They're really milking it though, if you ask me, going nowhere at the moment... The Phil/Tony scenario hasn't moved in about two seasons, come on like. Give Phil more scenes for one thing. We were given the impression at the end of Season 6 Part One that his role was finished...and now he's up and running once again?? Come on, go somewhere already.

md99 wrote:
    I'm surprised nobody has posed the question... Why/How did Hesh's (Jerry Adler's) wife/girlfriend die? What was the cause???

I don't think we're meant to know (not yet anyway). Hesh was fairly paranoid about Tony hurting him and his family, remember when Tony came to visit, Hesh told her to lock herself in her room, and when they leave we see the scene where Tony thinks Hesh is being a dick. Also if I remember correctly didn't Tony give a sly smirk when he lift Hesh's house after his gf died? I dunno, we'll probably never find out to tell the truth.