Drinking age to 21?

• 31-05-2007 10:04AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

could you amigne if the new government raised the drinking age to 21!! how do americans survive!!! In the good old US, you can buy a gun at 18, but you cant buy a beer until you are 21!!!! (que the Team America song!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Would never work, there would be riots in the streets :p
    Over here 16 is the legal age and it works fine, maybe they should lower it instead and teach them some responsibility earlier on in life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Just had your first sip, frank?

They have a gun culture, we have a drink culture. Whats the shock, exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Just had your first sip, frank?

They have a gun culture, we have a drink culture. Whats the shock, exactly?

not really, im in my twenties, 2 of my friends are gonig to the us for the summer, and they are under 21.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

As long as they do it after August 30th I don't care :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

not really, im in my twenties, 2 of my friends are gonig to the us for the summer, and they are under 21.

Meh, they're Irish. People will buy them drink no bother. When I was in New York when I was 17 I had no problem getting beer, it's like people expect ya to drink cuz you're Irish...........no complaints here :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

could you amigne if the new government raised the drinking age to 21!! how do americans survive!!! In the good old US, you can buy a gun at 18, but you cant buy a beer until you are 21!!!! (que the Team America song!!)
    Ah yes because getting rat arsed on a regular basis is all there is to life:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

kizzyr wrote:
    Ah yes because getting rat arsed on a regular basis is all there is to life:rolleyes:

Isn't that what being a student is all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭ruprect

If the government were not hypocrites then the logical thing to do would be ban it immediately.

kizzyr wrote:
    so you are assuming am an alcoholic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

ruprect wrote:
    If the government were not hypocrites then the logical thing to do would be ban it immediately.

Jaysus man, what are you smoking :eek: Ban Alcohol ???

Never going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

They got away with the smoking ban, but I'd love to see them try raising the drinking age. There would be riots in the streets....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I take my alcohal in syringe form, gives that twangy boost to your day

it could be done, if this guy was on the job
    http://img78.imageshack.us/my.php?image=photo4f15thumbxx1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

how do americans survive!!!

I may be wrong but the same way as everyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

kizzyr wrote:
    what are you implying? are you suggesting that there is somehow more to life than getting pissed? :confused::D

KTRIC wrote:
    Jaysus man, what are you smoking :eek: Ban Alcohol ???
    Well it ain't cigarettes since I am in work, and I can't afford 20's;)
    And I ain't smoking anything else since it is illegal- which is exactly the point I am making- hypocrites.
    KTRIC wrote:
    Never going to happen.
    Oh, I know, sure look at Bertie, when he was asked if he had smoked cannabis like Cowen, he says no, when asked if he took pints he said "yes, plenty of those", nobody bats a f-ucking eyelid! all these "drug" activists & "health officials" go mental when Cowen says he smoked once or twice in the 70's, yet dont give a damn when the Taoiseach says he drinks plenty of pints.

Will never be banned and they will always be hypocrites because of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Smoking ban in public places and drinking ban totally different things
    1) Smoking affects those around not just you
    2) Alcohol used correctly will not give you cancer\kill you (I know most people abuse it but still a valid point)
    3) Smoking is chemically addictive, alcohol is not

As for the age, keep it at 18. It is my strong opinion that young people these days only drink slightly more than they ever did and thats because they have more money. It is more noticeable in the last ten years because a) there was a baby boom (the Pope's children) so more young people and b) they didn't have to emigrate so more young people

kevmy wrote:
    2) Alcohol used correctly will not give you cancer\kill you (I know most people abuse it but still a valid point)
    3) Smoking is chemically addictive, alcohol is not
    Dunno if you are reffering to my posts, probably- since I mentioned a complete ban on alcohol. I agree the smoking ban in "public places" is different, it is a ban in workplaces, drinking is already illegal on the streets. I am referring to the fact they are hypocrites since many drugs which would fall under the same criteria as alcohol, or be less harmful are illegal, therefore logically if you were subject drugs to the same criteria it should also be banned. Many drugs could be subsituted in place of alcohol in your quote above.

But mammy, daddy & bertie drink and have hypocritical views on drugs.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I say raise the drinking age to 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

Prohibition! Prohibition!

[QUOTE=ruprectI am referring to the fact they are hypocrites since many drugs which would fall under the same criteria as alcohol, or be less harmful are illegal[/QUOTE]

what drug 'less harmful' than alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

hahahahah what a waste of money on flights and other stuff if no drinkey,
    i am over 21 but im going to wait to see how this new guy whats his name? ron paul i think, ye im going to wait to see if he can pull anything off. if he does then ill grace the us with my presence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ruprect wrote:
    I am referring to the fact they are hypocrites since many drugs which would fall under the same criteria as alcohol, or be less harmful are illegal, therefore logically if you were subject drugs to the same criteria it should also be banned.
    Well the thing about alcohol is that it's not necessarily harmful. It's all about quantity control. It's primary use by most people is a mood enhancer, but it's also a tasty beverage. Many people will have a pint after work to relax, or a glass of wine with their dinner, and it'll have little or no discernible effects on their mood or brain function. In small doses, alcohol is actually good for you.
    The point of a drug (in pill, injection or snorting form) is to get high. You're taking it because you *want* to alter your mental state, not for any other reason.
    Other drugs taken as a smoke, well that's a slightly different story. There's a fair argument to say that the only reason people start smoking cigarettes is to get high, and once you're used to them you enjoy them much like a beer, and the "to get high" aspect is gone. The same could be said for smoking grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

ruprect wrote:
    Oh yes, thats a good idea, banning things always works well, doesn't create major crime syndicates with more power than the local police, who, by the way, are overworked enough already without some new crimes requiring they imprison a lot more people and do less real good. And all because of a fairly nonsensical moral high ground.

what drug 'less harmful' than alcohol?
    It would be a waste of bandwidth listing them all

Well the thing about alcohol is that it's not necessarily harmful. It's all about quantity control.
    Exactly the same thing can be said of many illegal or prescription only drugs.

Oh yes, thats a good idea, banning things always works well
    I think it would be a terrible idea to ban alcohol, it just would be logical to do it and hypocritical not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

kevmy wrote:

alcohol does that too boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Isn't that what being a student is all about.
    no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

cson wrote:

I concur.

I bet I'd look great in a suit and fedora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Jonesy3110

Quote:
    Originally Posted by cson

I concur.

I bet I'd look great in a suit and fedora.

Hell yes!
    Except Id want to brew my own bathtub Gin and open a speakeasy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Jonesy3110 wrote:
    Quote:

Hell yes!
    Except Id want to brew my own bathtub Gin and open a speakeasy

and wear these too...spats.jpg