I love the Garda !!!!!!!

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

That must be the one...it was just a bit confusing with the 'directing traffic' part but by looks of it thats the one.

Sure we can agree to disagree there..but as far as i know your rights have to be read over and explained to you and a copy given to you. Even if your not being detained you should still have your rights read over and explained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

SetantaL wrote:
    Aha,

This is an excellent resource.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/justice/arrests

You have to be told you have the right to a solicitor but that's all they are oblidged to tell you about your rights. A quick google for anyone out there will confirm that is very rare for gardai to tell your your rights and there is no statutory obligation to do so. You sir are watching too many US television shows. I didn't see anything there about questioning after 12. There are obligations as regards Provision of toilets, check up every 30 mins etc. Sure have a read and get back to me.

No I'm qualified about 4 years. if I was a student this stuff would be fresher in my head. Conor Hanley "Criminal Law" was the text back in my day. If you're interested go look that up. You have a naive view of solicitors if you think they're all tucked away in court. I work in a big 4 firm in town.

hmmmm. To be honest you sound like a career criminal. That's the only person I know that fits the bill here.

You said yourself you are not too au fait with criminal matter rules. You sir are now blagging your way through this debate :D. I think it is you, who have been watching too many US cop shows :P. There is no such thing as my 1 phone call or big black guys in cells ;). Your entitled to ring as many people as you want, reasonably named by you that is. I'm telling you now with 100% certainty, you MUST be informed by the gardai of your rights on arrest. The reason alot of people say they were not given there rights etc is because of...... you guessed it, drink. They were simply so drunk they dont remember or in some cases choose not to. That is why a written record is kept and if they refuse to sign to acknowledge same, that is also recorded.

Actually that would make more sense, your right a student would have more knowledge of it because its fresh in their mind but that said, your in corporate law so I understand your position and why it is not exactly necessary for you to know 100% of the law in criminal matters, Im not getting at you for that man ;). I cant recall the law books I trawled by author to be honest with you but certainly I do not take much stock in google or the internet for law research, good old hard copy please and thank you :P. It seems it is you who seem to be relying on the old google links etc, not meaning to come across smart by the way, just retorting to your point on that.

Hehe, career criminal. Oh come now, no throwing mud into mine and the other readers eyes. This is a civilised debate I thought ;).

Oh and I do not believe for one minute that all solicitors are cooped up in smelly district/circuit courts all day long, 365 days a year :P. I am simply refering to the solicitors I am au fait with and the area of my forte. hence why I think it's a bit rich of you to come charging in and telling me how I'm wrong about all these different things.
    SetantaL wrote:
    Look, I'm not going into details of the case over and over. It happened. If you don't believe it fine. I'm not here to convince every brick head who opens up a rule book or does a google search and thinks that life must conform to it.

Gardai do not follow procedure from time to time.
    Hell even the judge threw the case out of tenious grounds but the whole court-room knew the guard was lying. I was there and people were laughing at her.
    In relation to the barrister in the District court

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/justice/criminal-law/criminal-trial/legal_representation_in_criminal_cases

If you have been charged with a summary offence, you may be represented by a solicitor and/or a barrister. Criminal legal aid is not generally available at the District Court

The reason a barrister was brought in was because the Guards had him up on a trumped up charge a short while before and they were going fighting the second trumped up charge. You ahve to make a stand sometime. He didn't HAVE to do it.

I would have thought by now you can see I do not believe that life must conform to anything, let alone a rule book or regulation. I am more of a the glass is at exactly 50% and life is grey not black and white, type of person ;). I do believe there was a court case, I just find it very hard to believe it occured like explained, basically because of all the points I have explained in my previous posts about how the story doesnt hold up at all, which you still have not commented on by the way, the dentention issue is the one im refereing to if your not sure. Perhaps you did all laugh at some silly gard in court, that isnt uncommon. Some gards make right arses of themselves in the box, as do solicitors from time to time, not nearly as much as gards mind you because that is their bread and butter in reality and they are much better trained and qualified of course :).

Of course gardai dont follow procedure all the time. From my understanding there kind of like when a gard goes to do something and a little voice says " Man I wouldnt do that **** if I was you". Guidelines if you will but guidelines with responsibilities and consequences if not properly adhered to. It is getting stricter and tighter nowadays that said.

As for the barrister question. I do not believe I said you never have a barrister represent you in a district court, I said that is just not usually done. Espically for such a low profile case. If I may use an analgy. It would be like bringing a shotgun to a knife fight, overkill. Barristers generally speaking of course, deal with more serious cases and also make tons of cash :D. They work hard thou, dont get me wrong.

Also the 2nd line of that is pure bollox. Criminal legal aid is not normally given in district court? HAHAHA, if you want to see how untrue that is, go into any district court in the country when its on and you see how many people apply and indeed get legal aid. It's sickening actually, there are an enormous amount of low lifes who claim the dole, rob and steal all day long and when caught, claim legal aid saying they have no way to pay for it. Then go down the pub after court for a few jars and drive home ;). That said, I wouldnt take it away because then solicitors there would earn fcuk all and it would just mess up the whole system, something needs to be done about that for sure thou but thats a whole other debate.

Well if the 1st trumped up charge was the traffic one I still dont believe it. If im wrong about that, can you tell me what the original trumped up charge was? You mean summons I assume, a charge and summons are very different. He would be on his own recognisance if it were a charge for example. Was the 2nd charge the drunk and disorderly one? Was it only re-entered on the day of the case or had it been changed by arrangement previous to the court date as would be normal if it was downgraded?

It's obvious he didnt make a stand. Daddy did and daddy didnt really make a stand, he just didnt want his lad with any sort of smear against his record regardless of what he understood was the possible outcome of the case. The barrister/solicitor wasnt going to fully inform him because that would put him out of pocket and be stupid and thats one thing those legal boys aint ;).
    SetantaL wrote:
    I think we're both guilty of this. Unfortunately you're not in possession of the facts, only a healthy sense of skepticism.

No, I wasn't arrested. One person was. Please read previous posts. Not very sherlock holmes there.

And that's it from me. You're opinions on the truth of my account, whilst no doubt valid to hold, are wrong. whether you wish to believe that or not is irrelevent.

Well perhaps your right on this point. It seems that you are also not in possession of the facts just your natural profession leaping out of you ;). Once a bluffer always a bluffer :D. I'm not slagging you by the way, I do admire your resilience but your barking into a hurricane man :p.

As I have said on at least two occassions before. I found your story difficult to read as it was poorly structured. So please excuse me if I did not read it 10times to fully understand it, I tend to only like to read things once or twice at a push. I shouldnt have to keep looking back to make sure I understood something correctly thou. Not even Sherlock Holmes proof reads every little document :D.

You basically say in a wishy washy way that I am entitled to my opinion but Im wrong. Well thats fair enough, you are also entitled to have an opinion that my opinion is wrong ;). Even if I disagree with your opinion of my opinion hehe. Well as I do not really care if your story is true or not, I do not like the message you are trying to portray in it. Also, I've never heard an Irishman tell the same story twice if you catch my drift ;). I believe the simpsons will actually sufice here since your a fan of US tv shows.

Teacher:"Skinner said the teachers wont hold out much longer, purple, monkey, blue, diswasher."
    Miss. Krobopable" We'll show Skinner and as for that purple monkey blue diswasher comment!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I'm banging my head off a brick wall here.

Simpsons quotes?

FFS. Read the posts and we won't keep going round in circles.

You "forte" is talking ****e. You're welcome to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

I'd love to say if you werent so stupid you wouldnt bang your head off a wall but I wont, even thou I did.

Your just a bull****ter mate, you dont know what your talking about and your out of your depth.

You also seem to have 0 sense of humour. I wouldnt bother replying if I was you. If you do, it will probably only be to talk about 'your' points again and none of the things I have outlined to you. You seem to ignore them because you just dont know what to say to them, thats fine.

Hey dont be saying I just talk bull****, you do it for a living. Seems its in your spare time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

its actually quite the opposite. criminologist have accounted the police force giving criminals more respect and treatign people with dignity as one of the reasons why crime is falling. Being heavy handed only causes a resentment from the ordinary individuals and hatred from the criminals.
    True but theres theory that stems from people questioned about what they think of the police force and then theres the reality that every other citizen lives.The people of LA respect the PD as long as they're not kicking the hell out of them for speeding.But the violence works well on scum.Although they hate the cops they know that fire will be met by fire.It keeps the war from the ordinary people for the most.It can't be denied that certain areas of Dublin and the whole country are just as dodgy as areas of LA.I'd feel more insecure in LA but only because I wouldn't know the area.You walk into a strange area and people stare at you and they have guns.They won't touch you for the MOST part.Go into Dublin and you're as likely to get pricked with a syringe as you are to be shot in LA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Dev 17

I would would be skeptical of people forming an opinion of the gardai from what they read on boards.ie. I leave my own experience with the gardai and what I hear about in the reliable media to shape my opinion and thoughts.

micmclo wrote:
    I pass Summerhill every day and constantly see kids shoplifting, riding small motorbikes on the footpath, putting rubbish in the canal and loads more.
    So the article states it is not the kids fault, it is societys.
    What sh***e! I don't get social housing or welfare benefits like many Summerhill families do.
    I want to see the gardai crack down on anti-social behaviour and if some scumbag gets a beating in the station, so be it.
    This is off-topic though but it'd make a good Humanities thread.

WTF are you talking about? How can you "constantly see kids shoplifting" if you pass it? (Not pass 'through' it which i assume you mean). Surely you'd have to be in the shops to see if anyone is shoplifting? Also, a lot of, if not all of the shops in Summerhill have anything a kid would condier worth stealing out of reach of kids. They'd only have stuff like coal, briquettes, milk, bread etc out in the public part of the shop. All the sweets etc. are behind the counter.

I'm from Summerhill, as if you hadn't guessed by now. I also worked in a shop on Summerhill that was owned by one of my friends fathers. Your account here of the place i grew up in is disgusting, and before you start accusing me of looking back with rose-tinted glasses, I grew up there in the 80's. When Heroin addiction was second only to unemployment.

Sure you don't get welfare benefits (again WTF u on about regarding "social housing". Social and affordable housing is something that is relatively new and applies only to new housing estates/developments of a certain size. I guarantee you there are no new housing estates in Summerhill) like some of them do, but you neglect to point out that they don't get 3 square meals a day like you do, or have proper amenities like you did growing up, or (i'm assuming) a father figure present like you do. You also don't have to put up with snobbery from people like you on a daily basis because they were born in an area of Dublin with a postal code of 1 or 2. (I've been refused jobs, and even been threatened with legal proceedings in another job when money started going missing from people's lockers......all based on my location).

Again, your post is disgusting, and has been duly reported. If you replaced the words "Summerhill" and "kids" with "North County Dublin" and "Travellers" your post would have been removed immediatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Again, your post is disgusting, and has been duly reported. If you replaced the words "Summerhill" and "kids" with "North County Dublin" and "Travellers" your post would have been removed immediatley.

Posts about travellers are removed solely because they cause a large amount of hassle and get people worked up about it. Most other generalisations (such as this one) can be dealt with as you've done (i.e. civilly and reasonably). The problem with traveller threads is that people can't seem to be able to respond without insulting each other and talking ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

WTF are you talking about? How can you "constantly see kids shoplifting" if you pass it? (Not pass 'through' it which i assume you mean). Surely you'd have to be in the shops to see if anyone is shoplifting? Also, a lot of, if not all of the shops in Summerhill have anything a kid would condier worth stealing out of reach of kids. They'd only have stuff like coal, briquettes, milk, bread etc out in the public part of the shop. All the sweets etc. are behind the counter.

I'm from Summerhill, as if you hadn't guessed by now. I also worked in a shop on Summerhill that was owned by one of my friends fathers. Your account here of the place i grew up in is disgusting, and before you start accusing me of looking back with rose-tinted glasses, I grew up there in the 80's. When Heroin addiction was second only to unemployment.

Sure you don't get welfare benefits (again WTF u on about regarding "social housing". Social and affordable housing is something that is relatively new and applies only to new housing estates/developments of a certain size. I guarantee you there are no new housing estates in Summerhill) like some of them do, but you neglect to point out that they don't get 3 square meals a day like you do, or have proper amenities like you did growing up, or (i'm assuming) a father figure present like you do. You also don't have to put up with snobbery from people like you on a daily basis because they were born in an area of Dublin with a postal code of 1 or 2. (I've been refused jobs, and even been threatened with legal proceedings in another job when money started going missing from people's lockers......all based on my location).

Two points, SummerHill is a **** hole and their is substantial public funded housing developments in the area over the last two years or so. And Leave off with the "3 Square meals" Bollix mate, I know plenty of guys that grew up on social welfare and that didn't go hungry. I also know of plenty of parents that let their kids go without while they spent their days in the pub, pissing away benefits.

You had some valid points but you went off the rails with the "poor, hungry and fatherless, with no amenities" bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

nesf wrote:
    Posts about travellers are removed solely because they cause a large amount of hassle and get people worked up about it. Most other generalisations (such as this one) can be dealt with as you've done (i.e. civilly and reasonably). The problem with traveller threads is that people can't seem to be able to respond without insulting each other and talking ****.

So basically that rewards people for going into hysterics when their pet minority group of choice are given stick? Seems like sound reasoning :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

In town last night, about 4:30am, the takeaways mostly shutting up, those that arent with security that prob wouldnt let you use the jacks without buying food, I go for a slash and a cop on a bike books me. Asked for ID, showed the passport, thankfully Id the common sense to give him a random address in my mates estate so I can avoid the fine (there are so many people in D15 with bench warrants for serious non appearances that I doubt I can expect to be woken at 6am by a battering ram at the door in the unlikely event they can be arsed tracking me down)

Thing is, if I ever have any Garda related business again, even something as minor as getting a passport stamped or whathaveyou, or registering to vote (thank god i didnt bother this time, theyd be able to track me down then :) ), can I expect them to see my name on their system if they enter it into the computer? Could they detain me there and then for non appearance re the summons? Also the cop never gave me a receipt, surely this would be common in summons cases?

As for the "all cops are bastards" thing I disagree. Yeah, the guy last night was some power tripping prick trying to make the boss think hes doing work by filling up his little summons book. Like any walk of life, some ****, some bang on. Remember when we were 16 odd, cop caught us drinking, young lad, he only told us not to cause trouble, which was the last thing we we were doing (back in the day I always had the view that if you cause no trouble knacker drinking yil get none back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

shane86 wrote:
    In town last night, about 4:30am, the takeaways mostly shutting up, those that arent with security that prob wouldnt let you use the jacks without buying food, I go for a slash and a cop on a bike books me. Asked for ID, showed the passport, thankfully Id the common sense to give him a random address in my mates estate so I can avoid the fine (there are so many people in D15 with bench warrants for serious non appearances that I doubt I can expect to be woken at 6am by a battering ram at the door in the unlikely event they can be arsed tracking me down)

Thing is, if I ever have any Garda related business again, even something as minor as getting a passport stamped or whathaveyou, or registering to vote (thank god i didnt bother this time, theyd be able to track me down then :) ), can I expect them to see my name on their system if they enter it into the computer? Could they detain me there and then for non appearance re the summons? Also the cop never gave me a receipt, surely this would be common in summons cases?

As for the "all cops are bastards" thing I disagree. Yeah, the guy last night was some power tripping prick trying to make the boss think hes doing work by filling up his little summons book. Like any walk of life, some ****, some bang on. Remember when we were 16 odd, cop caught us drinking, young lad, he only told us not to cause trouble, which was the last thing we we were doing (back in the day I always had the view that if you cause no trouble knacker drinking yil get none back)

Did you go for a slash down a laneway off the beaten track where nobody could see you. Or did you piss up against a wall on a main street.

As for the cop finding you. Dont register to votre. Cops have access to this online now. Any yes your name-Date of birth will be flagged on their system as having given a false address.

The cop really is a wanker alright, put on the streets by tax payers who expect him to do his job. Im sure these tax payers dont want to be walking on piss or have to look at drunken morons pissing up against a shop front/bank machine or wherever you decided to piss your weekly wages up against.

Sorry but I hate to see people pissing on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Mmmmmm you have got urself in a pickle alright. I presume you are not going to appear in court?? If not then a bench warrant will be issued for your arrest. If your unfortunate enough to be living in a part of dublin where the local station is on top of their warrants then there is a good chance you will be found. Although bench warrants are restricted to 6months on issue they can be extended by the judge. I have seen warrants extended again and again for up to 2 years.

Mmmmm a pickle alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Just to answer the questions on after 12pm interviews. There are three scenarios that can result in a person being formally interviewed after 12pm.

1. the person is arrested after 12pm and is sober (of course)
    2. the person consents to being interviewed
    3. the person arrested who the gardai believe has information which could prevent serious injury or loss of life to another

Notice of Rights

It is procedure that every prisoner should be given a Notice of Rights by the member in charge. These rights are read over to the prisoner in ordinary language and is then asked to sign the Custody Record to verify he/she has received it.