Poor Gardai !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,513 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

keizer wrote:
    Even if only there a day or two??
    Especially considering she may have known her way to each street, or the names and directions to most streets, just not know that the hospital was there, or maybe what it was called. She may have been easily able to find her way to merrion square without any fuss; just been unaware that Holles Street was there or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

I feel that in fairness to the Gardai and the public,training should be increased to at least four years duration with a fair percentage of that time spent in the area they will be stationed in.While I worked in Dublin it took me quite a while to find my way around,and even then I got lost sometimes.Perhaps student guards should be sent walking around in civilian clothes for some time to familiarise themselves with the area they will work in.Its not enough that they have only two years to train in everything as the job is so complex and wide now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

http://www.rotunda.ie/showpage.asp?p=patient_info#
    Has a map showing the hostpital which is right besdie what was the ambassador cinema at the top of oconnell st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

2004 figures:
    Rotunda = ??
    Holles St. = 8443
    Coombe = 8017

These stats are important because the hospitals implemented 'cap' policies to limit the numbers of births. Without the artificial cap, Holles St is clearly the leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I've lived in dublin all my life, and have done about 100k miles of driving around the city. Still a huge amount of places I go to by knowing areas or buildings etc. If you give me a street name I'll very rarely know where it is.
    Linford wrote:
    I doubt that as more babies are born in Holles Street than any other hospital.

IMO it would be the lesser known one, I certainly havnt a notion where it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i was on thomas street on sunday and 3 foreign lads asked me where the coom was i hadnt a breeze and im from dublin....im not a garda though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Slightly off topic so apologies...

I was walking in to work early one morning. A Garda car was pulled up beside a car with a flat wheel. The driver- a woman- was trying to "crack" the nuts on the wheel with a brace. The Garda said something to her and drove off. As I was passing she asked me to help her so I did. I asked her why the Garda hadn't helped her and she told me they said that there was a man coming along the road (me) and to ask him for help... now, I could have been a scumbag (I worked on a site at the time so I was not exactly dressed respectable like!!). How could the so-called protectors of the community have taken such a chance and left a (in my opinion) vulnerable woman in such a position?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭keizer

Should be part of their training before they're put in there.

Exactly. You can't blame individual Gardaí. Most only find out which station they're going to approx. three weeks in advance and then they're expected to leave templemore and begin work in their area immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

boneless wrote:
    Slightly off topic so apologies...

I was walking in to work early one morning. A Garda car was pulled up beside a car with a flat wheel. The driver- a woman- was trying to "crack" the nuts on the wheel with a brace. The Garda said something to her and drove off. As I was passing she asked me to help her so I did. I asked her why the Garda hadn't helped her and she told me they said that there was a man coming along the road (me) and to ask him for help... now, I could have been a scumbag (I worked on a site at the time so I was not exactly dressed respectable like!!). How could the so-called protectors of the community have taken such a chance and left a (in my opinion) vulnerable woman in such a position?
    Where I do agree that they could have done a bit more, they aren't the AA and probably had something more pressing to attend to. Personally I wouldn't expect them to stop and help, but it's definetly a bit much the way they *passed* the task on to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

keizer wrote:
    Exactly. You can't blame individual Gardaí. Most only find out which station they're going to approx. three weeks in advance and then they're expected to leave templemore and begin work in their area immediately.

I never said they were to blame individually. But yeah , agree with you 100% on that ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

You learn the streets by walking them. If she didn't know her way around, she should have been with somebody who does. Can't expect her to have GPS in her head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Of course a Garda patrolling near one of the country's major hospitals should be able to direct a pedistrian to it.

Bit nuts that she didn't have any kind of GPS device, I suppose - though I'm surprised that any Dub wouldn't know Holles Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Say what you like about the Guards, some clowns were rattling the back door of the house last Saturday, at 1.45 am, and giving it a kick too for good measure. I gathered all and sundry into the hall and called the guards on the mobile. About three minutes later there were eight guards out the back, and scouring the neighbourhood directly afterwards. They sent in a couple of plain clothes lads first, I thought they were the knackers that had been trying the door! Presumably to catch them off guard, had they been there.

I won't be complaining about paying my taxes after an experience like that, I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

how can you expect a garda that is from more than 20 miles away at least to know the area in such detail??the chances are she could be newly stationed there and is just gettying to know the area, thats a reason she would have been on foot patrol by herself as far as i can gather.

and what about her having to use her phone, the gardai need a good relaible system fast, byt i must say the procurement contract has been signed for a new tetra system for ALL bluelight services, just to show how bad the system is:

3 gardai were rushed to hospital by emergency ambulance over the weekend in wexford, one needing 16 stitches to the head after being assualted by a group of drunk 20 year olds, they were in the station in blackwater when locals informed them of a crowd of youths fighting, they requested help from wexford and enniscorthy by phone,it was just seen as not too serious, they then went to try calm the situation before being seperated and assualted, they had no working radio system available to call for urgent help or an ambulane and were left lying on the footpath until a local alerted the gardai to the severity of the situation when they then rushed to the scene

see the need for a good system??