Pickpocket today, woman on O'Connell Bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Nightwish wrote:
    I had a similar experience walking down O Connell St at the GPO. I felt something at my bag and looked back and saw a little romanian boy who was no more than 6 years old. I turned an ran but the little fukcer legged it down Henry street at the speed of light. I just thought, what kind of an adult will her be, if thats what he's up to at the age of 6.

one that can talk properly :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

cacio wrote:
    dame wrote:
    fat (at least size 16),
    you've just given a lot of women another reason to feel bad about themselves, including me. thanks, i love being made feel like crap.

Oh grow up. Or maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

dame wrote:
    Later I wondered why I didn't whip out my mobile and take a picture of her to show the guards but of course I didn't think of that at the time. Would that be considered illegal anyway, taking a picture of someone without their consent and no concrete she was a pickpocket?

Paparazzi do it all the time why would it be illegal to take a picture of someone without their consent. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

cacio wrote:
    dame wrote:
    fat (at least size 16),
    you've just given a lot of women another reason to feel bad about themselves, including me. thanks, i love being made feel like crap.

lose some weight then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭olaola

Was walking out of work with a group of lads heading down to the pub for a few drinks.
    Had my phone in my paw texting a friend... I literally saw it slow motion.
    A little knackbag running towards me snatched the phone out of my hand and kept running. I shouted - and one of the lads from work who was walking behind me grabbed the little fe*ker and got him down on the ground.
    All of the guys decended on him. Gave him a few digs and got my phone back!
    Savage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

olaola wrote:
    Was walking out of work with a group of lads heading down to the pub for a few drinks.
    Had my phone in my paw texting a friend... I literally saw it slow motion.

It wasn't me honest guv ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

olaola wrote:
    All of the guys decended on him.

So thought that said something else there!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

was in ugc cinema on parnell street last week (or cineworld whatever you call it) and me and my girlfriend were just walking into the ticket que and we noticed this knackerish guy walking behind us... got far too close to my girlfriend and her bag, once i saw him i stood behind my girlfriend to block him then he walked off... eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Got my wallet stolen a few years ago on grafton street :(

Had gone into town after college, got off a bus up at the top of grafton street, had my bag on my back & (stupidly) my wallet in the back pocket (which i never usually did - worst day to do it). It was absolutley lashing rain so i was walking pretty fast down grafton street with my hood up & not paying attention. Was meeting my sister at mc donalds & went to take my wallet out of my bag & it wasnt there :( checked all the compartments in a panic but it was gone :( They mustve worked pretty fast cause it wasnt like i was taking a leisurely stroll. my phone had been in the same pocket but that was still there. Had about €80 in the wallet though, that i owed my mother for the bus&rail ticket id just bought, as well as the actual ticket, and all my cards.

Moral of the story: never put things in the back pocket of bags (yes i know its common sense anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 mogsy

does anyone know what would happen from a legal perspective if you assault someone while or after they attempt to/pickpocket you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

In dublin years ago for a all-Ireland my brother had a big novelty hat on and a knacker actually robbed it off his head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Elphaba

OP, the same thing happened me at the halfpenny bridge a few years ago.Standing at the lights waiting to cross and I had a back pack on. This little skank-ho was standing behind me opening the pockets of my backpack. I didn't even feel it but my friend saw her and turned around and the girl just stopped and stared straight ahead. Then the lights went green and I still didn't know what went on. She legged it off. So as someone said earlier - Don't carry valuables in bag pockets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

dame wrote:
    So what's the best thing to do if something like that happens?
    Scream pickpocket!

You want to be careful, often the pick pockets, particularly the women, will have "handlers" You shout "pickpocket" and you find yourself on your back after some heroin junky has floored you from behind

Best bet is to go straight to the Gardai (probably out side the GPO) and describe the girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Wicknight wrote:
    You want to be careful, often the pick pockets, particularly the women, will have "handlers" You shout "pickpocket" and you find yourself on your back after some heroin junky has floored you from behind

Best bet is to go straight to the Gardai (probably out side the GPO) and describe the girl.

Thanks all, some useful info, particularly Fajitas and Wicknight.

I got robbed at knife point 10 years ago on the ha' penny bridge.

5 o' clock on a saturday evening.

I feel alot safer walking around town these days to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

I had a similar experience about a year ago.

Waiting to cross at the lights at college green and I thought I felt something pulling on my bag....an over the shoulder bag with lots of pockets and zips.

Looked around to see a middle aged blonde scanger who looked a bit guilty and said "sorry love" as if she had just bumped into me.

Lights changed and I crossed the road a bit confused as to what happened, then realised the main zip on the bag was open, although nothing was missing. Must have just caught her on time.

Anyway, one of Dublin's finest happened to be strolling down the street so I went and told him what happened and pointed her out. He says "oh yeah we're watching her alright". Obviously not bloody close enough mate!!!

He walked over to her and had a word and she went off on her merry way to try her luck again no doubt.

:mad: