Are Gardai allowed bag young teenagers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

axer wrote:
    He was drinking in a public place. He definitely broke the law.

How do you know that he was drinking in public ? Why did the Garda need to bag him. Could he not tell form his actions that he was drunk and disorderly.

Maybe we haven't got the full story here , I would like to know what happened for the Garda to get involved? If it was just a random stop and breathalize I think the garda was way out of order .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,520 ✭✭✭axer

Webmonkey wrote:
    My brother was not actually caught drinking, he didn't buy the drink. Unfort it was vodka they had in a bottle so it put him 'over the limit' after a few drinks.

I'd say the cops were just outside the disco bagging anyone who was out there but maybe webmonkey can clarify. I don't think they have actually the right to do that unless maybe they saw them drinking alcohol.

Even if they saw them drinking alcohol I don't see the point in bagging them as they have already seen the offence being committed i.e. if the offence was drinking in a public place then just seeing the act being carried out is enough or if the offense was being drunk and disorderly then just seeing the kids being disorderly would have been enough and they would have been arrested and brought to the garda station for blood samples (of course after getting consent from their parents).

What webmonkey said is his brother didn't blow enough to get a reading on the breathalyser thus they thought he was acting the bollox by not cooperating thus brought him in. But I don't think the cops are allowed to breathalyse in the first place - either they saw them drinking alcohol in a public place or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

The Muppet wrote:
    How do you know that he was drinking in public ? Why did the Garda need to bag him. Could he not tell form his actions that he was drunk and disorderly.

A few of the lads were simply sitting down on a bench outside the disco not harming anyone. My brother (stupidly) took a few drops of vodka but was in no way drunk what so ever. Perhaps it did appear in his eyes i amn't sure what gave the gaurd the suspicion.
    The Muppet wrote:
    Maybe we haven't got the full story here , I would like to know what happened for the Garda to get involved? If it was just a random stop and breathalize I think the garda was way out of order .

As said above, there was no reason why the gaurd should have any suspicion. There is no denying the drinking goes on there though so maybe thats why they done it.

The more i think about the situation the more out of order i think it is too. Another guy was with him - he didn't have to blow into the breathalyser. Yet he was still brought to the station. (also let me remind ye this station is about 20mins drive from there. Bit far to be bringing a young lad without even bother ringing parents) The gaurds were saying thank my brother for you (the other guy) coming too now - ??? I don't know what to think of that.
    axer wrote:
    I'd say the cops were just outside the disco bagging anyone who was out there but maybe webmonkey can clarify. I don't think they have actually the right to do that unless maybe they saw them drinking alcohol.

Thats my thinking as well. They wern't actually caught drinking in public. They just happen to have consumed alcohol. It not like they were drink driving or causing problems by being drunk. They could have drank at home before they came out. (not drinking in public - not an offense).
    And they were not drunk.

Also before other people come here thinking that I think it is ok for young people to drink - No that is not what this topic is on about. My brother shouldn't have drank at all and I hope he will learn his lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

PeakOutput wrote:
    well the day i got fined i was with 5 other much more drunk people in public i got fined because i didnt see the copcar coming and still had my can in my hand the others who had blatantly just thrown there cans maybe 15ft away got away scot free because even though the gardai could make the logical connection that they are their cans legally they cannot.
    Legally they can actually. The law denotes "reasonable suspicion" as a reason to take a minor's name and may fine someone if they fail to give a proper name. I dunno whether you got fined for failing to provide a proper name or for drinking in public(I dunno the procedure for fining someone drinking in public.)
    If they'd brethalysed you all you all might have gotten fined.
    The Muppet wrote:

The Gardaí are at the youth discos to stop this sort of behaviour, ie. underage drinking, going on.

Breathalysing is nothing but a test to prove whether someone has alcohol in their blood or not. tbh to me it just serves as an addition to a Garda's observational capacity and stops them mistakenly arresting/taking the name of someone who was simply sober and acting a bit hyper with their friends.

Webmonkey wrote:
    As said above, there was no reason why the gaurd should have any suspicion. There is no denying the drinking goes on there though so maybe thats why they done it.
    Oh come on. No reason for suspicion? The logic process goes a little like this:

1. Gardaí are outside a youth disco with a rep for underage drinking.
    2. Gardaí see a few lads loitering around outside it.
    3. Gardaí reasonably suspect that they may have been drinking and investigate it, thus doing their job.
    Webmonkey wrote:
    The more i think about the situation the more out of order i think it is too. Another guy was with him - he didn't have to blow into the breathalyser. Yet he was still brought to the station. (also let me remind ye this station is about 20mins drive from there. Bit far to be bringing a young lad without even bother ringing parents) The gaurds were saying thank my brother for you (the other guy) coming too now - ??? I don't know what to think of that.
    In fairness you've no idea what actually went on when the Gardaí came over to the lads and I doubt your brother is going to admit to you that they did anything but comply completely wiht the Gardaí.
    Webmonkey wrote:
    Thats my thinking as well. They wern't actually caught drinking in public. They just happen to have consumed alcohol. It not like they were drink driving or causing problems by being drunk. They could have drank at home before they came out. (not drinking in public - not an offense).
    And they were not drunk.
    Reasonable suspicion. How many minors do you know that are allowed drink at home before going to a disco? In any case, had that been the case your brother could have told them that and they could have rang his parents to confirm this(which the gardaí have the power to do).

At the end of the day the Gardaí are just doing their job and in this situation it's to stop underage drinking outside a youth disco. They haven't done anything massively out of order here.

JC 2K3 wrote:
    Legally they can actually. The law denotes "reasonable suspicion" as a reason to take a minor's name and may fine someone if they fail to give a proper name. I dunno whether you got fined for failing to provide a proper name or for drinking in public(I dunno the procedure for fining someone drinking in public.)

The Gardaí are at the youth discos to stop this sort of behaviour, ie. underage drinking, going on.

Breathalysing is nothing but a test to prove whether someone has alcohol in their blood or not. tbh to me it just serves as an addition to a Garda's observational capacity and stops them mistakenly arresting/taking the name of someone who was simply sober and acting a bit hyper with their friends.

Don't get me wrong I am a non drinker myself and I certainly would never condone underage drinking. I am however a parent of teenagers so the comments here berating this child parents annoyed me. These parent didn't sent their 15 year old out to drink. 15 year old's tend to do stuff like this of their own account. I would also have an issue with a minor being bagged without having a parent guardian present.

Reading between the lines I'd say this chap got lippy with the garda (15 year olds tend to do that too)a but that does not excuse a Garda over stepping his authority. If it were me I would contact the guard to get his version of events and find out why he breathalized the lad .

The Muppet wrote:
    Reading between the lines I'd say this chap got lippy with the garda (15 year olds tend to do that too)a but that does not excuse a Garda over stepping his authority. If it were me I would contact the guard to get his version of events .

Talking to others that were present the lads done nothing at all out of way. They were put into the gaurda car before ever being breathalized. Isn't that going over the top a little? Young teenagers shouldn't be threated like this, it could be a little too scary. What if he had no drink taken? It would still have resulted him being put in the car and tested. A bit frighting for a young guy in my opinion.

JC 2K3 wrote:

Don't get me wrong I am a non drinker myself and I certainly would never condone underage drinking. I am however a parent of teenagers so the comments here berating this child parents annoyed me. These parent didn't sent their 15 year old out to drink. 15 year old's tend to do stuff like this of their own account. I would also have an issue with a minor being bagged without having a parent guardian present.

Reading between the lines I'd say this chap got lippy with the garda (15 year olds tend to do that too)a but that does not excuse a Garda over stepping his authority. If it were me I would contact the guard to get his version of events .

The Muppet wrote:
    In fairness though, parents should wake up to the fact that if their kids are going to one of these youth discos the fact is they are extremely likely to be drinking. No, not all who go do, but to the vast majority these places are simply somewhere to go to get drunk. I know not many parents would condone their children drinking, but it seems like an issue that many parents seem to ignore. When you say "bagged" do you mean arrested or brethalysed? I wouldn't have an issue with the breathalysing and I think the parents should be called if possible beforehand, but wouldn't have that much of a problem with them being arrested were there a good reason.
    The Muppet wrote:
    Reading between the lines I'd say this chap got lippy with the garda (15 year olds tend to do that too)a but that does not excuse a Garda over stepping his authority. If it were me I would contact the guard to get his version of events and find out why he breathalized the lad .
    QFT. Although we don't know whether he overstepped his authority or not.
    Webmonkey wrote:
    Talking to others that were present the lads done nothing at all out of way. They were put into the gaurda car before ever being breathalized. Isn't that going over the top a little? Young teenagers shouldn't be threated like this, it could be a little too scary. What if he had no drink taken? It would still have resulted him being put in the car and tested. A bit frighting for a young guy in my opinion.
    It is OTT if that is the case, but what "others" are you referring to? Responsible adult witnesses or your brother's friends?

And young teenagers these days are treated far too softly. Scary? God forbid there might be some sort of consequence for doing something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Webmonkey wrote:

well, this will make sure he doesnt want to break the law again

JC 2K3 wrote:
    In fairness though, parents should wake up to the fact that if their kids are going to one of these youth discos the fact is they are extremely likely to be drinking.

Don't worry he won't be going again. It is a disaster of a place. Gaurds have being trying to shut down the place for ages but failing. They are heart broken, they have better things to be doing.

JC 2K3 wrote:
    it seems like an issue that many parents seem to ignore.
    I hope you not saying that my parents ignoring the issue because I can assure you they arn't. They take it very seriously indeed.

JC 2K3 wrote:
    When you say "bagged" do you mean arrested or brethalysed?
    Breathalized.
    JC 2K3 wrote:
    I wouldn't have an issue with the breathalysing and I think the parents should be called if possible beforehand
    Should Be called yes. They are under 18 - Parents should be involved. Was it so hard for them to phone home that night before taking them away?
    JC 2K3 wrote:
    wouldn't have that much of a problem with them being arrested were there a good reason.
    I agree with this. He wasn't arrested as such but he certainly didn't deserve to be brought 20 mins away to a gaurda station.

JC 2K3 wrote:
    It is OTT if that is the case, but what "others" are you referring to? Responsible adult witnesses or your brother's friends?
    OTT? - Resonsible adults actually that were around.
    JC 2K3 wrote:
    And young teenagers these days are treated far too softly. Scary? God forbid there might be some sort of consequence for doing something wrong.

Treated far too softly yes but that doesn't apply here. He done nothing out of the way as such, caused no harm or anything. It could have being dealt in a lot better manner. It wasn't as if he was breaking into cars or damaging property or beathing the **** out of someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

Good god, I've never read such a load of sancta 'moan' ius crap, since the last time I listened to Live line! Have none of you ever had an underage drink??? The poor young fella was unlucky enough to happen upon a garda who needed to look like he was doing something and decided to take the easy option of bagging a young fella, who's just experimenting like the vast majority of us have. Much easier to spend your time chasing a couple of underage drinkers than chasing burglers, drug dealers etc. This way they can feel they are useful! Easy target was your brother webmonkey, hope your da follows up on it. They're wasting their time and our money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Webmonkey wrote:
    Should Be called yes. They are under 18 - Parents should be involved. Was it so hard for them to phone home that night before taking them away?

They obviously contacted someone, otherwise you wouldn't have known where he was & what he'd done, therefore adults were involved. And if they had contacted his parent there & then, what do you think should have happened next? Gardaí can't hang around at the side of the road waiting for parents to turn up.
    Webmonkey wrote:
    I agree with this. He wasn't arrested as such but he certainly didn't deserve to be brought 20 mins away to a gaurda station.

Was he mistreated in any way? So long as he was treated in accordance with the law he got what he deserved.
    Webmonkey wrote:
    He done nothing out of the way as such, caused no harm or anything. It could have being dealt in a lot better manner. It wasn't as if he was breaking into cars or damaging property or beathing the **** out of someone.

If he was consuming the alcohol in public, or if the alcohol was consumed in a private place without the consent of the owner then an offence was committed. Generally the Gardaí don't detain people for drinking in a public place, so I'd say there's more to this than is apparent to us.

cushtac wrote:
    so I'd say there's more to this than is apparent to us.
    i wouldnt be so sure... i got pulled over one time on my bike for cycling without a front light... not even night time, most cars didn't have their lights on. You'd swear I'd commited murder the way they talked to me. Make me call over to garda station! \Ridiculous. Some of them really are little hitlers with no interest in doing anything useful. Just go for the easy target. That's what it sounds like from webmonkeys description.

cushtac wrote:
    They obviously contacted someone, otherwise you wouldn't have known where he was & what he'd done, therefore adults were involved. And if they had contacted his parent there & then, what do you think should have happened next? Gardaí can't hang around at the side of the road waiting for parents to turn up.

They contacted them when they had him in the station. So they waste bout 30 mins driving him to the station when they could be keeping an eye on others at the disco. Make us go out of our way to collect him when we could easily be on the scene in 5 mins as it only back the road. I don't know i don't see logic in that.
    cushtac wrote:
    Was he mistreated in any way? So long as he was treated in accordance with the law he got what he deserved.

He could have being treated a lot better. He was just over the limit (that can easily occur when a few drops of vodka and it wasn't like he was driving) - In my opinion it was a bit harsh.
    cushtac wrote:
    If he was consuming the alcohol in public, or if the alcohol was consumed in a private place without the consent of the owner then an offence was committed.

It was an offense and i see that. Doesn't mean you have to be carried away without phoning parents though.
    cushtac wrote:
    Generally the Gardaí don't detain people for drinking in a public place, so I'd say there's more to this than is apparent to us.

I suppose you are right, after all you really seem to think you know more about the situation than me and my parents.

i wouldnt be so sure...

I would be, In my job I have to deal with alcoholics who often go drinking in public. If the Gardaí find them they confiscate the drink, empty any cans or bottles, take the names & send them on their way. They tend not to arrest people unless they're acting the maggot with them.

cushtac wrote:
    I would be, In my job I have to deal with alcoholics who often go drinking in public. If the Gardaí find them they confiscate the drink, empty any cans or bottles, take the names & send them on their way. They tend not to arrest people unless they're acting the maggot with them.
    Yeah but when it comes to underage, things might be different.

cushtac wrote:
    I would be, In my job I have to deal with alcoholics who often go drinking in public.
    Good Gosh, get a grip. It's a young fella having a little drink. Just over the limit, not like he was legless... in fact if he was just over the limit, which is quite responsible drinking and should be incouraged!

The gardas handling of it is, heavy handed, at the very least. If you look at the result; they have alienated webmonkey and probably his Dad, for the sake of teaching a young fella that he shouldn't have 2-3 pints! He could have been doing a hell of a lot worse than a few drinks. Our attitude to drink in this country is so messed up.... ITS NOT THAT BIG OF A DEAL.... most normal balanced people have done it! There is no magic switch that gets toggled in a persons brain which means they can handle it at aged 18.

Webmonkey wrote:
    They contacted them when they had him in the station. So they waste bout 30 mins driving him to the station when they could be keeping an eye on others at the disco. Make us go out of our way to collect him when we could easily be on the scene in 5 mins as it only back the road. I don't know i don't see logic in that.

So your parents were informed of what happened, your brother was brought to a station & properly processed in accordance with the regulations - do you not see the logic in doing things by the book?

Webmonkey wrote:
    He could have being treated a lot better. He was just over the limit (that can easily occur when a few drops of vodka and it wasn't like he was driving) - In my opinion it was a bit harsh.

How so? How much better can you treat someone who's been brought into the station on suspicion of committing an offence? You said yourself the Gardaí were nice to him & offered him refreshments, was he even put in a cell?

Webmonkey wrote:
    It was an offense and i see that. Doesn't mean you have to be carried away without phoning parents though.

They don't have to check with parents before bringing a minor back to the station, they only have to inform the parents that the minor is in the station.

Webmonkey wrote:
    I suppose you are right, after all you really seem to think you know more about the situation than me and my parents.

I don't think that & didn't imply that. I do know how the Gardaí deal with the issue normally, and they normally don't cart people off to the station unless they're given reason to. Your brother was, as far as I can make out from your accounts, treated very well by the Gardaí. For some reason you seem to think that he should have been given special treatment over and above what he got.

Good Gosh, get a grip. It's a young fella having a little drink. Just over the limit, not like he was legless... in fact if he was just over the limit, which is quite responsible drinking and should be incouraged!

The gardas handling of it is, heavy handed, at the very least. If you look at the result; they have alienated webmonkey and probably his Dad, for the sake of teaching a young fella that he shouldn't have 2-3 pints! He could have been doing a hell of a lot worse than a few drinks. Our attitude to drink in this country is so messed up.... ITS NOT THAT BIG OF A DEAL.... most normal balanced people have done it! There is no magic switch that gets toggled in a persons brain which means they can handle it at aged 18.

Webmonkey said the two Gardaí who were dealing with him were 'lovely' and offered him tea & minerals while in the station, if that's you're idea of heavy handed you must have lived a very sheltered life.

I'd agree with you when you say it's not that big a deal, that's why the Gardaí normally confiscate the drink & direct the drinker to leave the area.

cushtac wrote:
    So your parents were informed of what happened, your brother was brought to a station & properly processed in accordance with the regulations - do you not see the logic in doing things by the book?

He wasn't charged or anything. There was no need to go to the station at all. How hard was it to make a simple phone call home at the disco instead of dragging parents miles away just to collect them at station.
    cushtac wrote:
    How so? How much better can you treat someone who's been brought into the station on suspicion of committing an offence? You said yourself the Gardaí were nice to him & offered him refreshments, was he even put in a cell?

I didn't say he was treated badly at station. He was treated quite well but thats not the point i'm making. He wasn't 'treated' badly. It just the way they went about it was stupid in my opinion.
    He done an offense - fine - deal with it by taking his name, phoning parents and passing name onto our local gaurd station. What did the actual station have to offer only to give them refreshments.
    cushtac wrote:
    They don't have to check with parents before bringing a minor back to the station, they only have to inform the parents that the minor is in the station.

It wouldn't be so bad if they brought them to a more local gaurd station.
    Again i say a phone call isn't that hard to make, they had to do it at station anyways.
    cushtac wrote:
    Your brother was, as far as I can make out from your accounts, treated very well by the Gardaí. For some reason you seem to think that he should have been given special treatment over and above what he got.

He was treated well, i didn't say he wasn't. Sorry if i made it sound like that.
    Whats this special treatment thing on about. I think the way the gaurds approached things was a bit much to be honest, doesn't mean they treated him badly.

cushtac wrote:
    Webmonkey said the two Gardaí who were dealing with him were 'lovely' and offered him tea & minerals while in the station, if that's you're idea of heavy handed you must have lived a very sheltered life.
    I'm sure they were lovely... most gaurds are. Point is, they were taking an easy option carting off a young fella who had a couple of pints and making a big deal out of it. Much easier than walking around on the beat where they might have met some nasty drug dealer and had to deal some unpleasantness. The result of taking that 'easy' option is webmonkey is posting on a website and his dad is fuming... not exactly reaching out into the community or contributing to our general safety. Antagonizing relations of normal law abiding citizens doesn't help anyone, but at least it fills up the time!

BTW, when i say heavy handed, i'm not implying anything physical, in case that is what you inferred. Rather I meant their handling was disproportionate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

As the parent of teenagers I applaud those Gardai.It appears to me that perhaps parents who decide whats most important is to question the way their child was treated,are feeling just a little angry that the Gardai have caused them the inconvenience of having to think about how their child is behaving when outside the home,and of actually having to talk to their child about drink and his behaviour.Some time ago a friend of one of my sons was hospitalised and 'pumped out 'having been found by the Gardai on the side of the road in an drunken state.The childs parents caused grief to the Gardai with the usual' why arent ye after real criminals' etc etc.and were more indignant about the Gardai than upset about what their son had done.Today that same young fella goes from table to table in clubs drinking whats left of other peoples drinks when the bar is closed.His drinking and behaviour has lost him friends and he is only 18.Perhaps if the parents had the cop on to realise that the Gardai were only trying to help,life would be better for that young lad

In all fernous it was first time he drank and he only had a few sups of vodka, not like he was drinking to get drunk. It is called peer pressure. I'm glad they caught him but the way they approached it in - I not that happy about.
    lennox1 wrote:
    are feeling just a little angry that the Gardai have caused them the inconvenience of having to think about how their child is behaving when outside the home,and of actually having to talk to their child about drink and his behaviour.

Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

'Its the first time I drank' is the oldest fib in the book.Have heard it myself from my kids and have given it to my parents too when I was caught.Just take a step back from the indignation and realise that he was better off to be caught now and treated well by the Gardai as you say he was,than be found in the gutter in a drunken state while still a minor.As for being 'real' unfortunately many parents talk at their children not with them and when trouble crops up from outside its easier to lay blame elsewhere.and the Gardai are an easy target.

lennox1 wrote:
    It appears to me that perhaps parents who decide whats most important is to question the way their child was treated,are feeling just a little angry that the Gardai have caused them the inconvenience of having to think about how their child is behaving when outside the home,and of actually having to talk to their child about drink and his behaviour.
    I actually would agree with this, although I would not put it as bluntly. Parents have a tendancy to ignore issues like this until they can't any longer. I know it must be hard being a parent, but they muct speak to their child about alcohol when they get to a certain age rather than ignore the fact that they may be drinking until they get caught.

@Webmonkey: First time he drank? Yeah right.... And peer pressure is such a load of bs in most cases. Teenagers drink because they enjoy it, not because it's cool.

Anyway, I think you should let the Gardaí's "mishandling" of the situation go, as tbh, it was not all that disasterous. The Gardaí's actions might not have been totally correct, but no lasting damage has been done and your brother has hopefully learned a lesson.

Parents came back from local garda station there. My father good friends with main guy there. He said to call down if we had any questions.

Anyways seems that the guy that was taken to the station with my brother is extremly troublesome and well known to the gaurds. This was partly why the whole thing happened anyways. They thought my brother was in with this guy or what ever. They were sorry in the end that they took him to station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭frisbeeface

I'm still interested in the original question, whether the test was legal or not. I would imagine not, seeing as the Oireachtas had to pass legislation to authorise testing motorists. I think even if the Oireachtas passed legislation it would be deemed unconstitutional.

Is there anybody who knows for sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Webmonkey wrote:

Just back from the Garda station there, my brother was caught with a little drink taken (15 years old). What an idiot!, he will never learn.

Anyways seems how gardai discovered this, is they took a group of them and bagged them with a breathalizer (sp?).

He was brought to the garda station then when it was discovered that he had 'over the limit' :rolleyes:

Is this allowed or what? Seems strange.

:rolleyes: about 99% of the population has have alcohol by the time they are 15

^I'd say more 60% if I were to guess a statistic, and I think the OP was refferring to the fact that he got caught.