Door to door Begging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

foinse wrote:
    Also I read in a local paper someone from a homeless action group said not to give beggars money on the street, because the ones who don't abuse drugs and drink don't need to beg cos there are hostels and shelters who will provide them with what they need.

This is suppsoedly true, my Uncle who used to be in charge of a home told me the same thing, and how he deals with beggars is to go up to them and give them the address and number, and tell them there is no need for this. But, that said, you see some incredibly difficult stuff. In particular, has anyone seen the young boy who is often at college green begging? I have seen him a few times now, sometimes crying like crazy. And he looks really roughed-up, like he's not wearing full clothes or whatever. Does someone put him up to this or..? It's really hard to ignore him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't give to beggers at all - ever.
    If in town I just ignore them, but if they have the neck to call to the door they just get told no and the door is closed (or we used to send out the youngest fella in the house who looked about 17 and he'd tell them "me ma isn't home" :D).

Strangely, this wasn't a problem when I lived at home. They don't seem to bother in certain areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

LookingFor wrote:
    This is suppsoedly true, my Uncle who used to be in charge of a home told me the same thing, and how he deals with beggars is to go up to them and give them the address and number, and tell them there is no need for this. But, that said, you see some incredibly difficult stuff. In particular, has anyone seen the young boy who is often at college green begging? I have seen him a few times now, sometimes crying like crazy. And he looks really roughed-up, like he's not wearing full clothes or whatever. Does someone put him up to this or..? It's really hard to ignore him..
    I think he's the guy they were talking about on the joe duffy show last month? Apparently is a fair bit older than he looks and has a brother who does the same. They look 8 or 9, but actually they're closer to 14 and are from quite a good family. His parents have gone around asking people not to give them money as they're trying to get them off the drugs, but everytime the put them in school the just leave and go back on the street to beg. Haven't seen them myself, but from your description, sounds like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

Does anyone ever wonder where the romanians come from in the first place. Off hand is there not a dictator in romania who forced them out in the first place.
    In this country we have travellers who flaunt the current trend of capitalism, I think they are a culture which is dying through one way or another, we don't deport them though.
    The Romanians seem to have mastered the art of begging over the art of robbing and mugging that some of our locals do and they keep their culture by dress and family.They are very definate in who they are by their dress and gypsy culture.
    We have Nigerian technolgical scams, and Polish sex trafficing and exploitation, which many so called citizens enjoy very much to the point that it is profitable.
    Instead of attacking them with ignorant statements of get a job, why not understand that they are a people who are totally out of their waters in a foreign country by no fault of their own and are successfully doing so by the art which got them banned in the first place. And they manage so far to keep their identity, I just hope their kids don't come to bite us in the ass for the aforementioned ignorence and are given a chance to make it like any of our kids should, regardless of nationality and culture.

I do not give them money usually but after reading some posts on this thread I think now I will.

Ps it amazes me how the violence committed by our own learned criminals seems to be more acceptable and less noted than the foreign national issue. If it came to deportation on mass in a dictatorship in Ireland I would choose to deport the violent drug addicted muggers and robbers over Romanians any day. Where would we send them though? And indeed who would accept the violent self confident syringe armed army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I do not give them money usually but after reading some posts on this thread I think now I will.

That'll learn us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭source

Does anyone ever wonder where the romanians come from in the first place. Off hand is there not a dictator in romania who forced them out in the first place.
    In this country we have travellers who flaunt the current trend of capitalism, I think they are a culture which is dying through one way or another, we don't deport them though.
    The Romanians seem to have mastered the art of begging over the art of robbing and mugging that some of our locals do and they keep their culture by dress and family.They are very definate in who they are by their dress and gypsy culture.
    We have Nigerian technolgical scams, and Polish sex trafficing and exploitation, which many so called citizens enjoy very much to the point that it is profitable.
    Instead of attacking them with ignorant statements of get a job, why not understand that they are a people who are totally out of their waters in a foreign country by no fault of their own and are successfully doing so by the art which got them banned in the first place. And they manage so far to keep their identity, I just hope their kids don't come to bite us in the ass for the aforementioned ignorence and are given a chance to make it like any of our kids should, regardless of nationality and culture.

Ps it amazes me how the violence committed by our own learned criminals seems to be more acceptable and less noted than the foreign national issue. If it came to deportation on mass in a dictatorship in Ireland I would choose the violent drug addicted muggers and robbers over Romanians any day. Where would we send them though?

You see the problem is that they do rob people, and the gardai are well aware of it, but for some reason they can't do anything about it. These people travel from the city they're living in to other cities and rob people and beg from people and then travel home in the evening. I have no sympathy for them and i will definately not be giving them any of my hard earned cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

Ok I have never once experienced or heard of or seen in the news or otherwise of Romanian violence or robbery. I have seen and experienced Polish, Nigerian and Irish vicious robberies and scams.
    The people I see begging on the street are always women with babies and kids with organs, total sympathy con job to a degree, I am by no means a bleeding heart social worker.

How do they rob people by your experience? I see them as professional beggars, not violent thieves in general. Which we have in our own society to a greater degree. And don't make the headlines often enough.

I suppose I just find that it is easy to pick on the most obvious people because of how they stand out when the same crimes are being committed by others who are more anonymous by their blending in or being part of the whole culture anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭source

How do they rob people by your experience? I see them as professional beggars, not violent thieves in general. Which we have in our own society to a greater degree. And don't make the headlines often enough.

Have you actually been reading this thread???? my first post in this thread #29, the first line clearly shows how they rob people.
    A mate of mine, had a group of romanians come up to her in limerick and ask her for money while she was at an atm...While the old woman was talking to her one of the men walked up reached over her arm and took the €200 she had requested from the machine.....So fu*king annoying to still see them begging on the street.

edit:typo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Alter-Ego wrote:
    If they knock on the door just knock back from the inside until they fcuk off.
    I have to say, that made me laugh out loud. Pretty much on bar with giving the thumbs up or waving to hitch-hikers.

A Romanian lady always calls around my estate and after a few weeks of feeling out every house she only calls to my door and the house three doors up (my Mum has to give them something).

Saw the same lady in town getting out of a BMW, she saw and recognised me and hurried away as i fished in my pocket for change, the husband driving the car didn't look too chirpy. She hasn't called for a few weeks now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

And when the day to stand before your Maker comes, you can explain how you managed your pile of dust, what you shared an dhow you helped. Least of all you can confidently elaborate on how you always had respect for those that came to your door.

Many have much to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Degsy wrote:
    Poxy romanians i bet.there was an article in the paper saturday about how since romania joined the eu,ireland has issued over 5000 pps numbers and only 20 or something of them have applied for work visas.

There was an even bigger article about the campaign to legalise the illegal Irish living in the USA, but I bet you do not read such newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭paconnors

Do what i do, i answer the door, tell them to hold on, go in and get my father and tell him somebody is at the door for him.... :)

Whooooooooo post 500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

on it i said no went to close the door she put her foot in the way i said move your foot and she said "money money"
    Jesus if any of them put their foot in my door like that, man or woman- I would invite them in, get my hurley out and beat the **** out of them inside the house. Thats not on. Imagine they did that to an old lady or man living on their own, what defence would they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Ok I have never once experienced or heard of or seen in the news or otherwise of Romanian violence or robbery.

There are plenty of Romany Gypsy robbers operating in the city centre and elsewhere. If their culture is to steal from shops, as well as burglarise residential properties, should we respect that cultural nuance as well? No, a crim is a crim, and if someone breaks the law through begging or robbing, then they should face the consequences of the law. Cultural diversity and tradition is only acceptable within the confines of the law of the State, as decided by the people of the State.
    I suppose I just find that it is easy to pick on the most obvious people because of how they stand out when the same crimes are being committed by others who are more anonymous by their blending in or being part of the whole culture anyway.

The same crimes are being committed by others, but obviously people have noticed that proportionally speaking there is an issue with Romany Gypsies and begging - and specifically in relation to the OP, door to door begging/harassment. Remember the older people who have these people knocking on their homes and feel intimidated and unsafe as a result. That is an intrusion on that persons liberty and well being.

If you were 90 years of age and some strange person put their foot in your door demanding money, how would you feel?

In a previous post, you have asked that we consider the background of these people. Yes, there is *no* oppressive dictatorship in Romania, and the country has joined the EU. So, I ask, in what way are these people asylum seekers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I think that some people are just overly sensitive about this sort of thing. Beating a Romanian woman with a hurley? Peeing on their shoes? Get over it, they're just asking for money. Close the door and go back to what you were doing. I don't know what's so distressing about it.

I only wish people got this upset about their real hard earned money being mismanaged and wasted by the Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

jonny24ie wrote:
    I work in town and people begging in town everyday is a normal occurance!!
    I get to know the faces etc!!

A few weeks ago I was getting the bus home and this woman was beggin for money in Temple bar. I said no and walked on. Got the bus and a stop further down the road she got on the bus!! She sat down in front of me and proceeded to count out hundreds of euros in 50 notes!!
    These people make a fortune from begging!!
    If its a busy area with thousands of people walking past a day and about 10% gave you a euro a go then they will have a tonne of money. This is the reason alot of them won't get jobs etc as they will earn more begging!!

Someone did a survey on begging in Dublin and found out that they make 400 euros a day. Remember that next time you start to feel sorry for one of them. They make more in 2 days then I make in a week and its all tax free. Why the hell am I working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

InFront wrote:
    I think that some people are just overly sensitive about this sort of thing. Beating a Romanian woman with a hurley? Peeing on their shoes? Get over it, they're just asking for money.

True, but that's just youthful bravado and machismo. More what people who lack the ability to be assertive would like to do (overcompensating for ego). How many cases of beggers getting beaten with hurleys do you hear about? The internet = venting aid. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

There was an even bigger article about the campaign to legalise the illegal Irish living in the USA, but I bet you do not read such newspapers.

Thing is you have missed the point all together. The Irish in the US illegally do not go around knocking on doors begging nor do they lie on streets looking for money. They may be there illegally but work bloody hard most of them. Building sites, Bars, Hotel Doormen, Taxi Drivers etc etc I go to the states alot and have stayed within the big Irish communities in NY, Boston, Chicago and other places across the US. Ok they may be there illegally but don't for one second tar those guys with the same brush as the Gypsies. The gypsies coming to your door get social welfare money, free accomadation and meals and do not need your money. They make thousands of Euros every month and people who fall for their scams. And before anyone tells me im wrong one of my best friends works for the Immigration services. Man Do gooders really pee me off and make us decent folk look like the scum because we tell these scammers to fook off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

True, but that's just youthful bravado and machismo. More what people who lack the ability to be assertive would like to do (overcompensating for ego). How many cases of beggers getting beaten with hurleys do you hear about? The internet = venting aid.
    That may be true, hopefully I'll never have to find out ;) If someone did force their way into my house though, hurley or not, it's not gonna be a happy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

de5p0i1er wrote:
    Someone did a survey on begging in Dublin and found out that they make 400 euros a day. Remember that next time you start to feel sorry for one of them. They make more in 2 days then I make in a week and its all tax free. Why the hell am I working.

Go on then, whats stopping you?

The Irish in the US illegally do not go around knocking on doors begging nor do they lie on streets looking for money. They may be there illegally but work bloody hard most of them.

So do the vast majority of foreign nationals. I know two chinese girls who both work 2 minimum wage jobs, in order to pay the 6000 a year college the fees the have in DBS. The builders and electrian who worked on my house were some of the most hard working people I've ever met, and they were from Romania. The only Irish person I got to do some work was the plumber, who left me a gas leak and multiple water leaks, which took months to put right. So just because a few foreigners beg, don't tar them all with the same brush. They are exceptions, just as (some of) the travellers and others are exceptions in our soceity.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

OK so I see that alot of the details here are a bit sketchy!!
    The majority of the Romanian nationals that are begging on the streets are old asylum seekers!! Then you have the new wave that are here that actually work for their money because they are EU citizens and can do so!! Alot of foreign nationals that are here legally do work very hard for their money but the ones that are bumming off the state beg/steal and do whatever they can for money!!
    I worked in Immigration for over 3 years and dealt with thousands of cases in that time!! Some of the stuff I saw was unreal!!

1 chap was claiming welfare in 6/7 different counties using different variations of his name. Then he was getting the boat to the UK and claiming over there!! Out of state payments he was earning over a grand a week!!
    90% of the cases I dealt with were pure chancers out for anything they could get!!

Alot of Refugees actually can work!! A good few were giving Right to Work letters of the Dept of Justice a few years ago but will not use them as they will loose all their entitlements!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

We get Romanians the whole time, usually they have notes or a baby. Whenever we offer them beans or some other canned stuff they say 'Noo.....want chocolate' (?????) after saying it's for the baby....

Either that or my dad talks Irish to them until they go away. They tend to really lean on the doorbell too.

Yep i remember a few years ago some pikey romanian called to my door begging, so i went and got her some food, i cant remember what, cans of something anyway, so i went to give it to her and she looks at me like 'wtf?' and produces a f*cking shopping list and goes 'NO! WANT COCA COLA!!'.
    I guess in this day and age, beggars really CAN be choosers.

On a lighter note, a polish colleague just sent me this...

The latest poll taken by the Government asked people who live in Ireland if they think Polish immigration is a serious problem:
    23% of respondents answered: Yes, it is a serious problem.
    77% of respondents answered: Absolutnie zaden. To nie jest powazna kwestia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭potty pete

romanian gypsy used to call around knocking on doors on my road im at start of road on bend i watched her take off her shoes and leave behind trees and walk up to house barefoot looking for money politely told her to **** off and go back home she cursed at me in whatever language she speaks, i then waited for her to go further down the road before i stealthily went and took a slash all over her shoes in trees. she hasnt come back since

Well, there was no need to do that. Very scummy indeed. Hardships are part of life, of course. Some have it worse than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

yes some do have it harder than others indeed, some people actually have to work and pay taxes while other see our country as an easy ride and have accomodation, food, taxis to supermarkets and social welfare payments given to them. these people have the audacity to come knocking at my door looking for Me to give them my earned money while all they do is sweet FA for our nation but sponge and beg for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

bohsman wrote:
    Go on then, whats stopping you?

Dignity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭potty pete

yes some do have it harder than others indeed, some people actually have to work and pay taxes while other see our country as an easy ride and have accomodation, food, taxis to supermarkets and social welfare payments given to them. these people have the audacity to come knocking at my door looking for Me to give them my earned money while all they do is sweet FA for our nation but sponge and beg for more.

Get over it, fella. I think you're being overly-sensitive. And once again, no need to act degerate. It didn't warrant such a deed. Why didn't you just spit on her face altogther? Oh I know why - you were probably too spineless. Didn't want to confront the issue in a grown up manner. No, the unctuous swine calculatingly waited for his opportunity and slashed on her shoes. You're the one who should look at themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

What I believe are Romanian gyspies come to the door every so often.
    I tell them no and if they continue a '**** off' and a slam of the door usually gets rid of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boffin

About a year ago - an eldery neighbour of mine was parking her car in her garage when two romanian gypies kids walked into the garage behind her and demanded money. When she would not give them any money they tried to rob her handbag. Luckily my sister saw this from an upstairs window and chased them off, while I called the guards. The guards said that each of these were minors and had done this a ton of times although they found it hard to get convictions because..(can't remember now). My neighbour was extremely shaken by the incident and never felt safe again in a house in which she had lived in for 65 years. She sold up and moved into a retirement home. She was an extremely independent woman before this happened. :mad:

I never give money at the door except to children I know from the area if they are collecting for a walk or fast. Recently I have had calls to the door from kids from over 20 miles away, who are getting coming over to collect for a supposed sponsored walk. Come on, no-one is that dedicated to collect for their school!!!