Can a Car Be Re-registered in Another County ?

• 13-04-2007 08:49PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭

Can a person change the plate of their car to one from another county ?

I get a few deep looks driving a dark green Co Louth car on country roads . . .

Tak.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

Definitally not, If it could be done im sure every car residing in Dublin would be a D reg, there is still a snobbery thing in the motor trade about having a D registration in Dublin, personally It wouldnt bother me.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

once a car is registered here it keeps the plate for its entire life here.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

kbannon wrote:
    once a car is registered here it keeps the plate for its entire life here.
    I think it can be done in exceptional circumstances and the other vehicle has to be destroyed. VIP 1 was taken from the original Kilkenny vehicle to which it was assigned and reassigned to the Popemobile in 1979.
    Bradidup wrote:
    there is still a snobbery thing in the motor trade about having a D registration in Dublin
    I don't think it's a snobbery thing. A D registered vehicle is seen as being neutral as there are as many D registered vehicles as all other counties put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I don't think it's a snobbery thing. A D registered vehicle is seen as being neutral as there are as many D registered vehicles as all other counties put together.

OP: yes but only within a few days of original registration...my neighbour's car was registered LK instead of L last year and the dealer changed it for her...strange because they're the type of dealer that usually don't care!!!!

I'd never buy a D reg...everyone would think you're an undercover cop and the thing would get a beating in town some night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

ninty9er wrote:
    I'd never buy a D reg...everyone would think you're an undercover cop and the thing would get a beating in town some night

Think I give Limerick a miss then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'm not 100% certain if this would work, you could try re-registering in the UK, then re-registering in Ireland, you'd get caught for VRT, and there's the possibility the good old VRO would see the chassis and reassign the old number. Would be worth a phone call to the VRO though!

AntiVirus wrote:
    Think I give Limerick a miss then.

I've heard the reaction to D reg's in Cork is even worse....plus you're less likely to get any road courtesy in any given part of the country as D reg's are everywher and it's assumed the driver i local and should know better.

ninty9er wrote:
    I've heard the reaction to D reg's in Cork is even worse....plus you're less likely to get any road courtesy in any given part of the country as D reg's are everywher and it's assumed the driver i local and should know better.

Funny that, my girlfriend is from cork and I've driven down loads of time's and never had a problem or as a matter of fact anywhere in Ireland. I used to drive up to Limavady up North every other weekend in my "D" reg car and never had a problem.

Don't think I've ever seen anyone post here about driving and staying in another county and having problems with a "D" reg car. Sounds like its just Limerick.

I'll still avoid Limerick though, thanks for the warning. I'll pass the message on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,877 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

AntiVirus wrote:
    Funny that, my girlfriend is from cork and I've driven down loads of time's and never had a problem or as a matter of fact anywhere in Ireland. I used to drive up to Limavady up North every other weekend in my "D" reg car and never had a problem.

Don't think I've ever seen anyone post here about driving and staying in another county and having problems with a "D" reg car. Sounds like its just Limerick.

I'll still avoid Limerick though, thanks for the warning. I'll pass the message on. :)

I have never heard of anyone's car down here being smashed because it has a reg from another county. It's not a Limerick thing either. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

The only way a car gets a new number is if it is seized by CAB and then sold on at an auction. They give it a new number so it's previous owners can't find it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

AntiVirus wrote:
    Nobody cares about D plates in Limerick. I'd say at least a quarter of the cars I see here are D's - even mine is a D (bought second hand). The only place I'd ever be slightly concerned about driving a Dublin regisitered car is maybe in certain parts of Norn Iron...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,567 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

The Irish government are yet again missing out on another money making exercise that doesn't mean fleecing the ordinary motorist. There should be a system in place to facilitate number transfer, make those that want it pay for the service, those that don't require it, don't pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Where in Norn Iron and why Dublin plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

ninty9er wrote:
    you're less likely to get any road courtesy in any given part of the country as D reg's are everywhere
    Jesus, I've heard it all now! Do you really think motorists check registration plates before deciding whether to show courtesy or not? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭maidhc

Jesus, I've heard it all now! Do you really think motorists check registration plates before deciding whether to show courtesy or not? :rolleyes:

Perhaps not, but if a D reg car does something silly you say something like "fecking jackeen" under your breath. :D

Incidentally one of posher cars around owned by a Cork person has a 07 D reg (Black MB s450).

In slow noving traffic, when someone tries to change lanes...I don't let them in in a D, CE, LK or L reg as I assume they're local and purposely trying to skip a mile long queue of traffic; anyone else I'll take a chance on:)

I might have gone overboard on the damage thing, but I hate driving in and around in Dublin, cos you can never tell whether the navy Mondeo with a D reg is an unmarked Garda car!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

what I want to know is, if you reg a car, then export it, then import it again do you get a new plate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭tak

Okay. It is probably not on.

Sorry for opening up tribal hostilities here :D !

Thanks to all for opinions.

Best Regards,

Tak.

tak wrote:
    Okay. It is probably not on.

Sorry for opening up tribal hostilities here :D !

Thanks to all for opinions.

Best Regards,

Tak.

Lets get him! He has a "G" reg car!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

haha.... And only D reg cars are allowed at the boards motor meet ok!