Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish army weapons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

muletide wrote:
    not now but as soon as i have worn the new armour on operations i will let you know what i think of it. as opposed to just speculate about what its like. Walter

Funnily enough I didn't speculate on what the new armour is like, I actually questioned how someone could do so after only seeing a picture of it. So you might want to actually read something before passing comment on it.

As for me being a walter, I sell this stuff for a living so I have to know what I'm talking about. I've supplied vests to Gardai, security companies and to the likes of journalists & business people who are operating in dangerous parts of the world. It's not waltering if it's part of your job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Mick86

Maskhadov wrote:
    Yes they are totally different. Flak jackets are an earlier invention. They didnt have steel plates or kevlar. They were just designed to stop or slow down peices of flak or secondary splinters from killing you. These secondary splinters usually were flying at a lower velocity. A bullet will pass right through two sides of a flak jacket no problem.

Body armour as its name suggests will stop a certain amount of ball amunition.

Body armour is just a modern term for flak jacket. Flak jackets now come with little pouches on chest and back where you can slip in a kevlar plate. They'll save your life if the enemy hits the plate although I wouldn't put any money on one stopping a .5 round or even a 7.62 at close range.

Flak%20Vest.JPG

Vietnam era flak jacket

menon_vest.jpg

Modern flak jacket with the pouch for the plate evident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Bren LMG .303(light machine gun in use by rdf only)

You would think that by now these would be de-commisioned. I'm in the RDF, and we have to know how to disassemble and clean this gun. We won't even be firing them because the ammo isn't being produced anymore (but feel free to correct me on that).
    In any other country these guns would be in museums or something; but in Ireland it's just a case of "sure feck it, just give them to the FCA/RDF"

/rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Maskhadov

The FCA does exist anymore. There is now a reserve defence force that mirrors the permament defence force in both equipment (broadly speaking)and structure.

The Bren LMG is being phased out as part of the re-org. Most units should have access to the GPMG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Mick86

ThatGuy wrote:
    Bren LMG .303(light machine gun in use by rdf only)

You would think that by now these would be de-commisioned. I'm in the RDF, and we have to know how to disassemble and clean this gun. We won't even be firing them because the ammo isn't being produced anymore (but feel free to correct me on that).
    In any other country these guns would be in museums or something; but in Ireland it's just a case of "sure feck it, just give them to the FCA/RDF"

/rant over

The British Army converted them to 7.62mm and used them until quite recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Bam Bam

The Bren is a grand weapon, Its light and accurate, and easier to maintain thaen the GPMG. Its only real disadvantage is that it uses a magazine instead of a belt so its ammo, and firing rate is limited.

For sheer power the GPMG can't be beat, Its just a pain in the arse to carry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

the ammo is still being made i like the bren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Just like the one i am wearing in this pic.They were also quite warm in winter specialy on the early morning escorts/border patrols we used to do .

i miss the old greens :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,175 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Just a question about the new HK USP 9mm that is to become the new service pistol. Have these guns started being delivered yet and have the PDF started training with them yet?

The answer is yes to both questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭tenandtracer

latchyco wrote:
    Just like the one i am wearing in this pic.They were also quite warm in winter specialy on the early morning escorts/border patrols we used to do .

Photo taken in Tannagh Barracks on the Monaghan Road by any chance?

i was thinking of buying a h&k usp just to find up my officers :D:D for targets of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

=tenandtracer]Photo taken in Tannagh Barracks on the Monaghan Road by any chance?

If Tannagh Barracks is in Coothill and was formly a school then yes , that's the place. I was serving with the 5th/35th battalion in 1977 at the time .,,,,, How could you tell ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,175 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Just found this on Wiki, it says the Ranger Wing use the P90! Is this true.
    Also saw somewhere that they use the G36 also! I'm sure they get to try out these weapons from time to time but are they actually available to use by the Rangers if needed?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P90

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Army_Rangers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Irish_Army01

Just found this on Wiki, it says the Ranger Wing use the P90! Is this true.
    Also saw somewhere that they use the G36 also! I'm sure they get to try out these weapons from time to time but are they actually available to use by the Rangers if needed?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P90

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Army_Rangers

Not true I'm afraid............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Sputnik

The rangers have access to pretty much any weapons they want. The majority are used for familiarisation purposes. If they want to use these weapons on op's they will but there not on issue as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

latchyco wrote:

I remember wearing those things years ago while doing security duty on ranges,and while on duty on camps while i was in the F.C.A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

Not true I'm afraid............

Quite true im afraid, if it exists they can try it out and keep it if they like it as there own!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭elvis jaffacake

newby.204 wrote:
    Quite true im afraid, if it exists they can try it out and keep it if they like it as there own!!
    I'm pretty sure bordering on the certain, that the wing do not have the P90...

rangers do but not on standard issue
    scroll down
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Army_Rangers#Weapons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Id say there is alot of stuff they have that we dont know about and frankly for that i will sleep soundly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

Unless your in the pdf, or in the wing?? (which if you are i doubt youll say you are) how could you be certain that they dont have?? im not going to get into a debaqte and points match im 100% sure they have it and if you say different then fair enough

babybundy wrote:
    rangers do but not on standard issue
    scroll down
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Army_Rangers#Weapons
    No offence but Wikipedia wouldn't be my first choice for information on the Wing:)

newby.204 wrote:
    Unless your in the pdf, or in the wing?? (which if you are i doubt youll say you are) how could you be certain that they dont have?? im not going to get into a debaqte and points match im 100% sure they have it and if you say different then fair enough
    Ok, we'll have to agree to disagree;)

Steyr wrote:
    Id say there is alot of stuff they have that we dont know about and frankly for that i will sleep soundly.
    Their armoury is quite impressive, they get stuff all the time to evaluate, and no I'm not one of "them"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Dont they use "recovered":D Weapons too? I remember watching a DF vid on them playing "enemy" for a Tactical Video and it showed guys with M16's??

Steyr wrote:
    Dont they use "recovered":D Weapons too? I remember watching a DF vid on them playing "enemy" for a Tactical Video and it showed guys with M16's??

They were either confiscated weapons or ones gotten for evaluation or familiarisation.

Steyr wrote:
    You name it, they probably have it, they are in the process now of replacing a few of the weapons they use, Apparently the Steyr A2 is being replaced by the A3 and the H&K 33s1 is being replaced by a new rifle...