motorbike gear in Lidl

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

murphaph wrote:
    He was probably talking about old lids belonging to customers who'd just bought a new one in the store. :rolleyes:

Probably, you are probably more secure wearing the packaging that the lid came in rather than the lid itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

Bradidup wrote:
    .... ie the lock, (Who would rob a scooter?),
    alot

murphaph wrote:
    He was probably talking about old lids belonging to customers who'd just bought a new one in the store. :rolleyes:

Well that would be irresponsible for anyone to leave a used lid about like that. Theres still idiots out there that would wear a lid that they found in a bin and didnt know the history of. We were always told to destroy a lid before we dump them for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭dogpile

Bradidup wrote:
    Theres still idiots out there that would wear a lid that they found in a bin and didnt know the history of.

Well this idiot was tempted:D like said they looked better than mine but I don't mix dandruff when I'm driving :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Ill give you one word of warning about the lidl helmets... did you see the way they were treated in the shop??
    Loads of people trying em on, kids dropping them... there is no way I would wear one.
    I was in Hein Girckle (sp?) a while ago, looking at helmets. Found one I liked, said could I have one like this? "Yes no problem" says the girl "I`ll just get the box".... eh.. its ok ye can keep it.
    I will take a helmet sealed in the box, that i can be sure was never dropped.
    Im with paparazzo... no one will convince me to go with a cheaper option.
    Besides, my arai fits my weird shaped head perfectly...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

You get what you pay for. More expensive usually means higher quality, more comfort, quiter, better vents, lighter and looks better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭art

Paparazzo wrote:
    Even so, I'd rather have a 5 year old Arai dropped a couple of times than a brand new lidl helmet every year that can still be dropped.
    That's a totally ridiculous thing to say.

murphaph is right about being in a position to replace lids regularly will likely be safer than holding onto an expensive lid long after it's safe to do so, just because you had such a high initial investment in it. What mostly distinguishes the Arais on so on from the Lidl's etc is comfort at high speeds, fit, pretty pictures and flashy colours on the outside and vents - basically boils down to comfort and aesthetics. But in terms of safety, studies have highlighted the fact that cheaper helmets can be safer than more expensive race helmets for normal road usage on account of the internal structures of race helmets are prioritised towards very high speed spills and multiple impacts. A spill at typical road speeds with a basic helmet will ruin the helmet completely but often, by getting ruined, absorb much more of the initial impact than a race breed helmet would.

So, in safety terms, a nice Lidl lid every few months would probably be the safest solution for all of us.

(PS I own an Arai and think it's the best helmet I ever had. Doesn't mean I have to be a snob about Lidl helmets though).

art wrote:

So, in safety terms, a nice Lidl lid every few months would probably be the safest solution for all of us.

(PS I own an Arai and think it's the best helmet I ever had. Doesn't mean I have to be a snob about Lidl helmets though).

Not being snobby, theres a place in the for Lidl lids, (it even rhymes!!), ie entry small level bikes, mini motos & scooters, You wont catch me dead on a Gixr 750 or a Blade with one of them!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

art wrote:
    Depends on the drop!;) A 2 foot drop onto carpet won't do any damage. Personally, i never dropped a helmet once in 10 years of driving almost every day, so the decent helmet wins for me.
    Cheap helmets can be stronger, but generally aren't.
    As i said before, each to their own, I'll go for a decent helmet every time. Safety is one thing, but as i use it every day, I want something comfortable that fits well too.
    Are you one of the guys that goes around wearing yellow fisherman pullups and black wellies on their bikes?:D
    Right, i'm going for a beer, it's getting late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

Paparazzo wrote:
    I don't think that would convince Valantino Rossi to pick one Would you honestly rather crack your head off the road wearing an Arai or a Lidl?

I know you are only picking Arai as an example, but FYI Valentino Rossi does not wear Arai.

In fact, many many motorcycle racers do not wear Arai.

In fact, there have been successful cases brought by motorsport drivers in order not to force one particular brand of helmet above another.

I like to think of it this way, I would rather be wearing a properly fitting Standards Approved Lidl helmet than watching an incorrectly fitting Standards Approved Arai rolling into the ditch in front of me.

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,259 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Lidl have more bike bits on Monday, gloves, tank bags and mini tank bags.

link

murphaph wrote:
    Lidl have more bike bits on Monday, gloves, tank bags and mini tank bags.

More scateboard accessories.

Bradidup wrote:
    More scateboard accessories.
    Is that some fetish thing? :D Seriously, are you now gonna tell me that a branded tank bag made in China is any better than a non branded tank bag made in China? Motorbike dealers must love you

murphaph wrote:
    Is that some fetish thing? :D Seriously, are you now gonna tell me that a branded tank bag made in China is any better than a non branded tank bag made in China? Motorbike dealers must love you

For warrenty purposes yes, I had no probs bring back my Givi panniers back to Megabikes when the zip went, the problem was solved that week. They could have easily have told me I over loaded the bag or forced the zip.Try bringing your ripped tank bag back to a supermarket in a few weeks when the stock has cleared, you could be waiting a while.

True, but I thought buying brand name Givi stuff you shouldn't have any such defects! I guess brand names aren't all they're cracked up to be, eh? Anyway....I had a customer in the other day who'd bought a camera that she proceeded to break (battery forced in backwards) and when she called the support line they sent her a new one from germany immediately, and trusted her to send her faulty unit back. I only know this because she was so surprised at how trusting they were. Try calling Sony Ireland and ask them to send you out a replacement unit for something you've broken yourself before you've even sent them the damaged unit.....see how far you get. Brand name manufacturers are often awful to deal with, whereas the contracts Lidl/Aldi have with these unknown manufacturers are worth tens of millions (there are app. 12,000 Lidl & Aldi stores in Europe) and so a few free units to keep Lidl/Aldi customers happy is more than worth it.

Yes any zip will burst if over loaded or forced no matter what brand. Some brands are more tolerant than others, the first thing I look for is where the zip is made, ie YKK, (seen on most good branded leather jackets and equipment).

If you are using the tank bag for an occasional sunday blip or using it just for carrying wet gear you would get away with a cheaper brand. but if you are a serious rally traveller or a dispatch rider around Dublin on a Honda Bros cramming it with tools, odd shape parcels, etc I would only go for the best money can buy. Last thing you want is your bag to burst open and spill all over the M50.

So did the brand name Givi not have brand name YKK on it and if not, why not? If so, why did they break? Answer......because it's just a bag, like the lidl ones ;)

It broke because I over loaded it and was repaired without question. Givi use YKK zips but might badge their own name on it. Its the tolerance that makes the difference between a good set and a cheaper brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭selephonic

In regard to the helmets, when lidl had their bike gear last year I spoke to an engineer who was at the time developing helmets. I was worried that the lidl gear might be rubbish so asked him and was told there is generally no difference in safety terms between helmets that have passed the standards. Every helmet has a polystyrene crush zone that works the same way.

I wore a lidl helmet for nearly a year and never had a problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭selephonic

Some gear in aldi on thursday too

Bradidup wrote:
    It broke because I over loaded it and was repaired without question. Givi use YKK zips but might badge their own name on it. Its the tolerance that makes the difference between a good set and a cheaper brand.
    The lack of tolerance you've shown towards Lidls etc here I think points to you being a bit of a cheap brand yourself ... ;)

The best pair of motorcycle gloves I've owned were bought in Lidls. Still fit and fasten tight better than any branded glove I've ever worn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,271 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Bradidup wrote:
    It broke because I over loaded it and was repaired without question.
    No wonder Givi stuff costs so much if they're that 'generous' with their repair policy!
    It's great gear if you can afford it, I've a Givi top box (it's an investment!) and it's absolutely top quality.
    However not everyone can afford to pay top whack, especially younger lads paying crazy amounts for insurance. Lidl and Aldi offer good quality gear at very low prices and that has got to be a good thing.
    As regards cheap gear = rubbish, I've seen some right tat going at not-so-cheap prices in well known bike shops, I'd rather someone buy a Lidl or Aldi lid than a bargain-basement yoke sitting in the back of a bike shop for years.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭chasm

ninja900 wrote:
    No wonder Givi stuff costs so much if they're that 'generous' with their repair policy!
    It's great gear if you can afford it, I've a Givi top box (it's an investment!) and it's absolutely top quality.
    However not everyone can afford to pay top whack, especially younger lads paying crazy amounts for insurance. Lidl and Aldi offer good quality gear at very low prices and that has got to be a good thing.
    As regards cheap gear = rubbish, I've seen some right tat going at not-so-cheap prices in well known bike shops, I'd rather someone buy a Lidl or Aldi lid than a bargain-basement yoke sitting in the back of a bike shop for years.

I agree. I bought a tank bag from lidl when they did their first bike stuff after they opened here in ireland(4-5 years ago?) and its as good as the day i bought it, I use it all the time and its held some amount of stuff at times. I bought the expandable one which doubles in size, which has saved me a few times.

Ok I take some of my comments back on some of their products such as their luggage baggage andd wet gear and maybe for some of their protective clothing for guys with small bikes & scooters.

but I still hold strong on my comments over their lids and protective clothing for guys riding serious bikes and couriers, I think the worst senario, ie sliding down the M50 on your ass for about 50 feet and then hitting your skull several times off the ground before you come to a complete stop.

e500 is a cheap price for your skull over a 4 year period particularly compaired to the amount that would be spent over 4 years up against a trough in a pub or on fags. My fiirst lid cost me almost a months wages, a Bell Star 3, i smashed it after 6 months, TPAF in a RTA along the canal. I didnt skimp the second time. I always buy the best lid I can afford, ie Arai. As for those flip up ones I wouldnt trust any of them even if i was to fall out of bed with one on.

I think gloves the same way, I had my spills with cheaper gear, ie gloves and jeans with insufficient padding. I used to buy cheap stuff, it was great during my apprenticeship when I was skint but after a bad smash in 1987 (TPAF again) I wouldnt skimp on that either. You wouldnt see me opened out over the ton on a Gixr 750 down the M7 with any of lidles protective clothing.

As for the locks, would you leave your Ninja 900 at Dublin Airport for the day with a Lidl Lock? Id say not a hope. They are a supermarket, You dont go up to MountJoy Motors and ask them at the counter for a bag of spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭chasm

No, but you can go to tesco and get a tv!

Bradidup wrote:
    Ok I take some of my comments back on some of their products such as their luggage baggage andd wet gear and maybe for some of their protective clothing for guys with small bikes & scooters.

but I still hold strong on my comments over their lids and protective clothing for guys riding serious bikes and couriers, I think the worst senario, ie sliding down the M50 on your ass for about 50 feet and then hitting your skull several times off the ground before you come to a complete stop.

e500 is a cheap price for your skull over a 4 year period particularly compaired to the amount that would be spent over 4 years up against a trough in a pub or on fags. My fiirst lid cost me almost a months wages, a Bell Star 3, i smashed it after 6 months, TPAF in a RTA along the canal. I didnt skimp the second time. I always buy the best lid I can afford, ie Arai. As for those flip up ones I wouldnt trust any of them even if i was to fall out of bed with one on.

I think gloves the same way, I had my spills with cheaper gear, ie gloves and jeans with insufficient padding. I used to buy cheap stuff, it was great during my apprenticeship when I was skint but after a bad smash in 1987 (TPAF again) I wouldnt skimp on that either. You wouldnt see me opened out over the ton on a Gixr 750 down the M7 with any of lidles protective clothing.

As for the locks, would you leave your Ninja 900 at Dublin Airport for the day with a Lidl Lock? Id say not a hope. They are a supermarket, You dont go up to MountJoy Motors and ask them at the counter for a bag of spuds.

That would be a fine assessment if their stock was not just unbranded but lacking certification too. But their lids and clothing (or at least any ones I looked at) all had British Kite, CE marks etc. So the fact is, from a safety point of view, you are not skimping. You might feel more assured wearing a known brand like Arai and I do like my own Arai a lot, but I have mates with no name lids and the fact is they find them more comfortable to wear and prefer them - from a safety perspective, we both have exactly the same safety assurances but, to complicate things, as I mentioned earlier in the thread, there are certain types of accidents where the helmets with less dense interiors (which tend to be cheaper) will offer much more protection than the high price, "if you are struck directly from above by a Javelin travelling 400mph per hour you'll only be half dead", types.

There's loads of detail on this topic in this (fairly famous now) article:

http://www.motorcyclistonline.com/gearbox/motorcycle_helmet_review/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,271 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Bradidup, I wouldn't leave any bike parked at Dublin Airport no matter what lock was on it, unless it had an armed guard. Also, WTF is TPAF?

PS: My Ninja900 is 17 years old...

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

ninja900 wrote:
    Bradidup, I wouldn't leave any bike parked at Dublin Airport no matter what lock was on it, unless it had an armed guard. Also, WTF is TPAF?

PS: My Ninja900 is 17 years old...

Third Party at Fault.

I leave a Bross 400 there when I fly out to London, use up to 5 locks, Abus Granit U lock, Yamaha lock & chain, disk lock, Viao Padlock with high security chain, and a cheap oxford wire rope lock. I also leave the bike in Shannon Airport for two weeks. keep it infront of security cameras. I rarely leave a lid locked to any bike after an incident with a dog pi**ing on one before!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭wb

Lidl are selling tank bags from today. Loads left in my nearest (pottery road) branch. They are the magnetic ones, but I'm sure you could add a strap if needs be. It is smaller than I thought, but my chain lock fits in fine and for €20, you can't go wrong. They have smaller ones for a fiver, but they wouldn't hold much really.

http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20070326.p.TankBag

http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20070326.p.CompactTankBags

For anyone new to magnetic tank bags put a tea towell between the tank and the bag or check for metal scraps that stick to the magnets, I destroyed the paintwork on my last bike.