Alcohol prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

6 pack of Harp/Bavaria = €7
    Naggin of Vodka = €6.50
    Walk into town = Free
    Club entrance = Free
    Coming home in a drunken mess = Priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

If you don't like the price, don't pay for it. Simple really. Why give out and then go along with it?? It's not compulsory to spend 50e a night on drink. It's not cumpolsory to drink. Crazy eh?

In a pub, I'll drink a mixer for like 2e (which is still a rip off, fekn Kia-Ora!!) and leave it on table all night. If I'm gonna drink I'll buy alcohol before I go out. I would drink alcopops, and buy a large bottle or 2 in Tesco for 6.25 each. If pubs think I'm paying between 6.40 and 6.70 for a wee one in town they can go fcuk themselves. Pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Got a vodka plus alcopop in a local pub for 5.50, same drink in the club across the road, 9 euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

Lil Kitten wrote:
    If you don't like the price, don't pay for it. Simple really. Why give out and then go along with it?? It's not compulsory to spend 50e a night on drink. It's not cumpolsory to drink. Crazy eh?

In a pub, I'll drink a mixer for like 2e (which is still a rip off, fekn Kia-Ora!!) and leave it on table all night. If I'm gonna drink I'll buy alcohol before I go out. I would drink alcopops, and buy a large bottle or 2 in Tesco for 6.25 each. If pubs think I'm paying between 6.40 and 6.70 for a wee one in town they can go fcuk themselves. Pricks.

Yea I know what your saying but its not that simple. I like the taste of beer and some shots. I like to socialise.. and after a hard weeks work... i have to wind down...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

^^^plus if you want to meet your friends or new people, its not always possible to go to the cheapo student bar or sit in someones house/park all night and drink dutch gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Stupid thing is the extortionate prices don't help to reduce drink related problems in society and it's largely responsible drinkers that suffer due to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Degsy wrote:
    Standing for ages at the bar being ignored while a smart-arse barman serves some bird ahead of you.

Its not his fault she's more good looking than you! Yeah it can be exasperating at times... and i work in a pub.

Interestingly our prices are low - €3.40 for a Guinness, €3.60 for lager, 3.30 vodka etc, yet my locals complain just as much as ye from dublin. Especially since the price is going up this week - by 10c!!!

Tiesto wrote:
    Yea I know what your saying but its not that simple. I like the taste of beer and some shots. I like to socialise.. and after a hard weeks work... i have to wind down...
    Why don't you try doing absolutely anything else at all to wind down or socialise? Do you have to drink alcohol to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

So rag week then bluey?

For the 6th year in a row, I won't be going out getting insanely drunk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Damn...and i'm on my second can already...where is pisslippy???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

bluewolf wrote:
    Why don't you try doing absolutely anything else at all to wind down or socialise? Do you have to drink alcohol to do that?
    What if he likes to drink alcohol?

JC 2K3 wrote:
    What if he likes to drink alcohol?
    I'm just wondering if he's tried any other ways of "winding down".

i play football, tennis, go to the gym 3 times a week...
    I do plenty of winding down but at the weekend I like to go out with my mates, find a few ladies friends and have drinks
    I have tryed going out without drinking but its just so difficult.
    Everyone is steamed up on another planet and anyways as I said, i like the taste of alcohal but I just dont like paying so much for it :)

Yeah I could drink at home but thats no fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Drink at home, then go out. You dont need to be more than a lil on the tipsy side. If you need drink to have a good time or feel comfortable then there is something wrong with you.

But Ireland is completely reliant on drink. Paddy's day, get hammered. Kid's communion, get hammered. Garden barbecue, Christmas day, Junior cert results night (even if you failed). Good stufff.. yeeea!

In Barcode, and heard this fukn eejit in ladies "It's not a good night til you get sick"

Then a girl was standing in the queue and puked on her fancy shoes. hahahah. Spa. Bet that made her night complete

Anyways!! Back on topic. Boo! Rip off republic!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Dammit the pub is one ofthe great irish social institutions,a place where friends and strangers alike could meet and shoot the breeze,relax and unwind after the week at work.The smart fckers who run pubs know that it'll be very difficult for us to un-learn that mentality,especially at the weekend so they've cranked the prices up to wring the last penny from the punters.They've nobody to blame but themselves and thier greed if its starting to backfire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

It is about NZ$7-8 a for a beer over here. Some are cheaper. Long necks are about NZ$6.
    Redbull and Vodka is NZ$12 and shots are NZ$7.
    The majority of cocktails are NZ$12-15.

I was at a work party last night, the boss closed down all his bars and held a party. 8pm-1am was a free bar :D

Lil Kitten wrote:
    Drink at home, then go out. You dont need to be more than a lil on the tipsy side. If you need drink to have a good time or feel comfortable then there is something wrong with you.

But Ireland is completely reliant on drink. Paddy's day, get hammered. Kid's communion, get hammered. Garden barbecue, Christmas day, Junior cert results night (even if you failed). Good stufff.. yeeea!

In Barcode, and heard this fukn eejit in ladies "It's not a good night til you get sick"

Then a girl was standing in the queue and puked on her fancy shoes. hahahah. Spa. Bet that made her night complete

Anyways!! Back on topic. Boo! Rip off republic!

I dont like drinking at home full stop.
    You say "if you need drink to have a good time or feel comfortable then there is something wrong with you".

Well i dont know about you but all my mates like a drink at the weekend.. I dont mean throwing back shots like theres no tomorrow etc etc but they like to have a good few beers at a slow pace.. very reserved I must say

As the beers go back the conversation goes a little pearshaped and I like the banther. I think if the majority of people here join a table with no alcohal in your system and those already seated had a few, the majority would think to themselves, what are they banging on about....

Haha funny happenings in barcode. Glad I was never there
    My point is :
    Any pint should be 50 cents. End of!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

As a doorman I have noticed a lot of people complaining to me about the price of alchohol.

The only thing I will say is, don't complain to the doormen, it has **** all to do with them! Also, don't go to a pub and then complain loudly about the price of alchohol. The price should be on display at the door for all drinks so if you want to walk in then your agreeing to pay those prices, regardless of how ridiculous they may be. ;)

wow your certainly proud of being a doorman Dragan.
    Look at how many of your recent posts began with
    " well as a doorman" or in other phrasing

Tiesto wrote:
    wow your certainly proud of being a doorman Dragan.
    Look at how many of your recent posts began with
    " well as a doorman" or in other phrasing

Such as in the two threads where people were slaggin off doormen and this one you mean? :rolleyes:

I mentioned it because it's relevant, just trying to gentle put it out there to people that your going to a pub where prices are clearly displayed ( and they should be, if they are not then demand that they are ) so stop whinging about things. It's your choice to go out and drink for **** sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Tiesto, back to English classes please. :rolleyes:

If I got into town I know I'm going to be paying premium prices for drink. Remember, publicans are in a business.....they're not going to give it away for nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Kenny 5 wrote:

If I got into town I know I'm going to be paying premium prices for drink. Remember, publicans are in a business.....they're not going to give it away for nothing.

They allways made plenty of profit,now they're just getting greedy.

Kenny 5 wrote:

Oh sorry Kenny. in other wording, is that better?
    U another one of these internet twats that comments on people's grammar Kenny?

Tiesto wrote:
    Oh sorry Kenny. in other wording, is that better?
    U another one of these internet twats that comments on people's grammar Kenny?

Personally i would have said "or in a similar vein" but thats just me. ;)

And i can confirm that Kenny will happily correct your grammar in real life, but is far from a twat. Suprisingly.

haha ok Dragan.

With regards to Kenny : Sorry but anyone that corrects anothers grammer online.... and having the cheek to correct someone in real life is even worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Degsy wrote:
    They allways made plenty of profit,now they're just getting greedy.
    And you think other types of businesses keep their prices low out of respect for their patrons? They don't want to appear too greedy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Tiesto wrote:
    haha ok Dragan.

With regards to Kenny : Sorry but anyone that corrects anothers grammer online.... and having the cheek to correct someone in real life is even worse
    I'd still rather be the person correcting the grammar, rather than the one who needs his grammar corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Dragan wrote:
    Suprisingly.

I'm not sure whether to :D or :mad: at this but I'll go with a :D

Binomate wrote:
    I'd still rather be the person correcting the grammar, rather than the one who needs his grammar corrected.

Well in that case Binomate, there is no need for the second use of the word 'rather'