Laser eye surgery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Dubsmax wrote:
    I was -6.75 in both eyes and got the surgery done 2 Years ago in the wellington clinic. Got both eyes done together and were fine for the first month or so then
    gradually went slightly short sighted again. so 6 months later I got one eye done again with wavefront and it was such a success I insisted on having the second eye done again also. 2 Years on and I have never had such good eyesight even at night I can see peoples faces in the distance which I never experienced with glasses..
    I've heard of special forces units in the US requiring their soldiers to get laser eye done because it can improve night vision.

All interesting, I must get a consultation. How long does it usually take to get an appointment for the surgery itself? Any age restrictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

It's good to see everyone is so enthusiastic about this surgery.
    I got glasses about six years ago and have never really got used to them so seriouly thinking about getting it done.
    I'm slightly astigmatic i think but that doesn't present too much of a problem I hear?
    I play sports too so it would really enhance that experience. I've never got contacts so when I'm playing GAA I can never see who's just scored up the other end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭lafors

Keith C wrote:
    So whos the blindest on boards??

Im -4.5 in both eyes

I'm -5.5 in both.

HA!!...or maybe not ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

slipss wrote:

argh that's scary looking...but everyone who's had it done is encouraging me to follow suit...decisions, incisions :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Vmaxer

MAYPOP wrote:
    argh that's scary looking...but everyone who's had it done is encouraging me to follow suit...decisions, incisions :(

Its mad to think that 6 months after the flap was cut on My eyes the surgeon could open it again with cutting a new one :eek: I must have been determined to have perfect vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Very interested in getting this done too, does anyone know of a very highly recommended clinic. Even if it is more expensive. Eye surgery is not something to be considering looking for the cheapest possible surgeon....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

My Eyesight is -1.25 both eyes and I am short-sighted (Myopia) I don't wear glasses or contacts as I think my vision is still good enough plus I am only 19 (20) come a weeks time. I'd say it is a good idea for someone older.

My uncle however is 48 and has had a long history of eye problems, he has now only one eye with 60% vision (watch out for furze thorns please) and he could get this up to 95% with laser surgery but was advised by his optician not to have it done as if anything went wrong he would be blind; so obviously there are risks involved.

As for getting it done cheap; for jeez sake people I rate my eyesight 2nd only to my life. Going for the Ryanair of Laser eye surgery with somebody like Dr. Nick from the Simpsons is inadvisable, get a loan or whatever is needed just don't cut corners with something so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

I heard they don't do it until your older because then your eyes have stopped changing, only age I've heard is 25... anyone got it done younger than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 eviecarwash

Netwhizkid, I'm also -1.25 in both eyes and I have to wear glasses to drive (legally) so although you think your vision is fine if you go for a driver's licence you'll have to get glasses! Just to warn you. I got my first pair in October and I couldn't believe how much better my eyesight is with them.. I was shocked! :) Don't think I'm bad enough for laser but I'd love to get it done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'm also -1.25 in both eyes and I have to wear glasses to drive (legally)
    I'm +3.5 in both eyes and was told that I was ok to drive without my glasses a few years ago. I laughed at the optitian and told him he was stupid as I bumped into the door on the way out of the test before putting my glasses back on again.

BopNiblets wrote:
    I heard they don't do it until your older because then your eyes have stopped changing, only age I've heard is 25... anyone got it done younger than that?
    The age thing is something I've been wondering about. I know a chap who went into the Gardai and had his eyes lasered at 18 / 19 or thereabouts, I've heard others say 21 and others again say 25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Keith C wrote:

Im -4.5 in both eyes

I'm -4.75! In your face!! But jaysus, some people -8!! Is that not certified blind?? I find my eyes get worse every time I get new lenses.

How bad is too bad to get it??? Surely the neediest should be catered for??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

ever wonder why lots of eye surgeons wear glasses??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭MikeTheMan

i got mine done in December - i am 26.

I had Epi-Lasek with Wavefront and got it done in Optimax Clinic in Belfast.
    My perscription was -2.50 and -2.75

Perfect vision now, took about 2 weeks for the haziness to go away. Painless procedure, best thing I ever spent money on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

If a person gets laser eye surgery then that's it. I presume say hypothetically speaking if I got it done now at 19 then I could not get it done if my eyes went bad later on in life at say 40 or 50.

Or can you have this surgery done more than once? or could you shave they eye as shown in that clip and have laser done at different persiods in life.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Keith C wrote:

Im -4.5 in both eyes

Im -7.25 in both eyes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

My mother got it done about 1 month ago.
    She had it done in the blackrock clinic.
    2,100 per eye = 4,200 total but they put 100 of that under the consultation fee.

It went really well for her. They gave her a vallum tablet which relaxed her heavily, did both eyes there and then with a 10 min break. They were sensitive for a few days after wards. All the stories about going back to work the same day seem like a load of crap to me. kept the lights low for the whole day etc.
    It worked out great though, she might need to use her reading glasses soon though but her eye sight is much better in general. She can see things like the tv, signs, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Cianos wrote:
    I may recall seeing an ad for a surgery up the north that were charging around €600 per eye.
    No. STARTING at €600 per eye. If you're half blind, its still proberly a few grand.
    littlebug wrote:
    I'd love to get my eyes done but i've read that the worse your eyesight is, and the older you are the higher the risks so at 37 and with -8.5 and -8 I'm not sure i want to risk it!
    If you look into it, you'll find that some of the treatments are designed for the older folk and some don't involve slicing your eye at all.
    Dubsmax wrote:
    Its mad to think that 6 months after the flap was cut on My eyes the surgeon could open it again with cutting a new one :eek: I must have been determined to have perfect vision.
    Could you say where, and which procedure did you get done? Just so when I go in fo a consyltation, I'll have a few questions for them.
    Judt wrote:
    The age thing is something I've been wondering about. I know a chap who went into the Gardai and had his eyes lasered at 18 / 19 or thereabouts, I've heard others say 21 and others again say 25.
    Your eyes have to be the same perscription for at least a year. And untill you're about 21, your eyes will be changing.

=-=

If and when I do it, I'll take a week or two off work, as I work on a computer. TBH, f**k work. My eyes mean more to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭loopyloulou

Got mine done on the 27th January by the Orbit Laser Eye Clinic. They were fantastic, the staff are so nice, they put you totally at ease. I had Lasik surgery, it cost €985 per eye. My prescription was -3 and -3.5. The link that was posted earlier shows exactly what happens in the op, its weird seeing the doc messing around with your eyeball but you cant feel a thing after they put the numbing drops in. I was in and out in 20 mins, my eyes stung straight after it but they advise to go home and sleep so i did, woke up about 3 hours later, went downstaairs and could see the tv perfectly!! Went for a checkup the following morning and could read the bottom line with the tiny letters, i even drove home myself. Got it done on a Friday and was back in work on Tuesday. Best money ive ever spent and would recommend it to anyone.
    Lou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 DJW7

Going for a consultation with Optilase on Thursday. will hopefully be eligible for the LASEK

anyone know if they have a long waiting list? or how long it would normally be from consultation to surgery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

Lil Kitten wrote:
    I'm -4.75! In your face!! But jaysus, some people -8!! Is that not certified blind?? I find my eyes get worse every time I get new lenses.

How bad is too bad to get it??? Surely the neediest should be catered for??

I was -8.25 and -9, until corrected in the Wellington Clinic two years ago. Now I've excellent vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,539 ✭✭✭megadodge

shakaman wrote:
    On how long it lasts, the surgery fixes your eyes but your eyes as per everyone who's short or long sighted will deteriorate over time, so you generally get 10-12 years before you need to get specs or have the surgery again, I for one will be going for the surgery again!

I don't know where you got this statistic from as it's certainly not true in my case and I'm not the exception as I know others in the same boat !

I got my left eye done Nov 95 and my right March 96 and they're as good now as they were then.

Best money I ever spent and I would suggest that eye specialists that don't recommend it based on fear be ignored as from a financial point of view what else would they say ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

netwhizkid wrote:
    If a person gets laser eye surgery then that's it. I presume say hypothetically speaking if I got it done now at 19 then I could not get it done if my eyes went bad later on in life at say 40 or 50.

Or can you have this surgery done more than once? or could you shave they eye as shown in that clip and have laser done at different persiods in life.

I've had two operations on my left eye, the first time the result was not as good as the right eye, so it was done again on the left as an enhancement. Much quicker healing time and the vision is excellent and equal from both eyes.

How many you can have depends on the thickness of the cornea.

cheerio
    Howard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

megadodge wrote:
    I don't know where you got this statistic from as it's certainly not true in my case and I'm not the exception as I know others in the same boat !

I got my left eye done Nov 95 and my right March 96 and they're as good now as they were then.

Best money I ever spent and I would suggest that eye specialists that don't recommend it based on fear be ignored as from a financial point of view what else would they say ?

Just goin on what I was told and what happened a couple of guys I work with who had it done 10-15 years ago!.....

shakaman wrote:
    Just goin on what I was told and what happened a couple of guys I work with who had it done 10-15 years ago!.....
    Lotta advancements in laser eye every year. Still, I know someone who had it ten years ago and she's not had her eyes fall out yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lakeshore22

My wife is 50 and thinking of getting laser to correct her distance vision.She had 2 consultations and is suitable. She wears glasses for driving and wears vari focals for work. She has been told that her close vision will deteriorate and this worries her. She is also concerned about putting on glasses (ie readers) .Could this he hard to get used to .Anyone in the same boat as her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

My zombie thread raises from the dead. I never got laser eye surgery if anyone cares :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

had it done in 2004 and its the best thing i ever had done, had very bad sight before i got it done but my eyes are still perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

Had it done also in 2004. Best thing I ever did. If they can, anyone thinking about it go for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lakeshore22

Would it be possible for one of you Guys to start a new tread and copy and Paste the question above ,I would have to wait until I have 25 Posts before I can do this. Or would you think I may get an Answer Here to my Specific Question.....Thanks:)