Alcohol prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Fibbers €3 Thursday night FTW! (and Wednesday & Friday for that matter!)
    Not everyone's sorta place tho! But there are loads of places around the city that do cheap drink nights/promotions on certain drinks which are the ones i'd go for usually!
    Back home in Wexford it's not too bad, €3.50 for pints of stout/ale and about €3.80 for the rest. Longnecks about €4.00 in most places. When ya go to the nightclubs however, it's almost like bein back in Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

So 11 alcoholic drinks consumed over what period of time? Not critising you or anything, just curious.

6 hours usually. 8pm-2am or there abouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭tamburlaine

Sangre wrote:
    Citibar = 2e drinks.

Ow my head :/

Thanks for that info.

Tiesto wrote:
    its an absolute disgrace I must say..
    Im going out less now..I simply cant afford it..
    When I compare what i was paying in Germany. I would have a great night out in Germany for 40 euro.. Here I need about 100..

Customer : Can I have a pint of heineken please.
    Barman : No problem, if you just pull your pants down, bend over and take my rod in ur ass, ill have it for you in a jiffey

RAPE!!!!

Hahahaha..your role play is quite hilarious.

jester77 wrote:
    Didn't realise the prices had gone that crazy since I left :eek:
    Glad I live here, €3 for half litre of quality beer in my local and also €3 for a half litre bottle of Budvar. I remember paying around €5-€6 at home for that same bottle a few years back!

Rub it in why don't you

Degsy wrote:
    Its not just the high prices that piss me off,its the generally unpleasant service that accompanies it.Standing for ages at the bar being ignored while a smart-arse barman serves some bird ahead of you.No please,thank you or kiss my arse,and teh change usually dumped into a puddle of slops on the bar rather than put into your hand.The biggest stinker of them all is this trick of banging teh prices up at 11 o'clock or whatever time it is,knowing you've probably had a few and the chances are you're in a round with somebody and you arent going to say "**** this i'm not paying that".THEN after you've been raped all night you wanto go to the toilet and there's a moocher standing there expecting you to pay him for handing you a bit of bog roll!

Good points. Very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭iremex

So Glad wrote:
    Hold on...........7 euro, for a BOTTLE of Miller.
    The cocoon bar is the spawn of satan.

its a terrible spot to go for a beer. in my defence i was pretty drunk and vaguely remember buying 2 double vodka and redbull. can anyone clarify how much i wasted on that last round????
    Kenny 5 wrote:
    If you're frequenting the likes of cocoon bar then frankly you need to get yourself checked out!!!

it wasnt too far to stumble and the women in the queue looked pretty pretty

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Fosters is allways worth a punt if you see a pub selling it.Pay no more than 3.50 a pint (three in Fibbers!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You're looking at around €4.50 for a spirit and €2.50 for the mixer. If you can stretch the mixer over two drinks, then you can save yourself quite a bit of cash.

You should still be able to get a pint of Guiness for under a fiver, but you won't have much change left if you buy a pint of anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

Caliden wrote:
    cab - 15e
    food - 5e
    club entry - 10e

5 pints - 25-30e
    3 double vodkas + red bull (4.50e per vodka + 4e for red bull)

100e

Thats if you are "billy no mates" you can add on another 100e if your with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

depends how well you stick to buying rounds. Sure you could spend a **** load on one round but you shouldnt have to fork out any more cash until everyone else gets a round in.

That is unless you like buying your awesome friends drink for them all night.

Crucifix wrote:
    It would be interesting to see how much booze costs the government weighed against how much it earns them actually.
    I would suggest people seek out the cheaper places as much as possible. They can only charge what people are willing to pay.

Publicans are Fianna Failer's so things aint gonna change, The country maybe run by Builders/Developers, but the Publicans are also getting their share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Plissken1 wrote:
    Thats if you are "billy no mates" you can add on another 100e if your with friends.
    Or not, unless you're daft enough to get pulled into buying rounds.

Sure its Irish tradition to buy rounds, If you dont, its also Irish tradition to challange you to a fight at the bar. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Plissken1 wrote:
    Sure its Irish tradition to buy rounds, If you dont, its also Irish tradition to challange you to a fight at the bar. :D
    Americans like that tradition. I've seen it happen - the Irish all feel reluctant to get something expensive, and go with a fosters or something when it's somebody elses turn. Then the yanks go and order a double vodka and coke...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

6 cans of baveria = 7 euro
    bottle of buckfast =8 euro
    bus into town = 1.90 euro
    free club enterance
    food =7 euro
    nitelink = 4 euro

30 euro and you'll have no want for a drink in the club, maybe a naggin in with you and drink it straight

yes college bum i be

Judt wrote:
    Americans like that tradition. I've seen it happen - the Irish all feel reluctant to get something expensive, and go with a fosters or something when it's somebody elses turn. Then the yanks go and order a double vodka and coke...

I know a guy from Limerick who does that, only he orders triple Sothern and lemonade, I mean thats just taking the piss, even Mother Theresa would deck you for that !. She would stomp you good !.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Plissken1 wrote:
    The country maybe run by Builders/Developers, but the Publicans are also getting their share.

IMO publicans have been losing customers over the last few years, the smoking ban and the prices skyrocketing being the 2 main contributors! Buying a pub these days is a bad investment unless you're goin to be servin food.

Caco wrote:
    IMO publicans have been losing customers over the last few years, the smoking ban and the prices skyrocketing being the 2 main contributors! Buying a pub these days is a bad investment unless you're goin to be servin food.

There are too many pubs in the country anyway, Although I had a chance to buy one in 1994 and I am still kicking myself that I didnt. Its time for them to diversify to survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Tiesto wrote:
    its an absolute disgrace I must say..
    Im going out less now..I simply cant afford it..
    When I compare what i was paying in Germany. I would have a great night out in Germany for 40 euro.. Here I need about 100..

Customer : Can I have a pint of heineken please.
    Barman : No problem, if you just pull your pants down, bend over and take my rod in ur ass, ill have it for you in a jiffey

RAPE!!!!

Stop going to the George then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Plissken1 wrote:
    I know a guy from Limerick who does that, only he orders triple Sothern and lemonade, I mean thats just taking the piss, even Mother Theresa would deck you for that !. She would stomp you good !.
    Why do people put up with cráp like that? If I was getting a round and someone asked for that I'd tell them to fúck off and have a pint like everyone else. Or else they could give me the tenner difference between that and the pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

KamiKazi wrote:
    do you have any idea how hard it is for any other beer to take off?

true story that!! bars wouldnt make enough off having an a new beer on tap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭partholon

Plissken1 wrote:
    There are too many pubs in the country anyway, Although I had a chance to buy one in 1994 and I am still kicking myself that I didnt. Its time for them to diversify to survive.

my grandad was in that position way back when but passed because three of his brothers died from the drink. drove my uncle mental because of what a good deal it was. doyles on fleet street (?) , its across from pearse street gardai station anyway at college green. cant help thinking it wouldve been great now to have a local like that for some free drink :D

personally i dont think theres too many pubs in the country, theyre just all in the wrong fecking place. why does a place like beaufort have 3 pubs in it and tallaght has fecking none ?( ok it has pubs but feck all for the population of the area). for gods sake some places that arent even on the map have a higher pub to resident ratio !

still the publicans made their own bed ,now its time to sleep in it. i remember you couldnt get a seat in a pub in the 90's and that was a recession. now theyre like fecking morgues and it their own fault. 5 euro a pint! FFS ! i balked the first time i got charged that in a club, theres no way i'd pay that in a pub. in fact the price of drink in town is the principle reason i dont socialise there anymore. my local charges 4.25 for a coors and 4 for a guiness. still expensive but not the total rip off of town. youve got some excuse if your a new conscern but most pubs were bought and paid for years ago and blew the trade through pure greed.

by the way, anyone remember the genius in the dail that banned happy hours? i know it was one of the female TDs and i think she represents the blackrock/foxrock area. but thats about all. she ****ed things up for all of us because of a bunch of snobs getting up on their high horse over one pub doing a "pay 15 in and drink as much as you like" policy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Yes because everyone unhappy with the country should leave. NOW!
    We don't need another famine, and saying that, we don't need an alcohol drought.... Lets just cover this thread up so no1 sees it!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Jocksy

e100 on a night? madness I say. Do you really get e100s worth of enjoyment by being pissed up in a club. My student nights to Dublin used to only cost about e10.

Drive in,
    Two cans beer,
    free in to club (midweek madness)
    1 pill
    drive home

Beat that for sheer value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

i'll only ever take 50e with me, i get around the spending laods on drinks by drinking the bacardi practically straight, that way i dnt need as many of them!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭nikolaitr

I hate the rip off price of pubs in Ireland, and Dublin Especially but I have to give credit to The Porterhouse chain.

Their House beer is 4 Euro.....or you can go for the 7% Brainblasta for just under 5 Euro. To top it off their food is savage, and decently priced. Its a nice pace to....I think They have a pub in Cork too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

by reading all those responses, it seems that the only people who have a cheap night out are those that only have 1 or 2, or those that drink a large quantity of alcohol in a short period of time, so they wont be able to drink anymore basically.. Maybe thats the problem.

I could do that and have a cheaper night but I would simply get too drunk too quick.. I dont like that..
    I would usually drink around 8 pints and a couple of shots over the whole night... From 10-3 I dont think thats so bad... And im always in good shape going home.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Off Licenses ftw!:)

(Arent much better though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Skanky lipstick-2e from 2 euro shop
    Scandalously short miniskirt-5e from second hand shop
    Stilettos from barrats-15e
    Sucker to buy drink all night in expect of a shag-free
    Taxi free also if drink is laced with rohypnol