Just got my ESB bill and Jaysus!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

netwhizkid wrote:
    These bills are pretty bad, these prices are at post hurricane Katrina Oil prices yet Oil is down around the $55 to $60 a mark this season. My personal Electricity was €150 with about €20 owing to the ESB from the previously underestimating my bill until they read it. Impending Privatisation is to blame.

Political bullsh1t aside, you do have of the option of ringing or emailing them (bot ESB and Bord Gais) with the correct reading rather than the estimated reading. This will ensure that you paying only for what you used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,931 ✭✭✭Alkers

Saruman wrote:
    The other is an oil filled heater. 1000kw.
    :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭DaSilva

Guys guys guys, how is your electricity and heating costing so much? Is your house that badly insulated?

Go do a bit of DIY, put in some some draft stoppers, get better duvets and watch the electricity use.

I live with two people from a hot country who are constantly complaining about the cold. Every weekend when I come back to the house, the heating is on constant-on, it's such a waste of money, and energy. I use central heating to stop my house being cold, not to make it hot.

I find whenever I visit other peoples houses, it's hotter in the winter in their house than it is in the summer.
    Hobbes wrote:
    Government have a lot to answer for tbh. Just pure gouging.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    ... some waffle with political agenda thrown in ...

Seriously guys, the hidden agenda isn't very hidden. I'm sick of partisan politics. Fact is, none of the candidates are capable politicians. It's a cliché but they all lie to get votes. I vote for party's based on their previous record, of what they promised and what they actually done, and if I agree with what they have done. This means, I don't vote for anybody, because they are all shít. Democratic politics was never meant to be the career choice it is, it's all a business now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

netwhizkid wrote:
    Finally I would like to remind everyone of ye that there will be a General Election between April and June of this Year and please don't forget these bills when Fianna Fail & the Progressive Democrats comes a knocking.

I know I'll have my Rothweilers primed and ready.:) They have some f**king cheek calling to our doors looking for votes while they squander billions.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

netwhizkid wrote:
    Finally I would like to remind everyone of ye that there will be a General Election between April and June of this Year and please don't forget these bills when Fianna Fail & the Progressive Democrats comes a knocking.

With you batting for the opposition, Bertie can sleep soundly in his leafy Drumcondra residence. :rolleyes:

Another poster alluded to it there, but utility bills aside (and the alternating estimated readings are a major negative factor in this kind of situation with ESB Customer Supply-in other words, your friendly meter reader no longer visits every two months, but every four), my biggest beef with this government is the unbelievable waste of public revenue that we have witnessed over the last few years.

I have yet to see what the boom has brought us in real terms aside from a superficial increase in the standard of living (not forgetting a consequent rise in the cost of same).

We still have pot-holed roads, an inadequate health service, and disenfranchised voters who will go out and vote for the double f'ers, just like their dads.

Anyway, how did we get from there to here? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

DaSilva wrote:
    Guys guys guys, how is your electricity and heating costing so much? Is your house that badly insulated?

Go do a bit of DIY, put in some some draft stoppers, get better duvets and watch the electricity use.
    Or just stop being such a pussy.
    I have no central heating.
    The only time i use heating is when I have a shower.
    People have been spoiled by central heating and it has turned us into a nation of whining bitches (except me, because I'm a hard bastard).
    The slightest chill and everyone is complaining about how cold it is and then they turn the heating on full blast.
    I've worked in houses durin the summer and some people still have the heating on if there is as much as a cloud in the sky.
    you are all screwed when the gas and oil reserves run out.
    I'm sitting here in a pair of boxers as I type this. I'm a little chilly, but not uncomfortable. Most of the rest of you are wimps.
    I wish it was like this all year round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

DaSilva wrote:

You sound like this guy!:)

>"OK! OK! Now, here's Timmy the plumbing contractor. Timmy, what are you up to?"

>"Well Duncan, I'm about to connect this superinsulatedimmersionboiler up, and then the customer is going to be guaranteed hot water 24/7"

>"OK! Super!"

Oh yes, riveting TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

His hair AMAZES me.
    It's so fluffy.

He has a hot wife.

At least, she *was* hot.

/me googles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Saruman wrote:
    it would seem i used almost twice as much electricity in this period than any other period.
    I can only assume it was to do with Christmas. Its odd, with the exception of some indoor tree lights that were only on for a few hours each night, and not even every night.... i cant think of what else could have used so much more than usual.

But i checked the meter and it seems to add up... damnit!!

You'll probably find your previous bill was estimated and that they came out and read the meter this time and charged you the difference that should have gone on your last bill. Happened to us once to the tune of over £100...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

>"OK! OK! Now, here's Timmy the plumbing contractor. Timmy, what are you up to?"

>"Well Duncan, I'm about to connect this superinsulatedimmersionboiler up, and then the customer is going to be guaranteed hot water 24/7"

>"OK! Super!"

Oh yes, riveting TV.

Surely you mean:

>"Well Duncan, I'm just about to finish off this botched job using sub standard materials and when the customer starts using it on a regular basis it will blow up in his face and I won't be contactable."

>OK! Super!":)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's strange that every year about this time, the ESB bills get later and later. I think that their accounts department cannot believe that bills are correct because they're so f****** huge and have to check the calculations about 20 times before they eventually put them in the post.
    I followed their helpful advice, replacing all of the lightbulbs with energy efficient ones and threatening death to anyone in the house who so much as looks at an on/off switch, but we still get crucified when the bill craps it's way through the letterbox. We're all getting stitched up! Where's the competition that the rest of the EU is getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Do NOT make fun of The Duncan.

P.S. Halogen heaters the lowest for electricity consumption. But ya gotta insulate, or its heating up your street too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,929 ✭✭✭✭Victor

basquille wrote:
    Funny you brought that up Faith. Which is more expensive? Fan heaters or oil heaters? I've always been told oil but am unsure.
    If they are both powered by electricity..... then they both use the same amount of electricity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭pred racer

julep wrote:
    People have been spoiled by central heating and it has turned us into a nation of whining bitches (except me, because I'm a hard bastard).
    The slightest chill and everyone is complaining about how cold it is and then they turn the heating on full blast.
    I've worked in houses durin the summer and some people still have the heating on if there is as much as a cloud in the sky.
    I'm sitting here in a pair of boxers as I type this. I'm a little chilly, but not uncomfortable. Most of the rest of you are wimps.
    ^^
    like he said

oh yeah, and while im at it, I presume that people who are voicing their political opinions, cant remember the last time the "opposition" were in government? well I can and it was f'kin awful

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Victor wrote:
    If they are both powered by electricity..... then they both use the same amount of electricity.
    Depends on how it heats up the room which affects the number of times the thermostat turns on/off.

Actually a hair drier might be the cheapest if you wear a silky tracksuit and stick it up a leg.

And lets not forget that the more people in a room/bed the warmer it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Saruman wrote:
    Anyone else get theirs yet and have a heart attack?
    I mean i knew it was going up but this seems crazy.
    My last bill was €115, before that €89 and €88 the month before.
    This bi-monthly period... was €179 :eek: I mean come on!!

Didn't the price of ESB go up like 12% or summet in Jan?

Our last bill, due Jan 4th, was €220 I do believe, between 6 students. Hence, it's still unpaid. fs

6 laptops, a wee *nix server and a tumble dryer over 2 months? Bah.

Dreading the next bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

julep wrote:

See, with a young baby in winter you don't get away with that. I don't really feel that cold but you really don't want to be putting a baby down to sleep in a cold room. Extra blankets might be grand for us but it's not that simple when they are very young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

My bill for the last two months was just under €80. However, I have been very strict with myself for the last two months..

- Turning lights off when I leave the room, no matter how long I leave for.
    - unplugging everything when I go to bed
    - using the heating only when I need it (which in fairness was a lot)
    - availing of late night saving when possible (washing machine, heating water etc)

I also take a reading myself every month so there's none of this repayment crap you have to put up with when ESB 'estimate' your bills..

I thought my bill would be at least twice what it was. I was pleasantly surprised..
    It was because my bills were so high previously, that I became so anal with the electricity usage.

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

ive never understood why people care so much about an esb bill i mean ye bitch and moan about a phone bill its because either you or a family member/house mate ****ed up and spent to long on the phone.

But don't moan about heating and ESB costs i mean my last house had 3 pcs, 2 tvs, and 4 different meals being cooked on a electric cooker every day, didn't complain about the bill price because i use a PC and i also use a cooker. which would you rather do pay a high price or have no electricity?

Anyway if you wait a while i think there are some competitors coming in to offer cheaper prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,487 ✭✭✭✭event

nesf wrote:
    See, with a young baby in winter you don't get away with that. I don't really feel that cold but you really don't want to be putting a baby down to sleep in a cold room. Extra blankets might be grand for us but it's not that simple when they are very young.

meh

never harmed kids in the past and when i was growing up

when you were a kid growing up, did yiz have central heating?

Saruman wrote:
    Anyone else get theirs yet and have a heart attack?
    I mean i knew it was going up but this seems crazy.
    My last bill was €115, before that €89 and €88 the month before.
    This bi-monthly period... was €179 :eek: I mean come on!!
    lol, 179 would be nice. Ours was often a few hundred. Randomly. When we first moved in a few years ago it was quite low. Then we stopped using a few of our heaters and so on and our bills went up dramatically. We've no idea why.
    We don't use central heating or anything, mostly it's fires for us, so the kitchen is freezing. We unplug almost everything when we go out for the day.

ve never understood why people care so much about an esb bill i mean ye bitch and moan about a phone bill its because either you or a family member/house mate ****ed up and spent to long on the phone.
    No, in our case it was because eircom were charging us premium rate daytime calls when we weren't in the house from 7am-8pm and they wouldn't admit to making a mistake...

event wrote:
    never harmed kids in the past and when i was growing up

Really? Do you actually believe that?

nesf wrote:
    Really? Do you actually believe that?

yes

i dont believe i, nor my brother, nor my cousins, nor my girlfriend, nor her family, nor a lot of my friends were harmed in our childhood by not having central heating

what harm can it do then?

event wrote:
    yes

i dont believe i, nor my brother, nor my cousins, nor my girlfriend, nor her family, nor a lot of my friends were harmed in our childhood by not having central heating

what harm can it do then?

Ok, to start with I'm thinking of babies and not necessarily children. I'm not saying that central heating is necessary, but that having babies sleeping in a cold room is not something that you want.

A baby sleeping in a cold room is more likely to get sick, this is more serious than say a child getting sick, especially with very young babies. The problem is that if you try to compensate by adding blankets to the cot then it's you run two risks, 1) you overheat the baby by adding too many blankets, this rises the odds of SIDS (cot death) and 2) adding blankets increases the suffocation risk with young babies if the blankets manage to come loose during the night.

It's not that putting a baby into a cold room will cause lasting harm to that baby, it's that it increases the risk of bad things happening. It's pointless to point to yourself, me or whoever and say "it did no harm to us/them", that's just generalising from the specific to the general which isn't a valid argument. Babies can't regulate their body temperature, there are no like older children who can deal much easier with cold rooms or being overly hot.

nesf wrote:
    Ok, to start with I'm thinking of babies and not necessarily children. I'm not saying that central heating is necessary, but that having babies sleeping in a cold room is not something that you want.

A baby sleeping in a cold room is more likely to get sick, this is more serious than say a child getting sick, especially with very young babies. The problem is that if you try to compensate by adding blankets to the cot then it's you run two risks, 1) you overheat the baby by adding too many blankets, this rises the odds of SIDS (cot death) and 2) adding blankets increases the suffocation risk with young babies if the blankets manage to come loose during the night.

It's not that putting a baby into a cold room will cause lasting harm to that baby, it's that it increases the risk of bad things happening. It's pointless to point to yourself, me or whoever and say "it did no harm to us/them", that's just generalising from the specific to the general which isn't a valid argument. Babies can't regulate their body temperature, there are no like older children who can deal much easier with cold rooms or being overly hot.

perhaps

but the point that you can overheat the baby by too many blankets, sure ye can over heat them by having the heating on!

im sorry, but it just seems that these days kids are protected far too much (i understand babys have to be well looked after but i in general was taking about toddlers and above, not new borns or under 1 year olds)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

If you have a ridiculously high bill it's because you are using ridiculous amounts of energy. Simple really.

I wonder what the reaction from people who are complaining about high energy bill will be? I'd like to think that the response would be a positive one: namely a reduction in the consumption of energy, rather then moaning about it ever time a bill come along.

Lets face it, in the long run energy isn't going to get cheaper. It would then seem prudent to manage your consumption a little better.

http://www.powerofone.ie/ - you've all seen the ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,929 ✭✭✭✭Victor

bluewolf wrote:
    ve never understood why people care so much about an esb bill i mean ye bitch and moan about a phone bill its because either you or a family member/house mate ****ed up and spent to long on the phone.
    No, in our case it was because eircom were charging us premium rate daytime calls when we weren't in the house from 7am-8pm and they wouldn't admit to making a mistake...
    I think one of your housemates was having the occassional day off.

event wrote:
    but the point that you can overheat the baby by too many blankets, sure ye can over heat them by having the heating on!

It's quite difficult actually. At that temperature you would feel too hot, it's not so simple when you are using blankets where you have to guess. The thing is that you only need the room 'comfortable', it doesn't necessarily have to be warm.
    event wrote:
    im sorry, but it just seems that these days kids are protected far too much (i understand babys have to be well looked after but i in general was taking about toddlers and above, not new borns or under 1 year olds)

I agree with you, that's why I said a young baby when responding to julep originally...