Has women independence created an imbalance in relationships?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

vorbis wrote:
    This is not meant as a sexist post. Heck it may only apply to America. (where I currently live) In pre equality times, my guess is that the dating scenario existed like this, the woman gave sex and the guy gave security. Broad generalisation I know.

Nowadays, most girls have the security part through a job. This seems to allow girls to do whatever they want in terms of guys. A reasonably attractive girl (we're not even talking hot here) is sorted in todays society. I have no issue with promiscious girls (its been good to me:D) :D I have issue with the fact that I put forward my best foot on dates and they put forward whatever foot they like.

Well, a reasonably attractive guy is sorted too, for he has the security of a job and independence too. If you don't like the way some women don't put their best foot forward, then do not continue dating them.

I've had girls tell me about drug habits on first dates. They've talked about eating disorders, family breakups, depression :eek: . All topics that if a guy talked about would lead to them being described as a weirdo. In some cases, I might stay around if I think I'm going to get some action (shallowness on my part I admit). However, it bugs me that a girl can display appalling behaviour and still get some guy fawning over her.

Well, all that is a matter of opinion. Why fawn over her if you don't like what she talks about? You know, some girls fawn over some guys that display such behaviour, too. Its all a matter of taste.

I know this girl who is currently about 40 pounds overweight. She was engaged when she was a further 70 pounds overweight! Now she's a nice girl but at 110 pounds overweight I struggle to see how her ex fiancee saw her attractive. I fully accept though that I could be displaying bitterness in this post at not scoring tonight.

A sizeable part of society is turning out to be over-weight and in some cases obese. Happens to both guys and girls. Some fellow somewhere probably has a similiar story of beng engaged when 70 pounds overweight.

I don't know. Do you mean OP that males have to try harder to get a beautiful girl now even if they have money, a good job and status/background?

Maybe, maybe not. All you can be is yoursself and if people (men or women) don't like that, then move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I think all new homes should have enough space and built in plumbing etc for a dishwasher.
    Then we wouldn't have any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lollers at this thread
    However, it bugs me that a girl can display appalling behaviour and still get some guy fawning over her.
    I think this is the central theme in the OP, bitterness that when women can fend for themselves they are no longer dependant on a man.

Rest assured OP, there are still lots of insecure women out there who want nothing more than to fall into traditional roles. Just less of them.

Go on you breadwinner you ;)

Imbalance in relationships or bringing them into balance in accordance with social change? Like it or not, society is changing, as are roles between men and women. Adapt and go with the flow, or be an unhappy camper and complain on these boards.

Viva la independence! No longer does a woman with an education and work experience have to suffer a dysfunctional relationship just because she did not have a choice.

The new economics has been one of the driving forces of this change. Dual working couples have been increasing as a percentage of the workforce, where both he and she now have to pull in quite a bit of income to support the mortgage, family, and try to get ahead in this crazy, rapidly changing world.

Gone are the days when both he and she worked their outside the home jobs, then he comes home to sit with a cold one before the telly watching sports, while she now takes up her second job of doing all the domestic work of keeping a home functioning. That's out of balance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

The career-embracing bra-burner in most women gets harshly deflated when you go to the doctor for a repeat prescription for your asthma inhaler, or something equally incongruous, at the age of 29 and the doctor says "Have you thought about having children yet?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

The career-embracing bra-burner in most women gets harshly deflated when you go to the doctor for a repeat prescription for your asthma inhaler, or something equally incongruous, at the age of 29 and the doctor says "Have you thought about having children yet?"

Are you discriminating against asthmatics now?:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Apart from recent times and even then mostly in the west, most women after the age of puberty were either pregnant or lactating. And just look at what's happened due to the unnatural hormone balance since.

We should go back to the old days, when women did most the food gathering, child minding and working in the fields and we just arsed around having a good time.
    "off hunting with the lads, see ya next week "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Calina wrote:
    As for dates being excessively honest on their first dates, I had one guy explain to me how and why he was suicidal all the time. It was more than just a little surreal given that we'd just come from the cinema where we'd been watching some romantic comedy or other.

I think the point he was making is that if women do it, men have to put up with it (be a good listener, etc.) whereas when guys do it the women is immediately put off. There's plenty of girls who just don't want or need a long-term partner, and its generally harder to impress women than men, who'll put up with a lot more as long if she's hot. But then again, that's the fault of men's shallowness rather than anything else. The women knows damn well the guy is probably only interested in her looks so she can be herself or whatever way she wants, whereas the guy has to try harder to impress her by putting the best side of himself forward.
    However, why can women get away with loudly discussing the fitness / package / etc. of the men around them in the pub / club, on the beach, whatever, but if the guys are overheard commenting on the women, they're a bunch of pervs?

Let's face it, it's perfectly natural for women and men to appreciate a good looking person of the opposite gender (or the same gender, if that happens to be your thing).

Get over it, and stop making us into the bad guys!
    This isn't my experience at all. Most girls will just roll their eyes and laugh when guys do this. Only the real stuck up ones would call them a perv, and they wouldn't be the girls who comment on the fitness/package of guys anyway. So there is little hypocrisy among individual women, in my experience.
    What's your point? I'm sure there is a fairly valid medical reason for asking this question. Do you get offended if a doctor asks you do you do drugs or drink heavily as well?

As for the OP's question, the roles have changed, but the instincts that guide attraction on a subconscious level are the same. Behave as the Alpha Male that would have provided security and all the rest in the past, throw in a few household chores and women will still be subconsciously attracted as if it was the 1800's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

biko wrote:
    I think this is the central theme in the OP, bitterness that when women can fend for themselves they are no longer dependant on a man.

except when a divorce comes along. good luck to the man walking away with half of her stuff... or getting equal custody of the kids.

just thought i'd throw a spanner in the works :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

What's your point? I'm sure there is a fairly valid medical reason for asking this question. Do you get offended if a doctor asks you do you do drugs or drink heavily as well?

I think, and I could have misread her here, that her point was that in their 20s women can hold a mindset of being essentially identical to men when it comes to career mindset, completely focused and dedicated to it, but then around the 30 mark the biological clock starts ticking and the reality of having children while juggling a career hits home.*

*not that a woman should have children or anything but a lot of them do and in all honesty you cannot be solely dedicated to both a career and to having a family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

nesf wrote:
    *not that a woman should have children or anything but a lot of them do and in all honesty you cannot be solely dedicated to both a career and to having a family.

She can if the other co parent becomes the primary care giver and stays at home or with reduced hours to run the household.
    Any woman could take on any career if they had a 'wife' in the traditional stay at home and be the logistical support sense.

Thaedydal wrote:
    She can if the other co parent becomes the primary care giver and stays at home or with reduced hours to run the household.
    Any woman could take on any career if they had a 'wife' in the traditional stay at home and be the logistical support sense.

It's not really that straightforward. Being pregnant and having to take maternity leave can be crippling in some careers/professions, especially where she'd be self-employed and literally there's no one to cover the day when she goes into labour. It's not so much that she couldn't tackle said career before or after having a child but during the pregnancy that causes the issue. Some jobs lend themselves to maternity leave a lot better than others tbh.

nesf wrote:
    It's not so much that she couldn't tackle said career before or after having a child but during the pregnancy that causes the issue. Some jobs lend themselves to maternity leave a lot better than others tbh.
    "He" never gets sick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

I think a lot of the men vs women debate is hi-jacked by the hurt/anger of spurned suitors who are going through the essential "I hate all men/women/animals" phase post-relationship. if you actually step back and think about it both sides do a lot of stupid things which are driven by selfish,immature, and frankly stupid impulses.

Example, as a guy I often encounter sexism from females in that half the catalogue of social airs and graces are female-exclusive. As many people have said women can oogle guys as much as they want and it's fine, if men do the same thing we're perverts. Similarly if a guy has many sexual partners he's some kind of legend (:D) if a woman does the same she's often viewed as a slapper.

Thing is,
    1) In many cases there is/was a reasonable historical/biological basis for the roots of what has evolved into the gender imbalances we see nowadays. Taking the obvious issue of gender roles in contemporary society, it made more sense centuries ago for women to be the primary caregivers while men were the primary breadwinners.

Even today if you're part of a family unit intending to have children the same logic applies to an extent. Even with the best support, compromise, and professional flexibility if a couple are having a child the woman is going to be "off the books" for the best part of a year. That's not sexism, that's just how reproduction works for us. In many cases a woman staying at home to mind the kids is a choice she is happy to make, not an obligation imposed by her partner. In that sense there's nothing wrong with a situation where a man is the primary breadwinner while a woman is the primary caregiver. The problem arises where idiots (male and female) bring those roles, or standards into other situations and use them out of context to demean their opposite numbers.

Simple examples are women whining about having to endure child birth and having children in general, attempting to make off like they're heroes for this. To which I have to say "no-one's forcing you to have kids, and if you're stupid enough to have children for any reason other than wanting them then youre not a hero you're a muppet". Similarly when you have guy playing the whole "woman's place is in the home" card, same problem, roles taken out of context with the free will element removed, and used to demean the opposite gender.

2) We all crave stability. We want it in every signel avenue of life, and to that end we embrace idiotic paradigms for every single social interaction. Hence retarded notions like, the man should always make the first move, I have to wait 3 days before calling, and all of this garbage. Women, in my experience, are schooled to think all men want is to get into their pants, and with that in mind their whole social interaction mechanism is geared toward assessing every single thing guys do in a wasted effort to establish some kind of "not a wanker" guarantee. There's a certain amount of acceptable reason to that. Why should anyone put thmselves out there to be disabused by someone else. Problems arise because women do exactly the same thing to men in the process. the sheer amount of disrespect and ignorance doled out by a great many women is mindnumbinly unreal, and it seems they either don't realise what they're doing, or just don't care.

Similarly, men want sex. there's no denying that. Sure guys wil come on here and say "oh I'd prefer a solid relationship over sex blahblahblah" and that's fine. But most guys will happily choose sex over committment. And that's fine, it's perfectly normal, it's how we're wired. We don't need stability/security the way women do. Our biological imperative is to sow oats with abandon. Which obviously creates huge friction because it grates against women's basic need for the kind of security we shun.

Anyway I'm rambling on, and I think I'm wandering off on tangents. I guess my overall point is that any debate about gender imbalances comes down to the stereotypical "us vs them" debate between the genders. And the source of the subsequent imbalances is simply two sets of polarised goals coupled with msot peoples basic immaturity/insecurity.

In fairness, if we were all the informed open-minded people we wish we were then professional status wouldn't factor into social encounters the way it does.

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

someone said earlier in this thread that men need women more than women need men...i dont believe this is the case any longer. modern women cannot cook, clean or knit. they cannot bake you a pie and they no longer give us something warm to cling to, when nights are cold and lonely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

What a crock of balls. Only the faceman talks sense. Oh, and that project mayhem chap :D

"He" never gets sick?

Eh, of course he does, but so does she. My point is that it's not as easy and straightforward in every profession rather than women can't do them or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Out of curiosity (someone mentioned it earlier) I wonder what the general reaction from both sexes to a house husband (or whatever the term is) would be.

My guess: many males would think he's been emasculated (read: pussy whipped) and many women would feel threatened or treat him with suspicion.

There never will be equality. Just ask this scientition...

Out of curiosity (someone mentioned it earlier) I wonder what the general reaction from both sexes to a house husband (or whatever the term is) would be.

My guess: many males would think he's been emasculated (read: pussy whipped) and many women would feel threatened or treat him with suspicion.

It looks like I'll be the house husband at some point. It makes sense really, I work from home and simu is better qualified than me anyways so her long term prospects are better than mine until I get more qualifications. A lot of men wouldn't be so open to it though, plus you have to look at it sensibly, if his career prospects are better than hers then it makes little sense (financially anyways) for him to stay at home.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ferdi wrote:
    modern women cannot cook,
    From Thaedydal
    http://www.anenglishmanscastle.com/images/Wonderbra%2520ad.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

I'd be curious as to what you think the overriding reaction from women will be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

ferdi wrote:
    they no longer give us something warm to cling to, when nights are cold and lonely.

crap! when did we become reptiles???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Seraphina wrote:
    crap! when did we become reptiles???

I think it happened when Mary Robinson became president of Ireland.:confused:
    She invited them in from outside.

Reptiles are not cuddly.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Who gives a ****?

Well, I don't suppose I'd mind at all, assuming I ever marry anyway.
    Oh and yes I'm female

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

House husbands bring shame to a family name. Although admittedly it is becoming more common it is quite shamful for a man to squash his talents to wear a pinny and mind baby. Remember women are genetically designed to know how to mind children. There is nothing for a man to gain in doing it. Its not men will evolve into the child bearing gender.

still if it works for some people that so be it. BUt if you marry your gf/fiancee, the man should really take on her surname.

faceman wrote:
    House husbands bring shame to a family name. Although admittedly it is becoming more common it is quite shamful for a man to squash his talents to wear a pinny and mind baby. Remember women are genetically designed to know how to mind children. There is nothing for a man to gain in doing it. Its not men will evolve into the child bearing gender.

still if it works for some people that so be it. BUt if you marry your gf/fiancee, the man should really take on her surname.
    What's wrong with a man taking a woman's surname?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

bluewolf wrote:
    What's wrong with a man taking a woman's surname?

the man figure is the provider, the godfather figure, the leader. therefore it is traditionally the man who commands respect. back in the clan days, a man's surname would tell alot about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

ferdi wrote:
    modern women cannot cook, clean or knit. they cannot bake you a pie.....

Well that's true in my case
    ...and they no longer give us something warm to cling to, when nights are cold and lonely

But this isn't.

I can't cook, at all, I am just really bad at it. But my Boyfriend, he is a great cook.

I can clean, and like to keep a tidy house.... my BF would quite happily live in his own filth.

I can act quickly in a crisis, and am quite good and working out strategic plans for the future... my BF takes longer to come to a decision and tends to live for the here and now.

I am hot tempered, my BF is patient and laid back.

I fly into a rage quite quickly, vent, and put it behind me.... my BF tends to stay quiet and stew about things.

I have no fear of confrontation, my BF can't stand it.

My BF is incredibly open about his feelings... Me... not so much.

I don't meet all the criteria of a traditional homemaker... but that said, I don't think my BF meets all the criteria of the traditional bread winner.

What we are is a team, that works really well together... what I lack, he makes up for, and vice versa.

I don't think the traditional (house wife and bread winning hubbie) couple really works anymore.

If I were to give up work and become a traditional housewife we couldn't afford to live the lifestyle that we have become accustomed to, and quite enjoy.

What we have, works for us, and surely thats the most important thing.

Screw stereotyping... people should just do whats right for them and not fear the judgement of strangers.