More beggars than usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

But then recently I've been thinking.. What if I'm walking over say, Ha'penny Bridge, where there are often two homeless begging. You give to one, and the other one sees this. You've no money left so you don't give to the other. How the hell does the second homeless person feel now?

Also, where do you draw the line. Why give to one and not the other..

I have an easy solution to that. I give to neither :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm rarely in Dublin, so I don't encounter this too much.
    on my way to the last boards beers i was at, I got out of the cab and was immediately asked for money by some guy. He said it was for cans, so I rewarded his honesty with 2 or 3 quid in change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Pansy Potter

I've noticed in Dublin that there's a huge increase in the number of Eastern European beggars. They are far more aggressive and perseverant than the ones that we used to have. They even seem to have run our own indiginous homegrown beggars out of town. A bit like the gray squirrel and the red squirrel. Nearly every street seems to have Eastern European busking beggars many of whom are quite elderly. When you pass them by you are impressed by their musical ability, but if you have the misfortune to work in a place where they perform outside you very quickly realise that they only know one ****in' tune. In our office we're pooling together to buy them tickets home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Why not? If nobody gives to the junkie then he will rob to get the money. You could be saving the old lady from having her handbag snatched or house robbed by giving to him.

By that line of thinking we ought to be raising money to pay for drug habits so that nobody gets robbed... it's completely backwards, and is the wrong approach to take.

You do what you can to not fund a drug culture and you hope that the people whose job it is will do the rest of the work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

InFront wrote:
    By that line of thinking we ought to be raising money to pay for drug habits so that nobody gets robbed

I wouldn't go that far! But if I decided to give to someone on the street it wouldn't stop me giving to them if I knew they were a junkie. In any case I try to avoid it, I prefer to give to registered charities who deal with these problems instead.
    InFront wrote:
    ... it's completely backwards, and is the wrong approach to take.
    Well I don't agree. The addict needs the drugs and he will get the money one way or another. Do you think you are helping him by not giving him money?
    InFront wrote:
    You do what you can to not fund a drug culture and you hope that the people whose job it is will do the rest of the work.
    Who's job is it? The Government. Don't hold your breath if you expect them to the "rest of the work"

Well I don't agree. The addict needs the drugs and he will get the money one way or another. Do you think you are helping him by not giving him money?

You don't understand the concept of addiction. It's not like "addict has 3 injections a day. Addict gets the money for his 3 injections. Addict is now satisfied". It's more "Addict gets the money for his 3 injections. Addict starts to crave more injections. Addict starts to rob so he can have 6 injections a day". All you're doing by giving him the money is pushing him further down the path. You're not helping any old ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Do you think you are helping him by not giving him money?

I think I'm helping to make it harder for him to buy drugs, but mostly I think it's the best thing for society.
    Who's job is it? The Government. Don't hold your breath if you expect them to the "rest of the work"

Well I was thinking more along the lines of the Gardai actually. I doesn't matter what your realistic expectations are, you either accept their responsibility to fix this or you take it into your own hands and adapt a rather silly strategy of donating to junkies to save old women from robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,488 ✭✭✭✭event

to let some of you know who are from the north east

on West street in drogheda, there is a romanian who begs on the street. he has a crutch and usually moans about his leg and how he cannot walk.

we own a petrol station close to drogheda, the same man comes in around twice a week driving a car to get petrol

scamming git

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ask him where his crutches are next time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,488 ✭✭✭✭event

me dad did, he served him the petrol

met him on west street as an old woman was giving him money

said to him

'funny how ye didnt need that crutch when you came in for petrol?'

he just looked at him and hopped away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Be The Holy

Its a new innovative form of begging here in Ireland, lets flash our mangled deformities and illict as much sympathy as possible. One chap had the butt of his amputated arm out for all to admire, another with toes that looked like pigs had fed on. Man, just clear them off the streets, we pay enough tax. They must be Bulgaria and Romanian seeing as this has appeared only after the new year. The more money you give them, the more that will come and wont that be a pretty sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

. They must be Bulgaria and Romanian seeing as this has appeared only after the new year. The more money you give them, the more that will come and wont that be a pretty sight.

I think only self employed people from there can come here (well, I suppose technically anyone can come here, but you either need to be self employed or apply for a work permit to hope to pay the rent)

Next one who asks me for cash Ill say no and then put on the junkie accent/shuffle. Within 10 minutes they will hear a prolonged story about oi need meee bus fare, any smokes buuudddd, need a hostel buudddddd and so on. :)

The ones with the fake charity fundraising should be arrested tbh. Although in fairness anyone who donates should be sectioned, seeing as theyre clearly too stupid to be allowed to have money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

The romanians make a fortune begging apparently they do it for 5 years live riff and then go back to romania and live like kings i was over there in the summer and they have gypsie palaces which are bloody hugh about 5 familys group together and built them.

Wasnt there a load in cork who was stopped with 10grand on him he got beggin

I'm not sure if the following is the same guy, this Polish guy was arrested in Roscommon with €11k. Which is probably twice what the average Polish worker earns in a year. If they weren't earning this money, they wouldn't be doing. LOL after a good days begging they probably change back into their normal clothes and drive home ;)

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0321/dychtanowiczd.html
    "A 27-year-old Polish man has been convicted of begging in a public place while in possession of €11,000.

Damian Dychtanowicz was arrested by gardaí outside the Sacred Heart Church in Roscommon on St Patrick's Day while begging for food and money.

He told the court he had been working in Co Galway, where he was earning €70 euro a week, but that the money in his bag belonged to him and his five brothers.

The court ruled there was no need for him to beg and he was sentenced to 14 days in prison."

The unfortunate reality is that the genuinely needy beggars are often the ones found with 2p or something equally miserable on their person at the end of the day. It's the skilled con artists who are raking it in.

Googled the "rich" beggars name and found the following,

"A MAN begging outside a church on St Patrick's Day had almost €11,000 in his possession when searched by gardai.

Polish national Damian Dychtanowicz (28) was sitting on the ground outside the church in Roscommon town when Garda Michael Finnegan was leaving Mass on the national holiday.

Garda Finnegan told Roscommon District Court yesterday that Dychtanowicz had a cardboard sign and a paper cup placed on the ground in front of him.

He told the accused to leave the area and says he did so reluctantly. But when Garda Finnegan looked back, he noticed that Dychtanowicz was once again outside the church.

The garda said he approached the Polish man again and instructed him to leave the area, but he was reluctant to do so.

Garda Finnegan went to the station and returned a short time later. He again found Dychtanowicz at the back of the church.

When he arrested Dychtanowicz a local woman arrived, carrying a hot meal for him. He removed the Pole to the garda station and searched a bag in his possession.

Garda Finnegan discovered almost €11,000 comprised of €50 notes. The court heard that the accused told the arresting garda he worked in Headford, Galway, in a job that paid a nominal figure of €70 a week.

Judge Tom Fitzpatrick interjected the proceedings, and said: "We are in the wrong business..."

"He had a downright cheek to have €11,000 in a bag and to be begging at the same time," said Judge Fitzpatrick.

He sentenced Dychtanowicz to 14 days in prison and advised him that he had a right of appeal."

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1584563&issue_id=13829

The judge should have confiscated the money and donated it charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Wow, middle class life is so hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've noticed an increase in the amount of beggars alright. I come through town every day on the way home from work, usually give whichever one I come across nearest the Luas on Stephens green whatever change I have after the day.
    However, I don't give it to the girl in the tracksuit who sits beside the Luas machine asking each person over and over for their change, I can't stand her and her tactics. Generally I don't give it to anyone who asks for it, but I'll happily give it to whoever I find sitting with a cup, especially on cold evenings like these.

I know I could be funding addictions, but I don't really mind, whatever gets them through the night really. I'd hope it goes towards hostels/food/clothing though.

Oh and I know this could be seen as bad, but I only give money to Irish homeless.

rb_ie wrote:
    have after the day.
    However, I don't give it to the girl in the tracksuit who sits beside the Luas machine asking each person over and over for their change, I can't stand her and her tactics.

I really hate trying to get a Luas ticket at Heuston station some days. You have guys walk right up to you when they see you about to put your change into the machine and try to bully you into giving it to them. I generally end up going to the Luas stop by the Museum when that happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Hypnotoad

event wrote:
    to let some of you know who are from the north east

on West street in drogheda, there is a romanian who begs on the street. he has a crutch and usually moans about his leg and how he cannot walk.

we own a petrol station close to drogheda, the same man comes in around twice a week driving a car to get petrol

scamming git
    I think I might have seen him outside tower records earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Wow, middle class life is so hard.

and and and....... :confused:

One time during the summer I'd seen a boy stay outside the spar in fairview and beg for a couple of hours

Then while I was waiting on a bus he hopped into a taxi! I was shocked!

I noticed when I lived in Fairview that there was a **** load of beggars everywhere alright. I thought it was strange for somewhere outside the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Stark wrote:
    I noticed when I lived in Fairview that there was a **** load of beggars everywhere alright. I thought it was strange for somewhere outside the city centre.

Even Ranelagh has them.....

First we have the story of the Polish beggar caught with €11k, now we have have this... Beggars belief ;)

http://www.unison.ie/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1770277&issue_id=15221

"A YOUNG beggar in Dublin city centre, who refused to move on when asked by gardai, opened her blouse took out her breast and sprayed breast milk over the garda when told she was going to be arrested.

Romanian gypsies begging on the streets of Dublin are facing prosecution as part of a major Garda crack down. Romania joined the EU on January 1 and last month the Office of the Refugee Applications Commissioner received 220 asylum applications from Romanian nationals in one week. The Minister for Justice, Michael McDowell, has since applied an EU protocol stopping the office from processing the applications of EU nationals unless there were exceptional circumstances.

In recent weeks, gardai have noted hundreds of Romanian gypsies arriving at Dublin airport and other ports around the country. Most are women aged between 20 and 40 and some can beg up to €150 a day.

Gardai will only arrest someone if they refuse to move on. In the past week alone between 15 and 20 people have been arrested and brought before the District Court. All have been granted bail on condition that they stay away from the city centre. Their cases are due to be dealt with in the coming weeks. A Department of Justice spokesman said that "people from Romania and other EU states are allowed free entry to Ireland. However, if they want to stay longer than three months they need the funds to stay here or they have to get a work permit."

Rosanna Flynn of Residents Against Racism said there was little alternative to begging for the Roma gypsies."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

DonJose wrote:

In recent weeks, gardai have noted hundreds of Romanian gypsies arriving at Dublin airport and other ports around the country.

Oh how predictable, and I was called a racist by some members of Boards for forecasting it before.
    DonJose wrote:

Rosanna Flynn of Residents Against Racism said there was little alternative to begging for the Roma gypsies."

Yes, little alternative...like they can't work like everyone else...hrmm...

I wish Rosanna Flynn would hurry up and die already, the attention craving nuisance.

Can I borrow a euro?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I was on here this time last year saying these people are making thousands of quid a week and nobody listened to me.How'dya like them apples?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

I was in Rome last summer, and Romanian beggars were everywhere.
    One of their party pieces was begging on the metro's. The beggar (always female, and with a child) would walk up and down the train carraiges, one hand outstretched with a paper cup, the other hand holding the child - or so you would assume.

The child would be held by some hidden harness, and the womans free hand - which you assumed to be supporting the baby - would be having a good dip into your pocket:eek:

These are professional pickpockets, as well as beggars, and they give me the shivers when I see them....... I'm sure to be branded a racist for this, but I know what I saw over the space of a few weeks. Scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Degsy wrote:
    I was on here this time last year saying these people are making thousands of quid a week and nobody listened to me.How'dya like them apples?:D
    I said it myself.
    I remember seeing a documentary on BBC many years ago about beggers in London pulling in £400 a day. They worked the financial district and had apartments. £2,000 a week, tax free, for 5 days of sitting down with your hand out. I think that was about 10 years ago.

RB, You will be told by RAR that begging is all these people know and that they can't get a job because of this.
    McDonlads are hiring and I'm sure you could put them in the kitchen and teach them how to cook a ****ing big mac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

DonJose wrote:

Who in the **** is this twat.

If you dont like them, simply do what I did, and annoy the bollix off them. Was in town Saturday when some bitch tried the oul charity scam on me, clipboard and all soliciting donations for a cause (tsunami orphans or something) printed on the paper. Seeing as I have worked in the financial sector I know a little about what legal requirements charities need to operate

Her "Please, look, please. Help, yes?"
    Me "Whats your charity reg number?"
    Her "My what?"
    Me "Your charity registration number (with building aggressive tone). You gotta have one to do this legally"
    Her "Eh...I have no number"
    Me "You have to, your a charity"
    Her (getting more confused) "Eh...no, no charity, my money"

At this accidental admittal she was bagging it for herself, I called her a kunt and told her to shove her clipboard up her gee. She mightnt know what a gee is but she got the messgae and went on her way swearing in Romanian at me :D

Some of them put a disabled relative at the Bachelors Walk corner, saw a woman hand her a tenner :eek: Whilst Ive sympathy for the disabled you know full well its some relation who is pocketing the lot. Ive no issue with down and outs sitting on the bridge with their cup merely asking anyone within earshot for a few coppers. And at least the Big Issue ones are actually providing something rather than simply demanding cash. Its the pricks who physically grab you for money, or worse the charity scammers, theyre the ones who need the piss taken out of them.