Dave McSavage sparks race row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭baztard

He's a one trick pony, but he's good at what he does none the less. The way some posters are getting worked up here, you'd swear he slept with their sisters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

2 points
    1) Occasionally he is really funny, even if it's just a song called "Grannywank".
    2) Those of you who say that he has never gotten in trouble, obviously haven't heard what happened in Temple Bar a few years ago........
    He insulted the wrong man.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

2 points
    1) Occasionally he is really funny, even if it's just a song called "Grannywank".
    2) Those of you who say that he has never gotten in trouble, obviously haven't heard what happened in Temple Bar a few years ago........
    He insulted the wrong man.

Oh I heard about it in work, I laughed fairly hard, possibly harder than I should have, it was the funniest thing ever connected with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

baztard wrote:
    He's a one trick pony, but he's good at what he does none the less. The way some posters are getting worked up here, you'd swear he slept with their sisters.

Good at what he does? He comments on random people as they pass him by. Hardly something worth building a career on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

Elaborate please :)What happened in temple bar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Why oh why just once can't there be a headline that reads "Dave McSavage sparks a cigarette lighter and immolates himself to death"?

I wouldn't píss on the guy if he was on fire, hopefully someday he'll give me the chance to prove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭WetDaddy

HA!*

I love how 99% of posts on this thread are people who either (a) can't stand him, or (b) have never heard of him. I, unfortunately, belong to the former. The latter are the lucky ones.

Somebody mentioned he's been around since 2002. In all honesty, I think if he had a real talent of some kind, he would have used his flacid dribbling of fame to show it. I don't think he has much more to offer other than the content his street performances.

* The only time I've ever laughed at anything David McSavage related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A bit of a Michael Richards/Jade Goody about him tbh, desperate for attention etc etc.

I remember him in Temple Bar calling two passing school girls 'closet sluts'. The less attention given to this man, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

I've always thought he was very very desperate for attention and yeah that's about it. His brother was my history teacher at school and was far funnier than Dave could ever dream to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Saw him in the DCU bar around 2001, it was only time i saw him but thought he was good but i was a bit drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

he was there in about 2003 aswell, thought he was alright, bit strange but good stuff.

then i saw him for the second time and thought he needed some new material, he's prob still sayin the same stuff ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonko

Entirely off topic, but I really like your username eth0_. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Calibos

Was anyone here actually at the show? Neither was I but but before you all get on your high horses, one of the papers did say that his explanation was that some of his material was based on the Celebrity big brother Racism furore and the word Paki was used by him in the form of, "and that racist nobody Jack Tweed called Shilpa a paki....etc"

Dave McSavage didn't call anyone a Paki.

Its like saying that the OP is a racist because he used the word paki in his post about dave mcsavage.

Its like a Garda asking me why I just punched some scumbag, "Because he called my friend here a n.........". and the Garda replying, "I am arresting you for using the n word and being a racist"

This is all assuming that McSavage isn't lying about the context in which he used the word.

According to the papers it wasn't most of the audience either, just 2 or 3 overly PC English people who don't seem to realise that the context in which the word was used defines whether the user is racist or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭WetDaddy

Calibos wrote:
    Was anyone here actually at the show? Neither was I but but before you all get on your high horses, one of the papers did say that his explanation was that some of his material was based on the Celebrity big brother Racism furore and the word Paki was used by him in the form of, "and that racist nobody Jack Tweed called Shilpa a paki....etc"

Dave McSavage didn't call anyone a Paki.

Its like saying that the OP is a racist because he used the word paki in his post about dave mcsavage.

Its like a Garda asking me why I just punched some scumbag, "Because he called my friend here a n.........". and the Garda replying, "I am arresting you for using the n word and being a racist"

This is all assuming that McSavage isn't lying about the context in which he used the word.

According to the papers it wasn't most of the audience either, just 2 or 3 overly PC English people who don't seem to realise that the context in which the word was used defines whether the user is racist or not.

Good point. I, however, choose to assume he was eating a baby at the time, since no-one has mentioned otherwise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

He should go throw himself into a combine harvester,i'd happily buy the dvd and laugh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I used to go to the International Comedy Club all the time when Des Bishop was the compare. One night Des couldnt make it so he got Mr McSavage as his stand in. He decided that I was his bitch for the night. Now Ive been the victim of Comedians before and I really dont mind it. Carl Spain picked on me a couple of times during one of his shows but he was a real class act and sought me out after the show to shake my hand and say thanks for being a good sport. But McSavage was a different story he actually seems to get a kick out of it. He gets off on putting down others and I just dont think he is funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Never heard of him before but going on the sh*tieness of his website I can only guess how bad he really is. Google his name, it's too bad even to have a link to in in my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

mike65 wrote:
    I've only seen him on de telly, he comes across as a low-budget Tommy Tiernan to me.

Mike.

tbh Tiernan has always come across to me as somewhat overrated. Not bad, but no legend, and he seems to steal his style from x amount of predecessors.

Ive seen McSavage on the street and he cracked the whole crowd up. Most of those getting abuse deserved it tbh (goths, rockers, obese couples in matching shellsuits etc)

shane86 wrote:
    tbh Tiernan has always come across to me as somewhat overrated. Not bad, but no legend, and he seems to steal his style from x amount of predecessors.

Ive seen McSavage on the street and he cracked the whole crowd up. Most of those getting abuse deserved it tbh (goths, rockers, obese couples in matching shellsuits etc)

Deserved it did they?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Is he the one with glasses and the guitar and comments on passer-byers?.

oh him, I remember seeing him on a Saturday before, slagging people who dared walk across his space. Then I kind of loomed up behind him, to get by, scared the ****e out of him when turned around and saw me :)

All he could comeback with was something along the lines that I could walk anywhere I wanted....really not that funny, just like remembering him doing that little jump of "you-scared-me-so-how-can-make-this-funny-at-your-expense"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Maybe a celebrity reveals himself most when he's not on stage.

I was in a bank once, queuing up to lodge some money. McSavage joins the queue, becapped and all, waiting to be served. A few minutes later, another lad joins the queue, and notices his old school chum, David McSavage, so they start talking.

The first few seconds were normal enough;
    - Hey, how are you?
    - Ah grand, grand, how about yourself?

Etc.

But moments later, McSavage starts slagging off some random person, a relatively short asian-looking person who is at the express lodgements desk, his back to McSavage, presumably pretenting not to hear.

Conversation turns to something like;
    - Huh, look at this fella. He's like some deformed pigmy or something, hahaha.
    - Eh, heh.

And so I lodge my money, and grumble on my way out, audibly;
    -****ing racist.

To me, McSavage isn't a 'comedian' embarking on social mission to get Ireland to 'fess up to racism, he's not a cathartic social healer. He's an annoying, racist prick, a bully who is actually racist in his everyday life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

What happened to him in Temple Bar? I wanna know!!

Slurms wrote:
    What happened to him in Temple Bar? I wanna know!!

He got a hiding thats what.I was in vicar street one time and a friend of mine went up and introduced herself to him,saying hello as it were.He literally pissed off mid sentence in an act of pure arrogance.later outside i censured him about his unchivalrous behaviour,which he denied and i may have given him the impression he was in some considerable danger as he ran straight out into oncoming traffic.For the height of him,he has no guts whatever.A bully and a turd-bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Dave McSavage looking forward to first sexual experience

http://www.geocities.com/nakedgalway/7-mcsavage.htm

The guy's a complete tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I saw him in Vicar Street one night and he was actually very good. One or two bits I'd seen before but other than that not bad at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

r3nu4l wrote:
    I saw him in Vicar Street one night and he was actually very good. One or two bits I'd seen before but other than that not bad at all!
    Admit it, you were really drunk and/or high as a kite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

He just strikes me as one of those chip-on-his-shoulder sons of a politician who attempts to strikes out by trying to be a comedian but just comes across as a glorified angry bum.

Bit sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I actually bought his DVD as it was recommended by a few of my mates... Waste of money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

rb_ie wrote:
    Admit it, you were really drunk and/or high as a kite.

Hee hee, well there was table service all night and I admit I may have had one or two like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭smokingman

Never heard of him - obvoiusly a daily sun reader then?