Stupid Ads

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Firstly, shes NOT hot

I'd slip her a length. Got a nice rack.

Now I'm waiting for the inevitable "that's my sister you bastard" reply....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hector's ad for the horseracing.... Checking out the form... There are a load of ****e lines that get laughs for some reason in the ad. **** man, get back to the bog and be doen with it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,437 ✭✭✭✭Basq

One sentence:

"It's not just a good musical.. it's a great musical!"

Aaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Hector's ad for the horseracing.... Checking out the form... There are a load of ****e lines that get laughs for some reason in the ad. **** man, get back to the bog and be doen with it.

anything with that **** Hector is annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Not so much idiotic just two adds i hate,

First is the Concern Adds,the fact that they are always on and go on for sooo lllllloooonnnggg just bugs me.And why oh why did they have to go and ruin a beautiful song Clair de Lune,now i just cant listen to it anymore.
    My second is an add for cheese strings,why???,because they used leftfields release the pressure and now once again i cant listen to it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

greine wrote:
    Here, here, probably worst and most annoying ad on the television. Those 2 women do my head in, jeeez, the face on the dark haired one is enough to make me puke!:mad:

How can anyone not say that she is not attractive? Actually that picture reminds me of this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭greine

humanji wrote:
    How can anyone not say that she is not attractive? Actually that picture reminds me of this!

you're spot on there, humanji :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

humanji wrote:
    Yes. Lovely intellgient swtiched on-on warm smile there.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

basquille wrote:
    Think i'm the only one who loves that ad... it does what it says on the tin - DAFT!

I like that add too!
    Though I dont know what turkish trabertine is :D

another terrible add that springs to mind is the coca-cola xmas one.
    Featuring a terrifying CG santa with cheeks like a well smacked a*se doling out bottles to a rapidly aging woman.

point of add: women who gaze in shop windows will be snuck up upon by 9ft hyper-obese santas. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Every single shampoo and cosmetic ad ever.

Danone Vitalinea and the like.

Financial Services ads - "The Art of Legally Stealing Money"

American car ads - see the new Dodge one trying to explain how the red ball of sh1t isn't cute by having furry little cg things piss themselves.
    Yes. Clever.

tards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

another terrible add that springs to mind is the coca-cola xmas one.
    Featuring a terrifying CG santa with cheeks like a well smacked a*se doling out bottles to a rapidly aging woman.

I like the way she hands him the bottle back at the end of the advert. Its like shes saying "You've tried for nearly 60 years, and I'm still not going to shag you" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

The two prats and the hairless cat are even worse!
    Hey guys, maybe try *checking* that the cat is OK? :mad:
    ah yes, The "Relax, everyone we know is on meteor" ad, they probably only know each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭superdudeman007

Sounds like something Marty Whelan would think was funny.

I bet the number of road traffic accidents has increased since that voice started tormenting us in the early mornings:

"I'm liquidising stock in this blender. I've also liquidised my boots, etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

I love the unintentional irony of that ad using the same song as the road safety ad from a few years ago.

My sentiments exactly! All I think of whenever I see the ad is the poor girl at the end of that ad from about 10 years ago and the poster campaign that went with it. Obviously Suzuki don't have marketing people here, and we know that they didn't bother researching how we'd react to it. I'm not a fan of the new McDonalds ads, but at least they went for something that Irish people would, er, get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

My sentiments exactly! All I think of whenever I see the ad is the poor girl at the end of that ad from about 10 years ago and the poster campaign that went with it. Obviously Suzuki don't have marketing people here, and we know that they didn't bother researching how we'd react to it

marketting people to see how what, a handful of people who remember a road safety campaign advert would react? when i see the ad i think of people singing a song in their Suzukis

Mossy Monk wrote:
    marketting people to see how what, a handful of people who remember a road safety campaign advert would react? when i see the ad i think of people singing a song in their Suzukis
    exactly - i think of suzukis.

If I thought of every previous ad when I heard a new ad with a song in it then when Moby played my brain would explode.

But continuing the topic of sit ads - Surf and anything from Kinder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

Hate that ad for EZ furniture or something with some rubbish song playing over it.
    "Sun on my face...la la la something." You'd know if you'd seen it.

Actually hate all furniture ads.

There's a really pretentious ad on at the moment for Alfa Romeo.
    All these 'striking' images such as an old man and woman kissing in the rain, and a schoolboy with a bloody mouth(for some reason) with a creepy look on his face.
    This voiceover going on about God knows what, life and stuff, but it's nothing to do with an Alfa anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,437 ✭✭✭✭Basq

cashback wrote:
    Hate that ad for EZ furniture or something with some rubbish song playing over it.
    "Sun on my face...la la la something." You'd know if you'd seen it.

Actually hate all furniture ads.
    Oh Christ yeah... hate that ad and the hilarious going-on's in it. Raising and lowering the level of a chair mischeviously, and the throw of a cushion. What are they... 8?! :eek:

Another one is those fecking Kandoo ads? The little kid on the toilet shouts "they're all gone... they're all gone!". And obviously enough the mother comes to investigate. And has time to get off the toilet and draw a little picture that his arse-wipes are all gone. Tragic! :mad:

PS - anyone else noticed this ad has quickly turned from 'Stupid Ads' (as in little intelligence / makes little sense) to just ads we loathe! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

basquille wrote:
    PS - anyone else noticed this ad has quickly turned from 'Stupid Ads' (as in little intelligence / makes little sense) to just ads we loathe! :D

Yep, but I've thought of another one so I'm not stopping now!

That ad for the South Armagh tourist board where the couple walk into the bar and everyone turns around and stares. "You're not from around here are ya? You'll be wanting to buy us all a drink, it's tradition!"
    Cue much uproar in the pub.
    Jesus if that's the reaction you get when you enter a pub, whether the guy is joking or not, I'm not going near the place!
    Don't suppose that ad makes much sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Ads for tapons should be showing exactly where they are placed....
    Ads for showers which seem to show only above the neck for a woman
    and above the waist for a man, typical Irish.
    Toilet roll ads showing a puppy. Ok the puppy is a dot but he doesnt use
    toilet paper, again it should be shown where to use it.
    If they can show a JML ad which shows what the piece of cheap chinese
    made product can do, then so should the toilet roll.............
    There are so many new people arriving into our country and some of them
    do not have a word of English. Switching on the tv and seeing a woman smiling and in the next clip a drop of blue ink dropped on a towel, well they wont know what its about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Have to mention the CocaCola Zero ad. The one aimed at men where the two most annoying dickheads on earth are walking down the street talking shít and gradually more men join them.

What a load of crap.

(As as aside, I love the new Halifax ad!)

I know I'm following on from many comedians with this one but in relation to fanny balloon ads:

What woman wants to ride bareback along a beach after competing in a triathlon during their period?

Seriously - I assume there must be some kind of female influence in these ads or are the men responsible really that disconnected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I find the red bull ads about as funny as a kick in the nuts.

All insurance ads are pretty thick as well.

And as for those ads that tell you you only have to pick up the phone and ask for a loan of 25 thousand and its yours...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭superdudeman007

All those companies offering to give you a loan to pay off all your debts and have money left over.

"You get 50 quid a week til you kick the bucket; then we get your house. Call NOW!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

I don't like those ads that make men look as thick as planks, so patronising eg the tampon ad where the guy thinks the tampon is a sweet, because the packaging is so misleading.
    Wise Woman : 'No dear, that doesn't go in your mouth'.
    Plank Man : 'But what's it for?'
    Wise Woman : 'I'll tell you when you grow up'.

On the other side, I like those Bounty paper towel ads. The two men look nothing like women, they've got beards for goodness sake :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭h2s

cashback wrote:
    Yep, but I've thought of another one so I'm not stopping now!

That ad for the South Armagh tourist board where the couple walk into the bar and everyone turns around and stares. "You're not from around here are ya? You'll be wanting to buy us all a drink, it's tradition!"
    Cue much uproar in the pub.
    Jesus if that's the reaction you get when you enter a pub, whether the guy is joking or not, I'm not going near the place!
    Don't suppose that ad makes much sense.

Yeah that's some scary ad. Moncreiff had a good few text about that one today, including the catchphrase - "Go to South ARmagh, before South Armagh comes to you"

"You're not from around here are ya? You'll be wanting to buy us all a drink, ya B*stard, or yer not gettin' out alive"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Rawr!

The ad that really gets me...

Is....

Its an add for butter, or cheese, or some such product...

A Heidi type woman in the kitchen, and then lots of animated creatured come in..... Its sssooooooo badly done like...

and then she kisses the animated bird....

It's SOOOOOOOOOOOO stupid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭sioda

two words Shielas Wheels god i hate those 3 eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Deflector

Speaking if the irony of the music in the road safety campaign ad and that for Suzuki, does anyone remember the fairly recent advert for Bacardi, which featured an orgy of splashing liquer and sexually provative dancing, possibly on a railway platform, and a central character of a young Irish actor acting as ringmaster to it all, dishing out bucketloads of the stuff from a trolly - the exact same actor that centrally featured but a few weeks previously in an Irish Drink Aware television campaign.

You couldn't make it up if you tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I hate those car ad's that have 9 year old boys acting like boring old men. The Safira or something.

"New house, new car, he's doing well for himself!"

"Ovey-tired!"