Should guards have minimum fitness requirements?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

However, there is no on-going physical testing for serving members both of An Garda Siochàna and the Defense Forces.

First off its "Defence"........."Defense" is American, and the DF do have annual PTA's and have physical training at least once or twice a week, i see them alot when im on RDF duty, one minute they are in Combats then later on you see the same Soldiers runnin around the outside of the Barracks for a long time and they also carry out regular Orienteering in Mounatineous Areas with full CEFO* gear.

CEFO= Weapon,Ammunition,Survival gear, basically the works.
    CEFO=Combat Equipment Fighting Order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Steyr wrote:
    First off its "Defence"........."Defense" is American, and the DF do have annual PTA's and have physical training at least once or twice a week, i see them alot when im on RDF duty, one minute they are in Combats then later on you see the same Soldiers runnin around the outside of the Barracks for a long time and they also carry out regular Orienteering in Mounatineous Areas with full CEFO* gear.

CEFO= Weapon,Ammunition,Survival gear, basically the works.
    CEFO=Combat Equipment Fighting Order
    With the standard of spelling and grammar you've demonstrated above, I don't think you're in any position to criticise the spelling of "defence" as "defense". Not big, not clever, move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Sangre wrote:
    How often does a Gaurd actually have to chase someone down on foot?

ha the way you say that you are implying that they actually go out and look for criminals to apprehend.
    no no the level of fitness is for the fast food and the lunch run back to the station,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Yes, there's the mile run and the push-me/pull-me thingy that requires a lot of upper-body strength.

However, there is no on-going physical testing for serving members both of An Garda Siochàna and the Defense Forces. Why? Because various medical conditions can induce obesity and discriminating someone based on the grounds of disability runs contrary to various National and EU employment laws. In other words, massive unfair dismissal cases costing the state (i.e. us taxpayers) millions.

If memory serves me right, the Army tried to bring in such in-service physical testing in 2003 and came under tremendous legal pressure from PDFORRA (the Permenant Defence force other Ranks Repersentative Association) to drop it, which they eventually did.

So OP, to answer your question, the guards do have mimimum fitness requirements, but only to initially attest a member.

Your memory does not serve you right. You are in fact extremely misinformed about the fitness requirements of the D.F. Every member of the Defence Forces (unless medically excused) must complete an annual fitness test each year. Certain grades must be achieved for courses and as a knock on effect promotion. Repeat failures of fitness test can be used to build up a case for dismissal.

Do some research in future before just writing any old tripe that comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

sceptre wrote:
    With the standard of spelling and grammar you've demonstrated above, I don't think you're in any position to criticise the spelling of "defence" as "defense". Not big, not clever, move on.

Yes because thats what the main discussion is here......Not tryin to be "big" or "clever".......whatever.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Why? Because various medical conditions can induce obesity and discriminating someone based on the grounds of disability runs contrary to various National and EU employment laws. In other words, massive unfair dismissal cases costing the state (i.e. us taxpayers) millions.

That would never happen. Not here, not in any legal system. It would like me suing because the acting part required a black actor, or a skinny woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

daveirl wrote:

I was just going to say something similar, a guy I play with on a 5 a side team is a guard. What is this thing about not having enough time?
    I think there should be regular fitness requirements. But above this, shouldn't it be the case that a guard actually wants this himself? I mean it's got to be embarrassing if you can't fulfill all of the various demands of your job because of your weight... surely the prospect of this should be incentive to regain fitness.

It ought to be an honour to be looked upon as a guardian of society, maintaining the peace and securing public order. What I imagine would be expected in return is that you can physically do your job.

Because various medical conditions can induce obesity

Name one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

There are various endocrenic-related obesity disorders, albeit rare, InFront.

Yes, I think the police should have a minimum fitness requirement. In some cases while enforciing the law, one needs to have a reasonable degree of fitness.

There are various endocrenic-related obesity disorders, albeit rare, InFront.

There most certainly are not. There are no known disorders that will make you obese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

InFront wrote:
    There most certainly are not. There are no known disorders that will make you obese.

I have phrased that wrong. There are certain disorders where a hormonal imbalance may cause weight gain, which in some circumstances can lead to obesity.

That seems a far more accurate:)

There is no scape goat for obesity. Exercise and dieting will always decrease obesity. Severe acquired endocrine and genetic disorders may sometimes mean your weight will never be as you would like it to be, but nothing but bad lifestyle choices cause obesity.

Yes, they should have fitness requirements. Their ability to protect us during a violent assault by another may be related to their fitness?

Personally, I would like to see all gardai enrolled in martial arts/self-defense training over their careers (as a part of their continuous improvement training), which would keep them healthy and better prepared to intervene without the need of guns (I'm not for arming the gardai, except in extraordinary cases).