the great CPs debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

I think its crap and where am I heading tonight not cps any how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

padi89 wrote:
    it didnt always have the crowd it has now.

Okay! I'll give you that one!

The main reason I have a problem with CP's, is that first time I went and saw (and smelled) some stuff happening that truly turned my stomach.

I'm sure that sort of carry-on happens in other places, but I have never seen it to that degree anywhere else.

My first impression was so tarnished that I find it hard to ever imagining going back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

cps = bland
    the other clubs have their niches, eg eighties night in the gpo or rock/alt upstairs in cuba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

JIZZLORD wrote:
    cps = bland
    the other clubs have their niches, eg eighties night in the gpo or rock/alt upstairs in cuba.

Don't forget that the gPO = *too* youngun's ... they even Q now!!!

I mean holy jeepers, Q'ing for a nightclub? Are ye mad? Oh and the Drum bar has closed, it's their way of stopping people getitn in for free (Still ge tthe free stamps on shop st though) Oh lord

Mind you, those younguns are nice n fresh... oh I feel old :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭cheesemaker

JohnCleary wrote:
    Don't forget that the gPO = *too* youngun's ... they even Q now!!!

I mean holy jeepers, Q'ing for a nightclub? Are ye mad? Oh and the Drum bar has closed, it's their way of stopping people getitn in for free (Still ge tthe free stamps on shop st though) Oh lord

Mind you, those younguns are nice n fresh... oh I feel old :(

Plus they give out free buckie on a thursday now too.most off they clubs in galway are gone a bit down hill,but at least you know where you can go to get the right music/people you want to spend your night with.even if it is the striped t-shrit bregade in cps

DRakE wrote:
    It doesnt say Cp's ANYWHERE. It's always said CP. Also I think people are just badmouthing CP to fit in with the rest of the crowd on this board. I go to CP nearly ever night I'm out purely cos the nicest looking girls go there and so do my friends. No pints of guinness, maybe the odd shit in a pintglass and the od bit of puke but tbh it's a VERY small amount of times that happens. And it happens in every club, I'd imagine GPO or Cuba gets way more puke since they let anyone in. (GPO moreso than Cuba who to be fair have decent doorstaff)

Also I know all of this cos i used to work there. Stop slagging it off to fit in.

I would agree with you there.

I honestly never got a smell out of the place and I never wear a shirt out, I often wearing runners aswell and get in. I never drink pints in a nightclub full stop, it's a joke trying to move past people with a full pint. Sink a brandy at the bar and then go for my ramble.

Plus they give out free buckie on a thursday now too.most off they clubs in galway are gone a bit down hill,but at least you know where you can go to get the right music/people you want to spend your night with.even if it is the striped t-shrit bregade in cps

Free buckie? wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

DRakE wrote:
    Also I think people are just badmouthing CP to fit in with the rest of the crowd on this board.
    Stop slagging it off to fit in.

Im not slagging it off to fit in, i really think its a ****hole, with a crap thrashy crowd and have made this judgement on having spent many nights in there.There are some nice looking birds in there but majority are the type that cant walk in heels and get fvcked drunk.Its exactly the same as any tacky disco up and down the country,the place has no redeeming features.Its just the same type of **** as the Bentley.

padi89 wrote:
    Im not slagging it off to fit in, i really think its a ****hole, with a crap thrashy crowd and have made this judgement on having spent many nights in there.There are some nice looking birds in there but majority are the type that cant walk in heels and get fvcked drunk.Its exactly the same as any tacky disco up and down the country,the place has no redeeming features.Its just the same type of **** as the Bentley.

amen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

just a word on some of the bouncers. most of them are sound decent people who are able to deal very well with drunk people but some of them (particularly the high ranking ones) are totally unable to deal with the public. one in particular who many people have pointed out to me too, seems hell bent on annoying or aggrevating as many people as possible. in my case this person i think has some personal problem with me. in all my years going to cps or halo (around 8 or 9) i have caused little or no problems in these clubs but this person thinks i should beg to be let in so that i can spend my 50 or 60 euro, enjoy my night, cause no trouble and go home. i went on average once a week for 8 years that is 416 times multiplied by say 50 euro is nearly 21,000 euro.( how sad am I !!!) i defy anyone to find me a business that would treat such a good customer so badly. as i work my self with the public i know that my employers would be extremely annoyed with me if i treated a customer in such a bad way and know that they would take disciplinary action.i have contacted managment but to no avail. they said they would deal with the problem and try to resolve it but this has not happened. when i asked this bouncer what i had done wrong his reply was he did not have to explain him self. i had stayed away for a few months thinking maybe things might change if i stayed away. on trying to enter a couple of weeks ago my friend was refused entry because many months ago when paying to enter he said he was staff. (yes he was trying to pull a fast one but the secuirty felt the appropriate punishment for this was a life time ban from entering the club. PLEASE!! surely if dealt with properly they should have told him this was not on but pay in, enjoy your night and dont do it again.) anyway i replied to the bouncers after my friend was refused and said that we had stayed away for a few months we dont cause trouble in the club to which the doorman with a personal problem with me replied "look at you, you always have to but in". now in all my time i have never raised my voice called him any names or cursed at him and i think this annoys him.
    besause most of my friends go there it makes things quite difficult for me. i know im not the only one with a problem with this particular bouncer. lots of people have problems with him i even know someone who doesnt drink who he refuses entry to.
    im sure the owners who are excellent buisness men and who made cps and halo a success would be angered at this behaviour towards a paying customer who causes no trouble but im sure this bouncer has some rubbish excuse for not letting me in but i know i have done nothing wrong. the sad part is though, that for every person they refuse entry there are 2 more waiting to try and get in( although i do hear business is poor compared others to years). hopefully someone in cps reads this and have a word with this person because although i wont be back, others will arrive and may also not come back and this man will single handedly drive this thriving business into the ground!:mad:
    ps great to see karma going well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

NAme and shame!

doorstaff are more or less,TOO THICK to get into the guards,TOO SMART(sometimes) to go back to prison.TOO USELESS to box.and generaly live in there own world ,where its cool to ruin peoples night(usually)the person who only wants to have a good night and never says boo to anyone.the more animated or civil you are to them the more wooden they get.But then again your probly better off not gatting into cps:)

Wow, this place IS full of retards. I can't stand bouncers but what you just said is one of the most stupid things i've read on here.

I know a few bouncers myself, off the top of my head...

One of them plays for Connaught Rugby
    One of them is doing Medicine
    One of them is doign Civil Law

JohnCleary wrote:
    Wow, this place IS full of retards. I can't stand bouncers but what you just said is one of the most stupid things i've read on here.

Hear hear!

One of my mates runs his own business, is minted and only bouncers for the social side or as a favour to his friends.

just cause u have some kind of day job that pays above the average does not make u good with people. as i said most of the bouncers in cp/halo are sound and genuine but this guy is totally wrong for the job. the few dealings ive had with him i have not rised to him and this annoys him so now he refuses entry to me. one time he even told me it was not for my attitude in the club it was my attitude outside the club!!!!! explain that please????? i dont act like some deranged lunatic outside the club, i would nearly always not have had that much drink taken (and if i did i would be a lot more sober than most of the people going in) i keep good company and i dress as the club requires. so if this guy really hasnt got a personal issue with me then whats the problem?????:confused:

There's only one thing to do...

Egg his house this halloween!

That'll let him know that you mean business.

Alternatively, you could lodge a formal complaint.. they might not do anything about it straight away, but it sure as hell will go down on record somewhere!

sure who we would listen??? once you take one drink you're wrong. this is the best it gets really.

Nah.. I don't mean prattle on!

I mean, go to management on their time... preferable when the club is closed. Speak to them in person and tell them your problem.

Alternatively write a scathing letter about the person.

i did contact mgt and they said they would deal with it and took my number and said they would call me back at 10:30 that night after speaking to the relevant people. of course i never recieved a call back but when i returned to the club i informed this bouncer that i had spoken to mgt and they said they would ring me or to ask for this particular member of mgt if i had any further problems. when i said this to him he said the mgr was not working so i asked for another. this mgr who seemed like a decent person then informs me that the other mgr had said for me to call in at 10:30 that night and not that they would contact me!! how foolish of me to think they would ring me! but they did say they would and did take my number. maybe the mgr was just backing his staff and probably rightly so. on a final note there should be some sort of body that protects the consumer in cases like this but who can really judge who is right or wrong. i would question this bouncers credability and judgement but i do know i have done nothing wrong. if only i could name and shame!!!!!!!!!!

AMEN:)

What I find funny is, I will only go to CP if I am absolutily sh1tfaced before I go in. I have never been refused admission, and rarely get asked for ID (I'm only 20 and don't look all that old)

I guess it's cause of a few things. Mainly cause I just stare the bouncers in the eye, don't say anything except nod. Once or twice while gettin asked for ID I got the "Where were you before this/were you drinking much". I just give them a blank look and say "I wish man, just came straight out work" ... It's excellent, they always just say "have a good night" and I stumble in

"The legend that is JohnCleary", a whimsical tale of debauchery, action and love from Galway's gritty underworld. Inside John reveals some of his best kept secrets to the world. How does John always manage to get into CPs without trouble, where does he hide that bottle of buckfast when the police come knocking? All this and more inside. On sale now for €12.99 at all semi-decent bookstores... like Eason's or something like that!

There's more... my ID doesn't say JOHN CLEARY!!!

Oh, and that buckfast? It's in the Coke bottle muwahahahah!

JohnCleary wrote:

Im not here to scrap with anyone,but dont call me a retard,when your under the impression that just because your studying law or medicine makes you any less of an ape on the door of of a nightclub.

Me? Law? Are you mad? I run my own business, screw talking fancy and lying for a living.

Also... Me? Ape? Are you mad? OK i'm hairy, but a lot smaller than an ape

Damn retards :rolleyes:

My point was that you were generalising. Don't generalise, it's not good for the brain. I know LOTS of bouncers that put up with total cr4p from idiot's that think they know it all (Prob me included after a bucket load of pints) and they have to be smart and civilised when dealing with the situation. Tough sh1t if you get caught by one of the bad guys, guess your a sh1t magnet lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Cheesemaker: It's a bit rich of you to say that after your earlier post. Cop on.

Darrenh: Paragraph

Drake: *sigh*

Everyone: Don't force us to lock this thread.

forget about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Aww coem on John this board would be no fun without me flaming threads ;D

SyxPak wrote:
    Darrenh: Paragraph

lol

lol

and
    here's