Problem with Neighbours Brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Gautama

ravenhead wrote:
    I'm so p'd off. Is there anything that I can do about this????:(

You don't want to read this but...

Is it that important in the whole scheme of things?
    What does this guy do for a living/spare time? If he's got time on his hands, as I suspect, you're playing into them.
    Ignore it if you can, find alternative parking arrangements. If you did the latter, then what he does no longer matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

If your not a big fan of confrontation then I've a few suggestions for you.

First off you need to clarify that drive way your talking about. You need to go to the Local County council and ask them what that drive way/ lane is exactly classified in there records. You should also pop in to a solicitors office and explain the situation to them. Would be worth asking them what way they would interpret the ownership or status of that lane i.e a public place or not.

Once you have that information you are in a position to do something more about this. If the drive way/ lane is indeed your property. Then he is tresspassing on your property and are fully entitled to have it removed AND gardai can act on that if your prepared to make a statement. if it's a public place. Then he is still in the wrong by blocking you and again Gardai can have it moved but no need for the statement in relation to tresspassing.

I would also like to point out that this guy hit your car and then legged it. That is a Hit and Run accident and he could be looking at several large fines in court. That is to say if what you say is true and the paint scrappings are still there on your and his car to prove it, either way the Gardai can investigate it. Either way this guy may start to sweat if the Gardai get involved.

Another point is about your tyres being slashed. If you think it was him then use that against him too. If you decided to contact the Gardai, be sure to mention that as well. That is Criminal Damage but would be hard to prove thou and the longer you leave it, the worse it looks. If your worried about your car and house then I would get a CCTV camera installed covering your drive / house and make sure he sees it going up too. Sends a strong message and he'll be fooked if he does anything.

Finally, he is harrassing you yes. From what you have wrote, if it is all correct. Then yes that is considered harrassment in the eyes of the law and you certainly shouldnt suffer silently.

I am reminded by a quote from Edmund Burke "All that is necessary for evil to succeed is that good men do nothing."

Dont stand for it, instead stand up for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭coyote6

You'll need a cable approx. 6 feet long w/ lock hooks at each end. You'll also need two padlocks. Simply lock the frame or muffler of his car to your choice of immovable objects and see what happens.

Just a thought....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Big Ears

coyote6 wrote:
    You'll need a cable approx. 6 feet long w/ lock hooks at each end. You'll also need two padlocks. Simply lock the frame or muffler of his car to your choice of immovable objects and see what happens.

Just a thought....:D

While we're on the topic of highly illegal solutions , why don't you steal his car and sell it.............

My neighbor in the village I grew up in had an awful problem. His house was down behind mine and the way you get to it was to drive down a small road that was between my house and a pub. On many occasions when the pub's carpark was full, people would park in their laneway/driveway thus blocking their own cars from exiting and leaving. So he'd go out, get lipstick/permenant marker/tipex and write all over the car.

Long story short, people soon learned not to park there.

I'm not recommending you do this, as you would be criminally damaging this persons car, and putting you in a worse position. Get a cctv camera like someone suggested before.

Plus if the gardai go to noisy house parties, then I'm sure they'd go to something like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭coyote6

Another less destructive option is the old chicken and broccoli trick. You crawl underneath the engine area and stuff a frozen whole chicken in a nice hot but very secure place (every car is different). Do the same with a large head of broccoli. In due time the stench is the most horrendous funk imaginable. The nice fella' may never now how this brand of justice was visited on him but you will. You'll laugh every time you see him. Just for sport sniff the air and ask if he smells anything!

Mind you, I've just "heard" of this trick.;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Perfect solution = Move to the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

If you have a camcorder get some footage of this scrotum acting the bollocks. Even set it recording as you leave the house one day. (or get the mother to record him)

Pound of suger in his petrol tank should sort things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭kdouglas

oh ffs.... just go and ask the guy can he not park in front of your drive, be polite and courteous and see what he says, if he gets pissed off/threatens you etc... then go to the gardai, if he apologises and doesnt do it again then your problem is solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

Sugar in the petrol tank does nothing (according to MythBusters). Bleach on the otherhand will do the job quite nicely :p

If you are looking for a legal way to seek revenge, deflate his tires, unscrew the dirtcap on the valves, and use the back of a spoon to press on that pin inside, letting the air out. It is perfectly legal as it causes no damage. Just be sure you dont get caught though ;)
    Dead fish in around the engine block is another good one, and again causes no damage.

But as they say, two wrongs dont make a right. Just get some video evidence and call the guards. Let them deal with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

ravenhead wrote:
    anybody that doesn't either live there or isnt there visiting someone that lives there really shouldn't have any right to be parked there.
    Says who? Is this your opinion, or a condition included in the mangement company rules for the estate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

RainyDay wrote:
    Says who? Is this your opinion, or a condition included in the mangement company rules for the estate?

Council will see about resident only parking if it is non-residents screwing up for people living there.

anyway the guy is illegally parked. You could even ring a wheel clamping company, they would be more then happy to take it away as they get commission.

Hobbes wrote:
    Council will see about resident only parking if it is non-residents screwing up for people living there.

anyway the guy is illegally parked. You could even ring a wheel clamping company, they would be more then happy to take it away as they get commission.
    This is rubbish. No wheel clamping company is going to get involved unless they have a contract from the owners of the land in question. If this is a private estate (typically a 'gated community'), the owners of the common areas would be the management company.

If it is a public road, then it is a matter for the gardai or local authority traffic warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

Sugar in the petrol tank does nothing (according to MythBusters). Bleach on the otherhand will do the job quite nicely :p

If you are looking for a legal way to seek revenge, deflate his tires, unscrew the dirtcap on the valves, and use the back of a spoon to press on that pin inside, letting the air out. It is perfectly legal as it causes no damage. Just be sure you dont get caught though ;)
    Dead fish in around the engine block is another good one, and again causes no damage.

But as they say, two wrongs dont make a right. Just get some video evidence and call the guards. Let them deal with him.

Bleach in the fuel tank would cause quite abit of damage to the vehicle. Thats Criminal damage and thus would be your self in trouble if he saw you / reported you.

Also messing with his tyres, dirtcaps etc. That is also illegal. Interfering with a mechanically propelled vehicle, I think it's Section 113 of the Road Traffic Act if you want to look it up.

As for the lads arguing about the parking issue. It's private property. Council have neither the interest or power to do anything about it. It is the responsibility of the property owner to report / complain about infringements upon or against his property. Clampers? lol, I'd love to hire a clamper and send them to Buncrana to 'clamp' somebody, get them out of our hair for a day :D.

To the OP, have you ever spoken to your neighbour about this? For all we and you know is, your neighbour sees that area as his drive way and that YOU have been blocking it up for ages and his son is taking action on behalf of him or with him. A little communication is needed I think, the worst they can do if you go talk to them is roar and shout at you that your a ***** etc etc. Try approach them first. Be a man about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sounds like hes a right bollocks OP. To take the mature approach about it, confront him and if he doesn't change to suit you, the landowner and residents needs, then get the Gardaí/relevant authorities involved.

Tbh, after all hes done, I'd probably retaliate in some way or another. Considering hes damaged your own car, if I were in the situation it'd take some major convincing to stop me taking revenge on his car. Perhaps it could involve a bottle of paint stripper and a golf club :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dixiefly

The truth is that the OP is probably a bit like I am and is naturally reluctant to take the law into his/ her own hands. If you are not street wise chances are that you will get caught in the act.

If it was me I think that I would thread carefully but resolutely and do the following.
    1. Get the FACTS regarding your rights legally in relation to this.
    2. Check with other neighbours. Chances are that this dickhead has pissed some others off. Try and get a feel for what course of action that they feel are appropriate - after all they are closer to the situation than we are. Also point out how upsetting this is for you and your mum.
    3. I would decide the next step based on the above but if there is nothing clear then I would approach the owner or main tenant of the house IF YOU FEEL THAT THEY ARE APPROACHABLE. Explain the situation and that it is upsetting & inconveniencing you and your mum. If it is a rebntal situation you may be better advised approaching the owner of the property.
    4. if the above does not work then I would approach your solicitor or citizens advice bureau. In the end you have to insist that your rights are not infringed by this a*sehole.

In my opinion if you start to play dirty you are descending to this dickheads way of approaching things and the chances are that he has an awful lot more experience at playing dirty (and not getting caught ) than you do.

I hope it works out for you. This type of crap is a real pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Christ, Surely the first thing to do is obvious?

Go up and knock on his door and ask to move his car. If he doesnt do that then go to the guards or whatever. If you call the guards before even taking to the fella you will look like a right bellend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Accuse him of sexually harrassing your mother.. looking through the window etc with his pants down.. stealing knickers from the washing line.. that should get the Gaurds over pretty quick..

TK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭custardcreams

i have not read all the posts:

- ignore him until confronted and if he is lurking around bins bring a hurley with you to the car - its innocuous to the average morning jogger but good defence -

1. Keep a detailed diary of events
    Date - Time - particulars of events (no emotion just fact). This is the quantitative evidence required to map out a history or trend.
    2. Webcam hooked up to the outside window and record events. Even if you have to have one of your mates in there for 5 mornings you may get a gem piece of video evidence. (no shouting by you or mate to your man of ''i have ya now ya c0nt ya".
    3. In the diary have a qualitative section - this is where you can give how you feel and describe each and every impact on your life. If you have had anything happen negative try and show how this has amplified things.

or

Back of a shovel......he sounds like hes got too much time on his hands and needs a hiding.

Personally i would play him at this own game and as your case file grows so too will your sense of control of the situation and thus you can start ****ing him over. do a google on him, try and find out everything you can...check his tax disk, is he on the dole and working ---- destroy his life ---

if he is snaking around beside your wheelie bin rig up some kind of sas ho chi ming trail type trap for the f'ucko..it could be as crude as simply having your mam pull a cable and a freeze block caves in his cranium...nice

defending your property and the property of dublin city council -there is not a court in the land that would convict you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

You need to discuss this with your neighbour. Explain the hassle that it is causing you and ask him to tell his brother to desist.

If the neighbour gets defensive, tell him that you hope is brother is killed in a car crash. He won't be expecting it - after all nobody wants to hear that about themselves or a sibling - and it will possibly shake him up.

not sure thats a good idea....as thats heading towards assault and could be construed as intimidation possibly if it escalated, disturbing the peace etc. Thats giving him the advantage. And if someone said that to me on my doorstep there would be a head thrown.

i like your style though brian - the old shock tactic and maybe add a tazer to the balls in there to add to the shock spice tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭fatherdougalmag

You should at least log the issue with the local Garda. There should be a community garda who works in the station. He/she should get involved in issues that aren't major things - stuff like this. Of course, the first thing they'll ask is if you have asked the other party to stop doing this or why they are doing it. If you haven't done this, at least do it. If you don't get a satisfactory answer then get onto the community garda. Other party sounds like it wouldn't take much to trigger him on to something more sinister. And if things get like that then at least you will have the positive history with the garda station. You should at least log events yourself too to back up what the gardaí have in their log book as sometimes that isn't the most reliable journal of events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

First off, knock on his door and ask him to move it. Make sure he realises this is in actual fact "not" a request.

If he refuses, calmly go and call guards, tell them that you are prepared to tackle him right now if they dont turn up. (sorry if any guard out there takes offence to this, but its my experience that you guys often dont show up for over an hour if you dont think its that important in *your* opinion).

When guard arrives, explain to him / her the history and they will ask him to move his car and warn him. Also ask guard to ask the "community guard" to get in touch.

Failing all that, give your mother a pellet gun for new years ;)

B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

OP, no offence here but you're being a right chump and letting the guy walk all over you. you're not a doormat so wake up. go to the gardai and get it sorted already. thats what they're there for. the "i dont want to cause hastle" excuse is BS, he's causing you hastle so the least you can do is give him some back, only you're doing it legally.

also, the hiding behind the bin, is SO harrasment, and also freaky :eek:

dont be a doormat all yer life, wake up and realise whats going on.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I had a neighbours drunken friend leave a minivan parked across my drive. No answer on any of the neighbours house so I rang the cop shop. Five minutes later she had ticket for dangerous parking. They also found the owner from the reg and contacted her, drove her down in the back of the squad and had her shift it. She was very apologetic about it though. :)

Another time, different car. It was a small car so I decided to test the handbrake. Got got behind it and pushed the offending contraption away.

If you are blocked in it's dangerous. Ring the cops and tell them you have to go to the doc / hospital and you're blocked in.

I would definately go for one of those cctv things that you can plug into your dvd / vcr recorder. Cheap and if you follow it up with the cops they will have to investigate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

RainyDay wrote:
    This is rubbish. No wheel clamping company is going to get involved unless they have a contract from the owners of the land in question. If this is a private estate (typically a 'gated community'), the owners of the common areas would be the management company.

If it is a public road, then it is a matter for the gardai or local authority traffic warden.

Parking in front of someones driveway is illegal. If they live in an area where wheel clamping goes on, yes they will clamp and take the car if you give them a ring.

Hobbes wrote:
    Parking in front of someones driveway is illegal. If they live in an area where wheel clamping goes on, yes they will clamp and take the car if you give them a ring.
    You seem to be still confused. If it is a public roadway, then yes, it is illegal, but no wheel clamping company will have anything to do with it (except where the driveway is in a clamping area, like Dublin city centre). If it is with a gated community or private estate which hasn't been taken in charge by the council, then parking in front of a driveway is not illegal, simply because it is private property. It is up to the owners of the property (typically the management company) to lay down conditions to all leaseholders about how the property is to be managed in such cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

Bleach in the fuel tank would cause quite abit of damage to the vehicle. Thats Criminal damage and thus would be your self in trouble if he saw you / reported you.

Also messing with his tyres, dirtcaps etc. That is also illegal. Interfering with a mechanically propelled vehicle, I think it's Section 113 of the Road Traffic Act if you want to look it up.
    That was a sarcastic joke ;)

It was legally established that deflating a vehicles tires does not constitute a criminal act, I assumed it would be the same here.

Here is the relevent section of the Road Traffic Act 1961
    113. —(1) A person shall not, without lawful authority or reasonable cause, interfere or attempt to interfere with the mechanism of a mechanically propelled vehicle while it is stationary in a public place, or get on or into or attempt to get on or into the vehicle while it is so stationary.

(4) This section shall not apply to a person taking, in relation to a mechanically propelled vehicle which is obstructing his lawful ingress or egress to or from any place, such steps as are reasonably necessary to move the vehicle by human propulsion for a distance sufficient to terminate the obstruction.
    The vehicle is not in a public place. It was on her private property. But that is besides the point, calling the guards and letting them deal with the scumbag is the best solution to the problem.