Unwanted presents anyone?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

hehe
    *my* familly know how to do xmas gifts......
    A xmas card with sum nice little slips of colored paper with holographic strips, useful for goods and services you *really* want.
    My OH knows exactly what to get me and got me some amazing gifts, I think he reads minds *creepy music*.

B ;)

(Even still, next year this "santa" guy I keep hearing about, better leave me one of these or I will stop believing in him, he has one apparently, all souped up, painted red and attached to some reindeer, feckin ba$tard! *grrr)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 TinnnA

I got Nivea for oily hair instead of Nivea volume, about which i told my father christmas about. I guess my santa is blind :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

I pretty much appreciate all gifts I get but I have to say I was a tad disappointed when I got a lynx giftset from an eldery relative, especially since I'm a girl:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

Is it in a "massage parlour" by any chance?

My sister got one or two unwanted presents methinks.
    From you?:D
    Judt wrote:

Still, I got a few nice surprises. A friend got me a USB powered cup warmer, which will come in exceptionally handy - one of those cool things I could never have been bothered to get myself.
    Oh i got one of those for my mam, except i got it for free. I mean your friend probably paid for it.....probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Plug wrote:
    quote of the year:D

*edit* ah **** never thought of a shower!

Ooohhh errr, what an honour :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

PJ's (could set up my own PJ shop at this stage)
    Bath, shower and lotion sets (my in-laws must think I'm filthy and smelly)
    Kids got lots of toys (can't move in my own sitting room, living room already bursting at seams with their old toys) and clothes (no room in their wardrobes and dressing tables to fit them all in )
    Table mats (to be stored in cupboard along with 2 other sets gotten for us in the past, still unwrapped)
    Chocolates, chocolates and more chocolates
    I'll be bringing in sacks to St. Vincent de Paul in a few days, but I don't think anybody will want them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ha! Ha!

Your families are all crap. I got some good stuff that I will actually watch/read/use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

AnonoBoy wrote:
    Ha! Ha!

Your families are all crap. I got some good stuff that I will actually watch/read/use.
    What? It doesn't make families crap if they buy you stuff you don't want. It's the thought that counts!

Can't stand people who bitch about their presents if/when they don't get what they want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i got vouchers of some store I never heard of.

dunne & Crescenzi

I'm hoping its a brothel.

EDIT: Oh its some italian food place...cool. (google be thy friend)

would I look like a cheapskate if I used a voucher on a date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

would I look like a cheapskate if I used a voucher on a date?
    Yes ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well I asked my Kris Kindle for the book 'Señor Nice', by Howard Marks. But they thought that I was just speaking in Spanish for the craic :), so they got me 'Mr Nice', which I already have!

Other than that little mix-up, can't think of anything really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I got a homer simpson tie...... My mothers idea of a joke.

A pizza wheel.....

And chinese plum wine.....

Ill swap all these for some stale crust.. happily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Beau x1 wrote:
    Haha bet it'll come useful someday =P

Nah, not with dictionary.com and the rest. Such handy sites tbh.

Well the Englishdictionary yes because the whole family uses itso it's all battered and worn at this stage. The others...not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I got a fairly gay t-shirt that I doubt I will ever wear!

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

My worst was a bank draft that I got today. The amount was not massive - But I feel very awarkawd in accepting it.

The amount while not massive was too much as a Christmas gift.

If I return it - I am afraid I'll cause offence.

But I would prefer the person who gave it to me - to spend it on themselves.

I would have prefer if it was never given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

I got some 'Glitter Bath Fizzers' which will apparently fill my bath water with glitter that clings to the skin, so even after washing I will probably still have glitter all over me, in my hair, and in turn it will probably get all over my clothes. That might be fun if I was about 12 but why someone would think that's a suitable present for a 30 year old woman, I'm really not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I got nothing that I didn't want or won't use, except some unwanted text messages and a few horrible hangovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

nothing that I can think of. My brother & myself both got each other the same dvd, but as its someone we both like (Dylan Moran's new one), tis grand! Also got the same perfume set from 2 people, but again, its one I like, so if I can't swap one, I'll use it eventually.
    Got a ****load of cds & dvds that I wanted and a few vouchers and stuff.. Very happy really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Mairt wrote:
    Mines' a full body massage voacher.

Why wouldn't you use it? I got one too & will definitely use it.

I know I'm a female, but I got one for my dad the other year & he loved it. My brother actually asked for a voucher for one this year & having just recently completed a massage course, I've given my OH a good few massages which he loved (no smart comments please...) They're so relaxing that I can't understand why more people don't go for them....

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Chocolate fondue maker. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Ooh Chocolate fondue is awesome! Try it with marsmallows and strawberries and bananas *nyoms*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The most unwanted thing I got was a new pair of slippers.
    My ma, god bless her has been beggin me to throw out my current pair (which she bought me!) because they are a little worn.

The cheek of her. Now I have to be on gaurd, lest I come home and find the pair I like in the bin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭lilrayosunshine

I got everything I asked for and nothing extra on top.. I like when people listen to you and get what you ask for..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Mairt wrote:
    Mines' a full body massage voacher.

I've as much interest in a full body massage as I have of being hit by a bus!.
    If the voucher is usable in Dublin, feel free to send it my direction. Many people would very happily make use of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Yet another white sweater. I have six white sweaters. I do not wear white sweaters. Quit buying me white sweaters! :p

And this one is so big I could fit someone else in it with me! WTF!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lust4Life wrote:
    Yet another white sweater. I have six white sweaters. I do not wear white sweaters. Quit buying me white sweaters! :p

And this one is so big I could fit someone else in it with me! WTF!?

Stick it in with a load of black washing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

A ghastly jumper which i wouldn't be seen dead outside my front door in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Flights to my now ex boyfriend's sister's wedding. :|
    All i wanted was a pair of Heelys :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

My aunt did a bang up job on presents this year.
    She gave me the American Idol collectors cd from season 3 - I don't even watch American Idol. She got my mom a pop-up book of phobias. And she got my dad a bag of cake mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭madhitchhiker

ashtray :mad: and i don't even hold a cigarette!:confused: