Daybreak: Season 1 Discussion :: Episode 1&2 Poll [SPOILERS]

• 17-11-2006 08:17AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭

What did u all think i like it i know its just groundhog day with more action but i loved that movie and this show seems decent enough

Rate These Episodes 9 votes

Amazing - I Will Definatly Keep Watching
    0%
    22%
    T-b0n3mikeruurds 2 votes
    0%
    22%
    Mr EUser45701 2 votes
    44%
    Basqmickstvnutzpaulr 4 votes
    11%
    sweetie 1 vote
    0%
    0%
    0%
    1 - A Few More Like This And Ill Stop Watching
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,436 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Thought it was decent.. first episode was very good, second one not so much (though the shoot-out at the start was good). Enjoyed the whole "decision.. consequence" stuff.

But essentially, i don't know how well it it'll hold my interest. I mean.. it's essentially trial and error... he'll wake up, try something new and inevitably fail (probably at the last minute) until the last episode (13).

Taye Diggs also can't act.. at all. But apparently, it's not til next week's episode that we get a bit of humour in there and that could work in it's favour.

Also if he has to explain what's going on (regarding Garza's murder) it in every episode to Rita and the partner again, i think i'll slowly lose my mind!

Gave it 7 / 10.

PS - Though Rita, played by Moon Bloodgold (her parents must have hippies, either that or she was raised a vampire and a werewolf.. ba-dum-tish!), was smokin'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,791 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Moon Bloodgold? Holy moley.... :)

I thought it was decent enough. All the clichés were there (radio starting on a particular channel, plate knocked over, an accident, a sports result, trying to stay awake) etc., and they were all dealt with or highlighted in the first episode.

My problem is how long they can repeat the same day without the show getting boring (or before glaring holes in the plot start appearing).

Thought Taye Digges was OK, to be honest.

I'll be watching this for a while to see how it goes. I'm guessing it'll be a 13 week-er until the return of Lost.

WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR DAY BREAK
    Today Detective Brett Hopper will be accused of shooting state attorney Alberto Garza. He will offer his rock solid alibi. He will realize he's been framed. And he will run. Then he will wake up and start the day over again.

In the interest of keeping discussion on a specific show / episodes together, this is a general discussion thread for discussing said show during it's upcoming season.

EDIT: And to take a leaf from iguana's book:
    On this thread the first person to start discussing a new episode must begin their post with a large, bold type "*****Episode (whichever number it is)*****" Then move down several lines, as above, so nobody accidentally reads something they don't wish to.

Comments on episodes which have aired on ABC do not need to be spoilered as long as they are beneath a post demarking that episode. Discussions about previews/spoilers for episodes not yet shown on NBC must be kept in spoilers.
    ***** Episode 1 & 2 *****

Thought it was decent.. first episode was very good, second one not so much (though the shoot-out at the start was good). Enjoyed the whole "decision.. consequence" stuff.

But essentially, i don't know how well it it'll hold my interest. I mean.. it's essentially trial and error... he'll wake up, try something new and inevitably fail (probably at the last minute) until the last episode (13).

Taye Diggs also can't act.. at all. But apparently, it's not til next week's episode that we get a bit of humour in there and that could work in it's favour.

Also if he has to explain what's going on (regarding Garza's murder) it in every episode to Rita and the partner again, i think i'll slowly lose my mind!

Gave it 7 / 10.

PS - Though Rita, played by Moon Bloodgold (her parents must have hippies, either that or she was raised a vampire and a werewolf.. ba-dum-tish!), was smokin'!

Season discussion thread here.. this whole weekly poll thing has to stop.

And User45701.. don't bother posting anything about weekly polls / complaints into that thread.

Heh.... what about User432432543's poll? :)

I thought it was decent enough. All the clichés were there (radio starting on a particular channel, plate knocked over, an accident, a sports result, trying to stay awake) etc., and they were all dealt with or highlighted in the first episode.

My problem is how long they can repeat the same day without the show getting boring (or before glaring holes in the plot start appearing).

Thought Taye Digges was OK, to be honest.

I'll be watching this for a while to see how it goes. I'm guessing it'll be a 13 week-er until the return of Lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

I give it an 8. Sorry wrong thread:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i think he just wants to post polls :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

basquille wrote:
    Season discussion thread here.. this whole weekly poll thing has to stop.

And User45701.. don't bother posting anything about weekly polls / complaints into that thread.

basquille
    Mod: Bargain Alerts, Lost, Music, Music Reviews, Prison Break

Should this not be the decision of someone from the television forum or else an Admin Devore, Clowd, Exor, Ruu ect. (sry if i left someone out i am in a rush to the shop)

One more thing Your topic on Daylight was posted at 10.14 today and mine was posted at 7.17 today so are you not double posting? is that not against boards rules? i have no interest in arguing this but my topic has priority since it was posted 1st. You could have just edited my title to say "Daybreak Season 1 Discussion And Episode 1&2 Poll"

It does not matter i have done it now.
    This thread now has more use than yours because not only was it posted 1st but it is also for season discussion AND it has a poll people to rate the 1st 2 episodes so people can quickly get a idea of what others thought of these episodes

User45701 wrote:
    Should this not be the decision of someone from the television forum or else an Admin
    Didn't byte already make a decision on this regarding 'Heroes'?

The whole weekly poll takes just takes up far too space and is pointless.. you've been told this by practically the entire range of users browsing the TV forum and yet you consist in posting this. Take a hint for fecks sake!
    User45701 wrote:
    One more thing Your topic on Daylight was posted at 10.14 today and mine was posted at 7.17 today so are you not double posting? is that not against boards rules? i have no interest in arguing this but my topic has priority since it was posted 1st. You could have just edited my title to say "Daybreak Season 1 Discussion And Episode 1&2 Poll"

It does not matter i have done it now.
    Couldn't edit your title.. i'm not a mod on the TV forum.

No interest in arguing this topic? Really? Cos you've taken up the guts of about 3 threads on Heroes and other shows arguing this poll crap.

My SEASON-wide discussion was posted before you edited yours to include this.. so no offence but you're being a tad childish.

basquille wrote:
    Didn't byte already make a decision on this regarding 'Heroes'?

The whole weekly poll takes just takes up far too space and is pointless.. you've been told this by practically the entire range of users browsing the TV forum and yet you consist in posting this. Take a hint for fecks sake!

Couldn't edit your title.. i'm not a mod on the TV forum.

No interest in arguing this topic? Really? Cos you've taken up the guts of about 3 threads on Heroes and other shows arguing this poll crap.

My SEASON-wide discussion was posted before you edited yours to include this.. so no offence but you're being a tad childish.

No offence taken

What is annoying me is the fact that i have not had a proper answer to my suggestion.

Every week a topic is created Ex "Daybreak Season 1, Episodes 1&2 [SPOILERS]" (poll inc)

Then for 1 week people vote and talk about the episode. one week later i will create a topic called "Daybreak Season 1 Discussion And Episode 3 Poll [SPOILERS]"

Now what happens is the previous topic from last week ("Daybreak Season 1, Episodes 1&2 [SPOILERS]" (poll inc)) is merged with the new thread "Daybreak Season 1 Discussion And Episode 3 Poll [SPOILERS]"

This way every week there is a new poll for each episode and there is also a single thread for episode discussion because each week the previous thread is merged with the new one so there is no clutter and there is still a poll on the most recent episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

I see you've started something of a crusade

Why do care so much for polls?

User45701 wrote:
    ... because each week the previous thread is merged with the new one ....
    What about the poor mods who have to do this pointless housekeeping every time there is a new episode of Heroes/Day Break/Dexter/<insert show name here>. They have better things to be doing.

Dave,

[sarcasm]

Has <insert show name here> started yet? It does sound like a good 'un!

[/sarcasm]

SofaKing wrote:

Why do care so much for polls?

because i like to know what Irish people here think of tv shows.
    If you look at a episode or movie with a poll there are always more votes than there are posts (unless the same people post multiple times and are having a conversation)
    So by having a poll you get the opinion of more people, this matters to me because i fear new shows getting canceled and the ratings in these polls will give me a heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

basquille wrote:

T'was grand episode, i reckon i'll watch it for the eye candy at the very least...
    You gotta love the whack name... and this is the type of moon i'd like to see tonight --> moon-bloodgood-gm_l2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

People shouldn't worry what it can do for a second season. It didn;t awful it the ratings with 28million watching Dancing with the Stars only 14 million watched the begining and only 8 million were left after 2 hours.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

User45701 wrote:
    No offence taken

What is annoying me is the fact that i have not had a proper answer to my suggestion.

Every week a topic is created Ex "Daybreak Season 1, Episodes 1&2 [SPOILERS]" (poll inc)

Then for 1 week people vote and talk about the episode. one week later i will create a topic called "Daybreak Season 1 Discussion And Episode 3 Poll [SPOILERS]"

Now what happens is the previous topic from last week ("Daybreak Season 1, Episodes 1&2 [SPOILERS]" (poll inc)) is merged with the new thread "Daybreak Season 1 Discussion And Episode 3 Poll [SPOILERS]"

This way every week there is a new poll for each episode and there is also a single thread for episode discussion because each week the previous thread is merged with the new one so there is no clutter and there is still a poll on the most recent episodes.
    No, that suggestion is not going to work. I'm not going to merge threads willy nilly just so you can have a pointless poll. And yes, it is pointless. People can discuss the show, after all, it is a discussion board!

The threads on shows will take the form, as laid out by basquille, above on Post 4.

Both your thread and that of basquille have been merged.

Proper order.
    Let that be an end to it.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I'm glad somebody agrees with me!

Anyway, just in case it's not overly clear, I have no problems with a seperate thread for each Series, just not for each episode.

Now, back on topic...

why was this thread renamed?

It originally said

"Day Break, Season 1 Discussion And Episode I and II Poll [SPOILERS]"

The name being edited seems very petty and there is no good reason for to have been edited

Episode 3

Good enough episode will keep watching but it will be interesting to see how fresh the show stays repeating the same day over and over

User45701 wrote:
    why was this thread renamed?

It originally said

"Day Break, Season 1 Discussion And Episode I and II Poll [SPOILERS]"

The name being edited seems very petty and there is no good reason for to have been edited
    I'd presume to keep in tradition with the other thread titles dedicated to shows:

"<Title of Show> [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]".. it however seems even more petty to comment on it tbh so let's just leave it there.

PS - episode 3 was a bit meh!

why has this rule never been enforced before? i could probably drag up 10 links for topics on series that arnt of that format

EDIT:

Thanks.
    TBH i felt that it was changed just to annoy me cause ppl know i like my polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Good show so far, it'll do until Lost get backs..
    I like how any injury hopper receives carries onto the next day, he has to watch himself a bit now, if he doesn't want every damn bone in his body broken...

And damn, Moon Bloodgood is one of thee nicest laydees i've seen in any tv show... especially when she gets up outa bed in the mornings....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Having watched the three episodes I am not entirely convinced by it. As posted earlier Episode 1 was unconvincing and Episode 2 pushed the story along quite nicely. With the current episode I don't get the impression that there is actually a story worth talking about. Moon Bloodgood does indeed light up the screen but the rest of it is almost like the writer used every draft he has written of the first day as a "series". I don't know about anyone else but I am already sick of the sight of the cardboard Adam Baldwin and Mitch Pileggi. I am also puzzled about
    The Use of Day 1 and Day 2 subtitles: How can that be , it's the same day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭tvnutz

3 episodes? I thought there was only 2 shown?

anyway I liked it,it will keep my interest until Lost returns,and I think it will serve the show well if it only last for the 13 episodes. If you drag it on any longer it will just get boring and Ill lose interest.

And Adam Baldwin is great,have you never seen Firefly? Jayne the Hero of Canten! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

tvnutz wrote:

Number three was this week. Agree on 13 episodes. I normally like Adam Baldwin but he ain't got much to do here.

tvnutz wrote:
    The first night it was shown had two episodes..
    tvnutz wrote:
    And Adam Baldwin is great,have you never seen Firefly? Jayne the Hero of Canten! :D
    Jayne rules all..

"What y'all order a dead guy for?!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

is_that_so wrote:
    The Use of Day 1 and Day 2 subtitles: How can that be , it's the same day?
    Time is running forwards for the cop, just not for everyone else. It's not like groundhog day as it appears he can actually die and carries on all damage from the previous day

It shows promise, as long as the is a reason for the rewinds thats tied in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Saw the first 3 episodes over the weekend. It's alright, i'm noticing a few inconsistencies tho.... was chad aware that rita and yer man were goin out?
    anyway with the whole him staying in his own time frame while the rest of the world goes back is very interesting but i have a few niggles with it.

1. if he can carry injuries to the next day, and slowly heal, why does he not have to shave his face and head?
    2. he hasnt showered since day 1, its like...day 5/6 now, he must smell BAD.
    3.how come his cell phone seems to be aging with him? in the last episode he had low battery but not the previous ones...and why doesnt the clothes he wears age then?

And it's not as if i'm being pedantic, we all know the physics is pure ****e, but at least have some continuity!