why do english commentators say

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Lurk

ArthurF wrote:
    These islands have been next door to each other since the beginning of time, and the Brits still consider us to be connected to them (which we are) through blood ties/ culture/ language/ heritage & in many other ways!
    Several of the countries on the European continent are separated by nothing but a border, yet you don't see Italy, for example, claiming certain Frenchmen as their own.
    Have to say, I do get annoyed when UK broadcasters describe Irish celebrities as British, but it's more a reflection on their lack of research/interest I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Did you just bump this so you could use the term British Isles...? Seems like you did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

see it's http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/5402286.stm this kind of cack that gets' my goat.

A play, written by a Mick, in Paris, is a 'defining moment in british theatre'....

christ almighty... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

But it is ironicly, just like Francis Bacons' work. The reason its not wrong is becuase of the impact both had on the British artistic scene.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Was talking to a dude from Switzerland about this years ago, and he told me that German sports commentators will frequently refer to German-speaking swiss sportspeople as German. Unless they are doing badly of course...

On a similar note, I heard once that Russell Crowe is actually from New Zealand, but his agent has convinced everyone that he is from Australia, as that was "cooler". Can't remember where I heard that, though.

Crowe is a Kiwi moved to Aus at 4.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Thank you to all the good humoured and reasonable people who have posted on this thread. After 35 years in Ireland you would think I would be used to it but I've had the 800 years of oppression line put to me twice in the last ten days or so. Its very depressing being personally responsible for Irish history. My husband says I'm paranoid but he's Irish. I wouldn't have posted this if I hadn't had a couple of glasses of wine with my dinner! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

mike65 wrote:
    Why do the Irish claim so many, not born here, as Irish esp so called "Irish-Americans"? All countries do this and why is AH full of anti british/english threads today?

Mike.
    We don't claim Irish-Americans, we disown them.

mike65 wrote:
    But it is ironicly, just like Francis Bacons' work. The reason its not wrong is becuase of the impact both had on the British artistic scene.

Mike.
    See, i'd have said it had an impact on the artistic scene in general - not just the 'british' one, if you know what i mean. I don't, or at least i try not, to bristle at the notion of foreign commentators claiming ours as theirs, 'cos of plenty of posters here have said it shows a level of insecurity that really isn't healthy...

I just have a problem with the sort of laziness, i guess, that one *tends* to notice more in the media on t'other side of the Irish Sea, where something has to have a *British* tag to make it relevant to the reader. In the example I cited, for example, the fact that Peter Hall is bringing Godot to the National is, in itself, newsworthy, as is the fact that it was, and is, a pivotal piece of theatre. I find the need to use the word 'British' as *any* kind of qualifier to be lazy at best...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

julep wrote:
    because they are idiots.
    LOL short and to the point there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

bubthatub wrote:
    i know he is from northern ireland and that is part on the the british isle but eddie irvine thinks of himself as irish.
    /QUOTE]

a northern irish Presbyterian calling himself irish,i dont think so,and also darren clarke,surely it should be what do irish commentators say

I just have a problem with the sort of laziness, i guess, that one *tends* to notice more in the media on t'other side of the Irish Sea, where something has to have a *British* tag to make it relevant to the reader

I take your point on that, media is notorious for looking out for a "local" angle
    which is why Pat Kenny has an annoying habit of noting a guests "Irish" surname on his radio prog. I wonder would he mention the same link to a black man?

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i think its a shame that so many irish people have to distance themselves from pretty much everyone.
    is it a national insecurity thing that they must make sure everyone knows they are 'oirish' or something?

its exactly the same as that stupid british isles argument.
    i mean seriously, get out of the past. 800 years yadda yadda yadda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

stipey wrote:
    Anybody see Kate Thornton's interview with Samuel L. Jackon when himself and colin farrell were promoting SWAT - it typifies the OPs point..... Fair play to SLJ though - handled it very well.

* Thornton: What was it like working with Colin (Farrell), cos he
    o is just so hot in the U.K. right now?
    * Jackson: He’s pretty hot in the U.S. too.
    * Thornton: Yeah, but he is one of our own.
    * Jackson: Isn’t he from Ireland?
    * Thornton: Yeah, but we can claim him cos Ireland is beside us.
    * Jackson: You see that’s your problem right there. You British keep claiming people that don’t belong to you. We had that problem here in America too, it was called slavery.

Yeah, remember hearing about that, would so love to shake his hand for it.:cool: Soo funny!
    mike65 wrote:
    Why do the Irish claim so many, not born here, as Irish esp so called "Irish-Americans"? All countries do this and why is AH full of anti british/english threads today?

Mike.
    Eh, no, it's that those twits claim to be Irish just because there great grandfather's 2nd cousin's best mate was from Ireland, irritates the crap out out of many of us. If you have to go back more than 2 generations or out of the immediate family you're no more Irish than the moon! Personally I don't even like Dermot O'Leary claiming to be Irish as he was born abroad. You're either born here or you're not, simple!:mad:
    The difference with the English and the Irish is simple enough, the common folk in England nowadays actually love the Irish, they think they are wonderful, but the Irish absolutely feckin detest the English, roughly speaking of course.
    We're not fans of them and yet neither are the scots, the French, not sure about the Welsh, but either way they're not popular with their neighbors.
    Einst&#252 wrote: »
    The Irish do it too!

Its no different to Irish people reffering to English football teams from English cities that they only watch on the television as 'we' and 'us' when talking about them.
    Slightly different scenario there in that they are not saying the team is Irish, but as supporters are considering themselves part of the team, that's done the world over.

ArthurF wrote:
    Many English people/commentators do consider the Irish 'North & South' to be British or at least "one of us", the reason for this is that we are mostly related any one way or another anyway (in the British isles), These islands have been next door to each other since the beginning of time, and the Brits still consider us to be connected to them (which we are) through blood ties/ culture/ language/ heritage & in many other ways!
    And yet the prominence of a number of recessive genetic traits (e.g. the viking red hair, far more common here than in Britain) here in Ireland would indicate that the blood ties aren't that strong, otherwise they'd have been long bred out.
    ArthurF wrote:
    OK so they sometmes claim us as part of their culture, well thats true & they are correct, alas the same cannot be said of ourselves, who pretend that we have nothing to do with those nasty Brits, when in actual fact no more that 100 years ago one third of the British Army was made-up of Irish men, and most Irish people would have considered themselves 'Irish & British' without any stigma!
    Oddly our history books put the army issue as down to the lads hoping to encourage the Brits to give us home rule, and if people here considered themselves to be equally Irish and British then why all the effort to become an independent nation again or was that just a small cult and all the various incidents (some of which are very shameful parts of our history to be honest) were just made up?:rolleyes:

They're also known for claiming any of our successful scientists too, remember one of my lecturers in college going off on a rant about it as he was friends with a few of them and they weren't pleased about being called English. I also remember them claiming a few Irish people for the Sunday Times Rich lists' British segment. Oddly they've not claimed that stupid priest who runs out into sports events.;)

Lets face it their history was built upon claiming countries and people that weren't theirs, why stop now? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I would like any member of boards.ie who has been oppressed for the last 800 years to reply to this thread. Seriously. If you've been oppressed for 800 years, it's time you stood up and were counted.

If you can stand, because at 800 years of age your knees may be wearing out a bit by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

stipey wrote:
    Anybody see Kate Thornton's interview with Samuel L. Jackon when himself and colin farrell were promoting SWAT - it typifies the OPs point..... Fair play to SLJ though - handled it very well.

* Thornton: What was it like working with Colin (Farrell), cos he
    o is just so hot in the U.K. right now?
    * Jackson: He’s pretty hot in the U.S. too.
    * Thornton: Yeah, but he is one of our own.
    * Jackson: Isn’t he from Ireland?
    * Thornton: Yeah, but we can claim him cos Ireland is beside us.
    * Jackson: You see that’s your problem right there. You British keep claiming people that don’t belong to you. We had that problem here in America too, it was called slavery.

The actual transcript of that interview:
    KATE THORNTON: Now lets talk about Colin because in the UK he’s become the man of the moment.
    SAMUEL L.JACKSON: Really? Only in the UK?
    KT: Well everywhere but we kind of claim him as our own because he’s from Ireland.
    SLJ: You can’t claim him because he’s from Ireland.
    KT: Well we do because it’s close by. (laughter)
    SLJ: Ok. That’s the source of all the conflict over there. You people always claiming the Irish as yours. We got a little problem just like that here called slavery but that’s ok we don’t need to talk about that so lets go. (more laughter)
    KT: Well Colin is a very well paid slave.
    SLJ: Ok good.
    KT: As are you.
    SLJ: Yeah all right.
    KT: What did you know about him before you came to work with him on this project?

Do you like the subtle differences that make Kate Thornton look at worst something of a flapping airhead rather than an empire-wielding oppressor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Do you like the subtle differences that make Kate Thornton look at worst something of a flapping airhead rather than an empire-wielding oppressor?

You'r right M.B.SLUT, she is oppressing us... good point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

KT: Well Colin is a very well paid slave.
    SLJ: Ok good.
    KT: As are you.
    SLJ: Yeah all right.

OMG. Hahah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In all fairness, it goes both ways. How "Irish" was the team we put out in the late eighties and early nineties that qualfied for a few football tournaments? How many Irish mangers have their been in major international football tournaments?

In another thread, someone posted a long list of Irish achievers only to be pointed out that three of them weren;t Irish his responce was that they were Irish "because they spent a large portion of their time here". If this is acceptable, why do we then moan about English commentators?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,864 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Was just going to mention the football.....when Kilbane scores he's Irish, when he plays **** then he's English...

I heard so many people talking about how Clinton Morrison is English but again when he gets a goal he becomes Irish again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Actually, watching RTE coverage of big matches - like last night - makes me laugh. As much as I love the RTE covergae, it's hypocrticial to go on about the partisan nature of Brit commentary when the Irish one is just as bad in it's way.

The entire commentary is couched in the style of a fond, indulgent ol fella purring over his kids in a schoolboy league game.

I thought at one stage last night, he was gonna just shout "ah jaysus lads, yis are all doing f8cking deadly. Bring on those Cyriot c*nts again!!" and be done with it. :D

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    In all fairness, it goes both ways. How "Irish" was the team we put out in the late eighties and early nineties that qualfied for a few football tournaments? How many Irish mangers have their been in major international football tournaments?

In another thread, someone posted a long list of Irish achievers only to be pointed out that three of them weren;t Irish his responce was that they were Irish "because they spent a large portion of their time here". If this is acceptable, why do we then moan about English commentators?

See that's it. Nail-head interface there! And i'm as bad m'self, although as i'm not 'on the telly' I don't get caught up as much. Think of the other examples. The Smiths - best Irish Band to come out of manchester...okay, admittedly all their parents were from the old sod, but don't tell me Mozza et al would have produced an album like The Queen is Dead if they'd gone to school in Tullamore. :D