Rossport Situation and Shell. Where is it at?

• 06-10-2006 10:04AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭

I've noticed that the Shell to sea campaign in Rossport appears to be heating up again. Its been quiet on that front for quite a while now, but I've seen some verging on violent scenes on the news over the past days. Whats going on there now? I saw last nights prime time, and it appears to be that the pipeline is too close for comfort to peoples homes, and that Shell arent listening to the residents wishes. The Gardai seem to be enforcing shells right to start building the required plant in the area.

The Shell to Sea speaker came across quite well on the show, whereas the Shell speaker didnt. The shell guy seemed quite flustered at a few times in the show when presented with actual human opinions on this whole project and even admitted that this was the first time he had actually heard Shell to Sea's concerns, despite this being going on for years now.

On another note, a TV show on RTE on Tuesday showed the result of a leak in a high pressure pipeline under the Mexican city of Guadalahara (Sp?) which resulted in numerous explosions in the city and the deaths of over 200 people. Thousands were made homeless and large parts of the city were totally destroyed. :eek: eek. Admittedly, the Mexican one was petrol, not unprocessed oil or gas, but scary nonetheless. I can kind of understand the fears of the people of Rossport a bit better having seen that show.

Anyone know much about the situation at present? I dont profess to know that much about whats going on there, but I dont like the idea of Shell having the upper hand over local residents wishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Archeron wrote:
    I dont like the idea of Shell having the upper hand over local residents wishes.

gas is going up, oil is going up, ESB is going up,

is seems to me that the couple of local residents (who are looking for more money to comfort their safety concerns) are holding the rest of the country to ransom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

gas is going up, oil is going up, ESB is going up,

is seems to me that the couple of local residents (who are looking for more money to comfort their safety concerns) are holding the rest of the country to ransom.

True. But it appears that Ireland will not benefit in any way from this development, and it will not affect the price of fuel in this country either negatively or positively. Its hard to justify over ruling the wishes of the people when there is no economic benefit to the country and the only people who will benefit are Shell and Statoil. (and possible the people of Norway if I remember correctly from a radio interview)

Archeron wrote:
    True. But it appears that Ireland will not benefit in any way from this development

its been designed in Ireland, constructed by Irish contractors and maintained by Irish companies...quite a lot of locals have been paid quite a lot of money for land around the area, and they are looking for more.

but i take your point, the government should not have handed over rights to shell. but if they didn't then it would not be developed, the government were never going to develop it. and with the aer lingus fiasco i would not want them to control it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Drax

I detect some NIMBY* symdrome here. How would you feel if they were building this thing close to your house. I'd rather see some of that money going towards some renewable energy investment.

* Not In My Back Yard

Drax wrote:
    I detect some NIMBY* symdrome here. How would you feel if they were building this thing close to your house. I'd rather see some of that money going towards some renewable energy investment.

* Not In My Back Yard

as I'm in the piping industry i would love it,

oh by the way i live down in cork close to ringaskiddy, and yes i did vote for another incinerator here and as i moved close to the biggest petrochem, pharmaceutical, chemical and bio tech industrial area in Ireland i don't think your "NIMBY" applies to me.

and i doubt shell are going to spent their money on renewable energy and we know that the government are not interested in recycling or renewable energy.

so no shell no money simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I heard on the radio this morning that the Shell To Sea group were going to picket a few Shell Petrol Stations around the country.

Now, if they bothered to do a little research, they might realise that Irish Shell sold off their retail and distribution section last year to an Irish consortium (Topaz - part of Ion Equity) and these stations have no nothing to do with Shell E&P that retained the Corrib project.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0715/shell.html
    They still are branded as Shell though - that is all.
    Nice to know their effecting peoples jobs and livelyhood that have nothing to do with their own plight.
    Muppets :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

Archeron wrote:
    The Shell to Sea speaker came across quite well on the show, whereas the Shell speaker didnt.
    I would disagree. The shell spokesman made it quiet clear that the sea option was not viable and that what the protesters were looking for would not happen.

The shell to sea guy just kept repeating that people didn't want it, with no proof as to the numbers in the area who objected. There are obviously people with this view as there were protests, but what are the actual numbers as a percentage of those in the area. What he failed to realise is that the while shell was working within the law their protest was not. Why does shell need to convince the locals? All it needs is to follow the law and the reccomendations of the relevant planning authority.
    Archeron wrote:
    On another note, a TV show on RTE on Tuesday showed the result of a leak in a high pressure pipeline under the Mexican city of Guadalahara (Sp?) which resulted in numerous explosions in the city and the deaths of over 200 people. Thousands were made homeless and large parts of the city were totally destroyed. :eek: eek. Admittedly, the Mexican one was petrol, not unprocessed oil or gas, but scary nonetheless. I can kind of understand the fears of the people of Rossport a bit better having seen that show.
    I also saw that show. And it had nothing to do with the fact that the pipe was under pressure.
    The incident was caused by corrosion of the pipe because a water pipe made from another metal was placed on top of it. This caused petrol to leak into the soil and eventually accumulate in the sewer, where the explosion occured. There were several explosions and people had smelled petrol for a long time. That incident was caused by the initially badly lain water pipe and compounded by the fact that poeple didn't followup the loss of 100,000's of litres of petrol, smell of petrol and several explosions over many years.

How that in any way compares to a gas pipeline, (which i beleive is above ground ???) i have no idea.

themole wrote:

How that in any way compares to a gas pipeline, (which i beleive is above ground ???) i have no idea.

I know there are differences in the scenarios, I just used that example of how the slightest oversight can have utterly disastrous consequences, which I would imagine is the fear of the residents of that area. When I saw the problem had been caused by metal on metal corrosion of two pipes lying side by side it made me realise how difficult it can be to cross every t and dot every i.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I can understand the fears of people having a high pressure gas line close to their homes and their right to protest against it - we do live in a democracy after all. What I can't understand is five men being sent to Mountjoy for weeks for protesting. I though this was Ireland not Iran. They should have just molested a few kids and got suspended sentences :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

The pipeline in guadalajara was a sewer line, and the accident was caused by corrosion between the sewer pipe and a petrol pipe allowing petrol vapour into the sewer system, which wasn't filtered correctly due to a new subway who's pump only pumped liquid. AND it was not a closed system, allowing the vapour to permeate through the manholes/plumbing system. In other words, its not related to the Shell situation at all in anyway, apart from the word pipe.

If piping gas is a big safety concern, shouldn't we then remove the hundreds/thousands of miles of gas pipes currently running to people's homes for heat?

Renewable energy gets its own set of funding, Shell itself makes large investments in the area (it wants to still be an energy company when fossil fuels run out remember), but it will take time.

Archeron wrote:
    I just used that example of how the slightest oversight can have utterly disastrous consequences, which I would imagine is the fear of the residents of that area. When I saw the problem had been caused by metal on metal corrosion of two pipes lying side by side it made me realise how difficult it can be to cross every t and dot every i.

sorry now but as a piping engineer i can assure you that what you describe in that show was not " the slightest oversight " but a collection of bad, sorry, suicidal engineering practices that would not be accepted in a farm yard let alone a fuel line, cheaply done and badly maintained and then to top it off when public concerns were raised with the smell of fuel, they were blaintly ignored.

and since i have been in the industry for many years now and with all the new relegation's and the new European PED directive one cannot turn a sod until as you say every t is crossed and every i is doted.
    and believe it or not in our industry that has been SEP (standard engineering practice) for years even before the new PED directive was brought in.

in the pharmaceutical, chemical and bio tech industry millions of lives depend on SEP so let me tell you a ould fuel line is child's play to engineer.

Cool. I've no massively strong feelings either way, I'm just wondering whats happening these days with the whole campaign.

As regards the pipe scenarios, I'm learning from your posts. Please forgive my layman (pun intended :) ) tendencies to think pipes plus corrosion equald disastrous results and that this could be common.
    Good points made here, particularly regarding all the pipes in and under our homes, so a question. If pipe work is so safe, why are they objecting so much to this development being close to homes? If modern technology and safety procedures are so concrete, why dont they accept that there is no danger?

Archeron wrote:
    If pipe work is so safe, why are they objecting so much to this development being close to homes? If modern technology and safety procedures are so concrete, why dont they accept that there is no danger?

That is indeed the question.

They just don't seem to be listening to reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

There has to be a balance between whats good for a local community and whats good for the country. No-one wants to have an airport, or a prison, or a water treatment plant built beside them, but we have to build them somewhere. Similarly, to be able to supply 60% of our gas needs when we are utterly dependent on overseas gas is important for us as a country, and should be built. The planning rules are there to ensure that we get the balance right, but we cannot give local communities a veto over the greater interest.

All this talk of hosting it offshore is nonsense. I'm sure Shell would build it on the moon if they could, but this has to be economic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"Close to their home" is a subjective term. Does anyone have any figures on exactly how close the line runs to any residential buildings?

seamus wrote:
    "Close to their home" is a subjective term. Does anyone have any figures on exactly how close the line runs to any residential buildings?

I seem to remember the figure of 75m. Don't have a source though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

themole wrote:
    I seem to remember the figure of 75m. Don't have a source though :(

Yeah as quoted on primetime.. one resident has the pipe 75 meters from thier home.(now is it thier home or thier farm? that wasn't explained)

Two links to look at Shell to Sea and Shell Ireland.

Had a bit of a look and can't find info on proximity to houses.

From the shell site:
    * The onshore section of the pipeline (from the shore to the terminal) will be approximately 9 km long. The pipeline will be buried to a depth of at least 1.2 metres along its entire onshore route and is designed to withstand any accidental impact from digging equipment.
    * The normal operating pressure in the pipeline will be about 120 “bar” (a unit of pressure). This will reduce as the pressure in the Corrib reservoir naturally falls as gas is extracted and depleted.
    * The pipeline had been conservatively designed to withstand 345 bar in order to deal with any highly unlikely event which might cause higher than normal pressures to be experienced in the pipeline.

So the pipe will beburied, not above ground as i had previously thought.

From shell to sea site:
    This is a high pressure pipeline, 345 bar pressure for the gas, 610 bar pressure for the acids and hydraulic fluid. It is untreated, that is, odourless, without the added smell for detecting leaks. This is not the normal run of the mill gas pipeline.

There is a discrepency here between the presures. The shell to sea site is only giving the rating of the pipe, not the actual normal operating pressure. These figures are given above from the shell site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

burried, in a bog. now theres genius.

by the way am i the only one annoyed they need over 100 gardai to intimidate, im sorry , control 80 to 100 protesters? i cant help thinking every scumbag and theif in the country is packing his bags now to rob house's in the surrounding counties that are now left without a police service. for gods sake we didnt have that many gardai at the love uslter riots

seeing as theres no court injunction on the protesters i'd love to know who decided the right of the multinational was superior to the most basic tennat of our democracy, the right to peaceful protest. and why now? the guys have been out there for nearly a year! was someone hoping berties current troubles would cover the facist actions our state is engaging in here?

theres a standard procedure for these types of things and our government and shell arent operating them. seems they'd rather hospitalise two people than run the risk of slapping an injunction down and making another rossport 5.

watch this space, i dont think the government know what theyve got themselves into. one or two days they expect, but if they have to keep over 100 gardai out there everyday for a year sooner or later someones gonna ask what the hells going on, why are we spending so much money and resources on this and why is half the west left with out a police force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

burried, in a bog. now theres genius.
    <sarcasm mode>
    Yeah, I'm sure a multi-billion company like Shell with their army of civil engineers hadn't thought of that one. Good job armchair experts like you are around to point out the error of their ways.
    </sarcasm mode>

Alun wrote:
    <sarcasm mode>
    Yeah, I'm sure a multi-billion company like Shell with their army of civil engineers hadn't thought of that one. Good job armchair experts like you are around to point out the error of their ways.
    </sarcasm mode>

wouldnt be the same lads that let the other one they built blow up would it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

I have a friend who works for shell. He/she was saying that on the whole the majority of residents are supportive of the idea, but are somewhat afraid of being too vocal as the whole campaign (which initially stated out as a request for more money) got hijacked by a political party.

However, it was a PR disaster when those guys were sent to jail.... that was the judge i believe citing contempt of court.

I also believe that if they continued the pressure then shell would have piped it to scotland and then imported it back to ireland at an increased cost.

Givebn that gas prices in the uk have fallen dramatically and yet here they are niot going to for "at least three months" (that was a report on RTE1 radio) it would be crazy to have a situation where gas from an irish field was tranposrted to the UK and then reimported at higher cost.

by the way am i the only one annoyed they need over 100 gardai to intimidate, im sorry , control 80 to 100 protesters?
    That is a staggering number of guards for such a protest. Is the plan to keep this up continuously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 room101

Response to whiskyman:
    Firstly Topaz operate the stations they get their petrol from Shell, ergo legitimate target for protests. Small wonder then that people who spend a lot of time at this campaign and thinking about this issue are protesting at such stations.

Reponse to \m/:
    "quite a lot of locals have been paid quite a lot of money for land around the area, and they are looking for more."

No land was purchased from locals for this project. A lot of land was purchased from Coilte (400 acres). Shell lease some land from two locals who may or may not be looking for more money but certainly are not involved in the campaign against Shell. Other land for the pipeline was CAO'ed - this does not involve purchasing. The vast majority of people involved in the campaign own no land on the pipeline route and as such couldn't be looking for more money for it. A number of landowners who accepted the CAOs when they were orginally issued have been offered bribes not to oppose Shell.
    The landowners who did not accept the CAOs from Shell, - and who were subsequently injuncted in the High Court, could have been bought out by Shell long ago if this was anything to do with money for them, as opposed to health and safety.

What was the vote for the incinerator in Ringaskiddy – I didn’t realise the population at large got to vote on this, and if so, why shouldn’t there be such a vote in North Mayo?

Response to the mole:
    In Mayo as a whole (and it is a big county) of those polled for tg4 65% do not want the refinery in Ballinaboy. Locally in the parish of Kilcommon where all of the development is to be built and where most of the protesters live Shell to Sea have done a petition which is not yet completed but is getting an over 90% response negative to Shell (part of this was covered in the Irish Times - the part for Glengad which is where the pipeline begins).
    Around 2,000 people live in the parish of Kilcommon and around 200 have been attending the picket regularly in the last few weeks. That is, the majority of people in the area are against this development, and 10% are willing to get out of bed at 4 a.m. and risk arrest to stop it.

Response to astrofool:
    The many miles of piping delivering domestic gas into homes operate at a much much lower pressure – don’t have exact figures to hand but it is something like 7 to 9 bar pressure, the highest operating pressure for gas pipelines are for transmission or interconnector pipelines aka the national gird – highest operating pressure is around 70. (bearing in mind that is refined odorised gas – a different creature from what is for the Rossport pipeline).
    Up to 345 bar was Shell’s original plan, it is now down to up to 144 bar (after protests), for most, but not all of the route – half a kilometre is still at 345 bar. According to the state’s own safety study at that pressure in the event of rupture anyone 57 metres way would be dead and anyone 203 metres away could be dead.
    No one designs pipelines to fail, but they do fail, and that is the consequence of failure in this case.

Response to Fighting Irish:
    The pipeline is, on the current plan, 70 metres away from inhabited houses, and 30 metres away from the public road, and through farms.

General Issues:
    In any case the main focus of the protests is the refinery not the pipeline. The refinery directly affects more people. On the ‘security of supply’ issue first of all Bord Gais are tied into contracts as to who they will buy their gas off for the next 15 to 20 years – the same as the life of the Corrib gas field (according to Shell), so any new gas for Bord Gais out of this is not to meet the existing demand, Bord Gais are to be sold a fraction of this (around 20%) – the rest is most likely for export. There is no ‘security of supply’, the gas can be sold at the market rate to any one if it is economic to do so. Under the old system for exploration and production – introduced after this became an election issue in 1973 due to the low rate Des O’Malley sold Kinsale for, there was legislative provision that the state could compel companies to sell their gas or oil in Ireland or for the state to intervene strongly in the event of an energy crisis, this was removed in the new neo-liberal regime Burke and Ahern introduced between ’87 and ’92 – that is the regime Shell to Sea is campaigning against.

There was more exploration before 1992 under the old terms with greater taxation than there has been since so the we need low taxes to attract investment chestnut doesn’t work here – the main variable in determining investment is the international price of oil.

In regards to Shell saying it is ‘uneconomic’ to refine the gas at sea. We only have Shell’s word as to what is economic and uneconomic – as no one else has access to judge what is or isn’t in the Corrib field.
    In 1998 Enterprise – the original owners were claiming 6 to 11 billion tcf (trillion cubic feet of gas) while Shell are claiming 1 billion tcf (still worth billions). Ex-industry people involved in Shell to Sea campaign – including the former director of Statoil exploration Ireland claim there is a lot out there and the current deal for exploration is ludicrously weighted in favour of the oil companies. More over the infrastructure they are seeking to develop for the Corrib field will, it has been stated by the government and by Statoil, be used for other fields.
    Shell also claimed it would be technically impossible to build a refinery at the wellhead as it would have to be as tall as the Empire State building – except they already have platforms 3 times taller than that, so what Shell claim about this and that cannot be taken to seriously (not to mention the fact Shell to Sea would accept a refinery at sea that would not have to be at the wellhead).

Moreover according to the logic that it is uneconomic the determinant of what should or should not be done is if market conditions allow. Therefore if this health and safety measure or that health and safety measure becomes uneconomic it should go out the window. According to this logic any company could cut corners any time as safety always costs more.
    I suggest you familiarise yourself with the history of Union Carbide in Bhopal, it is a perfect example of such cost cutting determined by market forces.

On Planning – the pipeline was exempt from planning the refinery visited An Bord Plenala twice – the senior inspector said it was the wrong site on several grounds, but was overruled. Please do not hold up the Irish planning system as an example of perfect governance – no one cognisant of recent Irish political history will pay any attention.

In general I have got to say it is touching to see such faith in the state bureaucracy and the corporations in these cynical times. Those of us without rose tinted glasses will continue to seek to take our destiny into our own hands and not put our lives at the disposal of the state and big business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 room101

"He/she was saying that on the whole the majority of residents are supportive of the idea,"

See above. Try finding another protest with the same level of mobilisation in proportion to population in any area in Ireland. See Irish Times article where all bar two households in Glengad where the pipeline starts signed against Shell.

"but are somewhat afraid of being too vocal as the whole campaign (which initially stated out as a request for more money) got hijacked by a political party."

Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are the only parties with any degree of organisation in the area. I presume this is a reference to Sinn Fein. Of all the parts of Ireland I am familiar with I would say this is the area where Sinn Fein is weakest, in the whole of Erris in the last two years I have seen one Sinn Fein event advertised - a fundraising gig. Of the 200 people regularly at the Shell to Sea pickets and 50 regularly at Shell to Sea local organising meetings one is a member of Sinn Fein. I have never seen An Phoblacht on sale in Erris. They have one member of Mayo county council - who was in Fianna Fail when this all started, and is based in the other side of the county. Any community campaign in Dublin would have far more Sinn Fein involvement. If there are instances of intimidation how come people who have rented their land to Shell for construction compounds live right next door to some of the main objectors without any trouble. How come Shell can find 3 or 4 people who live locally to speak out in favour of the project - nothing has happened to them. Moreover today's Blairite Sinn Fein doesn't really be up to such things too much. As for the campaign nationally all left parties are involved in it.

If the state thought that the majority of residents of Kilcommon were in favour of the development it would organise some class of local referendum to burst the campaign's bubble - much cheaper than all those cops - it hasn't.

A request for more money - a request from whom? More money for land? - but they weren't buying land, more money for compensation for using land? - how does that relate to submissions to An Bord Plenala against the refinery which is being built on land owned by Shell - that was the main opposition activity in 2003 and 2004. In 2005 the pipeline was the big story, but from the middle of 2005 the main focus of protests has been the refinery built on land sold to Shell by Coilte.
    If the landowners injuncted by Shell - those that didn't accept the CAO on their land - could be bought with a bigger compensation why hasn't that happened yet? Why - when Shell can offer money (20 grand) to landowners on the pipeline route who did accept the CAOs.

"However, it was a PR disaster when those guys were sent to jail.... that was the judge i believe citing contempt of court."

The injunction was sought for by Shell.

There is no relationship between the Corrib field and gas prices for the consumer. If you think there should be then become involved in Shell to Sea as one of the central demands is that the terms for exploration and production be changed in favour of the irish people - and cheaper gas would fall within that.

Archeron wrote:
    That is a staggering number of guards for such a protest. Is the plan to keep this up continuously?

three days so far and apparently there gonna keep sending them there as long as the protesters protest. and as ive said theyve been there for a year so far so it could be a looooong wait. this is just intimidation tactics by the state, unfortunately its joe home owner in the west who loses his police protection that pays. all we need is one big robbery or killing for this to turn into PR disaster number 2

by the way, i take it everyone knows about the free gas we lost out on cause baird gais bought all theres already? apparently there was no where to store it so they pumped it from scotland to anyone who wanted it. isnt that a cozy thought to have when you get your first increased gas bill in a week or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 StripeyCat

Can anyone explain why Shell can't build a rig for this well the way they have at Kinsale, and in the North Sea, and the Gulf of Mexico, and everywhere else they operate?

What is so special about the sea off the Mayo caostline?

If there is something which makes it absolutely impossible to get at this gas without endangering local people with their pipeline and poisoning the environment with their refinery, then surely the government should pull out of the agreement with them on environmental grounds (as the Russian govt recently did) and either find someone who can do it, or else wait ten years until the technology has caught up with the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

some of the papers have been noting an atmosphere of intimidation coming from the Sinn Fein lads who are running this towards the locals. Quite a few of the locals appear to be scared to voice their opinion on the matter.

There was a story of some man who went up to see the site with his very young daughter in the car with him, and this crowd of thugs thought they were going to work on the site (because most people bring their two year old daughters to work with them!) and were very scary.

Apparently it is backfiring on Sinn Fein though, as their support in the area is dropping according to that sunday newspaper article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 proselytiser

the alleged influence of sinn fein is scaremongering.

in the last general election sinn fein polled 2085 first preference votes out of 63480 in mayo. that's 3.28%. i think we can safely say that mayo is not one of the bastions of sinn fein support.

if you want to verify that go here:

http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/a-misc/elec02-01.pdf

having met some of the locals opposed to the onshore pipeline, i've had no reason to believe there is any sinn fein activity within the campaign in the local area.

in light of the 34% increase in gas prices introduced by bord gais last week, the fact that the governmnent gave away this gas for free (and continues to give exploratory licenses under the same conditions off the donegal and erris coast) and receives no royalties from the sale of this gas, it is amazing that irish people aren't hopping mad about what's going on. having to buy back gas that is rightfully ours at market prices when we've got a supply problem is madness. it wouldn't suprise me, given that shell, etc. are under no obligation to sell the gas in ireland, that they exported it all to scotland and we never got a whiff of it after all the controversy.