why do english commentators say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

BBC aren't the only ones at it. When Ben Johnson won gold in Seoul he was Canadian and when he was stripped of the medal for being a drug-taking cheating bastard he was Jamaican again

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Collie D wrote:
    BBC aren't the only ones at it. When Ben Johnson won gold in Seoul he was Canadian and when he was stripped of the medal for being a drug-taking cheating bastard he was Jamaican again
    We'd never do that here.

Michelle Smith was that lovely Irish girl that got three million gold medals.

Michelle de Bruin who had a banned substance in a sample is obviously Dutch.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

mike65 wrote:
    Why do the Irish claim so many, not born here, as Irish esp so called "Irish-Americans"? All countries do this and why is AH full of anti british/english threads today?

The simple answer, for this thread at least, is that the thread is idiotic.

Unless the complaints are willing to give real examples, the general answer is that “english commentators” are – no matter what some here think – human. They make mistakes.

If you want to push the idea that there’s a massive conspiracy among “english commentators” back it up, otherwise you are the ones who like your pushing an agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

stipey wrote:
    Anybody see Kate Thornton's interview with Samuel L. Jackon when himself and colin farrell were promoting SWAT - it typifies the OPs point..... Fair play to SLJ though - handled it very well.
    Handled it well indeed. Me being interviewed by Kate Thornton, I'd just have nodded and asked her to dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

mike65 wrote:
    Why do the Irish claim so many, not born here, as Irish esp so called "Irish-Americans"? All countries do this and why is AH full of anti british/english threads today?

Mike.

The difference with the English and the Irish is simple enough, the common folk in England nowadays actually love the Irish, they think they are wonderful, but the Irish absolutely feckin detest the English, roughly speaking of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

but the Irish absolutely feckin detest the English, roughly speaking of course.
    I wouldn't necessarily go along with that. I think us paddy’s have matured a bit in recent years and have managed to differentiate English people from past and present misadventures by the British state. Sure you get some people who hate the English but I wouldn't say that’s typical of the nation’s attitude. More of a bit of rivalry if anything might be typical but I don't think hatred comes into it in any significant percentage of the population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭JaysusMacfeck

The majority of Irish people do not hate the English.. harmless biterness perhaps, but not hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

my only complaint about english commentators was during the world cup.

Before each match they would do a 'ten things about the other country' count down that was very obnoxious and condencending, really annoyed me, and resulted in a few matches were I supported the other team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

The majority of Irish people do not hate the English.. harmless biterness perhaps, but not hate.
    Indeed... Most people would bring up "800 years of oppression......", and would love to see England losing in... just about any sport!!!...but would have no trouble having a pint with an English person. Nowt wrong with it, just a bit of rivalry.

There's always muppets that'll start violence about it, but they're a minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

We'd never do that here.

Michelle Smith was that lovely Irish girl that got three million gold medals.

Michelle de Bruin who had a banned substance in a sample is obviously Dutch.

lol

I would accept there is a little rivalry when it comes to sport and the posts below are repostes regarding sporting commentators ;

"because they are idiots."

"Best team since 1966"... They say that every ****ing time, it's been 40 years, let it go. ****."

So although sport, coupled with a few beers, gets the patriotism flowing a bit, I suppose there are no widespread deep grudges, I have not seen too many myself.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Indeed... Most people would bring up "800 years of oppression......", and would love to see England losing in... just about any sport!!!...but would have no trouble having a pint with an English person. Nowt wrong with it, just a bit of rivalry.

There's always muppets that'll start violence about it, but they're a minority.

I'd agree with that, for the most part it's a bit of harmless rivalry. Example being the World Cup, I couldn't imagine how the English would react if they won it, was bad enough that they are Rugby World Champions and there was probably about ten English people who folowed Rugby before that (slight exaggeration I know). But I don't hate the English, not their fault they had arseholes for rulers in the past. And having mentioned the World Cup, I suppose we'd be worse. I think that Ireland not quailfying for major championships is a governement plot, the economy would collapse overnight if we ever won anything. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

The majority of Irish people do not hate the English..

;Theyre just ****, we`re so sh1te we had to be colonised by ****!' Renton in Trainspotting
    bubthatub wrote:
    why do english commentators say that sports people from other countries are english when they win something or are doin well in an event. e.g eddie irvine when he would win a grand prix they would say that he has done england proud. i know he is from northern ireland and that is part on the the british isle but eddie irvine thinks of himself as irish. or when the british number one in tennis andy murray when asked how it was to be englands next best thing he replied im scottish not english

Didnt Murray get a rake of abuse for saying in the world cup he would, like anyone else non English, support anyone but England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

i know it's annoying, but we are guilty of it too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The difference with the English and the Irish is simple enough, the common folk in England nowadays actually love the Irish, they think they are wonderful, but the Irish absolutely feckin detest the English, roughly speaking of course.
    I think most Irish people have no problem with "normal" brits, the sort you see on the Soaps they all watch. The sort that you could describe as "bloke"

Both us and the English have a thing about the stereotypical yobs / larger louts / squadie types / millwall fans ..

There is another type of English person we Irish detest, I was in a queue in a london train station and everyone had the same painful expression , asians, backpakers, local commuters, and the ticket inspector, the only one who didn't was the "I know my rights ... It's a bloody disgrace" Alf Garnet clone holding everything up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Don't forget about U2, they're British too.

i know it's annoying, but we are guilty of it too.

Yeah, what if Ireland won the world cup too, wouldn't they be a bit guilty of having a wee cheer about it after, and have a couple of pints before they go home to any early bed?

I think most Irish people have no problem with "normal" brits, the sort you see on the Soaps they all watch. The sort that you could describe as "bloke"

Both us and the English have a thing about the stereotypical yobs / larger louts / squadie types / millwall fans ..

I feckin hate them stereotypical yobs / larger louts / squadie types / millwall fans .. and ones who tell crap Irish jokes, I just want to crush their heads the bástards, they are scum, nothing but scum and all should be rounded up and shot.

Cúnts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

sinecurea wrote:

Well the two cooler ones are.

Mike.

In 500 years when Ireland gets into the semi finals of the world cup, I'm pontificating here, but actually they might be celebrating it for the next 500 years, no?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

sinecurea wrote:

No, they’re from the Netherlands.

Or maybe it’s just where their royalties go, for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Reminds me of a Patrick Kielty joke I heard him tell...

He was talking about Michelle Brown whn she won her gold medals, and on the news they were like 'Irish athlete Michelle Brown has won 3 gold medals blah blah' but when she got stripped of them it was 'Disgraced Dutch swimmer Michelle De Bruin......'

Edit: Just noticed someone else posted this, trying to claim the joke for themselves. For shame....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Patrick Kielty, now there's an unfunny man if ever I saw one.

Just on the whole BBC commentators thing. Motson and Lawrenson were just questioning the legitimacy of small nations playing international football. I'll bet any money in a couple of months time they'll be going on about the "glory of the FA Cup" when the non-league teams get to come to Old Trafford or Anfield or wherever and how brave and resilient they were despite their 10-0 trashing. Condescending hypocrites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

The Irish do it too!

Its no different to Irish people reffering to English football teams from English cities that they only watch on the television as 'we' and 'us' when talking about them.

That's alot closer to home; and alot more annoying than it used to be hearing Murray Walker refer to Irivine as British when he did well, and an Irishman when he messed up - tbh, that was just comical.

Some people refer to Clinton Morrison as Irish, when he pulls on a green shirt.

Its a natural thing, trying to cling to the success of something you feel you can in some way connect with, even if the connection is nothing more than proximity on the world map.

We, as a nation, lap up everything England throws at us. Music, sport, television, newspapers. But as soon as there's something they as a nation are collectively proud of, say like their football team, we rubbish it. We talk about England and 1966 more than they do, we talk about Italia 90 alot. We talk about Packies save against Romania alot. Imagine what 'we' would do if we won the World Cup? If you don't want to hear about it, stop reading English papers and watching English tv.

Einst&#252 wrote: »
    Some people refer to Clinton Morrison as Irish, when he pulls on a green shirt.

I don't know anyone with a decent knowledge of the Irish team calls him Irish. He didn't even want to play for us, he was waiting foran England call-up, poor deluded fool. Nothing against the lad, I've met him and he's a likeable bloke but he's not Irish. I know there are loads of British boys who have pulled on green jerseys but at least with someone like Kilbane or McGeady, these are lads who have supporrted Ireland since they were kids and wanted to play for us.

Rant over, trying not to turn this into a football debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

To be fair, he's an example of someone who (in my experience) is considered by many to be Irish (honourary perhaps? :eek:)when he does well, and English when he plays poorly.

Just pointing out 'we' do the same as what was intially being given out about the English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

As somebody who lived & worked in England for donkeys years, I can identify with a lot of what has been said here.

Many English people/commentators do consider the Irish 'North & South' to be British or at least "one of us", the reason for this is that we are mostly related any one way or another anyway (in the British isles), These islands have been next door to each other since the beginning of time, and the Brits still consider us to be connected to them (which we are) through blood ties/ culture/ language/ heritage & in many other ways!

OK so they sometmes claim us as part of their culture, well thats true & they are correct, alas the same cannot be said of ourselves, who pretend that we have nothing to do with those nasty Brits, when in actual fact no more that 100 years ago one third of the British Army was made-up of Irish men, and most Irish people would have considered themselves 'Irish & British' without any stigma!

This local Irish Nationalism also prevades sections of Britain, in the form of the B.N.P and their narrow minded vision of Britishness.

Be Irish & be proud, but dont put down the Brits 'they are too close to home' in more ways than one ..........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

(in the British isles)

Whats that? ;)

Mike.