Has anything drastically changed for you?

• 01-09-2006 01:03PM

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=307331&referrerid=59211

I found this today and it made me think of thing's that have changed for me in the life year
    I'm pleased with some of the changes and other's not so much!

Work: Last year I was in a **** job and now I’m not, Next Year
    I will still be in the same job!

Home: Last Year I was living at home and next year I will hope to still be renting on the Northside

Internet:I will still be working away so I will still be posting on boards next year. My postcount will have reached approx 1800

Relationship: Um time will tell whether I keep the boyf around! And I believe I was contemplating something similar last year too :)
    Some thing's never change :D

Weight: I’m 9 pound’s lighter than I was last year, Hopefully I’ll be that way and about 10 pound’s more next year! I’m one of those girl’s that perpetually think’s I need to loose 10lbs!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hmm

Work: Still at the same auld thing, working away by myself. Probably be at the same for a while.

Home: In an apartment right now, will probably be in a house in 12 months time.

Interweb: Less said about it the better, I need it to keep in touch with my folks back home and my sanity. :)

Relationship: Married in May 2004, going strong and loving it.

Weight: No change in some time, 9 1/2 stone and probably not healthy for me to lose anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Ruu - are you a male or female? I always assumed male, and there was a picture in the know your nerds thread and I automatically assumed the guy was you, but 9 and 1/2 stone...

My life...eh...not much difference.

Work: the same, but heading back to college so it is a much brighter horizon then this time last year.

Home: Ahem....still living at home.

Interweb: Finally lost the post count battle to tar.aldarion early 2006. by a long shot.

relationship: Still going strong, as it was this time last year.

Weight: 5 stone lighter, and 1000% more in shape.

HavoK wrote:
    Ruu - are you a male or female? I always assumed male, and there was a picture in the know your nerds thread and I automatically assumed the guy was you, but 9 and 1/2 stone...

My life...eh...not much difference.

Work: the same, but heading back to college so it is a much brighter horizon then this time last year.

Home: Ahem....still living at home.

Interweb: Finally lost the post count battle to tar.aldarion early 2006. by a long shot.

relationship: Still going strong, as it was this time last year.

Weight: 5 stone lighter, and 1000% more in shape.

Male, I've always been that weight, hasn't changed in years. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ruu wrote:
    Male, I've always been that weight, hasn't changed in years. :)

Eat more pies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Wow,I remember that thread! I'd have guessed it came from about February!

September?! Fúck me! That's nuts!

petes wrote:
    Eat more pies.

I don't put on weight really, no matter how much I eat. Time for some ricecakes! :) Its September already?:( Carry on, no more off topicness from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

College/School: I graduated form college in November 2005 - I have been working full time for about a year now :eek:

Work
    : Well I left my cushy little part time job, the one I had throughout college, and since then I have had 3 jobs, 1 of which was sales and I found it soul destroying, another of which was marketing and they closed down the sales and marketing team, and I have been in my current job since the beginning of Feb - and I am hoping to hang on a bit longer - but don't plan on staying here forever - got my rainbow to chase ya see.

Home: Last Year I was living at home and I am still at home now - starting to look at shared ownership and affordable housing schemes as possibilities

Internet:Ha ha, not even gonna go there!

Relationship: Well was with my current BF this time last year,a nd intend to be with him this time next year!

Weight:
    Meh, I weigh bout 4 or 5lbs less, but I am not as obsessed about my size as I used to be.
    I still wanna shift about 20lbs, but I will do it right, and in my own time.

General: Well in the last year I have bought a new car, been to Lanzarote and Barcelona.
    Developed my relationship with my Mam, which is a pretty cool thing for me.
    My social circle has become a bit more 'couples' based - which I thought would bother me, but it doesn't, I am having a great time.
    I have obtained a fair bit of media and radio experience, and made some really good contacts, which I am very happy about.
    I guess I am one step close to my dream and that kinda makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,873 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Ruu wrote:
    I don't put on weight really, no matter how much I eat. Time for some ricecakes! :) Its September already?:(

Shouldn't this be moved to Food / Drink &/or Personal Issues?

But now that I've asked a question maybe it should go in Puzzles / Quizzes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Work: same job as last year - i will have been promoted by next year.

Home: last year rented apartment - this year rented house - next year hopefully will buy house

Internet - didnt have it in the apartment - next year - hopefully will be too busy with house and having a life to be on board so often!

Relationship - last year dating - this year single - next year well definately nothing serious til i get my own house and have a bit more stability in my life!

Weight - no drastic changes generally between 8 and 1/2 or 9 stone. if i gave up beer i would prob be 4 stone in weight :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

This thread has just depressed me! Thanks CSG! I’m off to kill myself.

You finally got your way! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Kiera wrote:
    This thread has just depressed me! Thanks CSG! I’m off to kill myself.

You finally got your way! :mad:

Post of the year ftw! :p

Cheer up sometimes stuff just happens
    I didn’t mention my bad stuff but the good stuff is making me feel pretty great

You have to plan yourself and let nature take it's course regarding what the universe or the higher power's or whoever control's it had or have planned for you!

Oh and I hope it's in the overall 'Plan' for me to win the lotto this weekend!:)

Oh ffs, you giving ME advice is really pushing me over the edge!

Ok then I leave you with this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Don't do it Kiera!

I know a guy who tried to kill himself three times. First time he jumped off the bridge in Limerick, missed the water, landed on the rocks and broke both his legs. Second time he tried to hang himself in his father's barn, the roof fell in. Third time he tried to hang himself from a tree, the branch broke. He sucks at life and he sucks at death!

Ok reading that I spit out my diet coke! hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Work: still looking for an average easy low paid job, not high on my list of things to do.

Home: Bought my fourth investment property in July but still living at home.

Internet: Currently posting around 100posts a month and went over 1,000 posts in January, aiming for 2,000 by mid November.

Relationship: Still looking most Irish women have their heads well and truly stuck up their rear ends.

Weight: < Lost 11 pounds and got my BMI out of Obese and into overweight again, going back under 14 stone was a milestone. People ask me do I play rugby :confused:

General: Well in the last year I have bought a car, been to London and developed my hobbies more, bettered my relationship with my sister and her boyfriend thinks I'm great so every thing is hunky dory until it comes to sharing my BMW with her :eek: Started drinking socially and got drunk for the first time ever, at 19 I was late starting compared to most people bah! Apparently I am insulting while drunk so I shall keep it to a minimum, telling a Ban Gardai she was hot got a lot of laughs from people.

Nerdom: Moving into the Linux theatre of computing and currently experimenting with reverse osmosis.

Ok reading that I spit out my diet coke! hehe
    Never had you down as a spitter. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

sjones wrote:
    Don't do it Kiera!

I know a guy who tried to kill himself three times. First time he jumped off the bridge in Limerick, missed the water, landed on the rocks and broke both his legs. Second time he tried to hang himself in his father's barn, the roof fell in. Third time he tried to hang himself from a tree, the branch broke. He sucks at life and he sucks at death!

A crazy man, from Ballymun, was always threatening to Kill himself.
    One day he shouted for his wife, her sister, all his kids to come upstairs.
    The kids had been playing outside, and their friends, and neighbours circled at the door, in true Ballymun fashion, to see what was going on.
    He was standing on a chair, at the top of the landing, and he had a rope around his neck, which was tied to some beams in the attic.

He told them all how he was finally going to do it, that they had all driven him completely crazy over the years, and how they should blame themselves for his suicide.
    He then jumped from the chair, only to discover that he probably should have shifted a few pounds before attempting to kill himself in this fashion.
    His weight was too much for the beam, which snapped, sending him flying over the banister and down the stairs, and causing the ceiling to fall down on top of them all.
    Complete silence followed, for about 2 seconds, and then his wife said 'ya dirty looking fcuking eejit ya, would you look what yer after doing, ye couldn't even get that much fcuking right, and ****ing monkey could have tied a better fecking knot in that yoke, ye see what I married? A fcuking mad man, a gob ****e... well ye may get up there an fix that fecking ceiling......'

Sorry for hi-jacking your thread CSG, blame sjones, twas his comment that reminded me of this story.

It is a true story by the way, if there is anyone on Boards from Ballymun or Santry they will probably have heard it before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

short answer: absolutely nothing has changed. i'm happy enough with things the way they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

Working a differnt job, was bound to happen :D.
    Have yet registered to return to college.
    No longer in a relationship.
    Knocked up(didn't see that one happening)
    New place (fairly nice)
    No car (sis wrecked mine :mad: )actually learned how to use city bus. :S
    A new god child and everything is fairly the same besides those tidbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Kiera wrote:
    Never had you down as a spitter. :p
    I don't think words can express how funny I found that. :D

I can't believe I'm contributing to a CSG thread :eek:
    But what the hell...

Work: Still in same job, but changing soon (hopefully).

Posting: WTF!! I don't adopt the postcount++ mentality like you CSG

Home: Living in another house, moving out of current house at end of this month

Relationship: Still happy in the same relationship, hopefully will be in a years time

Weight: Put up some weight this year, but I could afford to without looking fat.

:rolleyes: Without fail!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Work - Looking, looking to leave the country
    Posting - Haven't contributed to boards in over a year but i'm bored now.
    Home - Inbetween housing
    Relationship - In and out of them in the last year, currently single
    Weight - Gained a stone and half, half a stone of my 15 stone goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    A crazy man, from Ballymun, was always threatening to Kill himself.
    One day he shouted for his wife, her sister, all his kids to come upstairs.
    The kids had been playing outside, and their friends, and neighbours circled at the door, in true Ballymun fashion, to see what was going on.
    He was standing on a chair, at the top of the landing, and he had a rope around his neck, which was tied to some beams in the attic.

He told them all how he was finally going to do it, that they had all driven him completely crazy over the years, and how they should blame themselves for his suicide.
    He then jumped from the chair, only to discover that he probably should have shifted a few pounds before attempting to kill himself in this fashion.
    His weight was too much for the beam, which snapped, sending him flying over the banister and down the stairs, and causing the ceiling to fall down on top of them all.
    Complete silence followed, for about 2 seconds, and then his wife said 'ya dirty looking fcuking eejit ya, would you look what yer after doing, ye couldn't even get that much fcuking right, and ****ing monkey could have tied a better fecking knot in that yoke, ye see what I married? A fcuking mad man, a gob ****e... well ye may get up there an fix that fecking ceiling......'

Sorry for hi-jacking your thread CSG, blame sjones, twas his comment that reminded me of this story.

It is a true story by the way, if there is anyone on Boards from Ballymun or Santry they will probably have heard it before!

:D I'm from Ballymun and i didnt hear it!! tell us his name go on go on go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭nialo

Work - back from france, working in dublin, will be else where next year
    Posting - never really posted much...
    Home - in paris with the folks last year, in an apartment now
    Relationship - recently out off one.. single now..
    Weight - pretty even... hasnt change much in the last two years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Work: Still in same job, turned down for promotion so proibably not for lng but happy enough with it until was asked to work in Saouth Africa the other day ;o)

Home: Stil living with Mammy.

Internet: Didn't have it last year so usage has increased by infinity

Relationship: This time last year we were heading towards two years, now finished just short of the three years

Weight: Still a skinny fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Work: Last year I just moved into a really nice section in work, still in the same section this year and hope to have got a promotion or still be in the same section next year.

Home: Last year I was living in a townhouse with my partner, same this year, next year would love to be in a house with a large garden.

Internet: Do not really notice postcount.

Relationship: Last year I was uncertain about marrying my partner, now I am certain that I want to marry him (and that I want to elope), by next year I hope that we will have eloped together and started a family.

Weight: I was 8.5 stone last year, am less than 7.5 stone this year, hope to be pregnant next year so my weight may be up a bit, if not I hope that I am around 7.5-8.0 stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Been an interesting year here so far:-

Failed a car driving test, have another soon
    Passed the motorbike driving test

Lost over three stone weight

Could i suppose say still off the smokes, but that would imply i missed them, am at "i used to do that crapola , glad i quit them stage" ..so not really an achievment.

Completely debt free..actually have some cash in the bank at pay day!!

Still in the same job for almost a year now..stagnating..

On Jan 1st I'd like to say :-

Got my full drivers license
    Am not overweight (first in about 10 years)
    On waiting list and approved for Affordable housing (requires being debt free for several months with savings - just about doable)

I'd just like a full drivers license if all else fails tbh though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I didnt post on the original thread but....

Work - Starting a job in Bank of Ireland this October... TBH hadnt much hope of a job when I finished my degree last yr, Im now more employable with a masters :)
    Posting - 447 posts since last year
    Home - Still living in the same apartment... Been here for 3 yrs and I Love it :D
    Relationship - lets not even go there but i'm working on it ;)
    Weight - have put on a stone and a half in the last yr.. Now 12 stone! but the thing is I dont look fat.. its all round the waist... Suck it in!!!!!!!