Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

May-Yo V De Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

For jaysus sake can we just talk about the game for a while and leave the supporter bashing out of it for one day at least. i have been very critical of the sunshine brigade myself but having just witnessed such a fantastic game i think we should be singing the praises of repective heroes on both sides and leave the supporters stuff to another thread. I felt huge pride in the game of gaa watching that today, the atmosphere in the park, the colour, the commitment, the fitness, agression and incredible heart that those lads out there today showed, they gave everything!!

IMO Mayo deserved the win, they were first team I seen this year that didnt believe the Dubs hype, they believed in themselves and they showed that even before the game started!! Micky Moran has done a great job on that front. Teams like Westmeath & Laois just threw in the towel at croker when things started going bad, Tomas O'Flaherta came out after that game saying how abolutely fantastic the Dubs were and sure didnt the win every ball at midfield, practically creaming himself, maybe he should have talked about his own tactical ineptitude in having no gameplan!! Sure, we'll keep dropping high kickouts on top of Whelan/Ryan/Cullen and see what happens!!:rolleyes:

I'll get off my soapbox now and end by saying the Dubs were very good this year and perhaps couldve gone all the way but were let down by not having to overcome tough games to earn this right, no matter how much work PC does with trying to get dub panel to ignore the hype its impossible. Its everywhere in the city, billboards/TV/Radio/newspapers/friends/relations/fans and to me, it played its part in bringing down the Dubs again!!

Goodluck to Mayo anyway, if any team in Ireland deserves an AllIreland its ye, great support there again today ( as at the Laois game) yet team and fans are a credit to the game!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

Well done mayo, go and win it.

We'll be back next year, better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Just seen Whelans "tackle" on the Sunday Game, was straight red for me, he was a lucky boy particularly as it took mcGarrity out of game. Similiar enough to that scumbag Johnsons tackle in the I'national rules last year, Whelan wouldnt have the balls to do that to the Aussies as he knows what he'd get. That kind if cowardice and malicous crap has no place in our game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Avns1s

jackbhoy wrote:
    Just seen Whelans "tackle" on the Sunday Game, was straight red for me, he was a lucky boy particularly as it took mcGarrity out of game. Similiar enough to that scumbag Johnsons tackle in the I'national rules last year, Whelan wouldnt have the balls to do that to the Aussies as he knows what he'd get. That kind if cowardice and malicous crap has no place in our game.

Fully agree. Even worse though as I've said already was Caffreys pre match performance. With this example, what kind of discipline would you expect from the team?

Still, all things considered, it was a great game of football, as evidenced by the feedback to the "Sunday Game" most of which was from people in neutral locations. Both teams can justifiably be proud of their part in this.

On a different note, it is hard to watch the younger fans, cry inconsolably when their team loses as was seen on live TV this afternoon with a young Dub fan. My own six year old bawled when Mayo went 7 points down. Still, it shows the interest that the coming generation have in GAA and the championship in particular. It bodes well for the future.

What really impressed me also was the display of friendship between Mortimer and Cluxton after the match. It seemed each shared the others agony / elation. It was great to see.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Caffery annoys me with that stoic macho crap. Then he behaves like a scumbag. While everybody symapathised with his family bereavement it all the more reason he should remain dignified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭caesar

Great game. Mayo have come on alot this year.

I remember the league game against galway earlier in the year and my brother was going mad because they were playing rubbish, i didn't really care tbh all i wanted was for them to make their way to an all-ireland playing not particularly well. As stupid as that may sound, i had my reasons, one being the fans getting hyped up and talking about winning sam in may and two the fact that we've have had so many season where we've played well to get to the final but flop on the big day. But this year its different :D Don't get me wrong there is room for improvement and Kerry are Kerry afterall. Team selction for the final will be interesting to say the least, esp. the forwards. Now the search for tickets.

Btw watched it in the big tree, had no ticket, great atmosphere though. Some guy's bag was taken, his ticket was in it as well as his train ticket, his brother was meant to be beside him, so god help the person who took that bag.

Avns1s wrote:
    On a different note, it is hard to watch the younger fans, cry inconsolably when their team loses as was seen on live TV this afternoon with a young Dub fan. My own six year old bawled when Mayo went 7 points down. Still, it shows the interest that the coming generation have in GAA and the championship in particular. It bodes well for the future.
    I was one of those young fans in 1997, i was seven at the time. I was gutted.
    Avns1s wrote:
    What really impressed me also was the display of friendship between Mortimer and Cluxton after the match. It seemed each shared the others agony / elation. It was great to see.:)
    Agreed. Even better is when the supporters shake hands after the game. Was in croker for the laois game last week and after the game the guy in front turned around and shook my hand, same with the dubs in the pub today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Did ye hear Mortimer's comments about them going to hill in start of the match. something like "sure that's the dubs, but look at them now" not exact words but the basic idea. If i was a dub i wouldn't be too pleased with that comment

What did mickey moron say after the game, i couldn't hear it something about a jersey for someone??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 ! ! Rhubarb

Have Dublin been playing this GAA footy for long, or is it more of a thing in the West?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Dapos wrote:
    Did ye hear Mortimer's comments about them going to hill in start of the match. something like "sure that's the dubs, but look at them now" not exact words but the basic idea. If i was a dub i wouldn't be too pleased with that comment

He was dead right to say it, the dubs couldn't take it that Mayo got one over on them, if they concentrated more on doing a propor warm up on the opposite side just before throw in rather than trying to act like big men (bruised egos), they might of got off to a better start.

Caffrey was like a petulant child, i think every one can agree that Dublin were wrong, all they had to do was concentrate on their own game rather then try and engage in mind games and bully tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I have not bothered to read a lot of the posts in this thread, but well done to Dublin and Mayo for putting on a great game, and especially Mayo for proving a lot of doubters wrong and showing a lot of character to come back!

Also I hope that Ronan McGarrity is fit to play in the final, he has been one of the players of the season! I also hope that Ciaran Whelan gets in trouble for his cowardly act!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Great game of football and I hope Mayo go all the way but its Kerry standing in the way so its a BIG ask!

Whealen should have kicked out of the team for his behaviour but with Caffery as Manger, well as him setting that example its plain to see where it comes from.

Would you ever see a successfull all ireland winning manager from Kerry, Kilkenny Cork etc do that? Not a chance. He better take a long hard look at himself tonight. Its one of the reasons they lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭fade2che

As a Mayo fan I have to say fair play to the Dubs, any team that can come out and play like that in the second half has got nothing to hang their heads about.
    I hope the Dublin media and fans support them in defeat, as well as they did throughout the year. Any team out there yesterday, could of won it. Its great for the game to see such excitment tho.
    As for Whealan, sure there is always one, and one mans actions (when Ronan was clearly getting the better of him) shouldnt stand as a rule of thumb for all Dublin players.
    I have to say tho driving down the country yesterday was sheer class, every town seemed to have a few supporters cheering at the cars, must of won over a few neutrals too.
    I only hope that we take the next match as just another match as much as possible. We all know we can do it if we get things right on the day.

UP MAYOOOOOOOOOEEEEOOOOOOOO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Butterbox

Avns1s wrote:
    On a different note, it is hard to watch the younger fans, cry inconsolably when their team loses as was seen on live TV this afternoon with a young Dub fan. My own six year old bawled when Mayo went 7 points down.

I would question bring up kids to be THAT passionate about something as unimportant as a football match. I think they should be taught some perspective. It is enjoyable to support you team, especially during a great display as was yesterday, but they should be passionate about the things they do, not watch.

Butterbox wrote:
    I would question bring up kids to be THAT passionate about something as unimportant as a football match. I think they should be taught some perspective. It is enjoyable to support you team, especially during a great display as was yesterday, but they should be passionate about the things they do, not watch.

I never said that the kids were "brought up to be THAT passionate". Its about "pride of place" something which is inherent in most irish people. They really will support the home team. It's especially prominent in those counties that suffered from out migration in previous decades.

Back to the kids, I don't think anyone goes around saying to their kids that they must / should support the county team to that level. Football is rarely discussed in our house, but my six year old cried inconsolably when it looked like Mayo could be about to take a drubbing from the Dubs in the second half. He would have loved to be there in Croke Park if I could have got a ticket for him. That is HIS interest and passion not driven by his parents.

In any case, I disagree with your comment entirely. It's absolutely great to see the kids passionate about something. Football, Music, Art, whatever. If we were to go down your route, (if parents could control it as you infer, which they can't!), we'd end up with a nation full of "yellow pack" individuals who cared nothing about anything! Is that the Ireland you want?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Dr. Nick wrote:
    Talk to that man again.

A Meathman in Cork roaring at the tv supporting Mayo is an unusual scenario, but that was me today!

Well done westies, totally deserved, fantastic victory. To be seven points down
    early in the second half in the All-Ireland semi against Dublin and to turn it around is indeed one of the great achievements of the last 30+ years.
    On that performance, you'll give the Kingdom a right run.

Well I was a kerryman in westmeath roaring at the tv supporting mayo as well

Mayo thoroughly deserved the victory, if only for their outright refusal to give up when they went 7 points down - brilliant stuff. I think they'll pose more than a few problems to kerry in the final. The only concern I would have for them is their defence - they conceded two goals yesterday and they gave up a few more very goalable (you know what I mean :) ) chances. Dublin's first point of the game was a chance that could have easily been a goal, Sherlock's chance as well when he hit the bar.

Mayo will definately have the psychological edge in the final - they will want revenge from 1997 and 2004, and they obviously have a manager that can get them to believe in themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Culchie wrote:
    LOL, Mayo are foaming at the mouth to have another pop at Kerry ...obviously we are sick sadists, but whatever Mayo shortcomings will be, it won't be lack of any 'stomach'

Well Culchie you called it, and even before the game the simple truth to this statement had me convinced, because I always knew ye had the footballers, I was just questioning your leadership in the face of the 'Blue wall of sound'.

And what leaders, the players took it to Dublin when they crossed the white line and did a warm up on the hill, Sunday Game seems to think that even Mickey Moran was not in on this.

What a game - what a treat - that was special yesterday. Much was written about Kerry's win over Armagh, Keepers of the flame, keeping football (as apposed to blanket defence’s etc.) alive. Well if Kerry had the flame, it was snatched out of their hands yesterday by smiling men with bleached hair and red/green jersey's. Kerry have no small amount of work to do to get that back.

In another thread - I suggested that we should resurrect old Irish boxers for the Aussie Rules - I now think Ciaran Whelan will suffice. His tackle was unforgivable. If you look at the rules of UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship), and there are indeed very few fouls in this new sport. One of those fouls is 'Striking to the spine or the back of the head' well that tackle would have lost Whelan a UFC fight is Las Vegas. Shame on the referee's and lines men for the leadership they showed in the face of the big blue wall of sound'. It will be interesting to see if Ciaran tries this with the Aussies, who just might hit him back. Thank God he did not get a shot at Donaghy.

I think Caffery showed very poor judgement in this respect also. That man has training in crowd control and such matters. What he did could have kicked off a fight amongst the players and selectors, which in turn could have ignited the crowd. He did cross a line and he should apologise for it, on his own and his colleagues behalf.

That said - common sense prevailed and these two incidents were very much isolated. Dublin should not be discounted for what they brought to the game. Ther were just so close, so many times.

Football was the real winner yesterday. Bravo the men from the West.

As a Kerryman – I am genuinely concerned for the final. I would actually be panicking if I had ill will towards Mayo, I don’t and I would not begrudge them the final if they pulled off a performance like they did yesterday.

The reason for my concern – is that Mayo displayed yesterday, the last ingredient of what’s missing from Kerry performances. It’s called, for the sake of a better term ‘Courage under fire’. Would Kerry have pulled back the Dublin lead yesterday, in that cauldron of sound? Or would they have dissolved and disintegrated with infighting and panic? We do not know for sure, there are signs, but it will take the final to prove to know for sure. Do not say that Kerry have more amo, more guns. In any game there are ever only two or three Kerry forwards shooting on target anyway. This is going to be a great football’n final.

♪ ♫ Oh the green & red of Mayo ♫ ♪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Butterbox

Avns1s wrote:
    I don't think anyone goes around saying to their kids that they must / should support the county team to that level. Football is rarely discussed in our house, but my six year old cried inconsolably when it looked like Mayo could be about to take a drubbing from the Dubs in the second half. He would have loved to be there in Croke Park if I could have got a ticket for him. That is HIS interest and passion not driven by his parents.

In any case, I disagree with your comment entirely. It's absolutely great to see the kids passionate about something. Football, Music, Art, whatever. If we were to go down your route, (if parents could control it as you infer, which they can't!), we'd end up with a nation full of "yellow pack" individuals who cared nothing about anything! Is that the Ireland you want?:confused:

I think your influence over your six yr old is greater than you think, however unintentional. Evidence of this is in the fact that you seem somewhat proud that your child was left distraught after a game of football. To say that I don't want people to be passionate about anything is to seriously ignore the conclusion of my post. On another post I am saddened to see, particularly Dublin supporters, directing their chants at the opposing supporters. It was like being at an English soccor match, as was the self-segragation on the Hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Lad's just curious, how long has that scar been on jason sherlocks face, saw it first in Dublin v Westmeath. How did it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Congratulations to both Mayo and Dublin for a good entertaining match, trying their utmost, etc, and for a classic example of why GAA Football has so many followers in this country. It was an enthralling encounter played at a fast pace and was end to end.

There were goals as well, and even Mayo got on the goalsheet, which was a major recovery point for them.

The football wasnt perfect, as there were quite a few missed chances that were scoreable, goal chances from Mayo, and free's from Dublin. Mossy Quinn was not firing well and his replacement didnt fare any better with some scrucial missed kicks at the end.

GAA Football, when this close, has to be cruel on one side or the other. The result went Mayo's way but Dublin can be proud of themselves. The only black mark in the match was that foul by Ciaran Whelan on McGarrity. It deserved a straight red card and I think the ref chickened out of the decision.

For the final, I think Kerry will prefer Mayo, in terms of the mind games, etc, and are clear favourites for this. However, Mayo have shown that they can do well in midfield, and with Mortimer up-front and when on fire they have a clinical and natural finisher. He is better from range than close in, perhaps giving him too much time to think doesnt help.

Looking forward to the final where I expect Kerry to prevail.

Redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭littlesurfer

one of the best games i've seen. A dublin girl myself but stayed out to enjoy the party.....A little worried about my mayo boyfriends liver over the next few weeks....

Butterbox wrote:
    I think your influence over your six yr old is greater than you think, however unintentional. Evidence of this is in the fact that you seem somewhat proud that your child was left distraught after a game of football. To say that I don't want people to be passionate about anything is to seriously ignore the conclusion of my post. On another post I am saddened to see, particularly Dublin supporters, directing their chants at the opposing supporters. It was like being at an English soccor match, as was the self-segragation on the Hill.

Look, if you want to start a debate about my influence over my son, or my pride about leaving him distraught, start a new thread in the Parenting forum or call ISPCC!.

This thread was about the brilliant match yesterday. Without passion there wouldn't have been the intensity in the play from both teams which has drawn such positive comment from all quarters of the country.

On the chants, people travel the length of the country to watch their county team play in Croke Park. This is all part of the atmosphere. One of the most enjoyable sport related experiences was the last time Mayo played Dublin in Croke Park in the Championship, a long number of years ago. I was in the hill among the Dubs. The craic was brilliant.

What happened yesterday to my mind was no different. Fun and Games. If you see anything wrong with it, I think you might need to get out a bit more often. This is sport in the real world.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Avns1s wrote:
    Look, if you want to start a debate about my influence over my son,

Here here, cop on, there is even another thread in the GAA section called kiddie's tickets, where this stuff would fit better.

Can we not just honour the men, on both sides who made that one of high lights of the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Mikosyko

Wow! I'm absolutly exstatic! :D

I only pray that we can banish the memory of 2004. The day after the final, i had to back to school across the border, in galway!! you can see where im going here.

fingers crossed. FFS lets do this at last! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Fantastic game. I missed the pre-match though as I was away. Has anyone clips of the Caffrey incident? I only saw the small part they showed on the Sunday Game last night because the game was on about three minutes before I got it yesterday.

Well done to Mayo and to McDonald. He did a good job of proving critics like myself wrong. At one stage I even saw him back in his own box catching a ball and carrying it out. Like I said before, that's the commitment Mayo need to win and if they didn't show it yesterday they wouldn't of.

Hopefully they can beat Kerry now. As for Whelan's tackle, the less said the better. He's been getting away with stuff like that for ages. It was cowardly and unfair on Mayo in the way that it swung the game at that stage.

If this was soccer, Whelan would be looking at a three or four game ban and the GAA should make an example of him.

The Dubs will be back. Like I mentioned in a previous thread, teams are usually knocking on the door a few years before they make the breakthrough eg. Galway, Tyrone, Armagh etc. and how many quarter and semi finals they lost before they won anything. The Dublin team are still growing and getting the experience they need.

Hopefully this will be the year Mayo will make the breakthrough after knocking on the door for so long :D

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

oscarBravo wrote:
    Question about Sherlock's goal: it was abundantly clear, especially from the reverse-angle slo-mo replay, that he threw the ball into the net with both hands - caught it and immediately threw it. Is that allowed?
    No takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

oscarBravo wrote:
    No takers?

It certainly looked that way and they mentioned it on the Sunday Game last night but it would have been harsh to call him on it.

It'd be a bigger talking point if Mayo hadn't won but, because they did, nobody really cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

oscarBravo wrote:
    No takers?

I'd agree but because it happened so fast, the ref/umpires were never going to see/call it. The wonders of television.

oscarBravo wrote:
    No takers?

Watched the replays several times after reading your comment but couldn't see that he held onto the ball. Certainly not for enough time that the ref could have penalised him for it.

Sorry P.