Should we arm the Gardai?

• 19-08-2006 01:26AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Would you trust an armed Gardai. I wouldnt with the corruption allegations currently on going. What do you think. Is it time they forced more respect for them or not????:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

darkman2 wrote:
    I wouldnt with the corruption allegations currently on going.

What "current" allegations would you be talking about here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, definetly. At least inner city cops.
    Maybe just stun guns/tazers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

armless Gardai are not much use.
    Just imagine them trying to give people directions or stop traffic, pr even drive their cars??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Theres been a couple of threads about this before, here and here, probably many more. I don't we should arm them with guns but some better protection is in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

stepbar wrote:
    What "current" allegations would you be talking about here?

The Morris Tribunal I'd imagine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    The Morris Tribunal I'd imagine.

The corruption in Donegal. Once your on their list your never off. Like the Abbylara thing. Can we trust them in that respect??!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

Where I live two Guards and a BanGuarda were beaten up at a checkpoint by one guy. The least they need is some sort of self defence training. Guards used to be relatively untouchable years ago. And they got away with giving people hidings. Since people are no longer afraid of them, they instill no fear or respect in would be law breakers. Therefore, with respect to violent crime, what good are they? They can bearly protect themselves, let alone the public. They seem to have taken to avoiding trouble on the streets wherever possible, be it taking their time coming from the station, manning the station on a skeleton crew at night, or simply turning a blind eye and driving past obvious situations where they're needed. Something has to change, hopefully without having to give them guns, but if thats what it takes we'll just have to accept that.

Instead of arming them, what about ongoing martial arts training? Maybe BJJ? They could self-defend and restrain? It would take a while to become proficient, but would it utlimately be worth the expense and time? If required training, their fitness should improve, too. Just a thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

I say trade the cops here for some South African cops. Be sorted then, those lads are constantly armed to the teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Instead of arming them, what about ongoing martial arts training? Maybe BJJ? They could self-defend and restrain? It would take a while to become proficient, but would it utlimately be worth the expense and time? If required training, their fitness should improve, too. Just a thought.
    Exactly, there should be a self-defence course theyu have to take every year and they should be taught some kick ass judo moves :)

And there's definitely more than a couple who would benefit from a fitness regime. How can a Garda hope to make an impression with or face down criminals or even have their respect if the Garda is packing a 40inch waist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭JaysusMacfeck

Perhaps I imagined it but I remember seeing armed Gardaí in the north

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Instead of arming them, what about ongoing martial arts training? Maybe BJJ? They could self-defend and restrain?
    In terms of self-defence they need to be equipped with pepper-spray, retractable batons and anti-stab vests like any other modern police force in Europe. All they have at present is a 1930's style hictory stick and cuffs. Pathetic in this day and age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

No. That simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

armed Gardaí. absolutely not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i don't want armed gardai. i love listening to them shout "stop, or i'll stop stop again"

i think they should be armed. police are armed in most countries and the sky doesn't come crashing down. there'd have to be a proper training program first though. as they are, armed gardai would cause havoc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zootroid

I wouldn't want them armed, but i definitely think they should be better protected, maintaining minimum standards of fitness should also be a requirement (I'm friends with two ban gardai, both aren't exactly fit).

But I definitely wouldn't want them armed, I have never had a pleasant experience with a Guard, and for that reason alone wouldn't trust them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Angus MacGyver

Not a Chance. Ive pissed off my fair share of idiots in school who have since joined and im bound to bump into them some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I say force everyone to carry a gun... I'm damn sure I won't get mugged if people know i'm carrying 2 berettas under my shirt. Isn't there a town in America where its the law that you have to carry a gun on you at all times, its supposedly the safest town in America, albeit, the most paranoid. But still, Guns are the solution to and cause of all of lifes problems :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Perhaps I imagined it but I remember seeing armed Gardaí in the north

You wouldn't have seen Gardai in the north as it is the United Kingdom and the Gardai dont work there. They have their own police force called the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI)

You probably saw PSNI officers who are armed at all times. Every now and then some Guards go on exchange to the North but they are not allowed to carry weapons while working there.

Not a Chance. Ive pissed off my fair share of idiots in school who have since joined and im bound to bump into them some day.
    that's what the garda reserve is for. they don't have to have guns to drag you down the station and beat the crap out of you

L31mr0d wrote:
    I say force everyone to carry a gun... I'm damn sure I won't get mugged if people know i'm carrying 2 berettas under my shirt. Isn't there a town in America where its the law that you have to carry a gun on you at all times, its supposedly the safest town in America, albeit, the most paranoid. But still, Guns are the solution to and cause of all of lifes problems :D
    Doesn't America have one of the highest worldwide shooting murders?
    Guns for everyone isn't a good idea. I'm not even sure guns for gardai is a good idea.
    That guy who got shot 8 times in the head in the london subway for doing...nothing... comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

bluewolf wrote:
    That guy who got shot 8 times in the head in the london subway for doing...nothing... comes to mind.
    He jumped a turnstile didn't he? Plus he was foreign looking.

I guess that justifies being shot 8 times in the head... :|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

When this state was founded, after a civil war during which many people were armed and dangerous, the first Garda Commissioner (himself an ex-gunman) fought hard for an unarmed force.

The countries that arm their police have less success in combating crime than the Gardai do.

The time I was really proud of the unarmed Garda Siochána was when an unarmed garda came across some looper - I think it was Mad Dog McGlinchey - driving in the far reaches of the country with another equally heavily-armed mate. By sheer force of personality the garda arrested them both and brought them in. They escaped, but were recaptured after a search by unarmed gardai.

(By the way, the Menezes case: no, he didn't jump a turnstile. People watching the killing mixed up the cops with the guy they shot. Later, more accurate evidence showed that he walked in, picked up a free paper, put his ticket in the turnstile, strolled through the open doors of a Tube train and sat down, and as the cops raced towards him, stood and walked slowly towards them, only to be grabbed, held down and shot repeatedly in the head. A festival of incompetence by hysterical police, the whole thing.)

bluewolf wrote:

course it does.

[randy from south park]they took our jobs[/randy from south park]

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

he was running for a train as he was late.

the police apparently didnt make much of an effort to NOT shoot him, case of shoot first tbh.

i wouldnt trurst the current genration of gards with guns, maybe tazers of pepper spray, something non lethal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭That Guy 901

A gardai came into my school last year and he said he did ot want to have a gun with him.

The more the police use guns, the more criminals will use guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

bluewolf wrote:
    Kind of a mute arguement that as the regular UK police aren't armed either, just like ours aren't.

Funnily enough, I'm suprised no one has mentioned Abbeylara yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

I'm from Belfast and am used to seeing the armed PSNI and to be honest i can't take the Gardai as seriously partly due to the fact they are unarmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

luckat wrote:
    The countries that arm their police have less success in combating crime than the Gardai do.
    Figures? Soruce?