Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grown-ups who cry when they get "in trouble"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Wasn't there footage once of a Japanese CEO crying during a press conference after his company went down the tubes?

But yes in my experience it's rare enough but always women who do it (purely because they're the only ones who could get away with - unfairly so imho - they should get a bollocking for it!). I think if a guy did it he'd be told to cop-on or ostracised or just taken outside and given a bit of the old Patton treatment .... and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sleipnir wrote:
    Yeah my mate is a manager in a bank and he pulled one of his staff up on her work who promptly cried, went to bathroom with her friends who consoled her. Then she went home "upset" and didn't come back for a week! A fcuking week!

Then he had the same situation with another girl only this was because she was consistently late. He said something like "Are you having trouble getting

In all fairness, when you the story of the manager who "only" did something minor like that I tend to fill in the blank's....ie that said manager is a walking p**** who "only" makes their staff's live's a misery.

Just saying, like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

i have to ask cause i dont think anyone else has yet. has anyone ever seen a guy do this? and if so did he get his mammy to ring the boss afterwards?

we get alot of bollocks about equality from women. but ive personally seen alot of this ****e and its pure emotional manipulation. there also does tend to be a coralation between the crying type and the better looking girls. dont think ive ever seen a minger try this.

in my entire working life ive only seen one girl who had a genuine reason for breaking down on the job and she was a manager in a store who had a guy spit on her and threaten to slash her face up with a razor. word to the wise girls, thats an excuse, not "someone shouted at me!":rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

OP this is a pritty stup!d question you have asked....

Its is an option to these people / to any one. I.E. It might work / get the person out of the situation.

Not the type of person, just a tactic.

If it happens to you, fire the person for emotional imbalance and this type of thing should stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

pure emotional blackmail. really pisses me off. have no time for girls like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

dont think ive ever seen a minger try this.
    I have.

seansouth wrote:
    I have.
    yeah me too. it didnt work out for her...cant think why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

It worked out for my particular minger - still is afaik.

I hate this trait in people, and yes, to a large extent it is females. I've never seen a bloke do it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,370 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

From the few times I've seen someone do it - the crying has never really been about the immediate issue, but about a perceived slight or a 'home' situation.

The being given out to is just the trigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Christiano Ronaldo bawls at the drop of a hat. I could forgive World Cup final penalty heart break, but every season? give it a rest child!

he was probably bought by a club at the age of 6 and had no proper emotional up bringing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

I can be really emotional, & things like "the embarrassment of being given out to by another adult" as LadyJ put it, would probably upset me (luckily ive never had a major incident involving this).

But at the same time there is no way in HELL I would cry in front of this person. That would be so much more mortifying. Do these girls not feel so pathetic & weak? Maybe the week off work is worth the humilation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Cardinal

I think, in fairness, some people can't help but cry in situations where they're being given out to. This might be due to humiliation or whatever. The important thing, I think is not to treat them any differently because they're crying, if you are the other person involved. This type of woman will only try this if they think it'll get them somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Cardinal wrote:
    I think, in fairness, some people can't help but cry in situations where they're being given out to. This might be due to humiliation or whatever.
    Is not anger the response when given out to or is just me? Would you not feel compelled to respond to critisim rather than just take abuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

just wondering what your thoughts are on these people. I'll give you an example.

There's a girl in work, and she was away for 2 weeks, but rather than ask for the time off she gave away her shifts. Fair enough. But she couldn't get rid of one (the night before she came home anyway), so she tried to ring in sick, but they kinda guilted her out of it, and she ended up telling the truth about being away, etc...
    Anyway, the job were telling her that she has to do the shift, they can't let her off it, and all that, and so she... started balling her eyes out while on the phone to them. Now that right there smacks of "fuckineejitry" to me, but then she called her mother, who then rang the job to moan at them. She ended up getting the night off I believe.

In the thread about Eastern Europeans, someone mentioned they know someone who had to pay a fine for the bus, but started crying, so ended up getting off it, and getting some free tickets.

Now, what do ye think of these people? Are they just chancers? Scumbags? Immature? Is it a normal reaction when you're getting "in trouble"? People used to do it often enough in school, but in "the real world", it's a bit much is it not?

normal reaction? immature?

Totally imature imo.. I dont understand and i get some what irratated by people who cry to get out of situations. Its silly, a person would never gain any respect for acting in this manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

I have made both women and men cry by shouting at them, but I was surprised recently, I was just arguing with one bloke about a job technicality and he flipped his lid and went mental, so I said nothing for five minutes and just nodded agreeing with his rants, and then he starts crying.

I don't get the crying thing, but why grown blokes start crying, its a bit strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

The story the OP told is way OTT, its one thing crying but getting your mother to call in is just plain stupid. LIke she is old enough to have the job so like get over it dont make your mum call in!!

I cried once at work, about two hours after gettin givin out to! I had ponemiona (didnt know at the time!) so could barely move as my back was sore! Ended up cryin as a was serving a customer!! Tat was the only time ever! I broke up wth a boyfriend, never cried over that. Sliced my Fingers open twice, never cried. Saw something on corination st/home and away, and shed a tear r two.

Some girls are just overly sensitive and cry at anything, others can take it. And then theres the inbetween ones. I like to think i can take it, except when something sad happens in the soaps... ha ha ha!! (yea i know itsnot real!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

Hmmm I was about 8 years ago just starting out in my profession and got due to company **** up with a 200 hr 2day week. With no overtime. Just awful, It was at the end of a summer of 3month of utter help just brutal 12 day standard regular fifteen hr days, just awful. Towards the end a mate I worked with collasped with exhaustion in a taxi on his way home from work and was hospitalised for three days, oh and the only management reaction was a MD to walk into our workplace and jeer that said employee "couldn't hack the pace." We were working for just about minimum wage, falling about on absurd hours, and my boss complained about a trivial mistake I'd made. And I lost it (same bloke who made the joke about our mate) had apparently just had a vasectumi, so I screamed "**** off you ****ing eunuch" and screamed,in tears to my actual boss I quit, and frankly sleep depravition kicked in, and tears rolling down my cheek I just screamed **** you all I quit.

Honestly though I had days were I'd work till 6am, get up at 12pm crawl into work till 3am,up at 9, and this went on for weeks By the end we (the staff) were not sleeping, period. Our sleep schedule was just ****ed and when we crawled into bed we just couldn't be in a mental state to sleep.

My only regret is not kicking that ****er in the nads. Just to watch him go down with one in the happy sacs with a bunch of burst stitches to content with. Maybe they'd get septic, and he'd need to lop the whole lot off.

With a rusty saw.

Not that I'm bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

<----Gets the hell out of this thread before diogenes starts to feel sleep deprived again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

InFront wrote:
    <----Gets the hell out of this thread before diogenes starts to feel sleep deprived again

say, that sounds like a swell plan. i'm following you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

just wondering what your thoughts are on these people. I'll give you an example.

There's a girl in work, and she was away for 2 weeks, but rather than ask for the time off she gave away her shifts. Fair enough. But she couldn't get rid of one (the night before she came home anyway), so she tried to ring in sick, but they kinda guilted her out of it, and she ended up telling the truth about being away, etc...
    Anyway, the job were telling her that she has to do the shift, they can't let her off it, and all that, and so she... started balling her eyes out while on the phone to them. Now that right there smacks of "fuckineejitry" to me, but then she called her mother, who then rang the job to moan at them. She ended up getting the night off I believe.

normal reaction? immature?

Totally immature. I can't believe she got her mother to ring up, someone should have told her little princess to suck it up and get into work or she wouldn't have a job to come back to.

I can be quite sensitive but i would never cry in work to get my way. Thats immature and pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭smallpaws

If I had an employee try and pull that 'boohoo! WAH! I'm calling my mother on you guys!"crap, I'd be looking for the first legitimate chance I got to fire the silly b*tch. It's pretty clear she can't handle having a 'Big Girl' job yet.
    Also, I would have told the mother to F off. Repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

I was at the grill in a kitchen I used to work in; after getting splashed by enormously hot spitting duck fat, I swung my hand back and two of my fingers stuck to the heating element, and I had to pull them off, removing a not insignifigant amount of skin.

I cried a little alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Pigman II wrote:
    Wasn't there footage once of a Japanese CEO crying during a press conference after his company went down the tubes?

Now that you mention it the Japanese do seem to have a completely different attitude to crying. Ive seen that a few times. And they do seem to be depicted on tv crying a lot more (the guys i mean). Maybe its just seen as more of a sign of weakness in western culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

My g/f cries at films and alot of the more emotionally charged things in life. She even cried when her 3 year old daughter was getting the MMR, she's just emotional like that. However, I've seen her being shouted at by a manager before and her response wasn't tears (and NEVER would be) It was, I'm not the person who caused the problem so don't take it out on me... so on... Standing up for herself like most normal people would.

Girls who are emotional are not the same as girls who are manipulative and I think it's important to remember that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

My g/f cries at films and alot of the more emotionally charged things in life. She even cried when her 3 year old daughter was getting the MMR, she's just emotional like that. However, I've seen her being shouted at by a manager before and her response wasn't tears (and NEVER would be) It was, I'm not the person who caused the problem so don't take it out on me... so on... Standing up for herself like most normal people would.

Girls who are emotional are not the same as girls who are manipulative and I think it's important to remember that.

I agree theres a big difference in being emotional and crying easily and those who use crocodile tears.

I am exactly like your girlfriend and will cry at sad films and cry at things like my daughter making her confirmation or my son's first steps. I even cry at those NSPCC ads or the NSPCA ads or TV. I can't help it as it moves me and upsets me. If there's people with me I bite my lip and try hold it in and it can be :o .

As for someone giving out to me in work there is no way I'd ever cry. There would be two responses:

1. If I knew I was in the wrong and was given out to I'd apologise.

2. If I was given out to unfairly and thought I was in the right I'd back up for myself.

Can't get Whitney Houstons song "I get so emotional baby" out of my head now thanks to this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Pocari Sweat

The girl in the office who got her mammy on the phone, was the boss giving her a bit on the side, and dumped her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Wickedcat

i'm not ashamed to admit that i cry.especially so when i'm upset and hurt. but i do it in my room. i'm not used to sharing the problems with friends so they think i'm a tough one.. but to cry to save your ass from getting burned is a cowards way of protection..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

I find there are usually two types of cry-babies:

1. Those who will get emotional at everything and start blubbering, because they're used to mummy running to their attention and smothering them with cuddles and kisses to make it all better.

2. Those nasty little ****s who will bawl their eyes out when they don't get what they want or things don't go their way. It's usually rectified by mummy/daddy quickly giving into their demands.

Unfortunately sometimes these traits remain with people into adulthood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 slu1exm

I would be going to my HR department looking to get rid of the anyone who cried in work like this. Surely someone that immature has no place in a workplace???

And as for having her mommy call in???? The mind boggles.WTF I repeat WTF.

If I ever heard about someone I know doing this I would rip the piss out of them for ever more. And I mean that in the sense that every time I saw them/met them/their name was mentioned in conversation, I would ridicule them about it until the end of time.