One for the lads - how close are you to your Dad?

• 09-07-2006 05:11PM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,684 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Interesting discussion with me mates in the boozer over male bonding with their fathers. Alot of irish males dont seem to have a close relationship with their Da's. What are you thoughts/experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I do but not that close:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Well if you had a close relationship we all get fed up with the niceties, just like keep it civil and pleasant.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,684 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Jaysus i dont mean close as in dodgy close!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

faceman wrote:
    Interesting discussion with me mates in the boozer over male bonding with their fathers. Alot of irish males dont seem to have a close relationship with their Da's. What are you thoughts/experiences?

tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

We are more mates then father/son, the closest we get is when we go for pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Play golf with my dad every weekend, work with him some days, would say we are rather close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,065 ✭✭✭✭Terry

before he died, extremely close.
    while physically different in appearance, we had the same mannerisms and traits.
    damn it. now i'm getting all emotional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Not very close tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭New_Departure06

I had an appallingly negative relationship with my father when I lived with him. Endless shouting at each other followed by keeping our distance before then sortof getting on for a while before it all started again. My mother was also subject to being yelled at for stupid reasons and it affected her health so much so that she collapsed and had to spend some time in hospital, during which she was unable to wake up and we were fearful she might die. However it turns out there was no prospect of her dying. She was just in a deep clinical depression. Eventually she came out of it but her behaviour when she was awake reflected what I have said e.g. she thought her sister was still alive (she died in 1997). She forgot what year it was. And when I tried to leave the hospital later she grabbed my arm and burst into tears and asked me not to leave. Thankfully this eventually sorted itself out with the right medication, but she blames dad for what happened, and I happen to agree. She eventually moved out as she could take no more. He never hit her, but psychologically it was hard to take such a difficult man as dad.

I also moved out. He has actually hit me in the past, and flew off the handle for stupid reasons. He resented my lack of masculinity and accused me of being gay (which I am). Consequently he would nag me to "act normal" in terms of talking more "manly" etc. I eventually also moved out, though I didn't tell him this was the reason. Relations with him are actually now quite okay. I put this down to the absence of opportunity for argument. But I would not go as far as to say we are friends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

My father's name is Powder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

From an outsider looking in a lot of my friends are luckily extremely close to there dads. A few have lost there dads, and they always speak of the fond memories and experiences that they shared with there dad which is always nice to hear. Everyone has there rough patches, but all and all they seem to be good.

How old are you, New_Departure06?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Not very close at all no. Then again, I wouldn't let many people get close to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Never very close with my dad, now ever more apart seeing as I'm 3,500 miles away. *sniffle* Sorry just...something in my eye there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Not close at all really...never do stuff together and never have.

Would never say it to him, but it is one of the main disappointments of my life so far. :(

DubGuy wrote:

Would never say it to him, but it is one of the main disappointments of my life so far. :(
    More than likely, he feels the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

DubGuy wrote:

Why dont you change it thought ? You seem to want to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭New_Departure06

Aard wrote:
    How old are you, New_Departure06?

28 why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭bizmark

Very i cant think of a better father to have i love him more than anyone alive and would quite happly die for him.

Truely a great man Tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,065 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I had an appallingly negative relationship with my father when I lived with him. Endless shouting at each other followed by keeping our distance before then sortof getting on for a while before it all started again. My mother was also subject to being yelled at for stupid reasons and it affected her health so much so that she collapsed and had to spend some time in hospital, during which she was unable to wake up and we were fearful she might die. However it turns out there was no prospect of her dying. She was just in a deep clinical depression. Eventually she came out of it but her behaviour when she was awake reflected what I have said e.g. she thought her sister was still alive (she died in 1997). She forgot what year it was. And when I tried to leave the hospital later she grabbed my arm and burst into tears and asked me not to leave. Thankfully this eventually sorted itself out with the right medication, but she blames dad for what happened, and I happen to agree. She eventually moved out as she could take no more. He never hit her, but psychologically it was hard to take such a difficult man as dad.

I also moved out. He has actually hit me in the past, and flew off the handle for stupid reasons. He resented my lack of masculinity and accused me of being gay (which I am). Consequently he would nag me to "act normal" in terms of talking more "manly" etc. I eventually also moved out, though I didn't tell him this was the reason. Relations with him are actually now quite okay. I put this down to the absence of opportunity for argument. But I would not go as far as to say we are friends.
    that can't have been easy.
    i lived with an uncle for a while after my mother died. he was a complete prick. i know all about mental torture.

as for the gay thing, my father thought i was gay for a while because he never saw me with a woman. he was cool with it though. although he was happy when he caught me with a woman on the couch one night.

28 why?
    Well you said that you moved out; I was thinking of doing the same thing, and just was wondering if you were around my age. But now I see that you're old enough to be out there by yourself, whereas I'd be in no shape to leave home just yet.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Extremely good relationship, We talk most days, he knows pretty much most things about what is going on in my life, however we do not talk about very personal things really. I don't tell him about girls etc. Its mostly do do with Business, work, life goings on, some social and friends etc. I'm pretty open about most things with both my parents. Its a relationship based on mutual trust and respect. Even when it comes to things they don't like, i respect them enough not to lie to them. e.g. drugs. I'm pretty much completely honest with my parents that way. They know I'm not an idiot and I'm not going to ruin my life, so although they obviously don't like it, they know I occaisionally do recreational drugs. They like to remind me to be carefull etc all the time but generally trust me to take care of myself. Can't ask for a much better relationship than that really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Setun

Legend tbh. Very encouraging when it comes to my interests <music/art etc>, always helps out when he can. He's invested a lot of money into my life, so hopefully I'll pay him back somehow <probs not in any fiscal manner though :p>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Myself and my Da are very good friends... Always there for me etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

damnable close, I get on great with my old man. but then we're very alike in many regards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Yeah I don't know if its an Irish thing or worldwide thing, but even though i'm relatively close to my dad, the physical barrier is always there. There wouldn't be a lot of hugging and so forth. Its funny because its like the old cliché that you come to respect your parents the older you get. I finally realised for me anyway this is because as I grew up, all the good traits of my father I assumed where normal for every older man and all I could see was the bad. But now in retrospect I see that most men don't have the good traits of my father and the bad was purely meant to discipline me. My dad is very tight lipped, and would keep most conversations on surface matters but where he shows his affection would be in doing things without question for his children, he will always drop anything to help out or offer support. He's of the old fashioned Irish man ideal that you work hard, support your family, and that is all. All other matters concerning the children is looked after by the mother.

I think this is why a lot of people coming out of families with parents who grew up in the 50-60's will probably have a cool relationship with their father as the work to build that relationship wasn't there. A lot of Irish men now would of been moddey coddled by their mothers, and a lot of ex girlfriends of my friends have said that they always felt they where competing with their boyfriends mother for attention. But i'd say the generation that grew up in the 60-70's are the ones that have a better relationship with their fathers as woman began to work and men began to take more of a role in the household.

Its funny, I remember an interview with Bono before about his relationship with his father. When asked how come he can approach world leaders, Icons and religious heads and ask them questions no one else would dare and yet he could not build up the courage to ring his own father and say hello he said "its just the irish way, thats the way things are"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I have to say I'm very close to my dad. He doesnt live at home anymore but I work with him 6 days a week and we play football (5 a side, not on our own :) ) twice a week. We go drinking (used to be 1 or 2 times a week but not anymore, mostly due to my laziness in not going out. We still go for a drink every now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

My father died when I was relatively young (late teens), it's a huge regret of mine that I never got to know him as a man, and not just as a father.

He sacraficed an awful lot for all of his children, it would have been nice to say thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'm not on speaking terms with over 50% of my immediate family.. but I get on okay with my father I guess... I try to visit him at the zoo whenever I get the chance anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

My dad is a man I hold the utmost respect for. We go to dublin games together, ocassionally golf (I don't particularly enjoy it but he does so it's grand) etc.... and over the past few months we have been in training to cycle Galway-Dublin in tandem (on the weekend of the 22nd hopefully).

My dad owns all your dads. :p