Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards from Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I'd be much happier meeting a tough lookin dublin cop when im in dublin knowing that he'd be able to deal with scum and not run back to store street, tail between legs

My sentiments exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

If anybody is waffling it is you.

It sounds like you have never spent any time in the more colourful areas of Dublin. You know hookers live in the suburbs and drugs are sold out there too. Junkies steal in the suburbs. It isn't confined to the city.

Country cops in Dublin are often a disaster due to their complete lack of comprhension of their suroundings. I have seen it personally and it is not an issue of training but respect and street smarts. It is an issue but if you don't beleive that is fine it is still going to be there.

AS sombody already pointed out it is an issue in Coolock and that is the area with highest crime figurses AFAIK.

N1gga fcuk you, Im reppin Blanch-town to the fullest dogg.

For anyone from outside Dublin reading this Id like to point out that contrary to what Fills post might hint, the amount of 11 year old boys standing on Dublin streecorners at 3am selling crack and toting an Uzi is remarkably low. I dont think your getting my point. Fair enough, villages in the country of 200 people generally have nothing worth talking about, but the estates in towns like Drogheda, Dundalk, Cavan etc can be as rough as some in Dublin. I think your the one who hasnt the life experience mate, as Ive seen both sides and would marginally regard country folk as a surlier, more violent bunch of alcoholics.

As for the "talking down" element, I dont think its purely a case of Kerry cops vs Dublin Kids. Its basically country cops vs young people full stop. We got stopped while driving around north meath/south Cavan, my mate had a load of cheek given to him by an oul cop (mate is from Limerick)

And he didnt know he was from Limerick, in case you thought that just gave him more reason to take the piss :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

gonna have to agree with tha gopher there.
    Leixlip, while being quite close to Dublin, is fairly rough at the best of times. the village is pretty muc a no-go area at the weekend.
    further out, you have maynooth and celbridge. i was stabbed while out for a few quiet pints in celbridge and was jumped by three guys twice my size while in maynooth when i was 18.
    further again you have [can't think of the name now. will edit later when it comes to me]. people have been kicked to death outside the nightclub there.

then you have enfield with its notoriously violent local club. navan and its problems. trim is similar.

the violence isn't contained at the nightlink on westmoreland street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

julep wrote:
    further again you have [can't think of the name now. will edit later when it comes to me]. people have been kicked to death outside the nightclub there.

Carrig Springs nightclub in Cavan? Been once or twice because Ive family/friends there, feckin scumhole. At least two killings in the last decade (one young lad beaten to death, iirc the other was a bouncer who died when some guy drove a car at him after being thrown out)

How many Dublin clubs have a death rate this high?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

im with the gopher on this too, theres no real difference in the depravity of crime be it town or country, I blame housing estates. They always have the same problems no matter where they are in this country. Housing estates = bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Carrig Springs nightclub in Cavan? Been once or twice because Ive family/friends there, feckin scumhole. At least two killings in the last decade (one young lad beaten to death, iirc the other was a bouncer who died when some guy drove a car at him after being thrown out)

How many Dublin clubs have a death rate this high?
    summerhill in meath is the place i was referring to.

LovelyHurling, where else are people going to live, if not in housing estates?

flats?
    didn't really work too well in ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Collie D wrote:
    Couldn't agree more. I'm from Coolock and a lot of the Guards (not all) stationed there are country lads who seem to see every local as a potential criminal. They have no respect for the community they are supposed to be serving and in turn get no respect back. If there were more Dublin Guards serving in Dublin, they would understand the local psyche a bit more.

I sadly agree with you, i live in coolock too and they always seem suspicious of you no matter what you're doing (ie- standing outside your house talking etc, silly things)

About the distance thing, I know someone whos a guard and he has to work 5 miles from his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

About the distance thing, I know someone whos a guard and he has to work 5 miles from his house.
    In country areas, reservists will not be allowed work within a nine-mile radius of where they live. So much for community policing, but it get's worse...

Reservists will have to be transported to and from their area of patrol by a regular member of An Garda Siochana.

So basically transporting reservists will tie up a regular patrol car containing two regular members for an average of 1.5 hours just so the reservist can do a four-hour tap.