Deftones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭killswitch

indeed....giveamanakick are heavy enough so thats fine....thank god its in the ambassador so you can go up whenever and still have a good view of the show :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

Saw giveamanakick supporting the presidents they were pretty good.
    The deftones should be a good gig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

I wish I was at the deftones gig in I think '97!!! Adrenaline and Around The Fur are still fantastic albums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Bought my ticket over the weekend, really looking forward to it. I saw Giveamanakick here in Tralee once and they were good, but this is the Deftones - cmon! Got excited while reading the previous posts when Will Haven were mentioned, really good band also. Oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 kiwi_cas

entered a compettion in the Irish times on Sat last. got two tickets out of it...........thank god. I was totally broke for ages. Didn't think i'd get to go at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭MunkyHed

Just thought i'd bump this thread as the gig is nearly upon us. Looks like the traffic will be crazy with all the oxegen heads travelling tommoro, stupid hippies!! Only messin, but Deftones would kick any Oxegen bands asses any day. Oxegen is gone pure soft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Afrosticks

Munkyhed..I don't remember Oxegen ever being hard.. Lol

@meaty johnson
    I personally think the VFormation support is perfect.
    Someone else said "Its fine cos Giveamanakick are heavy".
    Why on earth do ye need heavy bands supporting other heavy bands?

I'd rather a slightly softer band supporting..cos then when Deftones start....BOOM!!
    nothing worse than going to a gig with every band playing the same style

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭magicspatula

Saw deftones at Download and they were class! Itl be good to get a longer set this time. And a smaller venue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭gline

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭garthv

Saw em at Roskilde,
    Chino's gotten too fat and runs out of breath halfway through a song, but other then that they were pretty good, didnt play anything from Around the Fur though :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

I can't wait to hear Beware The Water, and they usually switch 1 or 3 songs around every show, so I can only hope they play Fireal. I predict......BEST CONCERT EVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

eniarah and gline banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Afrosticks

Freak Scenery...I sent Eniarah a Pm for it too.

I love this forum...but if you think staying on here is more important than trying to get my friends tickets to come to the gig of the year....I say a big "LOL" to you.

Later folks...important things beckon

Afrosticks banned.

"When will people learn?"

Anybody have any ideas of what time this'll be over at?

Usually sometime between half 10 and 11.

Afrosticks wrote:
    Freak Scenery...I sent Eniarah a Pm for it too.

I love this forum...but if you think staying on here is more important than trying to get my friends tickets to come to the gig of the year....I say a big "LOL" to you.

Later folks...important things beckon

And the crowd goes wild.... Stick it to the man!!:D

standing_ovation.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,209 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

should be a laugh indeed,not too mad on the deftones but i love steph carpenter,he is a great guitarist,very distinctive

The question is lads, i reckon the gig will finish quite early due to the amount of teeny boppers that are gonna attend... where's the party afterwards??
    Yes I am a culchie and i'm only goin up to the big shmoke for the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Toast

MunkyHed wrote:
    where's the party afterwards??

I hear theres a big one in Punchestown.

Seriously though probably Fibbers which is all of 2 mins away. You'll easily see streams of people head in that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭shnaek

I've been looking for a recent tracklist of a deftones gig and I found this from a gig in June:
    Root
    My Own Summer (shove it)
    Beware of the water (new song)
    Hexagram
    Feiticera
    Korea
    Head up (With MAX)
    Around the fur
    Be quiet and drive (far away)
    When girls telephone boys
    Minerva
    Bloody cape
    Change (in the house of flies)
    Nosebleed
    7 words

Not three bad at all! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Ho-Hum

Wow thats a good set! Only a few hours left I cant wait :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CrazyTalk

Just back from it.
    Twas awesome I must say. Opened with 'feiticera', and played for nearly 2 hours (more bands should do the same, rather than burdoning us with 45 minute sets ¬_¬). The last group of songs were all from their debut album. One hell of a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

I got id'd and sent up to the balcony. Still, proper gig. They played a great set and (to put it mildly!) really got the crowd going. Wish I could go again tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Excellent Gig. No Minerva or Back To School so i was a bit dissapointed with the overall setlist. 2 Hours was excellent. Performance 10/10 Setlist 5/10. Gig rating 7.5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

That was an excellent gig, I much prefered it to the one they played in '97. There was a good sound in the venue and it didn't seem too packed which helps. I'd love to go again tomorrow and would recommend it to anyone who is undecided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

Yeah Legend gig might try to get tickets for tomorrows gig!

when I got home from THE BEST NIGHT OF MY LIFE I wrote out the setlist (with the marker stef used to write his autograph on everybodys stuff outside in the queue)

in no particular order except the first 3 songs
    Feiticeira
    My Own Summer (Shove It)
    Beware The Water
    Be Quiet And Drive
    Head-up
    Passenger
    Hexagram
    No Ordinary Love
    Around The Fur
    Bloody Cape
    When Girls Telephone Boys
    MX
    Korea
    Fireal
    Bored
    Minus Blindfold
    Nosebleed
    Root
    Korea
    Knife Party
    7 Words/Birtmark/7 Words

I could probably seperate the setlist into 2 parts, because I spent the first half of the show on the balcony (thanks MCD!) and the second half on the floor.

Pictures coming soon (well at least the scan of my ticket is)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

Brilliant gig. V Formation totally bored me, unfortunately.