Slight minority taking over boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭TomCo

Angels wrote:
    People, is there a huge wall built around Dublin, so it makes it the only county in Ireland???

Not yet, construction is scheduled to begin after completion of the port tunnel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Get over it tbh. You're just picking a fight over something pointless...

Move the Dublin related threads to make way for more ridiculous sh1te in AH? Why bother??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Angels wrote:
    People, is there a huge wall built around Dublin, so it makes it the only county in Ireland???

(Don't get me wrong i have no problem with Dublin or anything like that, but you sometimes feel in here that its the only county in AH)

As far as I can see, there are no counties in After Hours. It's a forum with threads created and contributed to by the members. That most of those members are from Dublin is hardly anyone's "fault"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

It's not just Dublin threads!

Are Cavan people stingy?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054955228

Also, I seem to recall a thread about three "country lads" who were in Dublin for the weekend and wanted to know where they could score. They were not Dubs! So proportionally I would say there are no more Dubs posting these queries than people from other parts of the country.

Besides, most of these posts are generally non-sensical rubbish which is why I guess they are placed in AH as most threads here are meant for a bit of fun or just weird discussion! Most of the regional forums seem to focus on real issues for that region and I don't think they would appreciate it. Get over it!

That said, I have noticed that in general, biko is usually one of the first to post in threads telling people that their choice of forum is inappropriate (without adding an opinion on the OPs thread) so I guess it is something that bugs him a lot anyway, Dubs or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

maybe we should have a sub AH forum just for culchies? call it copper face jacks or something..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Bambi wrote:
    maybe we should have a sub AH forum just for culchies? call it copper face jacks or something..
    Very mature comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

r3nu4l wrote:
    That said, I have noticed that in general, biko is usually one of the first to post in threads telling people that their choice of forum is inappropriate (without adding an opinion on the OPs thread) so I guess it is something that bugs him a lot anyway, Dubs or not.
    Well, that's just in AH. It does p:ss me off when I see that people post in AH just because they can't be arsed to post in TV, Politics or another correct forum. Probably they just want more attention.

I used to have a sig that said something like "If you ask where in town something is and you don't state your location or which town you refer to it shall be assumed you mean Galway". Implicitly: If you don't tell us where you are located or where you need to find a dentist (or whatnot) we can't tell you!

My guess is that most of the "where in town" threads are by kids that never left the big city and cannot understand that "town" is lots of places, not just Dublin. The mystery is that kids in Limerick or Cork don't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

biko wrote:
    Well, that's just in AH. It does p:ss me off when I see that people post in AH just because they can't be arsed to post in TV, Politics or another correct forum. Probably they just want more attention.
    Biko,

shouldn't this be in the Feedback Forum?

biko wrote:
    ...cannot understand that "town" is lots of places, not just Dublin.

Now, that I understand. I studied at NUIM and I remember one of my classmates telling me one Friday after Biology practical in first year that he was "going into town to buy a litre of milk" :eek: I couldn't understand why he would get the 66 into the city centre just to buy some milk when he could buy it in Maynooth :eek: :D

It took me about a minute to realise that "town" in this context meant Maynooth town/village and not the city centre! :o I guess it's just that Dublin kids have always called the city centre "town" as it adds to the feeling of a unified cty rather than the country feel where every place with a pub, shop and post-office is a "town". :shrugs:

I'm pretty sure that kids living in Cork/Galway city would call the city "town", wouldn't they??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

r3nu4l wrote:
    I'm pretty sure that kids living in Cork/Galway city would call the city "town", wouldn't they??

Probably. But would they come on to AH or another forum and used it? I doubt it v much. Its just a small thing, but its enough to make people feel at a small. can be easily rectified. I dont mind people now and again askin "where is the best place to X in <location>", as long as its clearly stated. Imagine how people reacted (especially Dublin people) if the person was talking about Cork,Galway, Belfast or Kilkenny when he said "town". Id say there would be alot of replies like "why didn ya say so bud"

And as for being called culchies cas we're outside Dublin....ah not even gonna bother comment on that.

r3nu4l wrote:
    Now, that I understand. I studied at NUIM and I remember one of my classmates telling me one Friday after Biology practical in first year that he was "going into town to buy a litre of milk" :eek: I couldn't understand why he would get the 66 into the city centre just to buy some milk when he could buy it in Maynooth :eek: :D

It took me about a minute to realise that "town" in this context meant Maynooth town/village and not the city centre! :o I guess it's just that Dublin kids have always called the city centre "town" as it adds to the feeling of a unified cty rather than the country feel where every place with a pub, shop and post-office is a "town". :shrugs:

Yes, we do. I think everyone does. That's not the issue here.

The issue here is: Why do kids from Dublin assume that everyone equals town with Dublin whereas kids in Limerick or Cork don't?

If you see the example above this poster assumes everyone else reading his post also are in Dublin. If fact about every second reader would be working/living in Dublin, the rest are outside.

As I say, it's probably an age/experience thing! I didn't know anyone form the country until I went to college at the tender age of 17 and three months :) so it took me a while to realise that places outside the Dublin area actually really existed...not just on the telly ;) (joking :rolleyes: )

I got very used to referring to Dublin as "Dublin" during my time in college as most of my friends were from other counties. Took a little while but I got used to it.

I understand why you are annoyed that most of these posters seem to assume that everyone will think "Dublin" for "town" but that's life!

And I never use the word 'culchie', it is a derogatory phrase for an agricultural worker and I became aware long ago that not everyone outside Dublin wears Welly boots and drives a Massy Ferguson, my own gf is a fine townie lass from a "town" in Co. Tipp :D

biko wrote:
    The issue here is: Why do kids from Dublin assume that everyone equals town with Dublin whereas kids in Limerick or Cork don't?

Because kids from cork and limerick now in their heart's that cork and limerick are not "town". Dublin kids however know that the capital city doesnt need to qualify any statements referring to it. It is the default

look on it this way, dublin is the capital of boards.ie. If you made up a user map of boards, its land mass would probably 80-90% covered by dublin. thats the way it is. Next customer.

Bambi wrote:
    Because kids from cork and limerick now in their heart's that cork and limerick are not "town". Dublin kids however know that the capital city doesnt need to qualify any statements referring to it. It is the default

look on it this way, dublin is the capital of boards.ie. If you made up a user map of boards, its land mass would probably 80-90% covered by dublin. thats the way it is. Next customer.

I'm sorry cant tell if your being serious or not?!? Wtf Dublin is "town" now is it? Without tryin to be offensive here but it sounds like you need to get out of your box and get over it a bit. Its not a major problem, but its fairly arrogant, unfair and tbh stupid what you have just stated. Dublin is the capital of boards...

Say if you were to go on to Manchester Uniteds/Liverpool website/forums...There is cities around the globe with more fans than their own cities, and in turn most people that use these forums are not from those areas. So for example purposes if the majority of Man Utd/Liverpool fans or whatever club were from Tokoyo, would that make it the capital of that site???

Trilla wrote:
    I'm sorry cant tell if your being serious or not?!? Wtf Dublin is "town" now is it? Without tryin to be offensive here but it sounds like you need to get out of your box and get over it a bit. Its not a major problem, but its fairly arrogant, unfair and tbh stupid what you have just stated. Dublin is the capital of boards...

Say if you were to go on to Manchester Uniteds/Liverpool website/forums...There is cities around the globe with more fans than their own cities, and in turn most people that use these forums are not from those areas. So for example purposes if the majority of Man Utd/Liverpool fans or whatever club were from Tokoyo, would that make it the capital of that site???

The majority of boards users reside in dublin therefore dublin is the capital of boards. When someone refer's to oconnell street at 3 am in AH everyone knows this is not oconnell street in limerick or somewhere. Such is life

Bambi wrote:
    The majority of boards users reside in dublin therefore dublin is the capital of boards. When someone refer's to oconnell street at 3 am in AH everyone knows this is not oconnell street in limerick or somewhere. Such is life

big difference between sayin "O Connell st" and "town"....No website/forum has a Capital city. Gotta agree to disagree I suppose

Bambi wrote:
    The majority of boards users reside in dublin therefore dublin is the capital of boards.
    Er, the majority of board user do not reside in county Dublin, strickly not even half of the users do. 70% of boards users live in one of Leinsters 13 counties.
    Leinster is not Dublin.

The majority of boards users live in another county than county Dublin, do you understand?

Therefore Galway is boards DC (default city), as we have Cloud, the boards uber-lord.

biko your dead right but I think we're all gettin on our high horse a little too much about it, especially me! If people were to say Dublin as apposed to town or nothing at all it would be great...There is people out there that think there is nothin outside of Dubllin in Ireland, hence the culchie comments etc. What can ya do

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Galweh Ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,764 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

biko wrote:

More insular than people living elsewhere in the country?

Maybe you would call it the early onset of a "Dublin Mindset"?:D

Is that the kind of answer you are looking for?

Anyway, can we exclude that fellow who was looking urgently for the best place to "score" in "town" and posted a load of threads a day or two ago from this?

He bumped up the number of biko-offending threads quite alot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭GospelGroupie

Speaking as the original poster of the "tied-shoes thrown over esb wires" thread, I take exception to this thread being dumped in with the "Jackeens Only" forum....
    I've seen shoes thrown over esb wires since in Ballybane, Renmore and Salthill in Galway City, Tuam and Ballinasloe in Co. Galway, in Ennis & Shannon in Clare, Moyross and the Dock Road in Limerick. It's pretty endemic, to be honest.

The thought that this is just a Dublin issue is very níave.

Goodnight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Why do country folk have such an inferiority complex:rolleyes: As Dubs we know were great, you dont have to tell us and then moan about it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Well, I know that nesf takes a bit of a dislike to the Dublin=town thing some people have going on. So that's one of the mods on the side of the cause!

The whole Dublin superiority thing is sad really - it's not the most impressive capital in the world by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I'll put it simply, posting here for more exposure will get your thread moved and you possibly banned. People don't be seeming to get that this isn't the place to be posting Dublin specific threads. I end up moving a bunch of them every bloody day.

If people would cop on and just use the regional forums provided it'd save us all a lot of time (and specifically me).

If people like we could go back to the old system. Posting a thread here that is blatantly in the wrong forum gets it locked, moved to the recycle bin and the OP banned. I don't think any of us wants this but if people persist in doing it we may have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I dont understand what exactly the problem is? People from Dublin will always think of town as the Capitals city centre simply because its the central point for everything here? Does this mean we have to cater to your needs simply because your grumpy? Do you want us to change our speech patterns and go out and buy a tractor for the front garden or slap a cow in the back so you can feel more at home? I think most of the threads you mentioned here were looking for stories and personnal exsperiances within the places that Af posters would be more likely to give. Hell, if I can remember the names of 90% of the pubs and clubs in Dublin, cant you remember the few where you live?

Dont mean to sound cruel here mate, but I'v been around Ireland and besides Belfast and mabye some small parts of cork there aint nothing you cant find in Dublin for everyday life. So why would we even need to think of anywhere else?

If you read back - this thread is not about culchie grumpiness over Dublins greatness or anything like it. I myself live in one of the best spots in Ireland and would not change it for the world. If you look at "Best Town in Ireland" thread most towns voted for would be other that Dublin.

The thread was started with two concerns:

1. Regional posts in AH - why do mostly Dubs do this?
    Sure there are occasions when there is need for urgent replies about the Rosslare ferry or something but Dubs tend to post general "where to buy" or such in AH.

2. AH-posters refering to "town" and giving no clue as to which town they mean.
    In most cases this will be Dubs too. You take for granted that readers will be like you, living in the city, whereas most readers probably will be from another county than Dublin. See my response to Bambi above.

I think a lot of these "offending" OPs start off in AH and tend to stick in this one forum. They usually have low post counts so I assume that they are new to the place.

Again, this is not about me hating Dubs. It's about posting etiquette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

biko wrote:
    Again, this is not about me hating Dubs. It's about posting etiquette.
    Anything else I should know while Im here.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ya, watch out for my scout. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

r3nu4l wrote:

Well from what I've picked up o that some ppl in Limerick call it the city centre and some call it town. Belfast they call it the city/city centre etc.

Cork and Galway call it town aswell. Most culchies don't elaborate like the Dubs, afterall Dub isn't so big once you escape the island.:rolleyes:

On a side note, Cork,Limerick, Galway and Waterford combined dos'nt meet the population of Dub, so that Explains more reasons why Dub is mentioned more often in threads "for going out in such a place" than the rest of the regions, no big deal IMO.

Second(someone mentioned it Dublin has higher broaband users, so all the more reasons for more Dubs on.

In my experience. Most Dubs and most culchies are not "bitching" about each other most don't couldn't care less of the other vice versa. It's the arrogant Dubs and the Arrogant Culchies that get hot headed, and the ones that haven't a clue of the opposites. An example(the city Dub I knew from Ballymun said to me that ALL culchies were mindless and naive:rolleyes: This was a 5ft man, which all matter on earth shun out of it. Yet even better this guy would slag off the southsiders.. (rolls eyes)

I asked him does he know anyone from the country personal or an example?. He said, he goes to Ballybunion every year so, he knew how to back this up:rolleyes:(mind you most people that are in Ballybunion on holi are either from Limerick or Dub and Cork. lol .fool. It turned out he has no idea that some people just can live happily in the country. (whch is why he hates the country. It's people who are jealous and bikker all the time who are not happy where they are IMO. Same goes for the extreme culchies, I hear it a lot too of the culchies that hardly ever visit Dublin bitch about the place, which is starting on this thread. I think It's important to have a two sided story here.:)

P.s Im a mongrel:D

And Edit I have probably started the civl war again. shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

krazy_8s wrote:
    I dont understand what exactly the problem is? People from Dublin will always think of town as the Capitals city centre simply because its the central point for everything here?

The only problem I have is when an OP here refers to it as town and doesn't make it clear they are talking about Dublin. Apart from that, I don't care, it's a natural thing to do, almost everyone does it when referring to where they live. Once the city has been established (by the OP or by the forum in question) then referring to it as town if fine imho. :)