Pervs on the Prowl for Plastered Girls

• 03-07-2006 01:58PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭

I was out at a work do on Friday. Free bar all night, sprits were high and everyone had a jolly nice time. I've just heard however that one of the girls, who joined the company just recently, in her completely vodka-induced drunkeness (who lost the rest of the last few stragglers) WAVED DOWN A RANDOMER who dropped her home. (She thought it may have been a taxi) Thankfully the guy who stopped was a nice guy who was concerned for her welfare and picked her up lest some Pervy McPerv stopped and offered her a lift. A couple of people said over lunch that this is now a regular occurance in town and that some guys regularly cruise the city centre doing this. I know this is a real problem in Belfast but wasn't aware of it being a problem here!! And yes I do go out regularly, and no I don't live in a cave so I wouldn't say it's naivety , just not something I thought happens regularly in Dublin. Anyone else heard of this happening recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Not defending the pervs, but maybe if people didn't get so utterly rat-arsed drunk this wouldn't be an issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Imagine doing this outside baby Wezz..

Quote from sunday world 18th of june a girl from wez said:
    'If I dont **** a guy off and he doesn't cum on me, the other girls wont think I'm cool.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Miss Fluff wrote:
    I was out at a work do on Friday. Free bar all night, sprits were high and everyone had a jolly nice time. I've just heard however that one of the girls, who joined the company just recently, in her completely vodka-induced drunkeness (who lost the rest of the last few stragglers) WAVED DOWN A RANDOMER who dropped her home. (She thought it may have been a taxi) Thankfully the guy who stopped was a nice guy who was concerned for her welfare and picked her up lest some Pervy McPerv stopped and offered her a lift. A couple of people said over lunch that this is now a regular occurance in town and that some guys regularly cruise the city centre doing this. I know this is a real problem in Belfast but wasn't aware of it being a problem here!! And yes I do go out regularly, and no I don't live in a cave so I wouldn't say it's naivety , just not something I thought happens regularly in Dublin. Anyone else heard of this happening recently?
    Is this common in Belfast? Do you have any links? I've never heard of this.

Fair play to the guy to drop your friend home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Wez wrote:
    Imagine doing this outside baby Wezz..

Quote from sunday world 18th of june a girl from wez said:
    'If I dont **** a guy off and he doesn't cum on me, the other girls wont think I'm cool.'
    I reckon all her other friends are like buckets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

He should never have stopped. What if she woke up in her drunken haze and accused him of kidnapping her? Or sexually assaulting her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Stephen wrote:
    Not defending the pervs, but maybe if people didn't get so utterly rat-arsed drunk this wouldn't be an issue?

Have to agree with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Sleipnir wrote:
    He should never have stopped. What if she woke up in her drunken haze and accused him of kidnapping her? Or sexually assaulting her?

Exactly, the girl shouldn't have got so drunk, and if she did, her friends shouldn't have left her off on her own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

I've driven through town on weekend nights and the amount of girls walking around on their own pissed out of their trees is unbelieveable, some of them in dodgy isolated areas. I'm surprised this doesn't happen a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭Winters

If people stopped getting so ract faced that they cant even stand or tell who they are things would be a lot easier for a hell of a lot of people and probably a lot safer too.

However, the chance of that ever happening in Ireland would be slim to none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

You have to be responsible for your own safety but that doesn't mean that what these scumbags are doing is acceptable. I have never heard of it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

Personal responsibility. We all know there are pervs out there. We all know getting locked messes up our judgement.

It's like those girls who are drunk and willingly have sex with a guy. The next morning she calls it rape...

Wez wrote:

Did anyone else think like that when they were a kid? Or was I just a late bloomer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

two points:

1. no one should ever be so drunk as to do this. i've been rat arsed and never had the urge to jump into a randomers taxi, and nor do i plan on it... god help any WOMAN who does it.

2. where were her friends when she was hailing some random dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Sleipnir wrote:
    You see this is the prevailing attitude in our country nowadays.
    Its the "small town to big city" transition.

Years ago, everyone would have stopped their car if they saw a drunk person flagging them down. And they would have given them a lift home, and possibly a talking to. As is the right thing to do. You know that at least if you give her/him a lift home, that theyre safe and that they're not going to be run over or assaulted by someone at least. Ie; its the right thing to do.

Nowadays, people won't even help a person who fell on the street up again, lest they get blame for knocking them down. I've seen hundreds of people pass by an old man on the corner of O'connell bridge on their way to work without anyone attempting to help him back on his feet.

You should do the right thing, and help the people who need it, rather than thinking two (imaginary) steps ahead and looking to cover your own ass/make excuses for your laziness.

See, its all well and good going "tut, she shouldnt have gotten so drunk" like half the people on this thread. Thats no good, and its not helping the person in the here and now. Thats a completely different argument for another day, and using that as an excuse not to help is lame tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Not pervs driving around, just normal people who get pervy ideas. If your friend puts herself in a position like that, its really her own stupidity.

Not defending pervs/weirdos, just pushing common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

biko wrote:
    Is this common in Belfast? Do you have any links? I've never heard of this.

Fair play to the guy to drop your friend home.

Can't find any links but if you walk around Belfast City Centre after the pubs close on a Saturday you'll be approached by lots of illegal taxi touts. Basically weirdos who take their cars out at the weekend looking for drunk girls desperate to get home. PSNI have had to crack down because there was a spate of assaults.

I do agree with what some of you say, I don't know the girl well, she has just started here but what disturbed me was her WILLINGNESS to get into this guys car. :eek: Luckily she realised he was a good guy and how bloody lucky she is but it could have gone seriously pear-shaped for her or for the kind guy who was doing her a favour!!!

FuzzyLogic is always on the prowel for drunk ladies.

He mistook me for one once however I can tell you I was quite happy he did. Best night of hot passionate excitment I have ever had ^_^

<3

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    You see this is the prevailing attitude in our country nowadays.
    Its the "small town to big city" transition.

Years ago, everyone would have stopped their car if they saw a drunk person flagging them down. And they would have given them a lift home, and possibly a talking to. As is the right thing to do. You know that at least if you give her/him a lift home, that theyre safe and that they're not going to be run over or assaulted by someone at least. Ie; its the right thing to do.

Nowadays, people won't even help a person who fell on the street up again, lest they get blame for knocking them down. I've seen hundreds of people pass by an old man on the corner of O'connell bridge on their way to work without anyone attempting to help him back on his feet.

You should do the right thing, and help the people who need it, rather than thinking two (imaginary) steps ahead and looking to cover your own ass/make excuses for your laziness.

See, its all well and good going "tut, she shouldnt have gotten so drunk" like half the people on this thread. Thats no good, and its not helping the person in the here and now. Thats a completely different argument for another day, and using that as an excuse not to help is lame tbh.

You can call them a taxi, use their phone to call a friend or parent. Picking them up in your car especially if you are on your own is a BAD IDEA.

Not pervs driving around, just normal people who get pervy ideas.

I agree with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Stephen wrote:

Ok, forget the "holier than thou" mentality for a while..... Everyone is entitled to get rat arsed if they want, that doesn't mean they should be molested! If there are guys out cruising for drunk girls to take advantage of, then there's a big problem in this city that needs to be dealt with.

Let's say you see a girl in the above state and offer to take her home. You pour her into the back seat where she falls asleep. You hop in and drive off only to see blue flashes in your mirror so you pull in.
    Gardai say they saw you bundling a girl into the back of the car and would like to speak with her. They wake her and she says she has no idea who you are or why they are in the back of the car.

Outlandish? Impossible?
    Just try explaining it to your wife over the phone from jail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Miss Fluff wrote:
    this is a real problem in Belfast
    Bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭dmck2886

Her mates should have made sure she got home alright by getting her a taxi or by giving her a lift home, I wouldnt let someone get into a complete randomers car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

sinecurea wrote:
    Bull****.
    In fairness, sinecurea, why would the government have the ads pleading with people to make sure the taxi they're getting into has the right plates on UTV if it wasn't a problem?

And I agree with dmck2886, recent acquantice or not, someone should have made she was at least put in a taxi home.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Sleipnir wrote:
    Let's say you see a girl in the above state and offer to take her home. You pour her into the back seat where she falls asleep. You hop in a drive off only to see blue flashes in your mirror so you pull in.
    Gardai say they say you bundling a girl into the back of the car and would like to speak with her. They wake her and she says she has no idea who you are or why they are in the back of the car.

Outlandish? Impossible?
    Just try explaining it to your wife over the phone from jail.

this is a perfect reason to not help people. no one can be trusted anymore, i think this is a terrible state of affairs, genuine nice people are afraid that they could have there lives destroyed cause of this. i find this shocking to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

The girl is an idiot tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

dmck2886 wrote:
    Her mates should have made sure she got home alright by getting her a taxi or by giving her a lift home, I wouldnt let someone get into a complete randomers car.

We're normally vigilent about looking out for one another. Sounds like a paltry excuse but she only recently started and when we left she was with a number of other colleagues so we assumed she was safe. Didn't have her mobile as don't know her particularly well. Essentially she wandered off on her own. There was about 50 of us out, can't go round with a clipboard establishing how everyone proposes to get home after an evening out :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Not pervs driving around, just normal people who get pervy ideas.
    DOLEMAN wrote:
    I agree with this.
    Well then, you sir are extremely naive.
    for someone who runs "Ireland's premier adult website" (roffle btw) you are well out of focus with modern Ireland and sexual predators...

There ARE predators and pervs around.
    And yes, they ARE on the prowl for drunk girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

This has definitely been a problem in London and other parts of the UK in the past and still persists.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/3998345.stm
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/lancashire/4583153.stm

Also, I have seen illegal taxi touting in Dublin as long as five years ago. I was waiting on Aston Quay (for over 1 and a half hours!) for a taxi and a string of guys were pulling up outside the Virgin Megastore shouting across to people in the queue that they were taxis :rolleyes:

A lot of these guys are only out to make a quick buck but some have other ideas on their minds, imo!

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    Well then, you sir are extremely naive.
    for someone who runs "Ireland's premier adult website" (roffle btw) you are well out of focus with modern Ireland and sexual predators...

There ARE predators and pervs around.
    And yes, they ARE on the prowl for drunk girls.

No, you're being paranoid.

Obviously I don't think there are no sexual predators out there. But I'd say in most cases, it's a bloke who suddenly gets pervy thoughts...

Anyway, no need to get angry about it :rolleyes: