Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pervs on the Prowl for Plastered Girls

• 03-07-2006 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭

I was out at a work do on Friday. Free bar all night, sprits were high and everyone had a jolly nice time. I've just heard however that one of the girls, who joined the company just recently, in her completely vodka-induced drunkeness (who lost the rest of the last few stragglers) WAVED DOWN A RANDOMER who dropped her home. (She thought it may have been a taxi) Thankfully the guy who stopped was a nice guy who was concerned for her welfare and picked her up lest some Pervy McPerv stopped and offered her a lift. A couple of people said over lunch that this is now a regular occurance in town and that some guys regularly cruise the city centre doing this. I know this is a real problem in Belfast but wasn't aware of it being a problem here!! And yes I do go out regularly, and no I don't live in a cave so I wouldn't say it's naivety , just not something I thought happens regularly in Dublin. Anyone else heard of this happening recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Not defending the pervs, but maybe if people didn't get so utterly rat-arsed drunk this wouldn't be an issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Imagine doing this outside baby Wezz..

Quote from sunday world 18th of june a girl from wez said:
    'If I dont **** a guy off and he doesn't cum on me, the other girls wont think I'm cool.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Miss Fluff wrote:
    I was out at a work do on Friday. Free bar all night, sprits were high and everyone had a jolly nice time. I've just heard however that one of the girls, who joined the company just recently, in her completely vodka-induced drunkeness (who lost the rest of the last few stragglers) WAVED DOWN A RANDOMER who dropped her home. (She thought it may have been a taxi) Thankfully the guy who stopped was a nice guy who was concerned for her welfare and picked her up lest some Pervy McPerv stopped and offered her a lift. A couple of people said over lunch that this is now a regular occurance in town and that some guys regularly cruise the city centre doing this. I know this is a real problem in Belfast but wasn't aware of it being a problem here!! And yes I do go out regularly, and no I don't live in a cave so I wouldn't say it's naivety , just not something I thought happens regularly in Dublin. Anyone else heard of this happening recently?
    Is this common in Belfast? Do you have any links? I've never heard of this.

Fair play to the guy to drop your friend home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Wez wrote:
    Imagine doing this outside baby Wezz..

'If I dont **** a guy off and he doesn't cum on me, the other girls wont think I'm cool.'
    I reckon all her other friends are like buckets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

He should never have stopped. What if she woke up in her drunken haze and accused him of kidnapping her? Or sexually assaulting her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Stephen wrote:
    Not defending the pervs, but maybe if people didn't get so utterly rat-arsed drunk this wouldn't be an issue?

Have to agree with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Sleipnir wrote:
    He should never have stopped. What if she woke up in her drunken haze and accused him of kidnapping her? Or sexually assaulting her?

Exactly, the girl shouldn't have got so drunk, and if she did, her friends shouldn't have left her off on her own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

I've driven through town on weekend nights and the amount of girls walking around on their own pissed out of their trees is unbelieveable, some of them in dodgy isolated areas. I'm surprised this doesn't happen a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

If people stopped getting so ract faced that they cant even stand or tell who they are things would be a lot easier for a hell of a lot of people and probably a lot safer too.

However, the chance of that ever happening in Ireland would be slim to none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

You have to be responsible for your own safety but that doesn't mean that what these scumbags are doing is acceptable. I have never heard of it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

Personal responsibility. We all know there are pervs out there. We all know getting locked messes up our judgement.

It's like those girls who are drunk and willingly have sex with a guy. The next morning she calls it rape...

Wez wrote:

Did anyone else think like that when they were a kid? Or was I just a late bloomer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

two points:

1. no one should ever be so drunk as to do this. i've been rat arsed and never had the urge to jump into a randomers taxi, and nor do i plan on it... god help any WOMAN who does it.

2. where were her friends when she was hailing some random dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Sleipnir wrote:
    You see this is the prevailing attitude in our country nowadays.
    Its the "small town to big city" transition.

Years ago, everyone would have stopped their car if they saw a drunk person flagging them down. And they would have given them a lift home, and possibly a talking to. As is the right thing to do. You know that at least if you give her/him a lift home, that theyre safe and that they're not going to be run over or assaulted by someone at least. Ie; its the right thing to do.

Nowadays, people won't even help a person who fell on the street up again, lest they get blame for knocking them down. I've seen hundreds of people pass by an old man on the corner of O'connell bridge on their way to work without anyone attempting to help him back on his feet.

You should do the right thing, and help the people who need it, rather than thinking two (imaginary) steps ahead and looking to cover your own ass/make excuses for your laziness.

See, its all well and good going "tut, she shouldnt have gotten so drunk" like half the people on this thread. Thats no good, and its not helping the person in the here and now. Thats a completely different argument for another day, and using that as an excuse not to help is lame tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Not pervs driving around, just normal people who get pervy ideas. If your friend puts herself in a position like that, its really her own stupidity.

Not defending pervs/weirdos, just pushing common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

biko wrote:
    Is this common in Belfast? Do you have any links? I've never heard of this.

Fair play to the guy to drop your friend home.

Can't find any links but if you walk around Belfast City Centre after the pubs close on a Saturday you'll be approached by lots of illegal taxi touts. Basically weirdos who take their cars out at the weekend looking for drunk girls desperate to get home. PSNI have had to crack down because there was a spate of assaults.

I do agree with what some of you say, I don't know the girl well, she has just started here but what disturbed me was her WILLINGNESS to get into this guys car. :eek: Luckily she realised he was a good guy and how bloody lucky she is but it could have gone seriously pear-shaped for her or for the kind guy who was doing her a favour!!!

FuzzyLogic is always on the prowel for drunk ladies.

He mistook me for one once however I can tell you I was quite happy he did. Best night of hot passionate excitment I have ever had ^_^

<3

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    You see this is the prevailing attitude in our country nowadays.
    Its the "small town to big city" transition.

Years ago, everyone would have stopped their car if they saw a drunk person flagging them down. And they would have given them a lift home, and possibly a talking to. As is the right thing to do. You know that at least if you give her/him a lift home, that theyre safe and that they're not going to be run over or assaulted by someone at least. Ie; its the right thing to do.

Nowadays, people won't even help a person who fell on the street up again, lest they get blame for knocking them down. I've seen hundreds of people pass by an old man on the corner of O'connell bridge on their way to work without anyone attempting to help him back on his feet.

You should do the right thing, and help the people who need it, rather than thinking two (imaginary) steps ahead and looking to cover your own ass/make excuses for your laziness.

See, its all well and good going "tut, she shouldnt have gotten so drunk" like half the people on this thread. Thats no good, and its not helping the person in the here and now. Thats a completely different argument for another day, and using that as an excuse not to help is lame tbh.

You can call them a taxi, use their phone to call a friend or parent. Picking them up in your car especially if you are on your own is a BAD IDEA.

Not pervs driving around, just normal people who get pervy ideas.

I agree with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Stephen wrote:

Ok, forget the "holier than thou" mentality for a while..... Everyone is entitled to get rat arsed if they want, that doesn't mean they should be molested! If there are guys out cruising for drunk girls to take advantage of, then there's a big problem in this city that needs to be dealt with.

Let's say you see a girl in the above state and offer to take her home. You pour her into the back seat where she falls asleep. You hop in and drive off only to see blue flashes in your mirror so you pull in.
    Gardai say they saw you bundling a girl into the back of the car and would like to speak with her. They wake her and she says she has no idea who you are or why they are in the back of the car.

Outlandish? Impossible?
    Just try explaining it to your wife over the phone from jail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Miss Fluff wrote:
    this is a real problem in Belfast
    Bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

Her mates should have made sure she got home alright by getting her a taxi or by giving her a lift home, I wouldnt let someone get into a complete randomers car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

sinecurea wrote:
    Bull****.
    In fairness, sinecurea, why would the government have the ads pleading with people to make sure the taxi they're getting into has the right plates on UTV if it wasn't a problem?

And I agree with dmck2886, recent acquantice or not, someone should have made she was at least put in a taxi home.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Sleipnir wrote:
    Let's say you see a girl in the above state and offer to take her home. You pour her into the back seat where she falls asleep. You hop in a drive off only to see blue flashes in your mirror so you pull in.
    Gardai say they say you bundling a girl into the back of the car and would like to speak with her. They wake her and she says she has no idea who you are or why they are in the back of the car.

Outlandish? Impossible?
    Just try explaining it to your wife over the phone from jail.

this is a perfect reason to not help people. no one can be trusted anymore, i think this is a terrible state of affairs, genuine nice people are afraid that they could have there lives destroyed cause of this. i find this shocking to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

The girl is an idiot tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

dmck2886 wrote:
    Her mates should have made sure she got home alright by getting her a taxi or by giving her a lift home, I wouldnt let someone get into a complete randomers car.

We're normally vigilent about looking out for one another. Sounds like a paltry excuse but she only recently started and when we left she was with a number of other colleagues so we assumed she was safe. Didn't have her mobile as don't know her particularly well. Essentially she wandered off on her own. There was about 50 of us out, can't go round with a clipboard establishing how everyone proposes to get home after an evening out :rolleyes:

Not pervs driving around, just normal people who get pervy ideas.
    DOLEMAN wrote:
    I agree with this.
    Well then, you sir are extremely naive.
    for someone who runs "Ireland's premier adult website" (roffle btw) you are well out of focus with modern Ireland and sexual predators...

There ARE predators and pervs around.
    And yes, they ARE on the prowl for drunk girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

This has definitely been a problem in London and other parts of the UK in the past and still persists.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/3998345.stm
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/lancashire/4583153.stm

Also, I have seen illegal taxi touting in Dublin as long as five years ago. I was waiting on Aston Quay (for over 1 and a half hours!) for a taxi and a string of guys were pulling up outside the Virgin Megastore shouting across to people in the queue that they were taxis :rolleyes:

A lot of these guys are only out to make a quick buck but some have other ideas on their minds, imo!

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    Well then, you sir are extremely naive.
    for someone who runs "Ireland's premier adult website" (roffle btw) you are well out of focus with modern Ireland and sexual predators...

There ARE predators and pervs around.
    And yes, they ARE on the prowl for drunk girls.

No, you're being paranoid.

Obviously I don't think there are no sexual predators out there. But I'd say in most cases, it's a bloke who suddenly gets pervy thoughts...

Anyway, no need to get angry about it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Miss Fluff wrote:
    I was out at a work do on Friday. Free bar all night,/....... Anyone else heard of this happening recently?

Its the rat arsed young ones that are half the problem, told this before. Was going into town, St. Stephen Green one night about 3-3.30 to pick up girlfriend, anyway was coming up the Quays and next thing at the traffic light some young one tries to hop into passenger door, told her I wasnt a taxi and to get out so she bangs the **** out of the door, so I lock the car, at every traffic light you had one or 2 young ones hammered drunk trying to get into the car, banging on windows etc.

So finally got to St Stephen Green and had to park for a few mins waiting for GF, next thing these 2 come over trying to get into car, start banging the **** out of window till I put down a bit, wanted a lift so I told them to go away

Then this gorgeous blonde came up to window, again hammered and starts knocking on window, so rolled it down before window was smashed and wanted lift out southside.......there isnt any perv's only pissed Irish women with no cop on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

On my debs/grads night we couldn't get a taxi from the hotel we were at to Cork City so one of my friends and another guy and I had to walk 6 miles. My friend was really drunk and just wandered ahead but my shoes were killing me so I had to walk barefoot. That guy gave me his jacket and walked with me for a while but before I knew it he was gone too :eek:

After a while of walking tring to dodge glass on the floor a car pulled up next to me and a man that looked about 40 asked me if I needed a lift. I got kinda scared when he wouldn't go away so I shouted ''Oh great thanks'' ''I'll JUST TELL MARK AND JEN UP AHEAD'' ''WE'VE GOT A LIFFFFFTT'' He just sped off after that :D The scary thing is the were too far up ahead to hear me shouting. :D Lots of times in the past stuff like that happened me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

This used to happen a lot in my home town (Bristol) but I haven't seen it as much in Dublin, then again I don't go anywhere on my own if I'm completely hammered, however, a friend of mine had a lucky escape a few years ago.

I was on my way to a friends party in Rathmines when I saw two cops talking to a really wasted looking girl who was sitting on the pavement. As I passed them I realised I knew the girl and asked them what was going on (she was pretty much incoherent at this stage). Turned out she'd left the same party early in the evening as she was so drunk - didn't tell anyone she was leaving, just sloped off on her own. A car had stopped for her when she got on to road and she'd got in thinking it was a taxi.

Earlier on that evening a girl had called Rathmines Garda Station reporting a guy who had persistently tried to offer her 'a lift' as she walked home. The cops said the car my friend was in fitted the description and had been reported again when the driver was seen dragging a girl (my friend) out of the back dumping her at the side of Rathmines Road. She had a vague memory the next day of getting sick in the back of the car and the guy getting really angry and pulling her out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

It's not that hard to tell the difference between a normal car and a taxi no matter how drunk you are.

People should take this in - Don't pick up strangers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

DOLEMAN wrote:
    No, you're being paranoid.

Obviously I don't think there are no sexual predators out there. But I'd say in most cases, it's a bloke who suddenly gets pervy thoughts...

Anyway, no need to get angry about it :rolleyes:

Ok what is ther difference between a pervert and someone who has pervy thoughts and wishes to act on them?? Maybe I am stupid but I really don't see the difference???

I have a male friend who was accosted by two teenagers and sexually assaulted after he had wandered off on his own. So its not just girls who need to be careful, alot of men seem to forget this too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

I don't get how this has anything really to do with "perves on the prowl" . No story of any perves prowling just girl/woman acting stupidly.
    I have help complete strangers home many times because they were drunk including paying for a taxi home for them.
    I have met some afterwards some remembered and some didn't know how they got home. My instict is always to help

Lux23 wrote:
    Ok what is ther difference between a pervert and someone who has pervy thoughts and wishes to act on them?? Maybe I am stupid but I really don't see the difference???

One is a man who drives around with the sole intention of picking up drunk girls... another is a man who picks up a drunk girl and then gets pervy thoughts... Kind of like the difference between murder and manslaughter...

It was just an offhand comment so don't read into it too much! :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Big Nelly wrote:
    ....at every traffic light you had one or 2 young ones hammered drunk trying to get into the car, banging on windows etc.

This has happened to me regularly when I'm in town collecting someone after a nightclub/pub/etc. People just see a car stopping, are too pissed to cop that its not a taxi and just jump in..

One girl came up to the car one night when I was collecting my sister after a nightclub and tried to open the front passenger door, I leaned over and gestured that I wasnt a taxi, then she tried the back door on the passenger side, when that wouldnt open she started getting very aggresive and started kicking the car.

I was about to get out and f**k her out of it when 2 gardai strolled over and I got out and informed then I had no idea who she was and explained that I think she thought I was a taxi. One tried to explain this to her and when it eventually sank in, after about 5 mins, she looked rather embarrassed and sheepish. :rolleyes:

I reckon she was 20 at most.

Very easy pickings for some guy on the prowl for an easy target..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 chelle2ie

Any taxi driver will tell you that drunk people will hop in just about any car to get home and are dangerous in that way, i.e. lying in front of cars, hammering on windows.

It's a horrible fact that you just can't trust very many people anymore. I wouldn't put a stranger in that position of having to give me a lift home.

If that girl was a recent addition to the company she should have known that she didn't have really good friends there to rely on and that she couldn't be guaranteed that someone would be there to look after her. I know when I have to be careful, i.e. when I might have to get a taxi alone and when I can let loose a little more. Hopefully that girl got enough of a fright that she has learned that lesson too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

ToxicPaddy wrote:

Very easy pickings for some guy on the prowl for an easy target..

Yes IF they were doing it here! There is no evidence of it, not even a story of it happening her in the Republic of Ireland. This is fearmongering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

...This is fearmongering.

Reminds me of a song...

She was a fearmonger
    But sure 'twas no wonder
    For so were her father and mother before
    And they each wheel'd their barrow
    Through streets broad and narrow
    Crying cockles and mussels alive, alive o!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Yes IF they were doing it here! There is no evidence of it, not even a story of it happening her in the Republic of Ireland. This is fearmongering.

It might be, but still people should be careful and if they intend on getting hammered, for goodness sake make sure you have someone to look after you that can be trusted. The world is full of nasty people and everyone needs to be careful.

Also just because there is no evidence doesn't mean that incidents don't happen. Don't a lot of rapes go unreported?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Well there's never been a news story on it in the Republic. I'm sure it's not happening on the same scale that it's happened in London in the past, but that's not to say that it's not happening.

It's hardly just fear-mongering now. It is a valid concern, that the amount of young drunk girls are vulnerable to perverts, and thinking that this is not happening is a very naive attitude really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I remember being in a car driving through Tullamore on a Sat night and at a traffic light a girl jumped in the back seat, locked out of it. She demended we drive her home, firstly in a jokey fashion, but then got deadly serious and she threatened to cry rape/abduction.

We prob woulda brought her home if she was stuck anyway, we'd just finished work like. But I've never been confronted with something as harsh as that. So now I wouldn't stop unless I saw a woman being attacked or something.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Wing Walker

Yes, and global warming is just one big myth.:(

Just because it's not happening outside your front door doesn't mean it's not happening. Take a trip into Dublin some night at the weekend and see how much "fearmongering" is going on. As people have said here, and I will agree with them, there's too many people out there completely intoxicated. And by the same token, there are a few people willing to exploit those drunks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

FuzzyLogic wrote:

Did you just watch the hundreds of people pass him by?

Anyway ... **** it, it might be harsh, but sometimes people have only themselves to blame.

Don't want to fall victim of a sexual predator or a pervert? Then have a bit of cop on and don't go jumping into strangers cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

That's why you pay for people's taxi home then is it, because you are not worried someone might attack them??

DOLEMAN wrote:
    It was just an offhand comment so don't read into it too much! :)
    read: "I was talking shíte, don't mind me"

thanks.

Wez wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Super post! Thanks for that.