Best town in Ireland??

• 02-07-2006 07:13PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

I know the best/worst counties have been done but its an interesting topic..

mines a tie between:

carrickmacross, monaghan - nightlife and people, especially accents

crossmolina, mayo - again craic and warm friendly people

salthill:what a ledge of a place

galway: love eyre's square

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭imprezza

I vote for Galway I love the walking streets it reminds me of crete when its sunny, and Salthill is great too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i really like Cork City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Westport in Mayo.I think its a beautiful well kept town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Galway City ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

TheGooner wrote:
    Galway City ftw.
    qft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,855 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Westport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Best - Ranelagh in Dublin (where I'm living at the moment!), Galway

Worst (and just my own personal opinion) - Tuam, Mullingar and Ennis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Cork, when they're no scumbags around, Kenmare in Co. Kerry is one of my favourites.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Hard to know, I've always liked Kilkenny and Dingle. Not overly gone on Galway, lived there for a few years and it gets very small after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Galway, Wexford or Kilkenny for night life, Carlow isn't bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Setun

Kilcoole is easily the best. Glenroe, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Best - Rathmines. Lot of good memories.

Worst - Waterville, Co. Kerry. Dead as a doornail, and I spent far too many childhood summers there. Hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Clonakilty is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Killorglan in co kerry, people are legends.

then rathmines/ ranalgh in dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

Roscommon. Not too big, not too small

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

marissa wrote:

I grew up in Carrick. Irelands answer to Hazzard County. Couldn't wait to get out of the place. The accent is freaking hilarious though :D

Sandymount would be my favourite. Followed by Ranelagh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Galway wtf tbh cba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,450 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

best rathmines - just looks like such a lovely place.

worst bray - you gotta like drive through it with windows up and doors locked :P. well it's not that bad but you get my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

marissa wrote:

It's the only town I know that seems to have a very friendly Garda full time directing traffic on the main street, even when there's no traffic to direct. :)

Re nightlife - is the Oasis still going? I frequented it a few times in the 1980s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I like Clonmel as most of my cusoins live there. Tho Dublin city is clearly the best city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭DeLaBass

galway, what a great place to be, especially in the summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Chrissie

It's the only town I know that seems to have a very friendly Garda full time directing traffic on the main street, even when there's no traffic to direct. :)

Re nightlife - is the Oasis still going? I frequented it a few times in the 1980s.

Ah, leave that poor garda alone.
    He got injured in duty some years back which left him 'not the full shilling'.
    I think it's lovely that the guards kept him employed, he seems to love directing the traffic!!!

BTW:- Carrick is a complete sh!thole, & most of the people there are complete knackers.
    Nightlife is lousy, & no, the Oasis is no longer, thank God!!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I'd have to go with Galway... Have they finished tearing Eyre Square apart yet??

Batterstown in Meath is very pretty too... Very well kept, dunno about nightlife though ;)

I would guess that it depends on what is meant by "best?" For the arts? Galway has a reputation that goes beyond Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

Portrush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭AOR

Dundalk ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

Greystones is a fab place to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Galway. Why does anyone even feel the need to question such an undisputable fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭JP Mulvano

AOR wrote:
    Dundalk ftw

you're joking......right!! Turned into a clone of every other town you find around Ireland. Retail park x 3....what a joke!!

Who said Kenmare that's a top place alright!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Cahir in Co. Tipperary. Cahir Castle, Swiss Cottage, great pubs!