Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best town in Ireland??

• 02-07-2006 7:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

I know the best/worst counties have been done but its an interesting topic..

mines a tie between:

carrickmacross, monaghan - nightlife and people, especially accents

crossmolina, mayo - again craic and warm friendly people

salthill:what a ledge of a place

galway: love eyre's square

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭imprezza

I vote for Galway I love the walking streets it reminds me of crete when its sunny, and Salthill is great too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i really like Cork City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Westport in Mayo.I think its a beautiful well kept town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Galway City ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

TheGooner wrote:
    Galway City ftw.
    qft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,784 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Westport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Best - Ranelagh in Dublin (where I'm living at the moment!), Galway

Worst (and just my own personal opinion) - Tuam, Mullingar and Ennis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Cork, when they're no scumbags around, Kenmare in Co. Kerry is one of my favourites.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Hard to know, I've always liked Kilkenny and Dingle. Not overly gone on Galway, lived there for a few years and it gets very small after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Galway, Wexford or Kilkenny for night life, Carlow isn't bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Kilcoole is easily the best. Glenroe, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Best - Rathmines. Lot of good memories.

Worst - Waterville, Co. Kerry. Dead as a doornail, and I spent far too many childhood summers there. Hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Clonakilty is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Killorglan in co kerry, people are legends.

then rathmines/ ranalgh in dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

Roscommon. Not too big, not too small

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

marissa wrote:

I grew up in Carrick. Irelands answer to Hazzard County. Couldn't wait to get out of the place. The accent is freaking hilarious though :D

Sandymount would be my favourite. Followed by Ranelagh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Galway wtf tbh cba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

best rathmines - just looks like such a lovely place.

worst bray - you gotta like drive through it with windows up and doors locked :P. well it's not that bad but you get my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

marissa wrote:

It's the only town I know that seems to have a very friendly Garda full time directing traffic on the main street, even when there's no traffic to direct. :)

Re nightlife - is the Oasis still going? I frequented it a few times in the 1980s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I like Clonmel as most of my cusoins live there. Tho Dublin city is clearly the best city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭DeLaBass

galway, what a great place to be, especially in the summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Chrissie

It's the only town I know that seems to have a very friendly Garda full time directing traffic on the main street, even when there's no traffic to direct. :)

Re nightlife - is the Oasis still going? I frequented it a few times in the 1980s.

Ah, leave that poor garda alone.
    He got injured in duty some years back which left him 'not the full shilling'.
    I think it's lovely that the guards kept him employed, he seems to love directing the traffic!!!

BTW:- Carrick is a complete sh!thole, & most of the people there are complete knackers.
    Nightlife is lousy, & no, the Oasis is no longer, thank God!!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I'd have to go with Galway... Have they finished tearing Eyre Square apart yet??

Batterstown in Meath is very pretty too... Very well kept, dunno about nightlife though ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I would guess that it depends on what is meant by "best?" For the arts? Galway has a reputation that goes beyond Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

Portrush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭AOR

Dundalk ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

Greystones is a fab place to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Galway. Why does anyone even feel the need to question such an undisputable fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭JP Mulvano

AOR wrote:
    Dundalk ftw

you're joking......right!! Turned into a clone of every other town you find around Ireland. Retail park x 3....what a joke!!

Who said Kenmare that's a top place alright!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Cahir in Co. Tipperary. Cahir Castle, Swiss Cottage, great pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Galway & Belfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Killaloe county Clare, was once the capital of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

Tralee, Kilkenny, Dingle and Limerick(as Limerick has hidden gems on its side streets like Denmark street, Catherine street, Mallow street, Perry Square, Georges quay, Mary street and Cornmarket/milk Market etc) Most stranger's would be unfamilar with these and coming onto Waterford these days and edit: Killaloe/Ballina has to be one of the prettiest landmark towns in Ireland.

hate Kilarney it's fake. Athlone, Mullingar, Potloaise,Tullamore, and Bray. Iused to Like Galway now I hate it. Everytime I go there i just see sprawling ugly buildings going up, supermacs the tacky hotels on the beach front, and the over rated partness. Galway is defanetely not like what it used to be, just a piss up, most people who spend time there realise Galway town itself is very small and just plain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Galway without a doubt ...I agree with the previous poster about how Galway had gone down hill. BUt it's really picked up again and is back to it's best.

Eyre square is finished again and with the Arts festival , Races , Project 06, Film Festival , not to mention QUAY st every Friday and Saturday night ...
    It's simply brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i've worked in towns all over the country and i found the best one to be listowel. really nice place and nice people too.
    i don't think i would ever move out of Leixlip though.
    it's not the greatest place on earth, but it's home and i have great neighbours. everybody needs good neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

julep wrote:
    i've worked in towns all over the country and i found the best one to be listowel. really nice place and nice people too.
    i don't think i would ever move out of Leixlip though.
    it's not the greatest place on earth, but it's home and i have great neighbours. everybody needs good neighbours.

listowel is a very nice place yeah.

Leixlip, ah man my gf lived there when she was on work experience in Intel. I have fond memories of the chinese there and renting dvds. It is close to the city but not too close and having to get the 66 in to town made me suicidal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Juicebox

Doolin Co.Clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Love naas, galway & ennis

Hate boyle, kildare town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭inode

Galway and Derry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Summerjones

Maynooth is a lovely little town. Except when the students wreck it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Maynooth is a lovely little town. Except when the students wreck it.

Hah! I lived in Maynooth as a student and worker for seven years and I can tell you that I saw lots of local kids wrecking the place only to see it later blamed on students by the residents :rolleyes:

OK, some students are idiots and do some damage but nothing compared to what I've seen being done by the local scumbags in Maynooth. Read the Liffey Champion and see how many students end up in Kilcock court compared to Maynooth locals!! Interesting reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Summerjones

r3nu4l wrote:
    Hah! I lived in Maynooth as a student and worker for seven years and I can tell you that I saw lots of local kids wrecking the place only to see it later blamed on students by the residents :rolleyes:

OK, some students are idiots and do some damage but nothing compared to what I've seen being done by the local scumbags in Maynooth. Read the Liffey Champion and see how many students end up in Kilcock court compared to Maynooth locals!! Interesting reading.

Yes, student friends of mine have ended up there more than once...but it was their own fault. I have to agree the scumbags (and there isn't many to be fair) in Maynooth have made down by the train station not a nice place to be, especially at night. Nothing to do and all the time in the world to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

I like Cork City,
    Castletownberehaven, for the nice pubs, restraunts and the quiet life!
    Bandon, the nightlife, shopping, architecture and history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Kinsale is a very nice little town, great location by the sea, compact but with a bit of life and lots of decent pubs and restaurants......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

G-G-G-Galway ftw!

Definitely not Enniscorthy imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I love Kenmare and Dunmore East, the latter has gotten a bit too cluttered with holiday homes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Howth, spent the day out there yesterday. It's great to have such a beautiful little town so close to city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Mullacrew is magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Crania

I must I really like Wexford town, beautiful buildings, lots of grens areas, good few shops, great accent, its right besdie the sea so it also has great scenery and its in close proximity to a weatlh of lovely beaches.

Wexford ftw!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Termonfeckin - I just love the name!