Things people say that annoy you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Or people who finish a phone call with "bye bye bye bye bye bye bye". Come on, once is enough!!!

I'm on a roll now, someone stop me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Miss Fluff wrote:
    Using YE as a substitute of YOU (plural) makes my buttock cheeks clench quite frankly :mad:
    Culchies do this all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

People who say something to you, and then question exactly what they've just said several times.

"He's a right eejit, isn't he?"
    "yip"
    "Isn't he, though?"
    YES, DAMNIT!

The guy who does this also says "no?" inquizitively after every sentence, and uses the word(?) "don'tn't(don't-int)" a lot.

The term "Oh my god" as well.
    Every time I watch Pimp My Ride I die a little inside.

"Dis be ya new ride, homie, checkit blingin' yo!"
    "OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD! oh my god! OHMYGOD! OHMYgod! OH my god!"

I can just imagine god saying "WHAT? WHAT THE FUCK DO YOU WANT?"

It was recently pointed out to me that I overuse the word "actually".
    I'm trying to stop :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 floor_pie

Basically, literally, at the end of the day,it's not fit for purpose,if you know what I mean, like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Apparently... only because my mom ALWAYS says it, especially when she's on the phone. And she pronounces it a-pair-ently, instead of a-par-ently...dunno why but it bugs me!!

Also agree with the_Shades i HATE when people write 'should of' instead of 'should have'. I just want to give them a punch in the teeth (lol, sorry but it's true!!). Similarly I hate when ppl write "your" when it should be "you're". It's basic grammar people!! The way you're writing it doesn't make sense!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

I hate when people get phrases wrong or use words completely out of context in an attempt to seem more articulate and end up sounding like an idiot.

Examples

"Cool, calm and collective"
    Collective? What are you? The flucking Borg? The damn word is "collected".

"Irregardless"
    What?? That's not even a word! It's either regardless or irrespective.

"Are you inferring <something or other>?"
    No, I'm implying it. Go look up a dictionary.

Regards,

Liam
    Grammar and Spelling Nazi Extraordaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Narcissus

I really hate when people say "I didn't do nothing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

I agree with ned78 :
    I hate it when people make a statement and raise their voice at the end to make it sound like a question...there's a girl I work with who does it all the time :mad:
    another one is 'd'ya know, like' AARRGHH

But I do admit to saying the 'well' thing as a greeting...us Tipperary folks are famous for it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A lad I knew in college sometimes used the suffix "age" to horrible effect.

For example:

"Going for a drink" was something like "major drinkage" etc.

Coupled with a D4 drawl, it really was an incitement to violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭conjon

Duckjob wrote:
    People in work spewing managementy-bull**** phrases like :

'going forward.....'
    'timeline'
    'think outside the box....'
    'all reading off the same page'

especially when the boss is within earshot. Sycophantic f***ing maggots.

'Operating model' is another one I truely despise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Any type of 'management' bullshítty made up asswipe buzzwords.

People saying "and I was like.." when it is is unnecessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

After flicking through this thread I have realised that listening to me talk is a far greater ordeal than I had previously thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

"Supposably".

I mean,Christ,even "Friends" made a joke about it and yet people still think it's a word!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

"Heyor" by some scumbag in reference to get my attention and then turning around to be told "Is your name heyor?". ****ing wrong so it is.

"Scarleh for yeh"

One time I had people laying a new carpet upstairs and I had to listen to them for about an hour. Their whole conversation revolved around:

Felleh 1: "What time ar yeh off today?
    Felleh 2: "6 eh'clock"
    Felleh 1: "Ah sure. Anudor day anudor dollar."
    Felleh 2: "Dats de way it is, dats de way it is."
    Felleh 3: "Get some drink in tonight so anyways, you know yorself."
    Felleh 1: "Ah sure I know, has to be done."
    Felleh 2: "Back in monday, the usual."
    Felleh 3: "De way of the world, de way of the world."

What a way to pass the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭trillianv

I know these aren't phrases but I hate people saying Ax instead of Ask, Warsh instead of Wash & anytime someone says pet, love, or any other name similar to those at the end of a sentence. I don't know you and I am not your pet, love, etc.

Biggest pet peeve though is someone saying "We was at....", seriously grammar is not that hard! I immediately conjur up this image of some redneck hillbilly living in Alabama with a pair of overalls and no shirt or shoes (a la Beverly Hillbillies!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

When asked a question, the people who just say "becase" and nothing else. Makes me want to set them on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭hoody

Crucifix wrote:
    After flicking through this thread I have realised that listening to me talk is a far greater ordeal than I had previously thought.

That's probably true of everyone on this thread - who doesn't repeat some meaningless nonsense for no good reason every now and then. Yeah, it's a little irritating, but (here's one) Get Over It.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭man-in-cognito

One thing that bugs me, and I'm not sure how common it is, but some people in my last job used to send a mail requesting a change, and they'd request

"...and please revert back to me when this change has been made.."

"Revert back to me"...????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Ah, this thread is feckin mighty, so it is.

I know a fella who includes the word 'thing' in every sentence.
    eg, I was eh,thing, eh,I was going too eh, thing, eh eh....

The strange thing is, spend too much time with him and it rubs off.

I worked with a fella who always used the phrase,' in the final analyse' or sometimes,' in the heel of the hunt'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

trillianv wrote:

Biggest pet peeve though is someone saying "We was at....", seriously grammar is not that hard!

yes like people who say "I seen...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

People who insert the letter 'h' into words unnecessarily. And affect a rural accent when doing so.

West becomes Whesht.

I want to castrate them with a nutcracker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

But I do admit to saying the 'well' thing as a greeting...us Tipperary folks are famous for it! :D

I do this also.
    Seems to be just Tipp people who do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

When people think that:
    supposedly == supposably
    specific == pacific

A guy I work with puts "or whatever" anywhere in a sentence:
    "Did you get that email I sent you or whatever?"
    That is one I'd never heard from anybody before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

I despise when people say 'unpossible' or use the wrong prefix to make an opposite.

I'm also slowly dying inside everytime I hear someone say 'more cheaper' or any other form of a double comparative. Unfotrunately it's becoming more common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Matt Holck

hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Macker

xzanti wrote:
    I hate it when people, particularly other girls add "chick" or "babes" or "chicatee" etc.. onto a sentence when talking to me, its so patronising :rolleyes: My sister does it and I don't mind that cause she's my sister but girls who hardly know each other using it really bugs me...

OK Babes ...noted ...Oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Will you stop pissing off the feminists, or we'll never get a blow job...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Grem

I hate when people say "I puked my ring last night".

What ring????!!! Does my head in.

Once i asked a friend what ring she had puked up and she just looked blankly at me and continued telling me about her nights events.

Also when people ask Whats the story about 3 times in a conversation.
    Me: Hi
    Friend: Hey, whats the story?
    Me: Oh nothing much, im just in work.
    Friend: Oh right so whats the story?
    Me: Im confused.

THERE IS NO STORY!!! Waaa! Drives me a bit mental. :mad:

And Australians have this irritating way of asking how you are.
    They say "How you going".
    I increasingly find myself asking people how they are going. GRRR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Grem wrote:
    I hate when people say "I puked my ring last night".

What ring????!!! Does my head in.

I always thought that when someone says they puked their ring up.It meant that they were heaving so bad their assh0le got sucked up and came out their mouth......lovely:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Duckjob wrote:
    a girl in a customer site used to call me 'kitten' any time I talked to her on the phone, as in she'd say, "ok kitten", when finishing up the call.

Funnily enough, it never really annoyed me until the time I had to go on site and discovered she was a boot.

Yeah I am in the same boat. Limited patience for the minters but no quarter is shown to those of the ugly nature.