Drugs, Legal and illegal ones.

• 19-06-2006 05:16PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭

just taught id raise a topic about these. from my experiences there seems to be 3 types of people, those who take no drugs. those who take little, and those that will try anything. they now span all social classes and some pretty strong ones are legal in this country i.e. Peyote. i always found it strange that Peyote wud be legal where as Marijuana isnt, is this just ignorance on the part of the Authorites or what, and surely salvia must be more damaging than pot?

so why do some people take drugs and sum dont? everyone has a choicer and its not just the "lower" classes that become junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I don't take drugs because I don't want to.
    Though saying that I'd really like to try Salvia cos it sounds like a good experience, but I just dont wanna do drugs in case I get addicted or anything like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Do a search for the old Magic Mushroom threads, there were a few big debates on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Sm0ke

i bring this topic up cause im one of these people who will try anything once :/

i get really pissed with the attacks on magic mushrooms and pot, u cant have a government banning these drugs, which together combined have caused 1 death in the last 10 years in this country. where smokes and booze cause soooo much more. i know thats been said before but its true.

yeah spike ill do a search for em now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

only ever done weed, and it's only ever when someone else has it in the pub or a "boys night in" (nothing gay, i swear)... don't really want to "migrate" to anything else for fear of it messing me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Please try to keep this reasonable lads and not promote drug use on this thread. So far it's been fine but anyone stepping out of line on this thread will be banned, so think before you post.

The topic is why some will use anything versus those who will only try a few things versus those who never will. This is neither a thread to relate your own personal experiences with drugs nor is it a thread to talk about your favourite drug and why you only use that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭cinnamon

In the past I would be the person who would try anything - curiosity would be the prime reason. Now I'm older I wouldn't be bothered - don't even smoke a joint now.
    It's more of a health thing now - I don't like putting any drug - legal or otherwise into my body.
    The medical / pharmaceutical industry has a lot to answer for regarding the over-prescription of anti-depressants and the like. These chemical concoctions can be just as detrimental as anything illegal
    Some people never try drugs and thats their own choice. I think who you hang around with has a large say in your habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

nesf wrote:
    The topic is why some will use anything versus those who will only try a few things versus those who never will. This is neither a thread to relate your own personal experiences with drugs nor is it a thread to talk about your favourite drug and why you only use that one.

i will say this, despite the odd smoke i have, i wouldn't go mad on the stuff. and i wouldn't recommend it to anyone who doesn't really want to. i also would never go mad on it. i'm not willing to "experiment" and see if the whole paranoia thing kicks in...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

drugs are for mugs, just not into anything like that even hash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭ExoduS 18.11

Not that it kills people, it increases your chance's of mental illness. wouldnt try it because theres real social factor to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Eh no, it increases your chance of developing an already present mental illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Sm0ke wrote:
    Peyote. i always found it strange that Peyote wud be legal where as Marijuana isnt, is this just ignorance on the part of the Authorites or what?
    You'll find that Drug Legislation in this country is mainly governed by the "Joe Duffy Show".

It's only legal because some eejit hasn't died jumping off a roof whilst on it and there hasn't been an outcry from concerned parents.

It's the old 'monkeys and typewriters' argument. Given enough time, everything in this country will be banned, except alcohol.

I think we should turn to the teachings of the great Bill Hicks. "Folks, this isn't a tragedy, this is Darwinism in action. If he was so smart, then why didn't he try taking off from the ground first?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Hash.........Keeps you out of trouble, never killked anyone yet.
    yokes........E5 each, will fcuk you up after a while. You could die if you get a bad one.
    cocaine.....simular effects. Rich man's drug. nums your face.
    Hereoin......Expensive and will kill fast. Wouldn't touch it.
    Lsd...........gives you wings, but will seriously fcuk you up.
    Magic mushrums......Don't know.
    Alchol.....Worse than hash, yokes and cocaine.
    I strongly don't recemmend any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Not that it kills people, it increases your chance's of mental illness. wouldnt try it because theres real social factor to it.

True. Very true. But again not a certified side effect. I've seen people who smoke every day all day and they are fine. As social as you would expect from anyone, get up go to work and whatever but some people I have met smoke it all the time and stay home, don't want to go out, overly aggresive etc. but you can't tar everyone with the same brush.

To be honest it is not the drugs. Ever. It's the people behind them because all in all it is how their brain tackles drugs in the first place and some people can't handle it and go mental etc. So, the basic rule is, if you feel down allot when doing drugs, stop doing them. Very simple.

I think it is kind of pretencious of a government to ban people from taking whatever substence because after all it is their body. If they become unwell from doing them, it's their fault. Let that be the lesson. Don't speak out for everyone. But this has to be said because this is true and no other fact can dominate this fact:

Alcohol and Tobacco kill more people across the world than EVERY known drug combined. Every friend of mine who has divorced perents (including me) have been divorced due to alcoholic violence, not ANY drug. Drugs have never killed my family or friends or taken anything from me. Alcohol and tobacco have killed so many of my family and friends along with alcohol messing them up mentally. The very fact alcohol and tobacco is advertised in our faces every day to is kind of offensive.

Also, drugs have given us the best music ever heard by man. Also some excellent art. So if you disagree with drugs then I suppose you dislike every good music act or artist.

rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

I follow Ben Harpers teachings :D, "if you're causing no harm then you're alright with me"

PS - Get the song, called "Burn One Down"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

who needs drugs when you have jack daniels?

smoked a fair bit in my time but don't anymore, can't stand the stuff now. Wouldn't do anything else either. Everything is over-rated or causes too much harm nowadays. If you go out and take something you need to next day to recover.....what's the point in living a 6 or even 5 day week just to have 2 or 3 hours of fun?

pointless thread btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Plug wrote:
    Not true on both counts
    Not a rich persons drug anymore
    Not expensive and does not kill you fast
    Jeez, who told you that crap? Your mom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Jeez, who told you that crap? Your mom?[/QUOTE]

LMFBO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Sm0ke

cinnamon wrote:
    In the past I would be the person who would try anything - curiosity would be the prime reason. Now I'm older I wouldn't be bothered - don't even smoke a joint now.
    It's more of a health thing now - I don't like putting any drug - legal or otherwise into my body.
    The medical / pharmaceutical industry has a lot to answer for regarding the over-prescription of anti-depressants and the like. These chemical concoctions can be just as detrimental as anything illegal
    Some people never try drugs and thats their own choice. I think who you hang around with has a large say in your habits.
    good post.

i was prescribed anti-depressants, pretty strong ones, i still remember one day when i got up and felt this complete and utter fake happiness. i never took a single one since then. i believe the only true cure for depression(not serious depression or Manic Depression) is counselling,your doctor will tell u diffrently tho.

i find most of the legal highs to be ok, LSA being a slight exception because of the horrible sickness i felt with it :/ i was considering trying peyote but i wont touch anything that i have very limited knowledge of. It seems to me that some people go thru life as "buzz-seekers" im just wondering if this is some pre-disposed mentel condition probably not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

smoked a lot over the years....eventually messed my head up totally. If I smoke now it instantaneously makes me anxious and stuff. Same story with one of my mates. Much better off without it. All my heavy smoking mates are still at it, and not in good shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

FX Meister wrote:
    Not true on both counts
    Is that why you see stoned people robbing places:rolleyes: Who did it kill?
    FX Meister wrote:
    Not a rich persons drug anymore
    So E50 for a rock is cheap then? :rolleyes:
    FX Meister wrote:
    Not expensive and does not kill you fast
    Is expensive and a chap up my way died from getting a bad deal:eek:
    FX Meister wrote:
    Jeez, who told you that crap? Your mom?
    No....general knowledge, you listen too much to teachers etc:p

Sm0ke wrote:
    It seems to me that some people go thru life as "buzz-seekers" im just wondering if this is some pre-disposed mentel condition probably not!

Didnt you want to start an leagl high topic. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Plug wrote:
    yokes........E5 each, will fcuk you up after a while. You could die if you get a bad one.
    Magic mushrums......Don't know.
    Alchol.....Worse than hash, yokes and cocaine.
    I strongly don't recemmend any.

Please dont post in this thread anymore, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Tusky wrote:
    Please dont post in this thread anymore, thanks.

HAHAHAHA:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,065 ✭✭✭✭Terry

So Glad wrote:
    Alcohol and Tobacco kill more people across the world than EVERY known drug combined.
    so has eating fatty foods. want to know why? because more people indulge in these activities.
    Every friend of mine who has divorced perents (including me) have been divorced due to alcoholic violence, not ANY drug.
    aside from your own parents, were you there to see everything that went on behind closed doors? i've seen plenty of parents of 20 year olds at house parties doing coke and other crap.
    Drugs have never killed my family or friends or taken anything from me.
    yet...
    Alcohol and tobacco have killed so many of my family and friends along with alcohol messing them up mentally. The very fact alcohol and tobacco is advertised in our faces every day to is kind of offensive.
    tell the advertising standards authority.
    Also, drugs have given us the best music ever heard by man. Also some excellent art. So if you disagree with drugs then I suppose you dislike every good music act or artist.
    yep. hendrix, joplin, cobain, morrison. they were all great. how did they die again?

julep wrote:

yep. hendrix, joplin, cobain, morrison. they were all great. how did they die again?

Do you think they would changed a thing?

Plug wrote:

So E50 for a rock is cheap then? :rolleyes:
    I didn't say it was cheap, I said it isn't a rich mans drug anymore. There's a huge difference, maybe you just aren't educated enough to spot that.
    Heroin Is expensive and a chap up my way died from getting a bad deal:eek:
    You're from Kilkenny, what would you know about the price of heroin?
    No....general knowledge, you listen too much to teachers etc:p
    Wow, it's general knowlege that taking LSD gives you wings. Again, you haven't got a clue what you're talking about. I suppose you think drinking red bull gives you wings too as it says so in the ad.

I don't want to hear anything more from you. Your ignorance astounds.
    Thanks anyway

julep wrote:
    All from drug overdoses. Oh wait, no, Kurt Cobain blew his face off with a shot gun didn't he?

And hendrix didn't die from drugs either, he died from drowning in his own vomit, as a result of not having a gag reflux due to taking barbs. Read that piece of garbage in High Times once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

julep wrote:

Hendrix - choked on his own vomit
    Cobain - shot himself
    Morrison - heart attack in the bath

Joplin is the only one who OD'ed.

Other famous 'drug-related' rock deaths include:

'Mama' Cass Elliot - choked on a chicken bone
    Keith Moon - died after a bad reaction to a drug prescribed by his Doctor to help him quit drinking (it certainly did)
    Jeff Pocaro - bizarre gardening accident (spookily enough, one of Spinal Tap's drummers went the same way many years before - how Rock 'n' Roll is that?)

So the lesson here obviously is, don't do drugs, drugs are bad, m'kay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

It annoys me when people choose to draw such a definite line between the legal and illegal drugs (the former being 'good', the latter being 'bad'. end of story).

There's enough information out there that people should be able to make up their own minds on the issue. In my experience difference between legal and illegal does not always equal the difference between good and bad.

I think there's certain drugs that you'd be fairly stupid to get into but personal freedom ftw.
    Red Alert wrote:
    drugs are for mugs, just not into anything like that even hash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Strokesfan

Sm0ke wrote:
    Peyote. i always found it strange that Peyote wud be legal where as Marijuana isnt, is this just ignorance on the part of the Authorites or what, and surely salvia must be more damaging than pot?

What's peyote???? Never heard of it
    I never touched drugs until I was 23, then I went through a phase of thinking that it was quite glam, then realised it does me no good whatsoever and you talk loads of rubbish on them. Phase over but I wouldn't judge anyone else.