Charles Haughey Has Died + Poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

is_that_so wrote:
    He was seriously flawed but there are many older people and some much younger who are grateful to him. You don't have to like him or some of the things he did. As I've posted before, go read about him and the times he lived in. Understand him before you damn him.

Well said...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

As a matter of interest, Tony Blair and his party got a million from Bernie Ecclestone during the smoking debate. Anyone know if the British have spent the intervening years wailing and gnashing their teeth and raging against the injustice of it all?
    Bit of a difference there Conor74, you're now doing exactly what you're accusing others of: making incorrect analogies. Making a political donation to a party and bribing the prime minister are two different things.
    Incidentally, how much did Denis O'Brien make during the Rainbow Coalition? Wht happened the tribunal on CIE and the ESAT mobile phone lines? Noone jumping up and down, noone making an issue of it, Denis made millions, no convictions, but then again it's easier to make Haughey the hate figure and absolve other people and parties.
    Again, you're making facetious analogies to suit yourself. O' Brien is a chancer, to be sure, but he's not, and never has been, the elected leader of the country. This is the reason so many of us were disgusted by Haughey's actions. Maybe it is naieve to expect politicians to act in the public interest rather than their own (and be punished if they do so) but as long as I live in a democratic state this is a "naieve" expectation I demand the right to keep.
    Saintly wrote:
    The state funeral will be a pretty hollow affair – few in the public will mourn this man or lament his passing. Listening to the radio commentary today was a reminder of the complexities of the man – highly intelligent, sharp decisive mind, ruthlessly efficient at times, imaginative and creative, charming and persuasive. This same man was arrogant, driven by self motivation and interest, lacked integrity, moral fibre or principles, a fine example of the backslapping boy's club with a penchant for high and fast living in his personal and professional life.

Ultimately – and I think this is the tragedy from a FF perspective, Haughey had the potential to be a truly great leader, one who could have towered in the history books. Many of the ingredients for success were there. His own greed, personal motivation and ambition prevented him ever reaching anything resembling greatness. Any successes in office should be remembered, but hardly lauded – the man was paid to do a job and one would expect/hope that he would perform well, just like any other servant of government. The horror of Haughey was his complete lack of integrity and accountability – (something that remains endemic in government circles today) and his wilful disregard of the judicial system, public opinion and the laws of the land. People here have commended the man, saying 'sure we did well out of him', despite his illegal behaviour. Others have talked about preferring a crooked leader who governs well rather than a saint who governs badly. These points represent everything awful (and Haughey-ish) about Irish politics to me. It is actually possible to have integrity in politics – the public and the parties just have to insist upon it.

Haughey's legacy is his corruption. On a side note, I find it hard to understand why his family have accepted a state funeral, given the poor public opinion of CJ – though this may swing to a more affectionate stance in the days to come. I presume a state funeral is something he himself wanted?

Finally, I wonder how FF will remember Haughey – will it be rose tinted glasses memories of The Boss at party gatherings – or a more temperate outlook on a man whose contributions to Irish political life will and should always be overshadowed by his corruption? IMO, this could be a time of change for FF. I really wish they would bury with Haughey, that lingering effect of his reign – lack of accountability. They should do what Haughey never did – take responsibility and push integrity back into politics.

A gal can dream can't she?!!

Saintly
    A great post and the first of your's I've noticed. Welcome to boards. :)

Sleepy wrote:
    Again, you're making facetious analogies to suit yourself. O' Brien is a chancer, to be sure, but he's not, and never has been, the elected leader of the country.

That was not the analogy at all. I was not comparing Haughey and O'Brien. The analogy was that people curry favour with other Governments, for Ben Dunne consider Denis O'Brien and his links to the Rainbow Coalition and how much he made - take the infamous CIE and ESAT link and the collpase of that Tribunal.

As for the Blair analogy, if the Irish politicians had just kept pushing the 'election expenses' line would you have accepted that? Donations are donations, they are meant for a reason. Whether I get a million into my pocket for me, or a million into my pocket for my 100 grand election expenses, it's all the same, I'm richer and richer for a reason. That's not to say it's acceptable at all, just that it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

few in the public will mourn this man or lament his passing.

You'll be shown to be quite wrong. He still has a huge huge following, people that just don't care he was corrupt, because he was their leader.

IMO a state funeral is about remembering who we are as a state, and Haughey is part of our history, rightly or wrongly, and the state should reconigse that with a state funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Dragan wrote:
    Can i just say, that for all the people here saying "sure, Haughey did some bad things, but he also did some great things"..... your whats wrong with this country.

Nonsense. I don't know where people come up with this crap. I suggest learning more than what your parents or The Herald told you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd like to go on record as saying -even cretinously - that I will not use the death of CJH as an excuse to slander the man. I have had ample excuse to slander the hypocritical, racketeeering, corrupt jackass over the last 15 years and am in little need of any more.
    Ray777 wrote:
    Reading some of the utterly cretinous posts about CJ Haughey on various threads today, I feel incredibly privileged that I was brought up properly, and am therefore capable of showing a little respect to the dead. Or at the very least, that I don't use a person's death as an opportunity to immediately bitch about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 MartinJ

In reference to the poll, of Course Charlie should have a State Funeral. He was Taoiseach after all and as was made reference to in the Seanad yesterday by Opposition parties. Even if you didn't like the man, the office of Taoiseach deserves a State funeral.

Now, on another point, what good would not granting him a state funeral do. I mean, not very many heads of state have been denied state funerals. To name but a few, Idi Amin, Slobadan Milosevic & Ferdinand Marcos were not granted state funerals and with bloody good reason. Does Charlie deserve such company in death ? I think not.

Charlie did a lot of good, my judgement is not clouded by his death, he did let himself and others down in some of his dealings whether it be Ben Dunne or Charvet Shirts. I am from the West of Ireland, and Charlie was very good to our area and still has many friends here, young and old. but when all settles, it is right that he gets a state funeral. For all his failings, he did not kill anyone or take 6 Billion dollars from his people (Marcos) and does not deserve to be grouped in this category of individuals who were denied state funerals.

For the record, I will be attending the Funeral on Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The guy is getting banned just for that?! :confused:
    Giblet wrote:
    I'm sorry, I was too busy counting the clicks it takes to ban someone. What was that Ciaran

Oh yeah.

It's 2

If you don't want to add a proper reply then don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Joeface

Wow , well this has to be a some kind of record ...12 pages in 24hours on on guy.

So on charlie

Yes he was a crook in the end , sad but true. But I would say the Good def out ways the bad. Simple example was he was not a Yes man like the shower we have today who on seem to act when it makes them selfs look good.
    I dont think Ireland would have ever got off its feet with out him havin been there no one can deny this . And Im sure that when Bertie and his crew leave office that the will be found out aswell .......every body has skeletons in there closet

RIP to man , i suppose only god can judge him now

And this poll is kind silly , like a lot of ppl are sayin he was Taoiseach, so he is entitle to one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Giblet wrote:
    Nonsense. I don't know where people come up with this crap. I suggest learning more than what your parents or The Herald told you.

Why because i'm sick of a country and a populace that no longer has any kind of moral backbone???

Lets get real here for just a second. As Saintly so brilliantly put it, Haughey could have been fantastic. He could have left a legacy for this country that no one would dispute and he could have gone down in the history books as one of the greatest leaders this little Island ever had. Instead he went a messed it all up by being a greedy, corrupt and arrogant man.

It's that simple. No doubt that he did great, great things, but he also did horrible things and went about his job ( which he was elected to with a degree of trust and respect I would imagine by the people who supported his party, yes? ) with a certain degree of arrogance and corruption that I imagine had people been able to foresee his party would never have gotten the support that put him there.

As I keep saying, I can't believe people are using the "weigh the bad versus the good" argument and the "we all would do the same". All that means is that your willing to settle and be walked on and that your desperately trying to justify the fact that in his shoes YOU would have done the same thing.

Not everyone would folks, some small percentage do still have a degree of moral fibre.

Dragan wrote:
    Instead he went a messed it all up by being a greedy, corrupt and arrogant man.

He was greedy corrupt and arrogant. What I contest is that this 'messed' anything up - if anything it simply messed up his own party and the purges saw a lot of FF's leading lights flee. I mean, the economic turnaround and the start of the peace process certainly were not 'messed', and as I said above that matters more to me than planning problems in West Dublin or even something like the apathy of peope towards politics nowadays.
    Dragan wrote:
    Not everyone would folks, some small percentage do still have a degree of moral fibre.

To paraphrase a line I saw elsewhere, the road to continuing civil war and economic depression was paved with moral fibre. Ask Garrett Fitzgerald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

@darkman2:

What was he charged with? Misleading a tribunal

Was he convicted? No, because the case never went to trial. Why? Because Mary Harney said he should go to jail. This meant that now he couldn't get a fair trial! Yeah right. Maybe the week or the month after she said it.

Let me see . .

Amassed huge wealth by insider dealing. e.g. Beaumont hospital. When asked on TV about rumours about how he made his fortune, had the brass neck to reply "No-one can prove anything."

Fostered a culture of tax evasion which left us penniless. People died because of the state of the healthcare system; children lost out on a good education; hundreds of thousands had to emigrate etc. etc.

Planning corruption resulted in, inter alia, shopping centres being built in the wrong area. Clondalkin fcuked as a result.

Need I go on? The man lived by his own rules; didn't give a toss about anyone else.

I'm sure the papers today (or some of them anyway) will give lots more detail.

IMO, his family are saints for having put up with him. But they should have had the good sense to refuse the offer of a state funeral. We had to offer, they didn't have to accept.

All the 'good' he may have done is negated by the bad.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

stovelid wrote:
    The guy is getting banned just for that?! :confused:

No.

He was greedy corrupt and arrogant. What I contest is that this 'messed' anything up - if anything it simply messed up his own party and the purges saw a lot of FF's leading lights flee.

Please, i was talking about his legacy and how that legacy is remember, not what happened to the country etc.

I thought that was pretty obvious from the preceeding lines no??? Thats what really galls people i think.....he could have been Ireland greatest leader, that little exclamation point that would follow every sentence. Instead he turned into just another criminal.

As for the second part of your post..... yeah, your right.....i'd rather be living in a corrupt world as long as i get my money. :rolleyes:

Dragan wrote:
    your right.....i'd rather be living in a corrupt world as long as i get my money. :rolleyes:

You moving back from Utopia then?

Not yet, i need to wait for some of the more apathetic people to die off.....there's no room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

While we're on about moral fibre:in a few day's, the people in the meedja will be banging on about Haugheys corruption and recounting plenty of anecdotes illustrating about what a little b***** he was.

Ask yourself this: Where we they when all this was happening? They knew what was going on but didnt have the bottle to stand up and say a word. Same with the planning tribunals, it took a dodgy lobbyist to blow the whistle, everyone else knew what was up but didnt say a word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 CMF

I'm too young to remember much of Charlie as leader of the country but too be honest I was never surprised at all of the things he did in his time in power (whether as Taoiseach or a Minister). Charlie was incredibly charismatic and it takes a certain type of person to have that sort of effect on people - i.e. someone who is egotistical, charming, cocky, risque, feckless, intelligent etc. I agree with Saintly that he had the potential to be such an amazing leader. BUT people with that sort of potential are walking a very thin line. He was so sure of himself, it appears he began to think of himself as invincible... Unfortunate.

It has to be said though, he has had an incredibly interesting life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I agree 100% with Dragan. People in this country who tolerate the corruption of our immoral politicians give these scumbags a license to carry on doing it. As I said earlier, if Haughey lived in another country he would have got twenty years.

Instead we have to put up with the same tired old guff.

"Ah sure oul' Charlie was alright really. Sure he made a few mistakes but who doesn't?"

It's quite extraordinary. This guy was a crook and the worst Taoiseach this country has ever had. We should be trying our best to forget him not remember him.

They should drape a charvet shirt over his coffin instead of the tricolour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

This guy was a crook and the worst Taoiseach this country has ever had.

Eh, you're being a bit melodramtic there tbh. Sure the guy ****ed up, but tbh we've had worse Taoiseachs who put together worse, and more unstable, governments and by doing so did more damage to our country. You'd think the likes of Dev were angels or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭lomb

They should drape a charvet shirt over his coffin instead of the tricolour.

thats the funniest thing ive heard, never a truer word said, it sums up 'oul charlie':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭PonderStibbons

ChityWest wrote:
    Couldnt agree more - who cares if he got his shirts from paris - he was the leader of the country and some people would have preferred him in dunnes t-shirts by the sounds of it.

Yes he had wealth and affairs but at least he had character and was a bit more interesting than garret fitzgerald. Who would you prefer a cad /rogue who got things done or an incompetent ****wit ?

Look at the likes of mary harney now ? Can you honestly say we would be better off with her in power ?

Plus he had a backbone - he actually spoke out about the british handling of the falklands - cant remember bertie standing up to blair over iraq in the recent past.

I think people can forgive a lot on the basis of results - and he put down the groundwork for a lot of results in the economy and in the peace process.

Haughey getting his shirts in Paris isn't really the issue though - in fairness. He was living a lifestyle fit quite literally for a King, when he should have been merely reasonably wealthy on the pay he was on. He undoubtedly abused his position of power to make himself richer. Can you really say this was all right? Calling him a 'cad' or a 'rogue' is part of the problem in this country - he wasn't some sort of cheeky artful dodger type, it was much more sinister than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

nesf wrote:
    Eh, you're being a bit melodramtic there tbh. Sure the guy ****ed up, but tbh we've had worse Taoiseachs who put together worse, and more unstable, governments and by doing so did more damage to our country. You'd think the likes of Dev were angels or something.

I don't think I'm being melodramatic. We haven't had many Taoiseachs as our State is pretty young and I honestly don't feel there has been a Taoiseach worse than Haughey. This guy was a national disgrace.

Regarding de Valera, I would view him as the greatest Taoiseach this country has ever had for how he handled the country during WW2 and for his response to criticism from Churchill after the war.

Just my opinion. I'm sure others would disagree strongly.

I don't think I'm being melodramatic. We haven't had many Taoiseachs as our State is pretty young and I honestly don't feel there has been a Taoiseach worse than Haughey. This guy was a national disgrace.

Regarding de Valera, I would view him as the greatest Taoiseach this country has ever had for how he handled the country during WW2 and for his response to criticism from Churchill after the war.

Just my opinion. I'm sure others would disagree strongly.

We can agree to disagree on de Valera, but I'd find it odd that you wouldn't consider any of the Taoiseachs who handled the country so badly in the 70s and 80s up there as being candidates for worst Taoiseach. Corruption is bad enough but running the economy into the ground and leaving problems that still effect us 20 years later is quite another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

All Taoisigh get state funerals.

Haughey was a Taoiseach.

Relax ppl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

junkyard wrote:
    And I'll bet you'll vote for FF too again and again.:rolleyes:

I've never voted for FF ever in my life and probably never will. Personally I support the Greens only, have a slight interest in what FG are up to as they too are becoming more 'Green' as they know it is the way forward and its the way to get the younger populations votes. But I've not once in my life ever supported FF.

CJH is just part of our history good, bad, scandalous whatever is all I'm saying. But he was a man with a good heart, he was never malicious or evil. Let the man be buried in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

PHB wrote:
    You'll be shown to be quite wrong. He still has a huge huge following, people that just don't care he was corrupt, because he was their leader.

IMO a state funeral is about remembering who we are as a state, and Haughey is part of our history, rightly or wrongly, and the state should reconigse that with a state funeral.

Well said PHB.

There will be a huge turnout for his funeral. Expect them in Donnycarney in their droves on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

nesf wrote:
    We can agree to disagree on de Valera, but I'd find it odd that you wouldn't consider any of the Taoiseachs who handled the country so badly in the 70s and 80s up there as being candidates for worst Taoiseach. Corruption is bad enough but running the economy into the ground and leaving problems that still effect us 20 years later is quite another.

theres a difference between being incompentant and being corrupt. on the whole most law abiding people happen to believe crriminals shouldnt run the country. particularly seeing as we have laws against people with long criminal records (over six months ) even setting foot in the dail. haughey may have used his clout to avoid jail but he was still a criminal and his regiem of corruption destroyed whole swathes of irish society.
    the other taoiseachs may have been useless, but they didnt give us the ghettoised nightmares that surround cork dublin and galway either. that was haughey and his mates cracking the whip on the councills for his golden circle
    and that to me is his legacy, he's not only the worst taoiseach weve ever had, he brought politics into disrepute. damn near half the country wont vote now because of apathy and cynicism, and CJ has a lot to do with that

theres a difference between being incompentant and being corrupt. on the whole most law abiding people happen to believe crriminals shouldnt run the country. particularly seeing as we have laws against people with long criminal records (over six months ) even setting foot in the dail. haughey may have used his clout to avoid jail but he was still a criminal and his regiem of corruption destroyed whole swathes of irish society.
    the other taoiseachs may have been useless, but they didnt give us the ghettoised nightmares that surround cork dublin and galway either. that was haughey and his mates cracking the whip on the councills for his golden circle
    and that to me is his legacy, he's not only the worst taoiseach weve ever had, he brought politics into disrepute. damn near half the country wont vote now because of apathy and cynicism, and CJ has a lot to do with that

Give me a competent but corrupt leader over an honest but incompentent one any day. Then, maybe I'm a realist.

And frankly in any democracy I'll take good government by a fellow on the take over crap government by a saint any day...
    nesf wrote:
    Give me a competent but corrupt leader over an honest but incompentent one any day. Then, maybe I'm a realist.

Separated at birth?