Maggot in my Alpen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

I wonder how much time takes place between an Alpen bag been sealed and someone buying it and opening it. Would a maggot survive this long in that environment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

HJMC wrote:
    No fuppin' way?! I was telling myself that this was prob a once off and no biggy but dried out flies and all, do they not have quality control? Think I will ring a paper. Thanks for you replies

ahh fer gawds sake, don't ring the paper. They'll laugh at you, and if they don't, their readers will. There's a lot more serious things in the world then a feckin maggot in your cereal. It happens - everyone knows it happens. No-one wants it to happen to them, but thats life. Ring Alpen, tell them what happened (so they can investigate and try to make sure it doesn't happen again) but -ringing the paper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

would you mind if i asked was the alpen still in date, and is the box kept closed at all time, i.e. could a fly have landed in at if it was left open at some point on the counter and laid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

You know that maggot would have fed a family somewhere else.

Also if you were cantonese it would be a delicacy.

I don't understand why there are so many people acting the maggot on this thread.... its a serious issue.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Once got a maggot in a Kit Kat. Felt a bit sick, but it wore off. Who can stay off chocolate for long? Company blamed storage in the shop, and sent us a hamper of chocolate. It was no biggie, certainly wouldnt sue over it. Got a cigarette butt in a bun once, now that was worse...:eek:
    Deffo contact the company and see what their stance is. They will ask for the product to be sent to them, mind! We get most of our food from mass production factories, this kind of thing is bound to happen sometimes. What matters is how they deal with the fallout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 HJMC

tbh wrote:
    ahh fer gawds sake, don't ring the paper. They'll laugh at you, and if they don't, their readers will. There's a lot more serious things in the world then a feckin maggot in your cereal. It happens - everyone knows it happens. No-one wants it to happen to them, but thats life. Ring Alpen, tell them what happened (so they can investigate and try to make sure it doesn't happen again) but -ringing the paper?

Yeah I know, I was gonna say that, like if I picked up a paper and read about someone's magotty breakfast I'd be wondering why aren't they reporting on real issues but the paper I was advised to ring was the sun which is a rag anyway and I wouldn't give a fcuk what their readers thought bout me but at least its getting the fact out into the public domain. Do you work for Alpen? Are you trying to disuade me to our own advantage?
    would you mind if i asked was the alpen still in date, and is the box kept closed at all time, i.e. could a fly have landed in at if it was left open at some point on the counter and laid.

Alpen's not out till september and it was a single serve portion, so like the size of a Kellogs variety pack so it was a sealed pack that came with a live magot from the factory.
    Pease wrote:
    I don't understand why there are so many people acting the maggot on this thread.... its a serious issue.

Harharhar..ye magot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

Pighead wrote:
    (2/10,Vacilator backwards but spelt wrong,spanner):

Countdown Hero. Can i get a life please Carrol?

HJMC wrote:
    Yeah I know, I was gonna say that, like if I picked up a paper and read about someone's magotty breakfast I'd be wondering why aren't they reporting on real issues but the paper I was advised to ring was the sun which is a rag anyway and I wouldn't give a fcuk what their readers thought bout me but at least its getting the fact out into the public domain. Do you work for Alpen? Are you trying to disuade me to our own advantage?

I take your point. If it were a mouses' head or a syringe, then I'd be going mental, but its a maggot. What fact are you "trying to get out to the public domain"? That sometimes foreign objects get into food? Let me tell ya - thats not news - not even for the sun. But, it's your business. You have to do what you think is right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Don't go to the paper! That's an over-reaction.

A mouse in a jar of pickles was a silly season story at best, I reckon. Something to print because Jordan didn't get her baps out some night.

Contact Weetabix directly and you'll find them reasonable

I'm sure they won't try worm out of it.

*got my coat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

RotalicaV wrote:
    Countdown Hero. Can i get a life please Carrol?
    Deep breaths Pighead, this clown is obviously another puppet sent by Giblet to try and make you lose your rag and thus get banned. Just smile and be the better person. Don't correct him and taunt his spelling of Carol, don't get involved in a slagging match and above all don't call him an annoying fcuking ****er who wears smelly socks. He's not worth it buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

I agree with the OP im terrified of maggots its a phobia. I will never eat Alpen again after reading that post. I would definately complain and contact the papers. We rely on companies to follow correct protocol regarding safety

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

name and shame is what i say! if more people came forward and made people aware of the low hygiene standards in companies there might be less of this. they certainly charge you enough for it! mabye a forum should be set up to name and shame companies/products that are unfit for there purpose to bring it to our attention. i would sure love to know what else out there people have come across.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

As for going to the paper..very mature.

At least write to them, giving the details of what happened, the best before date and packing codes etc from the top of the pack etc, and let them know what happened.

I love the way people are totally willing to forgoe any kind of normal procedure, just because they feel wronged. Good manners (even towards a company) cost nothing.

exactly! I mean, I don't mean to laugh at your collective distress, but what are ye running to the papers for? It reminds me of all the times I was on holiday - there would always be one whinger (I'm not saying you are whinging, not at all, I can see your point) threatening to ring Joe Duffy if the weather wasn't controlled.

First contact Weetabix and let them know. THEN - if they give you the runaround -THEN go to the papers. For all you know they'll be falling over themselves to apologise.

For those of you off Alpen for life, think of it this way. Has it ever happened to any of ye before? And you've all been eating cereal all your lives. Its notable because it happens so rarely, and given the amount of the stuff they make, thats not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Donoghue v. Stevenson - Snail in the bottle law case - leading law case really - woman drank ginger beer which had a decomposed snail in it. Sued manufacturer and won. (Physical and psychiatric damage).

Have a read of the law case (quite interesting!) :D

Also you should probably ask the question in the legal discussion forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

never eating it again myself. I dont care if it 'doesnt happen very often' I dont want to find out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

i remember reading about an irish guy once who was on a plane and eating dinner. half way through while chewing he noticed that there was more in his mouth than food. spitting it out he discovered he was chewing on a blue plaster, the kind that caters use. it was a used plaster! he was violently sick for a long time after. sued and won. i mean, can you blame him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

Pighead, why do you try so hard?

I hope you are sucessfull in your mission to be the sarcastic center of every thread, so you don't think about how **** the rest of your life is and go on a school shooting.

Thirdfox wrote:
    Donoghue v. Stevenson - Snail in the bottle law case - leading law case really - woman drank ginger beer which had a decomposed snail in it. Sued manufacturer and won. (Physical and psychiatric damage).

Have a read of the law case (quite interesting!) :D

Also you should probably ask the question in the legal discussion forum.

She had consumed some of the product in your stated case, Thirdfox, so quite rightly had a case.

In this instance the maggot was found prior to consumption.

I don't want to argue legalities, but isn't it a little rash to litigate/run to the press in such an instance?

I can appreciate her upset as someone who has some very deepset phobias myself, but surely the most reasonable thing is to contact the manufacturer and give them the opportunity to redress the matter before the lawyers get their grubby hands on it! ;)

Most certainly, in the case she also complained of developing gaso-something-or-other disease.

Always talk to manufacturers first, if not happy then you can "review your options".

She consumed the some of the beer, yes but the principle laid down was the proximity neighbourhood principle. Then again this isn't the legal discussion forum so I won't talk about law anymore.

Psychological injury can be sued for too btw!

Finally wouldn't this go under personal injury claims? If so lawyers don't have much of a role to play there with the Personal Injury Assessment Board set up.

Thirdfox wrote:
    Psychological injury can be sued for too btw!

Who do I sue for my arachnaphobia! Can I sue my sister? :D
    Thirdfox wrote:
    Finally wouldn't this go under personal injury claims? If so lawyers don't have much of a role to play there with the Personal Injury Assessment Board set up.

Don't mean to get down on lawyers. I know too many to have much respect! But PIAB must really phuq them off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭cil_aine

I once found ths huuuge grasshopper in an M&S salad. Not a great experience, and that salad was damn expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well grasshoppers are hard to catch.

Who do I sue for my arachnaphobia! Can I sue my sister? :D

Don't mean to get down on lawyers. I know too many to have much respect! But PIAB must really phuq them off!

Sue parents for being negligent and letting your sister harm you psychologically? :D There could be awkward silences at the family reunion though :p

PIAB - our law lecturer said the market for personal injury solicitors has completely fallen out :D I'm glad I'm still in law school! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭crazy_dude6662

petes wrote:
    I had some of those Tequilas before. What is the point of the worm?
    the worm secretes some stuff of some kind, i cant remember what it does though...makes it taste better i somthin idk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

Producers Liability under the 1991 Act is strict. I.e. if there is something wrong with your product they are guilty of the tort regardless. Contact your solicitor don't be bought off with a load of cereal or something.

You mean LIABILITY FOR DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS ACT, 1991 right?

source: http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/front.html

But you would need to prove damage in court:

"damage" means—

( a ) death or personal injury, or

...."personal injury" includes any disease and any impairment of a person's physical or mental condition

.... and you lose €500 from whatever you claim :D

Should always try the nicely nicely approach before any talk of litigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

Thirdfox wrote:
    You mean LIABILITY FOR DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS ACT, 1991 right?

source: http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/front.html

But you would need to prove damage in court:

"damage" means—

( a ) death or personal injury, or

...."personal injury" includes any disease and any impairment of a person's physical or mental condition

.... and you lose €500 from whatever you claim :D

Should always try the nicely nicely approach before any talk of litigation.

Get yourself down to the doctor ASAP getting diagnosed with gastroentraginitis (spell?) like in Donoghue v Steveson.

...found it! Gastro-enteritis (whatever that is! :D)

But she actually drank some of the fluid...

Here the person could only sue for psychological shock I suppose (courts aren't that in favour of giving large payments for that though...)

Maybe another claim could be Employer's Liability (remember the recent Aer Rianta case?) €15,000 for being afraid of planes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭N90user

Yeah, Frosties has Tony the Tiger....
    Coco Pops has Coco the Monkey... and Alpen has Mitsy the Maggot.

lol:D